Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Your team and player of the year for 2011

• 20-12-2011 6:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Hello chaps! 2011 is drawing to a close and its been a wonderful year of rugby all around with Leinster winning the Heino, Munster the Magners, the Irish team doing well in the World Cup and the new season starting well with an unbeaten Munster team, a Leinster team in spectacular form and an Ulster team building momentum.

I for one cant wait to see the back of this year but from now until 2012 id love to hear what you guys' team of 2011 and player of 2011 are.

Mine:

1. Cian Healy (One of the best Looseheads in the world, his loose play is immense for a prop and he is really starting to shine in the scrum.)
    2. Bismarck du Plessis (Unfortunate to lose his place in the springbok team so often because of Smit. He is just incredible in everything he does. Future captain for club and country.)
    3. Owen Franks (This lad has a serious future ahead of him. One of the most dynamic tightheads ive seen in years and serious power in the scrum.)
    4. Brad Thorn (Have to pick Thorn here. A couple of the big locks in world rugby didnt perform as I thought they would in the world cup but Thorn was an outstanding performer all tournament.)
    5. Richie Gray (The shining light of scottish rugby. Always does something positive with the ball in the loose and is immaculate at lineout time.)
    6. Jerome Kaino (Narrowly beats out Sean O'Brien for a superb world cup and Super Rugby season with the blues. Should have gotten player of the year.)
    7. Richie McCaw (Not his best year but for fighting through injury to win a world cup and for that ridiculous steal against France, he gets my vote.)
    8. Victor Gresev (Call me crazy, but I love this guy. He was incredible during the Churchill cup and one of the few shining lights for Russia during the world cup. Did it against the top teams while playing for a poor one.)

9. Will Genia (Formed the better half of the combination that won the Super 15 this year. Immaculate in every aspect of his game and at such a young age he can only get better.)
    10. Dan Carter (This was tough. Cooper has a smashing S15 but a ****e world cup. Carter has a smashing S15 but injury keeps him out of the business end of the world cup. Sexton does it for Leinster, unfairly dropped for many Irish games and had a mare or two kicking wise and Priestland warms the bench for half the season at Scarlets and then comes out of nowhere to be one of the top 10s in the world during the world cup. The only consistent performer for club and country this season has been O'Gara... but he still wouldnt beat Carter. So Carter it is.)
    11. Digby Ioane (I love me an eccentric and this guy is just that. Speed to burn, a killer step and a try celebration that brings a smile to my face.)
    12. Sonny Bill Williams (Didnt get to see him against the top teams in the world cup but I just love watching this guy play. His partnership with Fruen at the Crusaders is just mesmeric to watch and though he courts controversy and is another player you love to hate, he gets my vote.)
    13. Conrad Smith (Simply the best 13 in the world this season. Does so much more than just the flashy stuff and had a superb world cup.)
    14. James O'Connor (Has it all. Tremendous kicking game, pace, awareness and management of a seasoned fly half and not a bad place kicker either. Only mark against him is his resemblance to Justin Bieber but then again, that might be seen a positive by some here EH THOMOND2006?)
    15. Israel Dagg (Class name, class player. Will be an absolute legend of the game in years to come. The things he does have my jaw on the floor most times and he just makes it look so effortless.)

Player of the year: Jerome Kaino. (Just does SO much work and gives absolutely every drop of himself to every collision, carry and ruck. Has been inspirational for club and country this year and for this he gets my vote as player of the year.)

So there you have it ladies, my long-winded list of my team of the year. Post yours.

Nollaig shona daoibh! Here's to a great 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,817 ✭✭✭corny

Thierry Dusautoir scored a try, put in 22 tackles and put in a MOTM performance in the final (i've never seen a man work harder). He also held the team together despite Lievremont and was IRB player of the year. My player of the year without a shadow of doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Healy, Mealamu, Franks, Thorn, Gray, Kaino, Dusautoir, Gorgodze;
    Genia, Carter, Ioane, Roberts, Smith, Jane, Dagg

I know Gorgodze is more of an openside but I couldn't leave out Kaino or Dusautoir.

Player of the Year: I'd go for Kaino as well.

• Sean O'Brien 1-15 please

on second thoughts, he doesn't goal kick great, so will go for something like this.

1 Healy - the improvements in his game over the past 12 months have been frightening. Please don't stop getting better!
    2 du Plessies
    3 Franks
    4 Thorn
    5 POC
    6 SOB
    7 Pocock
    8 Dusautoir (oop I know)
    9 Genia - GOD
    10 Sexton - HEC final, pretty much any game in a Leinster Jersey in the past 18 months tbh
    11 Ioane
    12 SBW
    13 Smith
    14 North
    15 Foden - Look at his abilities, look at his missus, what a guy!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,962 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Whatever about Dusatoir being a worthy player of the year, his performance in the RWC final was the single greatest performance by any player all year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

This is as far as I got with a team of form indespensible players, then I gave up . . .

2. Du Plessis
    3. Du Plessis
    4. Lawes
    5. Gray
    6. O'Brien
    7. Pocock
    8. Read

9. Parra
    10. Carter
    12. Nonu
    13. O'Driscoll
    14. Williams
    15. Dagg

Player of the Year: Pocock.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Haven't time to think about a 15 tbh.
    SOB undoubtedly my player of the year though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Tomás O'Leary for player of the year. His extreme effort against France to get Uncle Deccie to drop him allowed Ireland to not have a nightmare at the World Cup.

Tony Buckley for trying to throw the game against Russia, presumably in an attempt to raise rugby's profile there.

Whoever suggested that the Northampton lads open the bubbly at half time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Player of the year : Sean O Brien
    Young player : Conor Murray
    Team of the year : Leinster - I'm not one for picking 15 individuals that played well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

for shear heart and doggedness - Richie McCaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,625 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I don't feel I follow Rugby in the SH enough. So my decision is going to just be based on the NH (by which I mean Europe)

Club player of the year: Sean O Brien
    International player: Sam Warburton
    Club team of the year: Northampton Saints
    International team: Wales

Very quickly going to justify picking saints there ahead of Leinster. 3 seasons ago Saints were down a division playing like crap. They only managed 8th on their return the premiership and last season came second in the league stage, with more wins then anyone else. I think its fair to say they did better in the Aviva last year then Leinster did in the Magners. They played the week before the final against Leicester, and it seemed to show in the second half. I think it was a great performance by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

Player of the year - SOB
    Coach of the year - Thierry Dusatoir for getting france to the WC final
    Team of the year - Old Belvedere for beating Cork Con/Munster A in the AIL final.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Player of the year- Thierry Dusautoir

Club Team- Leinster

Country- New Zealand

Moment- Italy beating France in 6n

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Flashdean

chupacabra wrote: »
    Hello chaps! 2011 is drawing to a close and its been a wonderful year of rugby all around with Leinster winning the Heino, Munster the Magners, the Irish team doing well in the World Cup and the new season starting well with an unbeaten Munster team, a Leinster team in spectacular form and an Ulster team building momentum.

I for one cant wait to see the back of this year but from now until 2012 id love to hear what you guys' team of 2011 and player of 2011 are.

Mine:

1. Cian Healy (One of the best Looseheads in the world, his loose play is immense for a prop and he is really starting to shine in the scrum.)
    2. Bismarck du Plessis (Unfortunate to lose his place in the springbok team so often because of Smit. He is just incredible in everything he does. Future captain for club and country.)
    3. Owen Franks (This lad has a serious future ahead of him. One of the most dynamic tightheads ive seen in years and serious power in the scrum.)
    4. Brad Thorn (Have to pick Thorn here. A couple of the big locks in world rugby didnt perform as I thought they would in the world cup but Thorn was an outstanding performer all tournament.)
    5. Richie Gray (The shining light of scottish rugby. Always does something positive with the ball in the loose and is immaculate at lineout time.)
    6. Jerome Kaino (Narrowly beats out Sean O'Brien for a superb world cup and Super Rugby season with the blues. Should have gotten player of the year.)
    7. Richie McCaw (Not his best year but for fighting through injury to win a world cup and for that ridiculous steal against France, he gets my vote.)
    8. Victor Gresev (Call me crazy, but I love this guy. He was incredible during the Churchill cup and one of the few shining lights for Russia during the world cup. Did it against the top teams while playing for a poor one.)

9. Will Genia (Formed the better half of the combination that won the Super 15 this year. Immaculate in every aspect of his game and at such a young age he can only get better.)
    10. Dan Carter (This was tough. Cooper has a smashing S15 but a ****e world cup. Carter has a smashing S15 but injury keeps him out of the business end of the world cup. Sexton does it for Leinster, unfairly dropped for many Irish games and had a mare or two kicking wise and Priestland warms the bench for half the season at Scarlets and then comes out of nowhere to be one of the top 10s in the world during the world cup. The only consistent performer for club and country this season has been O'Gara... but he still wouldnt beat Carter. So Carter it is.)
    11. Digby Ioane (I love me an eccentric and this guy is just that. Speed to burn, a killer step and a try celebration that brings a smile to my face.)
    12. Sonny Bill Williams (Didnt get to see him against the top teams in the world cup but I just love watching this guy play. His partnership with Fruen at the Crusaders is just mesmeric to watch and though he courts controversy and is another player you love to hate, he gets my vote.)
    13. Conrad Smith (Simply the best 13 in the world this season. Does so much more than just the flashy stuff and had a superb world cup.)
    14. James O'Connor (Has it all. Tremendous kicking game, pace, awareness and management of a seasoned fly half and not a bad place kicker either. Only mark against him is his resemblance to Justin Bieber but then again, that might be seen a positive by some here EH THOMOND2006?)
    15. Israel Dagg (Class name, class player. Will be an absolute legend of the game in years to come. The things he does have my jaw on the floor most times and he just makes it look so effortless.)

Player of the year: Jerome Kaino. (Just does SO much work and gives absolutely every drop of himself to every collision, carry and ruck. Has been inspirational for club and country this year and for this he gets my vote as player of the year.)

So there you have it ladies, my long-winded list of my team of the year. Post yours.

Funny looking at this and no mention of a player part of the 6 nations winning team!!

Cian healy??? Really??

No Cole,Lawes,Ashton or Foden?? not saying they all should be in but at least one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 freema

Mine:

How can you call cian healy the best loosehead prop in the world when he doesn't even start for his club side?

Healy
    Mealamu
    Franks
    Gray
    Thorn
    Dusatoir
    Pocock
    SOB
    Genia
    Cooper/Sexton
    Ioane
    Roberts
    Smith
    Ashton
    Nacewa

Lack of options at 12.
    Couldn't really leave out any of the three in the backrow so I've shoehorned! Warburton, Kaino and McCaw obviously very close too.
    Nacewa is in there for his incredible club form, Dagg was also class all year, as was Beale.
    Don't think Carter had a vintage year, and Cooper was out of this world at times, as was Sexton. Two wingers had brilliant years.

Wildcards could be Visser, Masi, Strauss, Rob Horne and Gorgodze

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

http://www.greenandgoldrugby.com/community/threads/2011-team-of-the-year.9778/

Came across this thread on an ozzie forum when browsing the net.. Interesting to see the difference in opinion down under...

Personally I don't watch enough SH rugby to make a proper stab at team of the year but in the NH individually:

Player of the Year: SOB - Class for the last 2 years, best in Europe by a mile.

Hall of Fame: ROG - Some amazing clutch performances of late, broke the 100 Cap mark for Munster in the Heineken Cup & gained the starting position for Ireland at 10 during the world cup when many (myself included) doubted he could.

Benny Cake wrote: »
    http://www.greenandgoldrugby.com/community/threads/2011-team-of-the-year.9778/

Came across this thread on an ozzie forum when browsing the net.. Interesting to see the difference in opinion down under...

Personally I don't watch enough SH rugby to make a proper stab at team of the year but in the NH individually:

Player of the Year: SOB - Class for the last 2 years, best in Europe by a mile.

Hall of Fame: ROG - Some amazing clutch performances of late, broke the 100 Cap mark for Munster in the Heineken Cup & gained the starting position for Ireland at 10 during the world cup when many (myself included) doubted he could.

Rhys ****ing Priestland :p
    What do them Ozzies be watching?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

wixfjord wrote: »
    Rhys ****ing Priestland :p
    What do them Ozzies be watching?

Thought the same myself, very little recognition for SOB as well..

freema wrote: »
    How can you call cian healy the best loosehead prop in the world when he doesn't even start for his club side?

He's been having trouble with an injury AFAIK.
    Flashdean wrote: »
    Funny looking at this and no mention of a player part of the 6 nations winning team!!

Cian healy??? Really??

No Cole,Lawes,Ashton or Foden?? not saying they all should be in but at least one.

Englishman, I take it? Cian Healy was immense all year until he got injured after the world cup. He was the stand out LH in the group phase of the World Cup.

Cole? Are you serious? Lawes is a thug, simple as, and hos seemingly more interest in ending players careers than having one for himself. Ashton scored 4 tries against an awful Italy, and then basicall did SFA of note for 10 months. He is nowhere near the standard of the likes of North. How on earth can you contend that Foden has been better this year than Dagg or Nacewa?
    errlloyd wrote: »
    Very quickly going to justify picking saints there ahead of Leinster. 3 seasons ago Saints were down a division playing like crap. They only managed 8th on their return the premiership and last season came second in the league stage, with more wins then anyone else. I think its fair to say they did better in the Aviva last year then Leinster did in the Magners. They played the week before the final against Leicester, and it seemed to show in the second half. I think it was a great performance by them.

I agree with you on the other 3. But Northampton have been absolutely found out this season. While it's possible that they are suffering from the Leinster match still, I thik it's more symptomatic of a lack of quality in the squad. Also, how does what they did 3 years ago have any bearing on their nomination for team of 2011? Also Leinster did better in their league, and in the Heineken Cup.

In terms of NH team of 2011, there is only one team in it.

In the pre-knockout stage of the Aviva NH did better then Leinster.

This season they have been fairly cack, but there was a world cup and stuff which messed around with them. But I think their 10-11 season was amazing, it kinda came from nowhere. That makes them my team of the year.

The Planet Rugby team:

15 Kurtley Beale (Australia) - You vocal readers went for Israel Dagg but rest assured we have not sided with this Wallaby just to stir the pot. Beale was without doubt the best 15 in Super Rugby and those who compete in fantasy competitions will realise exactly what he offers in attack. What also tipped the scales was the impact having/not having the now Rebel had on the Wallabies at the World Cup. He is our player of the year.
    Bubbling under: Israel Dagg

14 Chris Ashton (England) - Top of the Six Nations and joint-top of World Cup 2011's try-scoring chart, Ashton has had quite a year for Northampton and England. While he has plenty of critics and enemies - mainly at Welford Road - the league convert's statistics cannot be ignored. He takes our fourteen jersey ahead of Wallaby James O'Connor, Frenchman Vincent Clerc, Wales's George North and Kiwi Cory Jane after a fine 2011.
    Bubbling under: James O'Connor

13 Conrad Smith (New Zealand) - This was where we almost drew a blank. While Brian O'Driscoll helped lead Leinster to Heineken Cup glory and Jaque Fourie performed strongly in patches, no one jumped out and grabbed this jersey. Adam Ashley-Cooper struggled to find his range after he was shifted around the backline and so, for the second year running, Smith is our man. Arguably the best defending 13 around who rarely has a bad game.
    Bubbling under: Brian O'Driscoll

12 Ma'a Nonu (New Zealand) - Based solely on the World Cup we would have to go for Jamie Roberts - but this is a 365 day assessment. Despite a somewhat sluggish start, Nonu was the best of a bad bunch at the Hurricanes and then kicked on in the black jersey to become excellent for New Zealand, showing a cutting edge they desperately needed when struggling for penetration. Frans Steyn earns a pat on the back for his RWC efforts.
    Bubbling under: Jamie Roberts

11 Digby Ioane (Australia) - The easiest decision and we are sure you would agree this wing has been a cut above his rivals in 2011. Line-breaks aplenty while offering go-forward ball in an exciting Reds and Australian back-line, Ioane has also thrown in some dancing moves for good measure. However, we enjoyed Rene Ranger's rendition of 'The Crab' a touch more due to its comedic value. Good news for Oz that he is not heading for Japan.
    Bubbling under: Isa Nacewa

10 Dan Carter (New Zealand) - Ah yes, our debate at fly-half or should I say first-five. Quade Cooper had another laughably impressive Super Rugby term until his World Cup became, well, laughable. Public enemy number one and all those boos clearly affected the Reds man and ultimately saw his Team of the Year spot here at PR go to his nearest challenger. That man is Carter, who despite missing the Webb Ellis run-in, was consistently mesmeric.
    Bubbling under: Quade Cooper

9 Will Genia (Australia) - Much like his aforementioned half-back partner, Genia did not enjoy the best of World Cups following what was an unrivalled Super Rugby season from a number nine. The Reds scrum-half creates so much from the base for his close-field runners and capped the tournament off with that score against the Crusaders in the final. Hopefully a good long rest over the festive period sees Genia return for more of the same.
    Bubbling under: Mike Phillips

8 Kieran Read (New Zealand) - An injury scare during the World Cup had New Zealand hearts beating a little quicker than normal, but it all worked out in the end as their number eight recovered to play a major role. However we felt that it was Read's games for the Crusaders, who were on the road for all of Super Rugby, that were where he earned most credit. Read is an honest forward who deserves his spot. Huge mention for Sergio Parisse.
    Bubbling under: Imanol Harinordoquy

7 David Pocock (Australia) - We emphatically go against the IRB Player of the Year, Thierry Dusautoir, who while good was some way off the performances that Pocock put in for the Wallabies and Western Force. When missing for either side - more so Australia - it was obvious how much of a role this openside plays. If he can remain injury free then we look forward to many more battles with Richie McCaw before the All Black hangs up his boots.
    Bubbling under: Thierry Dusautoir

6 Sean O'Brien (Ireland) - There was a battle between northern and southern hemisphere staff at Planet Rugby for this jersey as O'Brien and Jerome Kaino had their hats thrown into the ring. But in the end, the performances of the Leinster flanker in both the then Magners League and on the way to Heineken Cup glory had to be recognised. What tipped the scales was the way he had those below the equator talking during the World Cup. An excellent year.
    Bubbling under: Jerome Kaino

5 James Horwill (Australia) - Super Rugby and Tri-Nations silverware for the man elevated to Australia captain during the latter mentioned tournament. Despite missing out on the chance to make it a treble with the Webb Ellis, Horwill has enjoyed a fruitful year for the Reds and Wallabies, showing leadership qualities and ability throughout. Now he has a lot to live up to in 2012 as Australia have already targeted the world number one position.
    Bubbling under: Victor Matfield

4 Brad Thorn (New Zealand) - What a way to bow out from rugby for someone who just kept on going in a season that saw the Crusaders do a great deal of travelling due to unfortunate events in Christchurch. Thorn was an immense carrier for the All Blacks and put the seal on an impressive career in both league and union with a RWC winners medal in his cabinet. A mention for Courtney Lawes, whose agility and work-rate was key to Saints and England.
    Bubbling under: Courtney Lawes

3 Martin Castrogiovanni (Italy) - Owen Franks was impressive for New Zealand while Nicolas Mas and Dan Cole also had good years for France and England respectively. But it was the latter's Tigers team-mate who stood out for Leicester and Italy, with his highlight probably coming in Six Nations victory over France. Welford Road really does love Castro.
    Bubbling under: Owen Franks

2 Keven Mealamu (New Zealand) - For a long time it looked like Andrew Hore would be the starting hooker for the All Blacks at the World Cup, but a streak of strong performances for the Blues saw Mealamu wrestle back the two jersey. His ability to break the first line of contact, due to his squat frame, was always an outlet for both franchise and country and because Bismarck du Plessis was not first-choice at his, we hand our hooking berth to Kev.
    Bubbling under: Bismarck du Plessis

1 Soane Tonga'huia (Tonga) - From memory, only Scarlets tighthead Rhys Thomas has come out on top against Tonga'huia over this year. He has been a rock for Northampton alongside Brian Mujati, contributing several tries en route to a Heineken Cup final and the last-four of Aviva Premiership 2010/11. Saints will be delighted that Tonga'huia chose not to make the move to Saracens and instead settled in what is a feared front-row.
    Bubbling under: Cian Healy

No French on that planet rugby team?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭chupacabra

I called him ONE of the best, not the best. And im judging him on his year round form.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

Player of the year for me is Stephen Ferris to come back from the various injuries and bogey knees ,and to play like is playing now is amazing.

bcdd9ea8eddf0114f90e6a706700731e.jpg

:cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭almighty1

Just a couple of questions.
    1) Did you watch the world cup, especially the Australia game?
    2) Did you see the HC SF last year versus Toulouse?
    3) Did you see the HC Final last year versus Northampton (2nd half especially)?
    4) Did you know that Healy is carrying a shoulder and ankle injury over the past few weeks. He most certainly is Leinster first choice loosehead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 freema

I called him ONE of the best, not the best. And im judging him on his year round form.

I'm not saying he was bad this year but if he was the "form" looshead prop of the year then surely he should be able to make his own club team come the end of the year.

........then surely he should be able to make his own club team come the end of the year.

You must be trolling? Healy is carrying a knock, regardless of the issue of him being the worlds best loosehead, the only reason is isnt starting for Leinster is that he is carrying multiple knocks (being dumped on his head against Bath didnt help at the weekend either).

HVDM is an excellent loosehead but to say he is ahead of Healy in the pecking order is atrociously inaccurate, to put it politely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭vinny chase

The Planet Rugby team:

15 Kurtley Beale (Australia) - You vocal readers went for Israel Dagg but rest assured we have not sided with this Wallaby just to stir the pot. Beale was without doubt the best 15 in Super Rugby and those who compete in fantasy competitions will realise exactly what he offers in attack. What also tipped the scales was the impact having/not having the now Rebel had on the Wallabies at the World Cup. He is our player of the year.
    Bubbling under: Israel Dagg

14 Chris Ashton (England) - Top of the Six Nations and joint-top of World Cup 2011's try-scoring chart, Ashton has had quite a year for Northampton and England. While he has plenty of critics and enemies - mainly at Welford Road - the league convert's statistics cannot be ignored. He takes our fourteen jersey ahead of Wallaby James O'Connor, Frenchman Vincent Clerc, Wales's George North and Kiwi Cory Jane after a fine 2011.
    Bubbling under: James O'Connor

13 Conrad Smith (New Zealand) - This was where we almost drew a blank. While Brian O'Driscoll helped lead Leinster to Heineken Cup glory and Jaque Fourie performed strongly in patches, no one jumped out and grabbed this jersey. Adam Ashley-Cooper struggled to find his range after he was shifted around the backline and so, for the second year running, Smith is our man. Arguably the best defending 13 around who rarely has a bad game.
    Bubbling under: Brian O'Driscoll

12 Ma'a Nonu (New Zealand) - Based solely on the World Cup we would have to go for Jamie Roberts - but this is a 365 day assessment. Despite a somewhat sluggish start, Nonu was the best of a bad bunch at the Hurricanes and then kicked on in the black jersey to become excellent for New Zealand, showing a cutting edge they desperately needed when struggling for penetration. Frans Steyn earns a pat on the back for his RWC efforts.
    Bubbling under: Jamie Roberts

11 Digby Ioane (Australia) - The easiest decision and we are sure you would agree this wing has been a cut above his rivals in 2011. Line-breaks aplenty while offering go-forward ball in an exciting Reds and Australian back-line, Ioane has also thrown in some dancing moves for good measure. However, we enjoyed Rene Ranger's rendition of 'The Crab' a touch more due to its comedic value. Good news for Oz that he is not heading for Japan.
    Bubbling under: Isa Nacewa

10 Dan Carter (New Zealand) - Ah yes, our debate at fly-half or should I say first-five. Quade Cooper had another laughably impressive Super Rugby term until his World Cup became, well, laughable. Public enemy number one and all those boos clearly affected the Reds man and ultimately saw his Team of the Year spot here at PR go to his nearest challenger. That man is Carter, who despite missing the Webb Ellis run-in, was consistently mesmeric.
    Bubbling under: Quade Cooper

9 Will Genia (Australia) - Much like his aforementioned half-back partner, Genia did not enjoy the best of World Cups following what was an unrivalled Super Rugby season from a number nine. The Reds scrum-half creates so much from the base for his close-field runners and capped the tournament off with that score against the Crusaders in the final. Hopefully a good long rest over the festive period sees Genia return for more of the same.
    Bubbling under: Mike Phillips

8 Kieran Read (New Zealand) - An injury scare during the World Cup had New Zealand hearts beating a little quicker than normal, but it all worked out in the end as their number eight recovered to play a major role. However we felt that it was Read's games for the Crusaders, who were on the road for all of Super Rugby, that were where he earned most credit. Read is an honest forward who deserves his spot. Huge mention for Sergio Parisse.
    Bubbling under: Imanol Harinordoquy

7 David Pocock (Australia) - We emphatically go against the IRB Player of the Year, Thierry Dusautoir, who while good was some way off the performances that Pocock put in for the Wallabies and Western Force. When missing for either side - more so Australia - it was obvious how much of a role this openside plays. If he can remain injury free then we look forward to many more battles with Richie McCaw before the All Black hangs up his boots.
    Bubbling under: Thierry Dusautoir

6 Sean O'Brien (Ireland) - There was a battle between northern and southern hemisphere staff at Planet Rugby for this jersey as O'Brien and Jerome Kaino had their hats thrown into the ring. But in the end, the performances of the Leinster flanker in both the then Magners League and on the way to Heineken Cup glory had to be recognised. What tipped the scales was the way he had those below the equator talking during the World Cup. An excellent year.
    Bubbling under: Jerome Kaino

5 James Horwill (Australia) - Super Rugby and Tri-Nations silverware for the man elevated to Australia captain during the latter mentioned tournament. Despite missing out on the chance to make it a treble with the Webb Ellis, Horwill has enjoyed a fruitful year for the Reds and Wallabies, showing leadership qualities and ability throughout. Now he has a lot to live up to in 2012 as Australia have already targeted the world number one position.
    Bubbling under: Victor Matfield

4 Brad Thorn (New Zealand) - What a way to bow out from rugby for someone who just kept on going in a season that saw the Crusaders do a great deal of travelling due to unfortunate events in Christchurch. Thorn was an immense carrier for the All Blacks and put the seal on an impressive career in both league and union with a RWC winners medal in his cabinet. A mention for Courtney Lawes, whose agility and work-rate was key to Saints and England.
    Bubbling under: Courtney Lawes

3 Martin Castrogiovanni (Italy) - Owen Franks was impressive for New Zealand while Nicolas Mas and Dan Cole also had good years for France and England respectively. But it was the latter's Tigers team-mate who stood out for Leicester and Italy, with his highlight probably coming in Six Nations victory over France. Welford Road really does love Castro.
    Bubbling under: Owen Franks

2 Keven Mealamu (New Zealand) - For a long time it looked like Andrew Hore would be the starting hooker for the All Blacks at the World Cup, but a streak of strong performances for the Blues saw Mealamu wrestle back the two jersey. His ability to break the first line of contact, due to his squat frame, was always an outlet for both franchise and country and because Bismarck du Plessis was not first-choice at his, we hand our hooking berth to Kev.
    Bubbling under: Bismarck du Plessis

1 Soane Tonga'huia (Tonga) - From memory, only Scarlets tighthead Rhys Thomas has come out on top against Tonga'huia over this year. He has been a rock for Northampton alongside Brian Mujati, contributing several tries en route to a Heineken Cup final and the last-four of Aviva Premiership 2010/11. Saints will be delighted that Tonga'huia chose not to make the move to Saracens and instead settled in what is a feared front-row.
    Bubbling under: Cian Healy

I find it hard to argue with the majority of this side.

Only place I'd make the change would be at ten; where I'd have Cooper ahead of Carter. Cooper was superior to him in the Super 15, and neither left their mark on the WC. To select Carter ahead of Cooper would basically be rewarding Carter for getting injured.

Mine:

Cian Healy shouldn't be near this and SBW? He doesn't even start for his country, he might be good to watch but he hasn't been close to the best 12 in the world. And how can you leave Dusautoir out?

Forgot Tongahuiia for LH actually, although he is part of a completely illegal scrummaging unit and Healy did better him in the Heineken final second half and WC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭vinny chase

cgpg5 wrote: »
    Cian Healy shouldn't be near this and SBW? He doesn't even start for his country, he might be good to watch but he hasn't been close to the best 12 in the world. And how can you leave Dusautoir out?

You may have missed that the title of the thread was "Your team and player of the year for 2011"- why don't you just select your own side instead of saying who others should and shouldn't select in theirs?

No problem so mate

15. Dagg
    14. Ashton
    13. smith
    12. Roberts
    11. Iaone
    10. Carter- difficult position
    9. Genia
    8. Read
    7. Dusautoir
    6. Kaino
    5. Gray
    4. Horwill
    3. Franks
    2. Mealamu
    1. Tongauiha

There ya go

No problem so mate

15. Dagg
    14. Ashton
    13. smith
    12. Roberts
    11. Iaone
    10. Carter- difficult position
    9. Genia
    8. Read
    7. Dusautoir
    6. Kaino
    5. Gray
    4. Horwill
    3. Franks
    2. Mealamu
    1. Tongauiha

There ya go

Mate you're nutes, Tongauiha got destroyed by Healy in the second half of the final last year. What are you thinking.

Jk.

Mate you're nutes, Tongauiha got destroyed by Healy in the second half of the final last year. What are you thinking.

Jk.

Pity they're on opposite sides of the scrum...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

He nailed you there!

Pity they're on opposite sides of the scrum...

That's how good Healy is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

15. Dagg
    14. Ioane
    13. Smith
    12. Roberts
    11. O'Connor (Just edges Ashton)
    10. Carter
    9. Genia
    8. Dusautoir (C) (He can play there so he's going in!)
    7. Pocock
    6. Kaino
    5. Horwill
    4. Gray
    3. Franks
    2. Du Plessis
    1. Tongauiha

Player of the Year: David Pocock, just edges Dusautoir based on that extra bit more consistency

Was so tempting to put Radike Samo on the wing!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,962 ✭✭✭jacothelad

Forgot Tongahuiia for LH actually, although he is part of a completely illegal scrummaging unit and Healy did better him in the Heineken final second half and WC.

They are both looseheads. Stan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

jacothelad wrote: »

I think he's comparing the performances of the looseheads in the HC final not them scrummaging directly against eachother

its_phil wrote: »
    I think he's comparing the performances of the looseheads in the HC final not them scrummaging directly against eachother

Yeah, so was I in post 34....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

1. Woodcock (Not a big Healy/Tongahuia fan, at least this guy got a try in the final and was part of a great scrum)
    2. BDP
    3. Franks
    4. Thorn
    5. Gray
    6. Kaino
    7. Dusautoir
    8. Read
    9. Genia
    10. Carter
    11. Ioane
    12. Nonu
    13. Smith
    14. Nacewa (Didn't play on the wing in the first half of 2011, but you have to include him)
    15. Dagg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Yeah, so was I in post 34....

Sure you were...

Dont understand the Healy bashing by even the minority. Im not saying everybody should think he is the best loosehead this year but he is certainly top 3 regardless.

He has virtually eliminated the stupid penalties he always gave away early in his career. He adds a new dimension to our loose play that Marcus Horan never gave us. How often have you seen a prop sprint up the line like he did against Toulouse. And most importantly, his scrummaging has improved an incredible amount over the past 2-3 years. At the breakdown he is an absolute demon and never gives up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

I'd have Kurtley Beale at 15 and O'Connor ahead of Ashton. I'm not an Ashton hater but I thought O'Connor had a great year and was much better in setting up tries and not forgetting his goal kicking.
    almighty1 wrote: »
    Dont understand the Healy bashing by even the minority. Im not saying everybody should think he is the best loosehead this year but he is certainly top 3 regardless.

He has virtually eliminated the stupid penalties he always gave away early in his career. He adds a new dimension to our loose play that Marcus Horan never gave us. How often have you seen a prop sprint up the line like he did against Toulouse.

Horan was an excellent ball carrier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,416 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Its called an opinion. Healy has been incredible this year, did you watch the S15? I couldnt give a toss what he has done for his country, the lad has been incredible this year and I just dont like Ma'a Nonu and Kaino beats Dusautoir marginally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

Sean O'Brien would be in my team too. He was immense and European player of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Player of the year: Dusautoir.
    Team of the year: Wales (The All Blacks despite being on home ground were awful and very very lucky in the final)

Oh and I would have Mike Phillips as the best SH.

That is all.

jacothelad wrote: »

"Healy did better than him" I said. I know they're both LH which is why I'm comparing them for the position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Rbrtmry

Cian healy??? Really??

No Cole,Lawes,Ashton or Foden?? not saying they all should be in but at least one.[/Quote]

Cian Healy really does deserve a place on that team, brilliant open play and a solid scrum but i do a agree that lawes should be on instead of brad thorn and I think that despite gresev having a great world cup parisse should get no 8 and sean o'brien for kaino. No.7 is a tough one with McCaw warburton dusatoir and pocock.

I apologise for any spelling mistakes with the names

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭BoarHunter

"Healy did better than him" I said. I know they're both LH which is why I'm comparing them for the position.

I think this is not really relevant. You can compare the 2 players at the beginning of the match but The Saints were toasted in the second half due to their match the previous week.

Compare the 2 players with an Equal stamina. After that maybe Healy is more constant on 80 minutes than the tongian but I would put him on my team with Healy on the bench to be honnest