Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Redknapp gesture to Shamrock Rovers fans

• 15-12-2011 11:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭

Just seen this there:
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/16210291.stm

I wasn't watching the game and just wondering was there much in it and what kind of chants was he subjected to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

henke wrote: »
    Just seen this there:

I wasn't watching the game and just wondering was there much in it and what kind of chants was he subjected to?

"you should be in Jail"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,369 ✭✭✭henke

dreamers75 wrote: »
    "you should be in Jail"

Ha I cant imagine Redknapp seeing the funny side of it. Anyone see the gesture? Likelihood he could face a probe?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,977 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

"you should be in Jail"

Nothing new there then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

"you should be in Jail"
    Ah here, he just asked a question like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,954 ✭✭✭✭CSF

Much ado about nothing to be fair. A closed fist? Obscene gesture? No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Jesus everyones getting a bit precious lately (mostly the authorities it seems) . "the big evil football man made a sign at me with his hand" :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Football is gone crazy. So what if a player or manager makes a gesture towards the crowd ffs. They put up with all sorts of nasty crap from the crowds all the time and they are only human.

Ah it depends on the gesture to be fair, you can't have managers or players flipping the bird at crowds containing kids. I get that the closed fist gesture isn't exactly great with kids around either but I dunno why but its less of a biggie to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Ha I cant imagine Redknapp seeing the funny side of it. Anyone see the gesture? Likelihood he could face a probe?

Very likely he could face a probe if he were to go to jail. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

The world is gone mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

CSF wrote: »
    Ah it depends on the gesture to be fair, you can't have managers or players flipping the bird at crowds containing kids. I get that the closed fist gesture isn't exactly great with kids around either but I dunno why but its less of a biggie to me.

Chances are those kids have heard and seen a lot worse from their own crowd to provoke the reaction anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭Lumbo

Suarez V Fulham helping you to have that opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Edit - Rich Humans :D

Chances are those kids have heard and seen a lot worse from their own crowd to provoke the reaction anyway.
    Not much you can do about that though. You can't dispel all the bad things in the world with a 'ah sure it happens worse somewhere else'. This is something you can do something about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Bet ye all said same of Eric Cantona too ya?:pac::pac::pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Redknapp is an idiot for letting these thugs get to him. I would expect better from harry

ricero wrote: »
    Redknapp is an idiot for letting these thugs get to him. I would expect better from harry
    Thugs? They're football fans singing songs at football matches. You should try it sometime.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

I think pretty much everyone in the ground found the chant funny, including the travelling Spurs fans near me. Except Harry himself.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

dfx- wrote: »
    I think pretty much everyone in the ground found the chant funny, including the travelling Spurs fans near me. Except Harry himself.:pac:

Did they have a giggle at the "Does your telly know your here" chant? MNS facebook page posted about it and there seemed to be a unity between fans of clubs givings Shams fans a pat on the back for that gem of a chant. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

"you should be in Jail"

There's also many variations that you can do to the tune of "Only Fools and Horses".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

You should be in jail and you're just a tax dodging bastard were sung. :)

Like he doesdt hear worse in England.

No worries if he gestured to the crowd. All part of the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Jesus everyones getting a bit precious lately (mostly the authorities it seems) . "the big evil football man made a sign at me with his hand" :rolleyes:

No, more like

"after I gave him streams of dogs abuse for 90 minutes the big evil football man made a sign at me with his hand"

rolleyes

helen-lovejoy-pic.jpg

Any news on how the Irish spurs dealt with disrespectful and unsporting questions such as "Does your telly know you're here?" and "What's it like to see a game?"

The ones waving a tricolour didn't seem to mind, at least. Funny to see a tricolour and a union jack waved by fans of the same club at a game.

This is actually a story?

A clenched fist and the PC police get a hardon.

What the fúck is wrong with people these days? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

stovelid wrote: »
    "Does your telly know you're here?" and "What's it like to see a game?"

:D fantastic

Any news on how the Irish spurs dealt with disrespectful and unsporting questions such as "Does your telly know you're here?" and "What's it like to see a game?"

The ones waving a tricolour didn't seem to mind, at least. Funny to see a tricolour and a union jack waved by fans of the same club at a game.

Never get the tri-colour thing myself. Celtic fans are always at it too.

Lol at those two chants :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

In fairness the Rovers fans seemed in fine voice.

The "you can stick your english football up your arse" could have got to Harry too though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

CSF wrote: »

Will someone think of the children

If we abuse him, he should be allowed to react a bit. If somebody complained, that's ridiculous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

To be fair to Harry I really don't see how this is news. We gave him nothing but abuse for 90mins, its only fair game for him to have some form of comeback.

The chants to the south stand were quite funny. "Where's your barstool gone" was another good one.

I was quite enjoying the revival of the old skool "he's got a pineapple on his head" aimed at Assou Ekotto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭Sappy404

Am I to understand he shook his fist at them, 'Why-I-Aughtta...' style? And people are upset?

Jasus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Sappy404 wrote: »
    Am I to understand he shook his fist at them, 'Why-I-Aughtta...' style? And people are upset?

Jasus.

Pretty much.

As for ricero. Good god man thats the worst comment I've ever seen on this forum. Have you ever been to a game before? Probably a silly question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Hang on, people aren't upset. Everyone in the stadium thought it was hilarious. There's been no complaints from anyone in the crowd and nothing will come of it, it's just another non-news story.

Some other gems last night:

"You're not fucking Irish" (to Irish Spurs)

"You can stick your Englsih football up your arse"

"Feed the Bohs, let them know it's Christmas time"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Just seen this there:

"you should be in Jail"
    Well if any group should know about that ........

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Indeed, it's great how English football has allowed the is all now to forget our grudges and sing happily alongside our friendly neighbours under a Union Jack. My only disappointment is that they'll be in Ukraine for the Euros so we won't be able to belt out "Rule Brittania" with them from the stands. Shame really.

As for the Redknapp thing, it's much ado about nothing. Football has rightly cracked down on racist and discriminatory chanting but there's nothing wrong with fans giving a bit of stick to somebody. As for the person who considers them "thugs"? Have you ever been at a match? :rolleyes:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Likelihood he could face a probe?
    Not until he's in jail.

Well if any group should know about that ........

What do you mean by that exactly?

Touchy, touchy stovey, you can dish it out, but can't take it?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

"Feed the Bohs, let them know it's Christmas time"
    I'l admit I laughed at that :o

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

I'l admit I laughed at that :o

it's hardly a new one though!

Des wrote: »

Everybody singing the chant has done something that may have warranted a jail sentence?

Obviously a supporter of our beloved national sports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I'm curious to know what that referred to also.

Everybody singing the chant has done something that may have warranted a jail sentence? .

Probably, it's Tallaght. :pac:

We don't slash rival supporter's throats out here if that's what you mean.

I don't mean that.

WTF, are you ok dude, double shot of espreso this morning instead of a latte was it?

I don't mean that.

WTF, are you ok dude, double shot of espreso this morning instead of a latte was it?

Apologies, fair enough. Day off and the kids had me up at Stupid O'Clock this morning.

I'll be grand after these coffees. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

iregk wrote: »
    To be fair to Harry I really don't see how this is news. We gave him nothing but abuse for 90mins, its only fair game for him to have some form of comeback.

The chants to the south stand were quite funny. "Where's your barstool gone" was another good one.

I was quite enjoying the revival of the old skool "he's got a pineapple on his head" aimed at Assou Ekotto.

How ironic

Apologies, fair enough. Day off and the kids had me up at Stupid O'Clock this morning.

I'll be grand after these coffees. :pac:

No problemo mate :)

Stupid O'Clock is probably the norm at this time of the year if you've kids.

"You're not fucking Irish" (to Irish Spurs)

"You can stick your Englsih football up your arse"

Cringe