Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rag Day Concert?

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭The___________

What's wrong with having it on a Sunday?

Can't have it during the week 'cos we're all going to lectures and not partaking in any sort of unofficial socialising since the SU sold us all down the river, remember.

Well for one it's a serious inconvenience for anyone who has to go home for the weekend for work (like myself)

• Registered Users Posts: 455 ✭✭Davyhal

They are shaping it up to be the exact same as every other RAG week, but they can't advertise it as such. They always had whatever act they were getting play the Sunday night, and they are probably gonna do the same this year cos they know that no matter what, the students are gonna do a RAG Week, even if it is not officially RAG Week in the college... and the bars will probably do the same in the city. I never had a single lecture cancelled due to an official RAG week in all my years in NUIG, we just didnt go unless absolutely essential, and it will be the same this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

Sure, they don't even need Rag Day to set the date for unofficial Rag Week - GMIT Rag Week still stands. People will just jump on their bandwagon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Bootstraps

What's wrong with having it on a Sunday?

Can't have it during the week 'cos we're all going to lectures and not partaking in any sort of unofficial socialising since the SU sold us all down the river, remember.

Explain how we were sold down the river?

• Registered Users Posts: 5 JonathanByrne

I'm not gonna hijack this thread, I just want to clear a few things up (seeing as I am mentioned a couple of times...)
    I am sorry if the whole "DJ Byrno" thing is being overkilled, and to be quite honest I have no idea why I am being booked so much for NUIG events etc.
    I dunno what to say really, I take these gigs because I enjoy dj'ing, and enjoy dj'ing to students.
    Might be time to start saying no to the NUIG gigs I guess!
    B

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Bootstraps

I'm not gonna hijack this thread, I just want to clear a few things up (seeing as I am mentioned a couple of times...)
    I am sorry if the whole "DJ Byrno" thing is being overkilled, and to be quite honest I have no idea why I am being booked so much for NUIG events etc.
    I dunno what to say really, I take these gigs because I enjoy dj'ing, and enjoy dj'ing to students.
    B

Hey man I wouldn't worry about it most nuig people on boards are 19 going on 90. It's like grumpy old men(myself included) sure the biggest thread is the "daily bitch about nuig!!!" Doubt many people here have been to your gigs anyway. There is a reason that we keep asking you to do them. If it aint broke don't fix it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Reillyman

Bootstraps wrote: »
    Hey man I wouldn't worry about it most nuig people on boards are 19 going on 90. It's like grumpy old men(myself included) sure the biggest thread is the "daily bitch about nuig!!!" Doubt many people here have been to your gigs anyway. There is a reason that we keep asking you to do them. If it aint broke don't fix it.

Hear Hear!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

B

If it's any consolation, Jonathan, I've never been to a bad gig by you. If you're playing somewhere it's always a plus point for going to that particular club/venue - and that's the same among everyone I'd go out with.

There's a reason why you're always invited to DJ for NUIG gigs, and that's because students like you. No other reason. I'd take some definite pride in that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭ciano1

B

It's nothing against you or your dj'ing or not even the fact that you play in the college a lot.

It's just that since this event is supposed to be our consolation for the loss of the 'official' RAG WEEK, people are expecting a few big artists to be playing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

B
    It's nothing against you at all, in fact I'd rather see you on the bill than most of the bands NUIG students are likely to nominate. The fact that you're popular enough to be ubiquitous with college events is only a good thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 November One

There's 12 acts playing the Arts ball and Byrno is the only one of them that I'm looking forward to, no word of a lie. The man is an institution.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

B

Wouldn't take the criticism too harshly mate, I've listened to some of your mixes that a mate of mine got and thought it was pretty good.

Just can't remember you playing your own mixes at your gigs - can only recall you playing the same chart ****e that would have been played anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭f1dan

Red_Wake wrote: »
    Wouldn't take the criticism too harshly mate, I've listened to some of your mixes that a mate of mine got and thought it was pretty good.

Just can't remember you playing your own mixes at your gigs - can only recall you playing the same chart ****e that would have been played anyway.

That's cos the clubs give him a set list to play from except for Carbon where he can play whatever he likes!

DJ Byrno recieved an Honourary Life Membership of the Business Society, enough said, Johnathan your an absolute hero, and NUIG love you, keep up the good work!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

Reillyman wrote: »
    DJ Byrno recieved an Honourary Life Membership of the Business Society, enough said
    He must be overcome with emotion

Correct.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,018 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Reillyman wrote: »
    Honourary Life Membership of the Business Society
    Who else has one of those, as a matter of interest, and what are the criteria for getting one?

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Robmeister2011

Purely based on penis size.

Byrno Cert.JPG

See attached.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

That would be a lovely thing to be given if you didn't despise the Biz Soc, which many, myself included, do.

Anyway; got an invite to the the ‘Unofficial RAG Week’ over Facebook there yesterday, they got a good chunk of people to accept already. It would be interesting to see if that threat the University made about such an occurrence a couple of months back stands — the one about them penalising/throwing out students who make public calls on specific date(s) for an unofficial RAG week? Surely that couldn't be a legally binding threat seeing as it occurs outside of college activity.

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭Fooker

Nailz wrote: »
    Anyway; got an invite to the the ‘Unofficial RAG Week’ over Facebook there yesterday, they got a good chunk of people to accept already. It would be interesting to see if that threat the University made about such an occurrence a couple of months back stands — the one about them penalising/throwing out students who make public calls on specific date(s) for an unofficial RAG week? Surely that couldn't be a legally binding threat seeing as it occurs outside of college activity.

It probably isn't being "organised" by students, probably club owners etc.

It will likely will make things worse and maybe eventually it will fade away in a few years...

That would be a lovely thing to be given if you didn't despise the Biz Soc, which many, myself included, do.

Meh, Biz Soc are grand. At least they organise some decent business related events (Biz Soc Apprentice etc). I think it's the accountancy and finance society that seems to get on a lot of peoples tits with their 'exclusive' parties in CP's (Only 3000 people invited by the way! ;) ) and littering out letterboxs with ****e produced leaflets advertising them.

As for that Facebook event, it'll be near impossible to identify who made it because a 'page' created it as opposed to somebodys profile.

Either way, ROLL ON RAG WEEK! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭The Cool

No doubt this Rag Day craic will have to be soon, when will they decide to announce the plan I wonder?

The Cool wrote: »
    No doubt this Rag Day craic will have to be soon, when will they decide to announce the plan I wonder?

Never by the looks of it!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭f1dan

So apparently it's gonna be Labrinth that are playing now

• Registered Users Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

I know it was going to be shit, but could you just imagine the shower of **** who would be attracted to that piece of cow dung? Thankfully, it was never my intention to go in the firstplace, that just seals the deal.

For a second there I thought it was Power Metal group Labÿrinth, which would have been a laugh, but this is no such fun I'm afraid...

but could you just imagine the shower of **** who would be attracted to that piece of cow dung?

Huh? Why??

• Registered Users Posts: 9,018 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Ficheall wrote: »

Oh, right... :o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭TheCosmicFrog

f1dan wrote: »
    So apparently it's gonna be Labrinth that are playing now

Who?