Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

no-longer-in-Belfast 24 hr 6/7 July 2012

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

ultraman1 wrote: »
    http://www.ultrarunningireland.com/live/news/907.html

its on at bangor ,,,,start ur trainin now so

Is this a 400m track again?

A few of us are thinking of getting a relay team together, should be great fun. If anyone else is interested in the relay, let me or Oisin11178 know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

I might try the 24 hour option again but id say you will have no problem getting a 4 man team. for anyone wishing to dip there toe into longer than marathon running this is ideal with he 3 x 2 hour stints. I remember krustry said he was interested niall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

menoscemo wrote: »
    Is this a 400m track again?
    The third edition of the Energia 24-Hour race will be staged at the 8-lane Sportsplex in Bangor, County Down on 6/7 July 2012.

From the description I'd say this sounds like a standard 400m track, yes.

My question is, why is the thread called "Belfast 24hr" when it's staged in Bangor? :p

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    I might try the 24 hour option again

You Crazy fool :D

Found the place. Google maps is great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

, why is the thread called "Belfast 24hr" when it's staged in Bangor? :p

maybe a mod can change it to "The race formally known as Belfast 24hr"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Zuppy

Or maybe change it to the "Race formally known as the Belfast 24hrs".

I just informed Mrs B that we're going up North in July. :)
    She knows there is a race involved, but doesn't know the details yet. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭jonny99

'Yes, darling,a night away during the summer.'
    'But we dont have accomodation booked'
    'Yeah, i was hoping that rather than enjoying 5star luxury and breakfast in bed,that you might stand outside,warm up some soup and watch me run over 100 miles in an anticlockwise direction instead.Oh, and if you wouldnt mind counting my laps for me, that'd be great'.
    Only on this forum...best of luck Thomas;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

I borrowed a tent for last year's event and bougth one shortly after it in the sales. I'll have to sign up for it again this year just to try out the tent and make sure it works before the warranty runs out:rolleyes:

You dont need a tent lads. Couldnt believe people were going off for sleeps
    Whatis everybodys goals by the way?

The RD said in his email that you need a tent to serve as your personal HQ. Was going to borrow one if I have to.

Goals:
    bronze: survive for 24 hrs
    silver: 100 miles
    gold (sure why not, aim high): 120 miles

Tent is for the support team, not that they used it much last year, but if I dont bring it, where will you stash all your gear again and loiter around before the race.
    Goals

Gold: Hit the 100M this year. I'll be tweaking my plan to make sure I'm not banking too many miles in the first 12 hours.

Silver: If I make it to 100M, I hope to have the momentum to keep going until the 24h are up.

Bronze: To stay awake afterwards long enough to finish the second pint of Bulmers:o

Aimman wrote: »
    Tent is for the support team, not that they used it much last year, but if I dont bring it, where will you stash all your gear again and loiter around before the race.
    Goals

Gold: Hit the 100M this year. I'll be tweaking my plan to make sure I'm not banking too many miles in the first 12 hours.

Silver: If I make it to 100M, I hope to have the momentum to keep going until the 24h are up.

Bronze: To stay awake afterwards long enough to finish the second pint of Bulmers:o

Yeah no harm in bringing it i suppose.
    Eamonn you have your colours the wrong way around:D

Goals

If you hadn't brought that tent Aimman, I'd have had nowhere to stash my beer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭liamo123

Thomas did u send a cheque as payment or enter via Run Ireland ?? Ed Smith informed me there was a link on RunIreland to make payment but I cant seem to find it....

Nothing to see here:D

http://www.runireland.com/events/energia-belfast-24-hour-race
    That took 3 secs and google to find liamo:D

That's a grand link, if you want to book for the 2011 race

:p

That's a grand link, if you want to book for the 2011 race

:p
    Sorry lads ill get back in my box:D

liamo123 wrote: »
    Thomas did u send a cheque as payment or enter via Run Ireland ?? Ed Smith informed me there was a link on RunIreland to make payment but I cant seem to find it....

Hmm ... no. He told me that for the time being he is happy enough if I confirm via email (which I did), and fill in the paper form once it becomes available.

Nothing to see here:D

:eek::eek::eek:

ill ask on the 100 marathon club about the runireland sign up for you liamo. i dont think you have to worry about it selling out at the moment bud. Not enough headcases out there. I think they capped it at 50 last year.

Tks Frank but as from this morning race is up on Run Ireland so entered there... Now to figure out how Im going to break it to the OH :eek:

Nice one, its going to be great crack:-)

Tell her that lately you feel like you're life just going around in circles and this is just what you need for a change ;)

17 days to go, I think the nerves are starting already. This is going to be a long taper. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,864 ✭✭✭✭average_runner

Do you have to run all the laps to be counted or can you walk some?

By the end I would barely say they are even walking, more like a zombie shuffle :p
    Total distance covered is the key, doesn't matter if you run, walk or crawl.

Fair play to them, sounds like one tough race.

17 days to go, I think the nerves are starting already. This is going to be a long taper. :eek:

Nerves building alright tough Ive a heavy enough week planned including a midnight marathon Friday night but then its taper time . Have been keeping an eye on ur Blog...My plan is to run for 1 hour and walk 2 laps for as long as possible and then revert to what ur doing from the start...

As regards food intake my pal whose also running and had done alot more research that me into it reckons we'l need about 10 days food supply to keep us going for the 24 hrs ...Thats alot of grub :eek:

menoscemo wrote: »
    By the end I would barely say they are even walking, more like a zombie shuffle :p
    Total distance covered is the key, doesn't matter if you run, walk or crawl.

U travelling this year Meno??

Doubt it Liamo, It falls much earlier in the year this year and I don't get my Holidays until the end of July. Besides I have no-one to crew for.

As regards food intake my pal whose also running and had done alot more research that me into it reckons we'l need about 10 days food supply to keep us going for the 24 hrs ...Thats alot of grub :eek:

There's no way I can eat that much. That's just ludicrous (says the complete novice :rolleyes:)!

I cannot eat more than 400 calories per hour, and even if I managed to keep that going for 24 hours (very doubtful to say the least) that's still "only" 3 days of food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

There's no way I can eat that much. That's just ludicrous (says the complete novice :rolleyes:)!

I cannot eat more than 400 calories per hour, and even if I managed to keep that going for 24 hours (very doubtful to say the least) that's still "only" 3 days of food.

And from a non-novice perspective, I agree! That's rubbish. Nutrition is a lot simpler than that. You should be running/walking the whole thing at fat-burn pace. No need to be constantly firing energy into yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭hot to trot

Unexpectedly, I'm going :eek::D

RD asked me would I be running or helping this year. I told him that I would hate to miss it but I had something in Galway Friday night that I couldnt get out of . Recovering from injury, I have only managed run/walk to marathon distance but would love a go at the 12 hour to see how I am getting on so far, as long as I wouldnt be depriving someone fit of a place.

So he is putting me down for the 12 hour but for the second 12 hour as I wont make it up til the middle of the night. I will bring massage couch in case I dont make it too far and can help the rest of ye out with bodywork or laps etc

Anyone able to collect my number for me at registration?:)

Unexpectedly, I'm going :eek::D

RD asked me would I be running or helping this year. I told him that I would hate to miss it but I had something in Galway Friday night that I couldnt get out of . Recovering from injury, I have only managed run/walk to marathon distance but would love a go at the 12 hour to see how I am getting on so far, as long as I wouldnt be depriving someone fit of a place.

So he is putting me down for the 12 hour but for the second 12 hour as I wont make it up til the middle of the night. I will bring massage couch in case I dont make it too far and can help the rest of ye out with bodywork or laps etc

Anyone able to collect my number for me at registration?:)

I'l get that for u no problem hot to trot ( Finn?)

Recovering from injury, I have only managed run/walk to marathon distance but would love a go at the 12 hour to see how I am getting on so far

And to think some people have the cheek to call ME a lunatic! :D

Great news, H2T. And if you can assess my running gait like you did with all your competitors 2 years ago in your race report and give me some pointers, all the better. :)

And to think some people have the cheek to call ME a lunatic! :D

Great news, H2T. And if you can assess my running gait like you did with all your competitors 2 years ago in your race report and give me some pointers, all the better. :)

I can hardly wait to meet the Great TFB:D I follow your logs and blogs with great interest and admiration.
    Will be great to meet you all .
    Great thing about timed races is that you are never far from the finish line and if you are slow or fast , you are still on your feet at the same effort level for the same time , so its less dreadful for back of pack runners :)

Thanks Liamo for that. Will PM you my mobile, and you can text me your tent pitch number.

http://www.athleticsni.org/News/Wonder-woman-takes-on-the-Men

this is looking more and more exciting all the time :D

http://www.athleticsni.org/News/Wonder-woman-takes-on-the-Men

this is looking more and more exciting all the time :D

Wow ... they've assemble some field for this... The business end of this race is going to b very interesting........Getting really excited and nervous now...

Sick i cant do this, good luck lads and ladies and do a few miles for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

I Could possibly help you on this. LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Best of luck guys 'n' gals. Sounds like it's going to be a cracker. Hope someone will be generous enough to post some live updates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

good luck to anyone doin this am sick dat im n lanzerote while yeare doin it:confused:

Good luck to everyone. Would love to be doing it again this year, but I'm sure I'll be back next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭corkrunner71

Best of luck to everyone taking part. Hope it all goes well for you.

ultraman1 wrote: »
    good luck to anyone doin this am sick dat im n lanzerote while yeare doin it:confused:

hahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahaahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 467 ✭✭Mick Rice

Would also like to wish everyone well for this. 24hr races are scary experiences... good luck to all!!

Best of luck all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Best of luck everyone!
    Will be really interested to hear the feedback from this and the distances achieved!

Any chance of starting a 'target distance' table??
    (As opposed to the normal 'target time' table...)