Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[US] 6x12 - "This is the Way the World Ends" (SPOILERS WITHIN)

• 19-12-2011 6:22am

Dexter and Homicide race against a lunar eclipse to catch the Doomsday Killers before their final gruesome act; Debra struggles with a new emotional reality.

What was your reaction to 6x12? 133 votes

Excellent
    0% 0 votes
    Pretty Good
    39% 52 votes
    Average
    32% 43 votes
    Poor
    18% 25 votes
    Awful
    9% 13 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭cuppa

Yup, well well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Well I can see now how they are gonna drag this out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 stormcloud

What are the odds that Deb will get stricken with amnesia after running out of the church and hitting her head.

Thankfully this my last episode

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Staplor

It was tough to vote for this one, because although I thought the episode was boring as hell the last 30 seconds were really cool :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭McBauer

Staplor wrote: »
    It was tough to vote for this one, because although I thought the episode was boring as hell the last 30 seconds were really cool :eek:

Have to agree with you on that! You have to give them credit though, for a season that was only average, they've never left me wanting more for the new season to begin! What is annoying too is that the show hasnt really progressed this year. That ending could have easily been used last season. Thats 2 years in a row that in the finale Deb a walked in on Dexter when he was killing off the main villian.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Finally he has been caught

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Gingervitis

I hate to copy and paste someone else's opinion, much less the hysteria fest that is the Aint it Cool talkbacks, but given I was cursing at the screen and rolling my eyes for the first half of the show, it says it better than I could:

"How convenient. A ship of refugees comes by. They don't speak English. They can't report Dexter for killing someone on board. His ships washes ashore and everyone buys that he fell off and swam to shore without a blink. How convenient. For the first time ever the entire police force waits outside of the house with the big Dexter Devil painting in it until he arrives, cause they always do that. How convenient the DDay killer can get into the kid's school, put on Dexter's mask, steal his kid, and get a 5 mile head start all during a 25 second phone call.
    As a Dexter fan, I have been looking forward to a scene where Dexeter was caught by Deb, but it was so obvious that was going to happen, and was handled so poorly, that it was impossible to get excited about it. If the same writers are back next season, I'm sure Deb will faint and Dexter will clean up and convince her that it was all a dream. To say this season was disappointing isn't enough. It was embarassing."

The part in bold was the most retarded I've ever seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭horsemeat

poor episode, poor season, but great ending. everyone on the forum had me convinced harrison was getting the boot so didnt see that coming at all.
    class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Gingervitis

One more thing. If Deb finding out about Dexter was gonna be the big reveal, why didn't they do it in the last season finale? At least that had some detective work behind it, rather than dumb luck this time. Combining a romantic confession with finding out your brother's a serial killer - unnecessary overkill. Also, let's not get started on the Ice Truck Killer hand which Dexter hasn't even seen yet...as foreshadowing goes, I'm far from impressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Fiftysix

Fantastic ending, up there with season 4, overall it was an okay season. Started great but pretty pathetic middle set of episodes, with the last three or four being quite good. Serious set up for the next season although, a fresh set of writers are needed i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,660 ✭✭✭SDTimeout

Dexter isn't real, people need to stop picking holes in it as if it's based on truth. There were the same glaring holes in the first couple of seasons in relating to unrealistic stuff. Appreciate it for what it was and that's why I really enjoyed this season, really wary of Colin Hanks at the start of the season but he was excellent.

That ending happened in the first book. Always had a feeling it would creep into the TV series. I've never been left wanting to watch another season of Dexter more and I've been watching it each week online since season 1.

Also the last scene and the dialogue with Travis is one of my favorites.
    " I am the father, a son, and a serial killer "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

SDTimeout wrote: »
    Dexter isn't real, people need to stop picking holes in it as if it's based on truth. "

The Wire wasn't real,The Sopranos wasn't real, Breaking Bad isn't real. Yet these shows manage to have great writing and plot lines and the viewer is not subjected to a load of shit writing that treats the you like an idiot.

What was a posted at the start of this thread is a perfect example. It was a joke.
    "How convenient. A ship of refugees comes by. They don't speak English. They can't report Dexter for killing someone on board. His ships washes ashore and everyone buys that he fell off and swam to shore without a blink. How convenient. For the first time ever the entire police force waits outside of the house with the big Dexter Devil painting in it until he arrives, cause they always do that. How convenient the DDay killer can get into the kid's school, put on Dexter's mask, steal his kid, and get a 5 mile head start all during a 25 second phone call.
    As a Dexter fan, I have been looking forward to a scene where Dexeter was caught by Deb, but it was so obvious that was going to happen, and was handled so poorly, that it was impossible to get excited about it. If the same writers are back next season, I'm sure Deb will faint and Dexter will clean up and convince her that it was all a dream. To say this season was disappointing isn't enough. It was embarassing."

Especially that the entire police force waited for Dexter before going into the house. That has never even happened in 6 seasons of this show. Was it also even explained how he didn't sleep when he injected himself? Did he just happened to bring a needle with nothing in it in the off chance Travis would get him to inject himself?

The last 30 seconds were good and will make next season hopefully more interesting than the mess this season turned out to be.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

The part in bold was the most retarded I've ever seen.

I completely agree. It was absolutely stupid. Although the final scene made me smile the episode in general was mediocre and was a fitting finale for what was a very poor season.

Did they change the writers from those there in Season 1 and 2?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,537 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I can't wait 'til next season. I thought Deb finding out was great though it really should have happened last season. A few really stupid moments but it's still better than a lot of the crap on offer from freeview.

Also, does anyone think it's a bit daft that Dexter never bothers to cover his face when raiding peoples' house or killing people.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭SirLemonhead

tvnutz wrote: »
    Especially that the entire police force waited for Dexter before going into the house. That has never even happened in 6 seasons of this show. Was it also even explained how he didn't sleep when he injected himself? Did he just happened to bring a needle with nothing in it in the off chance Travis would get him to inject himself?

He could have explained it in one of his inner monologues but you'd all have only moaned about how the show was treating you like idiots :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭tvnutz

He could have explained it in one of his inner monologues but you'd all have only moaned about how the show was treating you like idiots :pac:

Ha,the one time that something actually needed explaining they didn't bother yet other times they repeat the same and most obvious things over and over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

This deserves to be posted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭DjFlin

I'm really glad that Deb finally found out about Dexter, it was a long time coming. However, I think it was really cheap, and a bit of an insult to the viewers.

Here's what I imagine went on in the writers room:

Writer 1: "Okay, so Dexter finally gets Travis, and kills him. How's that for an ending?"
    Writer 2: "Do you think maybe our viewers are getting sick of that formula?"
    Writer 1: "Nope."
    Writer 2: "I'm pretty sure they are, the show has had the same ending for 6 seasons now."
    Writer 1: "Fine, have Deb randomly show up at the church for no good reason and catch Dexter. Happy now?"
    Writer 2: "Not really, that's just a cheap plot device. No thought went into it whatsoever."
    Writer 1: "Tough sh*t, its happening."

DjFlin wrote: »
    I'm really glad that Deb finally found out about Dexter, it was a long time coming. However, I think it was really cheap, and a bit of an insult to the viewers.

Here's what I imagine went on in the writers room:

Writer 1: "Okay, so Dexter finally gets Travis, and kills him. How's that for an ending?"
    Writer 2: "Do you think maybe our viewers are getting sick of that formula?"
    Writer 1: "Nope."
    Writer 2: "I'm pretty sure they are, the show has had the same ending for 6 seasons now."
    Writer 1: "Fine, have Deb randomly show up at the church for no good reason and catch Dexter. Happy now?"
    Writer 2: "Not really, that's just a cheap plot device. No thought went into it whatsoever."
    Writer 1: "Tough sh*t, its happening."

She turned up at the church because she had asked Dexter to go there and close off the crime scene after the recital and she knew he would be there. It wasn't for no good reason. Pay attention, it is being spoon fed to us after all.

Sure there were plenty of plot holes and it could have been better but people are just lovin a good moan at this stage. :rolleyes:

I enjoyed it. Deb needed to find out or it was going to become very stale. That was make or break and they did the right thing. Now with Deb finding out, and Lewis having the arc with the ice truck killer hand etc, season 7 holds a lot of intrigue and with better writing could be the best season yet... if done right. The potential is there now. I like how they showed it from Debs perspective... No room to wonder what she saw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

This is the way the world ends
    Not with a bang but a whimper.

"Oh god..."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

I'm just about to watch this... can't freakin wait. I'll report back in an hour but I'm certain one episode can't sway my opinion that overall it has been an utterly horrible season mostly down to the fact that the shows writers take us for feckin' eejits who couldn't see through the whole Gellar thing.

Anyway, here goes...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,940 ✭✭✭Corkfeen

Awful episode and season. Now i've got a hypothetical spoiler.
    I'm betting that one of those Mexicans will crop up in Miami Metro at some point next season because the writers are appearing to be extremely predictable. The promo will imply that they're reporting Dexter but they'll probably be the witness of another murder (Their sister). Dexter will probably be viewed as their messiah so they won't report him in this hypothetical episode.
    I shall quote this post next year if it happens. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭DjFlin

She turned up at the church because she had asked Dexter to go there and close off the crime scene after the recital and she knew he would be there. It wasn't for no good reason. Pay attention, it is being spoon fed to us after all.

My mistake. However, it raises an even bigger issue. Why in the name of god would Dexter be dumb enough to plastic wrap a man naked to a table in a church, when people know he's there.

Has anyone else noticed that he gets dumber and dumber each season?

He goes from meticulously planning even the tiniest detail, to "f*ck it, I'm going to go there, and hope for the best."

I generally liked this season, and I am very glad Deb found him out, but it just felt cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

50 minutes of sheer and utter nonsense, followed by 30 seconds of ooooh, now that's what we were robbed of last year.

The end.

The singly most ridiculous thing; when a serial killer that brings his wallet on the hunt with him (in itself a completely ludicrous idea) has his wallet and keys stolen by another serial killer, and doesn't think that the other serial killer might turn up at his house. A much better idea is to leave your baby there, along with his teenage baby sitter. Lame and lazy.

I do hope the last 30 seconds brings something new and exciting to next years episodes. It has potential now, which has been missing for a while, but how they develop it will be the key. Erase this season from memory, and pin your hopes on the next.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Well...that was utter torture, I couldn't have given less f*cks about Travis Marshall at the end. An utterly awful season but a genuinely jaw dropping last 30 seconds... Where the hell do they go with this next season??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,964 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

Highlight of the season was Batista's sister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,963 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Agree with previous posters about the painting on the wall scene. I even said it out loud when it happened "You wait for the blood guy before entering a house where you got a call that there are dead people????" Isn't it cops jobs to clear the scene 1st? Ah anyway, good ending but that should have happened last season. Plus the whole thing of deb being in love with dexter is just weird and rediculous!

I'm guessing the psycho nerd guy already knows about dexter and will be the baddie next season.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭jcf

Pretty dissapointing - even tho they finally have the balls to have Deb find out - it was a let down , it ended too quickly

I can see some bs explanation coming up in s7, really is hard to believe this is the same show as s1-s4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

They might try a re-hash of the first "turkey" on this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭Aisling(",)

I really enjoyed this episode and series.People can give out all the want but I'm a firm dexter fan.

And if people hadnt been pointing out "obvious" plot holes and predictions in the show I wouldn't have seen them coming.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Probably the most ridiculous episode yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

Sure there were plenty of plot holes and it could have been better but people are just lovin a good moan at this stage. :rolleyes:

I enjoyed it. Deb needed to find out or it was going to become very stale. That was make or break and they did the right thing. Now with Deb finding out, and Lewis having the arc with the ice truck killer hand etc, season 7 holds a lot of intrigue and with better writing could be the best season yet... if done right. The potential is there now. I like how they showed it from Debs perspective... No room to wonder what she saw.

Possibly the best post on this thread. For the past 3 episodes (although there has been some big pot holes) that I've really enjoyed, I have come on here only to be really disappointed by what everyone else is saying. It seems everyone here just loves to moan and rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,317 ✭✭✭gavmcg92

jcf wrote: »
    Pretty dissapointing - even tho they finally have the balls to have Deb find out - it was a let down , it ended too quickly

Do you really think that they were going to throw in a casual conversation after she walks in? :rolleyes:

I'm not sure you understand the idea of a cliffhanger!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭OctavarIan

jcf wrote: »

To have any further reaction would have totally diffused the ending and serve no further narrative purpose.

Seriously, the writers showed some tact with the ending, even if they didn't in many other situations leading up to it.

"This is the way the world ends
    Not with a bang but a whimper."

That quote I posted earlier in the thread is from the title of the episode and a famous T.S. Eliot poem, which this season and episode have clearly taken some influence from. The whimper literally being Dexter saying "Oh God..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

ridiculously ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

Ginervitis wrote: »
    For the first time ever the entire police force waits outside of the house with the big Dexter Devil painting in it until he arrives, cause they always do that.

This really was the icing on the cake. I started laughing as I watched it.
    And I'm sick at the moment...I was in no mood to laugh!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

SDTimeout wrote: »
    Also the last scene and the dialogue with Travis is one of my favorites.
    " I am the father, a son, and a serial killer "

and then Dexter in his state of surprise: "oh god"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,975 ✭✭✭nkay1985

This is not the Dexter I loved.

It's become a show to watch when there's nothing else decent in the queue ahead of it when it used to take top billing.

The character of Dexter is just so ridiculous these days. He doesn't plan anything properly. The writers think a throwaway line covers it - "The owners only use the boat twice a year" - yeah, because you can be entirely sure that nobody's going to come along. Or Quinn stating that he's checked the security footage and found nothing. There would be cameras somewhere on multiple approaches to the place and a police force would take hours at least analysing these. Loads of awful sh1t like that.

And then, when the shark was already well and truly jumped, they think "right there's kind of nothing going on. I know. Incest."

I'm glad Deb caught him but it should have been done sooner before the show went to crap. I'll still watch but won't eagerly await it.

With season 7 set up as it is, there is hope if they change the writing team. It has the potential to be a good season and I hope that potential is realised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Well done, a season too late though

Can an ultimately disappointing season be rescued by an excellent closing 30 seconds?

I think not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Dire beyond belief - the ending might get me to watch the first episode or two next season but with these writers they're going to fu<k that up too.

A quote from the showrunner:
    http://ohnotheydidnt.livejournal.com/65215385.html?page=6&cut_expand=1

Q: In the finale on top of the skyscraper, are we to assume Dexter had a dummy needle prepared, so that’s why he wasn’t unconscious after injecting himself?

A: It was not a dummy needle. We didn’t answer that question, but we had an answer for it. It was just a little awkward to slip it into the footage. We showed him emptying the needle seconds beforehand, but it didn’t look right [in post-production]. We tried to address it in voiceover, it just became awkward and cumbersome.

So, just to recap, because it was 'awkward and cumbersome' to show how Dexter overcame an obvious plothole, they just ignored it. That's how much the writers think of the audience's intelligence.

Also, how did Dexter get Travis and Harrison down from the roof of that building without either meeting someone, or being caught on CCTV? I mean Christ we know it's entertainment and all, and there was oversights in the first couple of seasons but they've taken it to 'when a character isn't on screen he can do whatever he wants' levels by now.

So Dexter injected an empty needle into his neck? I suppose he wasn't worried about causing an air embolism?

Out of all the plotholes and stupidness in that episode, this is the one you're picking up on?

There was a double murder and no cops set foot in the house. Sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

I just assumed he only pretended to inject himself and didn't break the skin as he appeared to inject the side of this neck that Travis couldn't see.

Guess I'm just an easily appeased moron, :).

Out of all the plotholes and stupidness in that episode, this is the one you're picking up on?

There was a double murder and no cops set foot in the house. Sure.
    All the plot holes have already been touched upon, except dexter risking death by possibly injecting air into an artery.

Valid point.

Oh Dexter, what has happened to you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Bad Panda

jor el wrote: »
    The singly most ridiculous thing; when a serial killer that brings his wallet on the hunt with him (in itself a completely ludicrous idea) has his wallet and keys stolen by another serial killer, and doesn't think that the other serial killer might turn up at his house. A much better idea is to leave your baby there, along with his teenage baby sitter. Lame and lazy.

He drives. He hides in plain sight. Why wouldn't he have his wallet and keys?!!

Perhaps he believed Travis had a meticulous plan of his own of which to adhere to, given what's he'd done thus far. No real reason to think he'd 'scrap' his doomsday plan to go to his house.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 331 ✭✭MJRS

I cannot believe people are defending this season! Defend it, say you enjoyed it. By all means, go ahead, don't let anyone stop you! But to say that people are giving out about it just to have a moan is ridiculous. It was nearly insulting at some points it was written so badly. If you have lower standards for the show, good for you, enjoy the rest, but I assure you I am not just "having a moan" for the sake of it, it was awful. Simple as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

finally seen finale great ending.I was convinced painting was Tito Ortiz not Dexter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Shlippery

Gah..was half asleep and still figured out that Deb would catch him at the church after the "i'll do it after the recital" comment"...aw man..I reallly wanted something different...but the bastards have me gripped again now though just cos I wanna see how this pans out..