Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clash of the Titans - Aston Villa v Liverpool, Kick off: 2:05pm

• 17-12-2011 11:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭

Team News:

Aston Villa forward Gabriel Agbonlahor serves a one-match ban for accumulating five bookings, so Emile Heskey could start against his former club.
    Midfielder Fabian Delph has recovered from the knee injury that caused him to miss last weekend's victory at Bolton.

Liverpool have top scorer Luis Suarez available after the outcome of his disciplinary hearing was delayed until later in the week.
    Jay Spearing serves the second of a three-match suspension.

• Liverpool have only lost one of their last 10 league matches (W5, D4, L1).
    • Villa won at home to Liverpool for the first time in 13 attempts on the final day of last season, when Stewart Downing scored the only goal. Liverpool had won seven and drawn five of their previous 12 league visits to Villa Park.
    • However, Kenny Dalglish has yet to win a league match at Villa in charge of Liverpool, drawing all five visits in his first spell and losing 1-0 last season.
    • Daniel Agger is poised for his 150th Liverpool appearance, while central defensive partner Martin Skrtel should make his 100th league start for the club.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Agger to score in a pool victory, although I expect a scrappy enough game for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

"Clash of the Titans"

I presume this is some kind of joke?? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,268 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Savman wrote: »
    "Clash of the Titans"

I know, that title should have been reserved for the QPR/United match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

"Clash of the Titans"

We all know Man City/Arsenal is the clash of the titans this weekend.

Of course its meant as a joke, unless somehow there has been a time warp 29 years and Villa are European Champions and gunning for the title and Liverpool dominating the domestic game for the past 10 years as they did in that time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Jesus lads, i think it's quite obvious it's meant as a joke. No need to dissect the feckin thing!!

Some people can't take a joke.

Anyway, reckon this will be a score draw 2-2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,900 ✭✭✭RayCon

hhmmmmmm ... Ive a 1-1 feeling about this game. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

An unpleasant 95 mins beckons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I actually think this is gonna be a comfortable win for the Pool. I don't think Villa are playing all that well and with Gabby out, I'm not expecting this to be one of our more uncomfortable visit to Villa Park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

mike65 wrote: »
    An unpleasant 95 mins beckons.

Ever the optimist. Cmon teh lads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

2-0 to the Pool.

Bellamy and Carroll!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭PARKHEAD67

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Ever the optimist. Cmon teh lads.
    Ya, I hope Petrov scores a couple.Mon Villa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

1-1 i'd hazard a guess. Lol at posters getting wound up over the thread title. Some people really need to get out more.

2-0 to the Pool.

Bellamy and Carroll!
    But Carroll doesnt score.Have you not realised this yet. £35 Million??? Good man Kenny.:D

PARKHEAD67 wrote: »
    Ya, I hope Petrov scores a couple.Mon Villa.
    But Carroll doesnt score.Have you not realised this yet. £35 Million??? Good man Kenny.:D

Celtic match is down the hall.

Dont worry, I'll be watching the Celts later.I just have a funny feeling that Villa are going to nick this one.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

Villa are a horrible team to watch this season, i expect Liverpool to have the majority of the ball & them to leave Villla Park with a 1 nil win. That'll do donkey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

£35 million :eek: .... No fcuking way , really ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

1-1 i'd hazard a guess. Lol at posters getting wound up over the thread title. Some people really need to get out more.

Really? You are pulling this crap on me on a Sunday morning????:pac::pac:

I think it will be a comfortable enough poerformance today for some reason, and have to agree with Ravishing Rob's post.

3-1 to Liverpool with Suarez to turn in a blistering performance.

mixednuts wrote: »
    £35 million :eek: .... No fcuking way , really ?

Relax, teknickally it was Torres - £15m, which now means £20m - £15m = £5m.

Carroll cost us £5m, which is worth a punt as he is young and has already banged in 4 goals and he's only a fringe player at the moment.

Do you dig?

Kess73 wrote: »

I think it will be a comfortable enough poerformance today for some reason, and have to agree with Ravishing Rob's post.

Sniffer software is working a treat I see :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Kess73 wrote: »

Opps sorry forgot about that. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If Maxi starts with Bellamy on either flank I'll be happy. Its important to keep Suarez central, Richard Dunne is a grand servant but I think can be bamboozled by quick movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

If Maxi starts with Bellamy on either flank I'll be happy. Its important to keep Suarez central, Richard Dunne is a grand servant but I think can be bamboozled by quick movement.

Agree..collins is not the qucikest either

Downing- hendo - adam- maxi
    suarez- kuyt

Then i can't see us losing

touch wood

Bowlardo wrote: »

touch wood

Take that back !

It's the one thing we don't want the ball doing today :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Lack of midfield options probably mean it'll be 4-2-3-1 or a 4-4-2. I can see Downing getting a run as well.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

mixednuts wrote: »

Take that back !

It's the one thing we don't want the ball doing today :pac:

haa haa haa brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,295 ✭✭✭slingerz

Is this on tv or anything?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,654 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

slingerz wrote: »
    Is this on tv or anything?

Sky Sports 1 I believe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

4-1 to the pool

Suarez with 2 or 3

Its christmas i am optimistic

I have forgotten everything that has happened i the last 3 months

PLease dont ruin my dream

Happy xmas all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

This game has the distinct smell of scoreless draw off it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

orourkeda wrote: »
    This game has the distinct smell of scoreless draw off it.

I fear thats just Villa have that distinct smell in most games but hopefully we will be surprised again. Im hoping to see more of Albrighton tonight (tis night here) as I'm a big believer in his ability and work ethic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

"Clash of the Titans"

Sky have just described the villa-pool game as the "meat in the sandwich".
    'nuff said :pac:
    0-1 for me, Suarez.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

I hear Shelvey starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭JPA

Bent not playing it seems.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Relax, teknickally it was Torres - £15m, which now means £20m - £15m = £5m.

Carroll cost us £5m, which is worth a punt as he is young and has already banged in 4 goals and he's only a fringe player at the moment.

Do you dig?
    You forget that Atletico Madrid bought Luis Garcia for 6 million plus -26 million, which now means £5m + £6m = £11m. Also technically it was Cisse + 14 million + Garcia. Cisse went for 6m, but he was signed for 14m, so that's £19m now for Carroll. But Cisse himself was actually 8m + 6m for Heskey, who cost £11m, so Carroll now cost £25m. But Heskey himself...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Phoenix Park

Reina

Johnson
    Skrtel
    Agger
    Enrique

Shelvey
    Henderson
    Adam
    Downing

Bellamy

Suarez

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭ynwa_17

Reina, Johnson, Skrtel, Agger, Enrique; Downing, Adam, Henderson, Shelvey; Bellamy, Suárez

Subs: Doni, Carroll, Maxi, Carragher, Kuyt, Coates, Kelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,812 ✭✭✭✭JPA

VILLA: Guzan, Hutton, Dunne, Collins, Warnock; Albrighton, Delph, N’Zogbia, Petrov; Heskey, Delfouneso

Subs: Marshall, Bannan, Clark, Cuellar, Weimann, Johnson, Burke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

VILLA v Liverpool: Guzan, Hutton, Dunne, Collins, Warnock; Albrighton, Delph, N’Zogbia, Petrov; Heskey, Delfouneso. Subs: Marshall, Bannan, Clark, Cuellar, Weimann, Johnson, Burke.

No Bent, Agbonlahor or Given for Villa so I predict a 3-1 defeat :(

That bench doesn't exactly fill me with confidence. Has Graham Burke or Daniel Johnson ever even played a senior game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

Pool: Reina/Johnson Agger Skrtel Enrique/Downing Adam Henderson Shelvey/Bellamy Suarez

VILLA: Guzan, Hutton, Dunne, Collins, Warnock; Albrighton, Delph, N’Zogbia, Petrov; Heskey, Delfouneso.

No Herd or Bent for Villa :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,283 ✭✭✭Glico Man

I like the look of that team

Midfield looking like this I hope

Adam
    Henderson

Bellamy
    Shelvey
    Downing

With Bellers and Downing switching constantly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Shelvey playing.. Interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭ynwa_17

A lot of pace on those Villa flanks. I'd fancy Skrtel and Agger to dominate Heskey and Delfouneso - Bent and Agbonlahor are huge loses. We need Downing, Bellamy and Suarez to hit their stride early on, if so we could be in for a big win!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Bent is a huge loss.

This'll be....interesting :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,852 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

ynwa_17 wrote: »
    Reina, Johnson, Skrtel, Agger, Enrique; Downing, Adam, Henderson, Shelvey; Bellamy, Suárez

Subs: Doni, Carroll, Maxi, Carragher, Kuyt, Coates, Kelly.

Not a bad team. I thought Shelvey did well in both games i saw for blackpool on the right cutting in. Wouldn't mind him on for maxi as he needs games to bed in and probably has more to offer long term

Very attacking Liverpool team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Bent is a huge loss.

This'll be....interesting :(

Is he really? He's been poor this season (perhaps due to the system that McLeish is using) and it might well give you more freedom playing without him.

It'll definitely be interesting to see how you play without him.

Is he injured by the way?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Channel - 106723

for those interested bloodzeed are listed as showing this game on sopcast. currently showing QPR v Man Utd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Interesting LFC line-up.

Is today set up for Downing to have good game for Liverpool and maybe score?