Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

He's just not that into me! Anymore!

• 18-12-2011 9:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭

I've been going out with a guy 2 months now..
    It's been all hunky dorey since we met, on phone everyday and meeting up twice a week. (he lives an hour from me)
    but this past week i've barely heard a peep, i have phoned and it was grand but he couldnt speak long and havent heard anything bar a text in few days now.
    Do i get the message and just forget it or is he just very busy with family and has forgotten me? and yes i have a paranoid head expecting the worst. boo hiss. :confused:
    and i'm off today so i've actually had too much time on my hands to think about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gypsy_rose

has he made any plans for seeing you in the future in the past week or two?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 210 ✭✭amira

Well, if he's interested in seeing you, he'll contact you.. If u keep txtin/calling u could push him a way.. Just tell him u'd like to meet sometime b4 Xmas coz u'll be too busy with family then.. If he wants to see you he will, if Xmas comes and you haven't heard from him.. I would b looking for a new guy in the new year..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Elmidena

I'd leave him be, he seems to have gone off the honeymoon phase and is probably thinking that you're at his beck and call at any time and all he has to do is chuck you a little bone and you'll be wagging your tail for his attention. Why should you make all the effort? I'd cool off and say nothing more for a few days, and see if he's suddenly interested at the absence, or if he doesn't notice. He could be busy with work before Christmas etc, but tbh I'd love&leave him OP. He's not respecting you and you're not in the schoolyard anymore. Have a snog under the mistletoe with someone worthwhile :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭MsAllybear

gypsy_rose wrote: »
    has he made any plans for seeing you in the future in the past week or two?
    He was talking about new years the last day i saw him and i thought i'd be working and he was disappointed but i've found out since i've got it off and he knows this.

Its prob not unusual for him to not text/call but just cos since we met its been all texts/calls every day..
    p,s, i havent been texting/callin frantically or anything.
    i replied to last text, phoned today to no answer.
    i'll see what happens in next few days i guess, i aint chasing him.
    wouldnt mind but at start of this i was thinking oh whatever, see what happens and now when i realise i'm falling for him big time, bang he's possibly gone. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Starokan

given the amount of contact you both have had for 2 months i think its only reasonable to expect that if he wants out he should have the decency to man up and tell you.

Give him the benefit of the doubt until you hear from him, perhaps send a text asking him to meet up and if he doesn't want to then that will probably be that.

Leaving someone hanging by just not contacting them is just plain nasty in my opinion.

Hope it works out for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,523 ✭✭✭ApeXaviour

Elmidena wrote: »
    I'd leave him be, he seems to have gone off the honeymoon phase and is probably thinking that you're at his beck and call at any time and all he has to do is chuck you a little bone and you'll be wagging your tail for his attention. Why should you make all the effort? I'd cool off and say nothing more for a few days, and see if he's suddenly interested at the absence, or if he doesn't notice. He could be busy with work before Christmas etc,
    Reading this, up until this point, I was like "exactly"...

I'd suggest the OP ignore everything after.
    but tbh I'd love&leave him OP. He's not respecting you and you're not in the schoolyard anymore. Have a snog under the mistletoe with someone worthwhile :)
    I'm all for openness and non-monogamy, but actively betraying someone when they might just be a bit busy? Not cool.

OP you do not want to become the needy partner. If there was a better way to drive someone away then I've not heard it. Take a step back for now. The relationship is still new... in the future you'll better be able to judge and can approach and communicate your misgivings. For now though you're still wading in unknown waters, a drop in communication frequency is normal, but if he starts stringing you along tell him to get the boat.

In the meantime I wouldn't advocate going off snogging other lads, but a bit of flirtation for your own confidence is no harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,411 ✭✭✭✭woodchuck

Just had a thought, I could be totally wrong but figured I’d put it out there…
    Could be he wants to cool off a bit around Christmas to avoid getting you a present and will pick things up again around new years.

Whatever is going on though I wouldn’t do much chasing, let him come to you. If a couple of weeks pass and you hear nothing then I’d assume it’s over :/

ApeXaviour wrote: »
    Reading this, up until this point, I was like "exactly"...

I'd suggest the OP ignore everything after.

I'm all for openness and non-monogamy, but actively betraying someone when they might just be a bit busy? Not cool.

OP you do not want to become the needy partner. If there was a better way to drive someone away then I've not heard it. Take a step back for now. The relationship is still new... in the future you'll better be able to judge and can approach and communicate your misgivings. For now though you're still wading in unknown waters, a drop in communication frequency is normal, but if he starts stringing you along tell him to get the boat.

In the meantime I wouldn't advocate going off snogging other lads, but a bit of flirtation for your own confidence is no harm.
    Just clarifying here: I said love&leave first, meaning end it and then seek out someone deserving of you or let your hair down on a night out. I don't advocate cheating, not at all! I'd just meant life's too short for such headaches; if he's not making the effort, no reason that you should have to settle for that. If there's a chance the relationship will work out then by all means go for it, but at the time of year when people are meant to be at their closest and he can't find the time to send a text....doesn't sound promising to me.

ok, so still nothing, thats nothing today or yesterday and short call friday, prob sounds so silly, i know he has big family and different stuff but he usually checks in, not that he has to.. anyway i'm not gonna do chasing.

thing is if he is trying to finish it, it Will be weird because only last monday (last time saw him) we as a couple got together with my best friend and her hubby who is a good friend of his, (theyre men, dont see each other often) and that went well and next day before he left it was all good. (what im saying here is we've connections here even though i dont live near him, my best friend does)

avoiding me to avoid the xmas present thing i dunno but i really don't think thats him.

... I need to chill out yes! again off most of today so had too much time on me hands :confused:

well i tried phoning once yesterday and when no reply left it at that, .. i've plenty to keep me busy for rest of week now so it's grand, just honestly didnt think he's this kinda guy, thats why im confused majorly!
    oh well.. whats meant to be is meant to be..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Ah let him off. If he was into you, he wouldn't be sending mixed messages ie phoning and meeting up one week, and not bothering the next. You've dodged a bullet by finding out what he's like after only two months. Some unlucky women get MARRIED to guys who behave like that!!

Christmas is a great time to be single, you've your plans made now all you need to do is go out and enjoy yourself. Have a blast!

"He has shown now that he can leave you feeling rejected and wondering, "
    true, true! yeah you're right, oh well!! prob time to move on so... if i hear nothing by end of today , then i'll take it, we're done!!

Re the xmas presnt thing, I can't really believe anyone would actually do that, so I don't think that's it.

Just mentioned it cause unfortunately I DO know of people who have done things like that :/ Obviously if that’s what he’s playing at though he’s not worth the time of day anyway.
    MsAllybear wrote: »
    if i hear nothing by end of today , then i'll take it, we're done!!

I would’ve thought maybe give him until the end of the week? It’s not that unusual for a couple in the early stages of a relationship to go a few days or even a week without much/any contact at a time when they’re really busy. If it gets to a week, I’d try ring/text him one more time and if there’s nothing back THEN I’d consider it done and try to tell him that. That’s just me though :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Miss Fluff

It's been all hunky dorey since we met, on phone everyday and meeting up twice a week. (he lives an hour from me)
    but this past week i've barely heard a peep, i have phoned and it was grand but he couldnt speak long and havent heard anything bar a text in few days now.

When there's a sudden shift in behaviour patterns like this it normally does not bode well I am afraid. I'd say he simply doesn't have the balls to put an end to it and is hoping instead you will get the message through him going AWOL. Bit of a sh1tty thing to do but if that's the amount of backbone he has then you haven't really missed out on very much

The thing is, the OP has rung and no courtesy call back or text. After daily, constant contact, a big sudden break with no explanation is going to sting.

I wouldn't personally contact him again to say I know it is over. Why waste your credit on someone that didn't even have the decency to say it?

I agree he’s being a d*ck.

But I’d personally still do the courtesy call to officially break things off if that’s what the OP wants to do. No need to stoop to his level. And a clean break is always best.

woodchuck wrote: »
    No need to stoop to his level.

She wouldn't be stooping to his level if she broke off contact with him. She would only be stooping to his level if they were in regular contact and she decided to break off all contact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭judgefudge

Hey OP,

I was in the exact same position about a month and a half ago. I was seeing a guy for three months and there was a sudden drop in contact. He was still getting in touch but it was bare minimum effort. I eventually confronted him over it and he said it wasn't personal he was busy blah blah blah. He strung me along for another few days before I finally came to my senses and told him it was over. Basically it turned out he didn't have the balls to just tell me he wasnt that into me so he was hoping I'd get the hint.

Its not a nice way to be treated but its more of a reflection on him than you. I had a gut feeling things weren't right a while before I broke it off. I'm guessing since you're on here you have that same gut feeling and I'd suggest you follow it. Its not unreasonable to expect contact from someone you've been seeing (whether he's busy or not) and in my experience if a man is interested you will be on his mind and he will want to contact you.

Good luck x

Thanks for all the responses guys,
    looks like its just he hasnt the balls to do it himself, and its a take the hint kinda thing, .. wtf was he on about new years eve for only a week ago so.. i didnt bring it up he did.
    As upset as i am at this prob being over, i'm getting annoyed now, he's just being plain rude!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭Janet1986

Maybe he met someone else or slept with someone else and can't face you.

I would make no contact until the end of the week and block him from your phone.

The only way to get over someone is to cut contact and keep the mind busy.

You could always try ringing from a different number or get someone that knows the both of ye to ring/text him and see will he reply to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

Thanks for all the responses guys,
    looks like its just he hasn't the balls to do it himself, and its a take the hint kinda thing, .. wtf was he on about new years eve for only a week ago so.. i didnt bring it up he did.
    As upset as i am at this prob being over, i'm getting annoyed now, he's just being plain rude!! :mad:

You'd be surprised what people can do or say even when they're thinking of breaking things off. I've a friend who was making plans to go visit his girlfriend abroad and the two of them were chatting about what they'd be doing. Then next thing out of the blue, she dumped him and he soon found out she had another bloke on the side.

Sorry to hear what happened. Life would be so much simpler for us all if people just said what they thought and didn't do spineless things like this.

slept with someone else in the last week? he was telling me his plans all week, he'd things on, meeting this person, work so tbh dunno where he'd the time, maybe im naive!.. maybe he did, don't think so but then again ya never know.
    it's not that i've kept ringing him and he won't answer me,i only tried ringing yesterday evening when id not heard.
    i heard from him sat morning, replied, then let him know what i was at sat night (he'd family kids thing on) so i knew he was busy at that, no reply but usually he'd ring or text.. as someone says above its takes 2 mins to write text say he's busy.. and quicker to ring. -his usual way of contact.
    only mutual friend is my best friends hubby and itd be so obvious if he rung him and dont want them involved .
    i don't plan on contacting him, and anyway the end of the week is xmas, even though i basically know it already, i dont fancy being told on xmas eve that we're finished.
    God men are cowards, i'm going through all and wondering did i say/do something that made him think No no!

p.s. thanks guys for replies. thought maybe at start i was overreacting on this but nope!...

Just a couple of musings here--I rarely hear from the OH but this is after years together and live in different counties. He also has a medical condition that makes it hard to keep in contact, but this is what I'm used to now. It did hurt when it first kicked in, but we'd had a long established relationship by that point and it was nowhere near as short as the time frame with you OP. Also, no mutual friends anymore; the crowd we met through showed ugly colours after we got together, so I'm glad I don't have the luxury of checking on how he feels about me etc. That's paranoia I'm grateful I no longer have!

But with him going so cold, I'm thinking that he did meet someone, whether anything happened or not, and he realised that you aren't for him, or he feels guilt and is avoiding you to resist hurt and drama at an already stressful time of year.

I was annoyed my sister didn't ring me yesterday when I was trying to arrange her pressie for Christmas (she doesn't live in Ireland and will be only over a few days) and then this morning on gmail chat she was wailing about losing her phone. Is this possible with him? Did ye have any other way of keeping in touch--landline/email/facebook etc? If the answer is yes then I'd cut your losses and have a happy Christmas where you're laughing and surrounded by good people, not wondering every question your mind can drag up.

I don't believe the Christmas presents idea that was previously posted, but maybe to an extent it is true. He might have been asking about NYE because he didn't want to be on his tod for it, and wanted to make sure he had someone for a midnight kiss, or that if he doesn't want you, nobody else can have you either. I can't honestly think of a valid reason why he'd go so cold all of a sudden; if he was in hospital etc the friend's hubby'd surely know and tell you, if he ran out of credit sure there's webtext, call catchers etc. Chalk this one up to experience, and if you got him a present return it and spoil yourself with something nice :)

*hugs* You're worth so much more than this behaviour OP, don't forget that!

He has huge family that he gets on great with so certainly wouldnt be on his own for it.
    Don't think he is in hospital or anything like that cos was chatting to his sis in law (she added me pretty quick!) last night on fb (she started talkin to me) and she'd have mentioned it.
    He has me on fb so he has other ways to contact me if it was a case of lost phone.

it sounds likely now that he has just found out someone else or is bored of me now. few other things i've thought of but no point now.
    If it was something i'd done, i'd prefer to know. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭LovelyLottie

OP and judgefudge, i know exactly how you both feel, this has just happened to me too!

3 months with a guy who was so keen for the first 2.5 months. A few weeks before it ended i had a gut feeling (and a little bit of evidence) that he just wasn't into it as much as i was, and when i tried to talk about it he stormed off and promptly disappeared off the face of the earth! I tried to make contact and he ignored me, so i moved on.

I was in bits for the first week, less in bits last week, and i'm doin pretty ok today :) I've only ever had this lovely experience once before. It was hard to accept that this guy valued what we had so little, that he'd just break up with me by pretending i didn't exist anymore!! But that's what he did.

You'll be fine but i know you're hurting - get out with your friends, talk to them, cry if you need to, go to the gym, buy new shoes, delete his number, clear all phone and message history, clear the way for someone new - you don't want someone new yet, but you will.

Oh by the way, after a week my mr. perfect saw that i had moved on and texted to dump me, but implying that our breakup was my fault. I replied and highlighted that in fact it was him who had the problem. He replied with "fair enough" - i mention this because i (once again) realised that guys who are dumping you really don't care what you have to say, sometimes venting your anger does make you feel better but most of the time you're left with even more questions about their reaction to your reaction. Keep your dignity and your sanity - vent to your friends, don't let him see that you're hurting or that you even give a sh1t cos he's not worth it. Expend that energy on someone who is. Hang in there - it will get better xxx

Oh by the way, after a week my mr. perfect saw that i had moved on and texted to dump me, but implying that our breakup was my fault.

This is very typical of guys who haven't the courage to break up face to face. Their egos become dented if their exes don't come chasing after them to find out why it all ended. So they get in contact under some pretence or other to see if you're actually pining for them. You gave a good reply LovelyLottie!

You'll probably have a similar reaction from your ex OP. He doesn't want to face you because he thinks it'll be a bunny boiler scenario (all drama built up in his own head of course!), so you can expect some form of contact over the next while when he realises you're getting on rather well without him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

Janet1986 wrote: »
    Maybe he met someone else or slept with someone else and can't face you.

I would make no contact until the end of the week and block him from your phone.

The only way to get over someone is to cut contact and keep the mind busy.

You could always try ringing from a different number or get someone that knows the both of ye to ring/text him and see will he reply to them.

What would that prove!!! I don't see how that could be a good idea.

im still here and no nothing heard since. on inspiration from hot shower and advice from friend and my paranoid head actually worrying about him.. i txt earlier, i know i shouldnt have but all i text was "Hey is everything alright?" Was giving him a bone (if thats right phrase) so he could go right yeah loook etc etc but...
    and no reply surprise surprise.
    no thats me finished with him.
    anyway yes i'm grand sunflower thanks for asking :) xx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

mood wrote: »
    What would that prove!!! I don't see how that could be a good idea.

It would blow the theory that he has lost his phone/fallen under a bus out of the water. I've a friend who was seeing a guy who went "missing" and she just wanted to know for certain that he as just ignoring her texts. He was. You can call it childish or whatever but it gave her closure.

well his sister in law popped up on fb last night to say hello (she added me soon after i met him!) so unless shes completly out of loop, he's totally fine and just ignoring me...

MsAllyBear, don't beat yourself up about the fact that you texted him to find out what's going on - that's what normal people do after all, communicate.

It appears that he has checked out of the relationship. I guess there's a possibility that he may get back to you in a while and say he was busy etc. etc. and want to continue, and if that happens you need to decide if you want to be with someone who'd ignore you for days, then change his mind.

But i would say he is telling you it's over. I know it's very hard to get your head round that when there are so many unanswered questions, but in my experience no answer is your answer. I don't mean to be harsh or too direct, and i hope i'm not coming across like that, it's just that i've gone through the same thing. Hope you're doing ok and best of luck :)

MsAllyBear, don't beat yourself up about the fact that you texted him to find out what's going on - that's what normal people do after all, communicate.

It appears that he has checked out of the relationship. I guess there's a possibility that he may get back to you in a while and say he was busy etc. etc. and want to continue, and if that happens you need to decide if you want to be with someone who'd ignore you for days, then change his mind.

But i would say he is telling you it's over. I know it's very hard to get your head round that when there are so many unanswered questions, but in my experience no answer is your answer. I don't mean to be harsh or too direct, and i hope i'm not coming across like that, it's just that i've gone through the same thing. Hope you're doing ok and best of luck :)

Ah thanks, no dont worry i get what your saying, aw its clear by now it's over , i said i'd kinda wait till this evening see if he replies and if not by then then i'd know. so i know.
    it's obviously how he does it, cos i'm not all over sensitive around him that he'd be afriad i'd start wailing at being dumped.
    aww if he gets in contact, he cant use busy cos takes 2 mins to say hello im alive so he cant use that.. Obviously i hope to God nothing bad going on with him.
    but if does get contact ,it's tough luck to him.

anyway his loss, i'm done. number deleted, text msgs deleted. fb is next.
    tomorrow is a fresh start and all that jazz. :)

Sorry to hear of your situation, it is extremely head melting to be treated like this and from what i have read on here, it seems to be all too common. Out of the blue from guys you dont expect this sort of unpredictable and cowardly behaviour from.
    I of course have had it happen to me too recently and probably gave it more thinking than it was worth but with me i over analyse situations that leave me feeling confused. i knew there was something up somehow but never got the answer i was looking for. i guessed he would get back to me with little explanation and hey presto, he did. i knew he didnt give me closure as he was probably expecting we could pick up where we left off, wherever that was. honestly i have moved on since even though it took it out of me at the time to be given no answers or hints to what or why he disappeared. it is a really horrible feeling especially when you think things are ok.
    people who do this, who are reckless with other peoples emotions and ignore them truly are selfish and disrespectful and it is best to learn this at the early stages if it is any consolation.

i know it has only been a week and just before Christmass but hopefully it doesnt weigh on your mind about why he has done this and go out and enjoy yourself, try to find someone who is more derserving and respectful of you and tell the guy what he can do with himself if he ever decides to grace you with a response.

delayed reaction today, was out distracted today doing stuff then something reminded me of him, i shant say what and thankfully was dark and nobody saw my face!! fckn men

trying to shut him out of my head, and yet i keep thinking, Ah he'll text me now , i wish he actually would and just confirm its over so i can just have closure if that makes sense rather than waiting longer for him to contact me and explain that he's an A-Hole and yes its over..
    was supposed to go to dancing thingy toinght and got all excited that i'd forget about him completly for few hours and no its cancelled.

Right, well he's alive and well!! Still havent heard from him but my friends hubby saw him other night out running , and his sister in law was chatting to me on fb and mentioned nothing about him being knocked by a bus or anything. but i know now he's just a big F*cking coward

trying to shut him out of my head, and yet i keep thinking, Ah he'll text me now , i wish he actually would and just confirm its over so i can just have closure if that makes sense rather than waiting longer for him to contact me and explain that he's an A-Hole and yes its over..

This is why I suggested a clean break. You might hear from him in an hour, or a week or never again. Why not just stop torturing yourself and just email/text (since he probably won't answer his phone) just to say that it's officially over and get it out of your system? I think it'll make the process of moving on much easier.

Sorry if I'm coming off as insensitve btw... I know you're hurting, I just know from experience that it's easier to have an official break up than drag things on so that you can have a good cry and move on to better things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Why not just stop torturing yourself and just email/text (since he probably won't answer his phone) just to say that it's officially over and get it out of your system? I think it'll make the process of moving on much easier.

Why bother? He didnt have the courtesy to tell her that he was moving on, why should she bother telling him? She can move on herself without telling him anything. Another bit of contact just makes her look like she is being dramatic and needy.
    Sorry if I'm coming off as insensitve btw... I know you're hurting, I just know from experience that it's easier to have an official break up than drag things on so that you can have a good cry and move on to better things.

I disagree. Its quite clear that this is a break up, it doesnt need to be made 'official'. Its over. Even if he came back now saying that he was sorry and he was busy etc... the OP knows that he was willing and able to just blank her - and thats not acceptable behaviour.

OP - sorry you got blanked, Ive always thought its one of the nastiest ways to treat someone, but the one good thing is that it totally shows the persons true colours, no mixed messages there!!! Youre better off without someone like that, it takes someone cowardly, lacking in basic human respect and with a questionable moral compass to blank someone - all he had to do was give you a call and say 'Im not that into you' - and he couldnt do that? Youre better off without him!!

Why bother? He didnt have the courtesy to tell her that he was moving on, why should she bother telling him? She can move on herself without telling him anything. Another bit of contact just makes her look like she is being dramatic and needy.

I disagree. The OP has said herself that she keeps thinking ‘Ah he'll text me now’ and that she’d like a sense of closure. If he’s not going to give her that closure she needs to get it for herself. I’m not saying that she should send a snotty emailing calling him an asshole etc, but just something to say that she realises things aren’t working out and all the best etc. I know people are going to say ‘he’s not worth even that’, but it’s not about being courteous even, it’s about the OP getting a sense of closure and remaining the bigger person while doing so. If she was do this in say a month it would look like she’s pining and needy, but doing it now would be the right time I’d say.

OP obviously it’s up to you what you want to do, but I just thought I’d give another perspective. I’m finding it hard to believe that I’m the only one thinking a clean break is more healthy :confused:

She's got closure. She knows he is out jogging etc, etc. He has not returned her call or last text.

I wouldn’t consider him being spotted jogging by someone as closure :confused: There’s always the niggling doubt there’s some ‘good’ reason that he hasn’t called/texted yet. Or worse, that he’ll just try to pick things up again whenever suits him thinking that she’s still gagging for it as she’s made such an effort to contact him. If she makes it clear that things are over on her end there’s much less risk of that happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

There’s always the niggling doubt there’s some ‘good’ reason that he hasn’t called/texted yet.

And there's every possibility that if she formalises things by calling time on the relationship via text/email he'll act the injured party and make the OP feel worse by saying he wasn't trying to break up with her/had a legitimate reason for falling off the planet. She's then the one who broke up with a guy she liked who (although he acted the maggot) might claim he wasn't planning on breaking up with her and if that did happen I know I'd kick myself a little (just a teeny bit).

Closure is overrated in this kind of situation. He's made his feelings pretty clear for now, if that changes then let it and worry it about it if it does. There's no need for a power struggle and asserting control by being the one to end things - he's dropped off her radar despite numerous attempts to get in contact with him so any 'closure' would be hollow anyway. Pending some legit excuse for where he's been, she's wasted enough energy on him. Take it at face value OP, chalk it up to experience or whatever and enjoy Christmas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

I’m finding it hard to believe that I’m the only one thinking a clean break is more healthy :confused:

But it already is a clean break. He has blanked her. She has already made the last contact, via a phonecall not returned and a text not answered.

Another text or call from her makes her look like she is trying some kind of overly dramatic closure finish to try and 'make' him respond to her.

Theres no need to be the person to 'formalise' it - its done. This kind of business of following up to make it official or formal is unnecessary. And its just another opportunity for the OP to wonder why yet again he hasnt bothered to reply. Its only doing your own head in to continually try to make the person blanking respond. Its not healthy at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭daisybelle2008

If he’s not going to give her that closure she needs to get it for herself.
    OP obviously it’s up to you what you want to do, but I just thought I’d give another perspective. I’m finding it hard to believe that I’m the only one thinking a clean break is more healthy :confused:

Your idea of a 'clean break' is different than a lot of other peoples.
    Sending a text to break up with someone who clearly does not want to hear from you smacks of a bit of desperation or trying to get a reaction out of them.
    Closure comes from within, not one way dialogue with someone who is clearly not interested.
    Closure comes from telling yourself I do not want to be in contact with someone who is ignoring me, my instinct tells me he is not interested so I am not going to waste my time thinking, texting or entertaining dialogue (especially one sided) with him, and put him in the past mentally.

OP let him jog on, you are done. His actions should have made clear in your head that he is not reliable relationship material.

God the thought of sending 'break-up' text to someone who does not want to be with you, or even getting one from someone you don't want to be with, makes me cringe and in all honesty is a little bit pathetic IMO.

The OP has said herself:

Forgive me if I’m wrong OP, but it doesn’t sound like you have a sense of closure at all? If that’s true I’ve told you what I would do, but if you’re genuinely ‘happy’ with the situation as it stands then follow the advice of the others and leave things be.
    pow wow wrote: »
    And there's every possibility that if she formalises things by calling time on the relationship via text/email he'll act the injured party and make the OP feel worse by saying he wasn't trying to break up with her/had a legitimate reason for falling off the planet. She's then the one who broke up with a guy she liked who (although he acted the maggot) might claim he wasn't planning on breaking up with her and if that did happen I know I'd kick myself a little (just a teeny bit).

Even if he doesn’t want to break up, I thought the OP didn’t want to be with someone who would go for days without contacting/responding to her? This just sounds like false hope, as if he MIGHT still get in touch and you’re saying not to 'officially' break up ‘just in case’?

I don’t think one last bit of contact will make a difference here other than for the OP to know herself that he won’t come chasing after her at a later date. And unfortunately there are a lot of guys who purposely avoid a clean break so that they can come back for an ego boost if they get rejected by someone else. I’m not saying the OP would fall for this or anything, but it would be unwanted situation that is easier to avoid by having a clean break now.

Again, I’m not talking about a long email outlining how hurt she is and what went wrong etc. Just something short and simple to get the message across that things aren’t working out and all the best or something along those lines. Yes there’ll be the initial thing again of ‘will he reply’ but it’s much more simple in this sinario… the options I see are:
    (a) He doesn’t respond. Take it that it’s definitely over. If he wanted to keep the relationship going you can bet he’d be calling you asap!
    (b) He responds with some bullsh*t excuse, in which case the OP can just confirm that things are over and he’ll know not to come sniffing around again when things aren’t going his way with someone else.

Maybe you’re right about having different definition of things daisybelle2008. To me I can only have closure if I know for sure the relationship is over. This all sounds like it’s in a sort of grey area where he could still come back with some excuse for his behaviour. I don’t see the point in coming to terms with something yourself only to potentially have him reappear on the scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Can you call over to him and try catch him in person?

I wouldn’t consider him being spotted jogging by someone as closure :confused:There’s always the niggling doubt there’s some ‘good’ reason that he hasn’t called/texted yet. Or worse, that he’ll just try to pick things up again whenever suits him thinking that she’s still gagging for it as she’s made such an effort to contact him. If she makes it clear that things are over on her end there’s much less risk of that happening.

You see woodchuck this is the problem with your closure break-up text. Your break up text has an agenda, trying to force a response to find out if he had a 'good' reason. It is hopeful of a response and has not quitr got the message.

The OP already 'knows' instinctively that he does not want to communicate with her. She would be better off accepting that and moving on instead of trying to 'catch' him out.

When you do that to someone who is not interested in you there is a lot less satisfaction then if you accept it and move on as soon as your instinct tells you no. You end up looking and feeling a bit of a needy desperado. Keep your dignity and energy for something better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Even if he doesn’t want to break up, I thought the OP didn’t want to be with someone who would go for days without contacting/responding to her? This just sounds like false hope, as if he MIGHT still get in touch and you’re saying not to 'officially' break up ‘just in case’?

Hey I'm not disagreeing on the first point, he doesn't sound like the kinda prize the OP wants to win from what she's said, but at the same time she's emotionally invested in him, even if it's just a little bit, and so if he were to turn around after she formally breaks it off with some remotely plausible excuse as to why he's been freezing her out I think that would be more hurtful to her than just letting things lie the way they are.

As for the second part even if she does email/text to finish she'll still wonder 'why' (drawing a line under things doesn't stop you thinking about them after all) and so IMO it's putting good effort after bad on someone who doesn't seem like he deserves it.

Speaking from personal experience of the exact same situation, what's the point in contacting him? There are so many guys out there who want a girlfriend and know how to behave normally and civilly, why waste another second on a f*ckwit? As it's already clear that he's a coward and living in a parallel reality of how to treat people normally, the OP texting to dump him will probably result in him pretending that he didn't really want to break up but was busy with his oh-so-important-and-complicated life and make her feel like sh1t all over again! Remember, he's trying to get out of something without actually being the bad guy. In fact, i'm gonna stop typing right now. This loser doesn't deserve any more of my time! :)

Maybe you’re right about having different definition of things daisybelle2008. To me I can only have closure if I know for sure the relationship is over. This all sounds like it’s in a sort of grey area where he could still come back with some excuse for his behaviour. I don’t see the point in coming to terms with something yourself only to potentially have him reappear on the scene.

Closure comes from within, it comes from trusting your instinct about when someone is interested or not. It comes from being able to like yourself enough to not entertain wishy washy second rate romance.

I don't know why you keep going on about 'if he comes back'. So what? If you have decided that you deserve better than why should that matter?

Wrecking your head with texting and chasing him around the place to 'catch' him out is the actions of someone who won't let go of a bad thing and has not got enough self-respect to avoid people who treat them badly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Wrecking your head with texting and chasing him around the place to 'catch' him out is the actions of someone who won't let go of a bad thing and has not got enough self-respect to avoid people who treat them badly.

It's not catching him out as in hunting him down and surprising him unawares, just knocking over to him to try to talk to him face to face. Can't see how that is losing any self respect? If he doesn't answer the door then fair enough, leave it as he is a coward, or has some sort of issues. There is a lot to be said for communicating with someone in real life than over the phone though.

You see woodchuck this is the problem with your closure break-up text. Your break up text has an agenda, trying to force a response to find out if he had a 'good' reason. It is hopeful of a response and has not quitr got the message.

The OP already 'knows' instinctively that he does not want to communicate with her. She would be better off accepting that and moving on instead of trying to 'catch' him out.

When you do that to someone who is not interested in you there is a lot less satisfaction then if you accept it and move on as soon as your instinct tells you no. You end up looking and feeling a bit of a needy desperado. Keep your dignity and energy for something better.

I didn’t mean that she should contact him for a reason about his behaviour. In fact a non-response would be the best case scenario as it would confirm things are definitely over.

I don’t think it’s any more desperate than the level of contact she’s being doing recently to try and get in touch with him (btw I’m NOT saying you’ve acted needy/desperate OP, just that any perception of this by him wouldn’t change with one additional text/email on top of everything else). It already seems like he has a very low opinion of her to be acting so inconsiderately, who cares even if he DID view it as desperate!? At least he knows that’s one door that’s closed for good. THAT’S the whole point of it. No hidden agenda about getting answers out of him. (sorry OP but it’s unlikely you’ll ever know for 100% sure what happened)
    Hey I'm not disagreeing on the first point, he doesn't sound like the kinda prize the OP wants to win from what she's said, but at the same time she's emotionally invested in him, even if it's just a little bit, and so if he were to turn around after she formally breaks it off with some remotely plausible excuse as to why he's been freezing her out I think that would be more hurtful to her than just letting things lie the way they are.
    it.

The thing is he could still come back with a plausible excuse at ANY point when it suits him. At least this way if he comes back with an excuse the OP can be prepared and deal with it now on her own terms.
    As for the second part even if she does email/text to finish she'll still wonder 'why' (drawing a line under things doesn't stop you thinking about them after all) and so IMO it's putting good effort after bad on someone who doesn't seem like he deserves it.

I agree it won’t stop her thinking about him and wondering ‘why’. But I think these thoughts/emotions are easier to process in order to move on if a line is drawn under the relationship. I’d consider closure and moving on two separate processes. I don’t see how someone can move on easily without closure (to me that’s both parties knowing the relationship is over).
    Closure comes from within, it comes from trusting your instinct about when someone is interested or not. It comes from being able to like yourself enough to not entertain wishy washy second rate romance.

I guess we disagree on our definitions. For me I’d only feel a proper sense of closure if both people know the relationship is done and there isn’t a chance of things starting up again.
    I don't know why you keep going on about 'if he comes back'. So what? If you have decided that you deserve better than why should that matter?

Because no matter how tough we all act, if an ex comes back on the scene it can hurt and bring back a lot of negative emotions. I just think having a clear cut break up (not a dramatic one or anything, just acknowledging that things won’t be going any further) make it less likely that he’ll reappear if he needs an ego boost. I’ve seen this happen to friends of mine, so it is a possibility.

I’m getting very lonely out here :P Does nobody else get what I’m trying to say? OP it’d be good to have some more input from you as to whether or not you still feel you need closure. If you don’t I’ll happily shut up :) (and I hope you’re doing ok btw! Sorry I’m more practical rather than emotional about these things, but I wouldn’t try to give you advice if I didn’t care)