Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are you going to pay the household charge? [Part 1]

• Registered Users Posts: 5,475 ✭✭✭drkpower

Mr CJ wrote: »
    Your still bringing up irrelevant income tax?

In order to argue reasonably about the unfairness of one particular tax you need to convincingly distinguish it from other types of taxation.

• Registered Users Posts: 425 ✭✭barrackali

This tax is coming in one way or another, the gov need the money and are obliged to bring it in. Property taxes will make people think twice about speculating on property. I don't just blame the bankers for this mess, I also blame the idiots who thought they could borrow small fortunes to become landlords. I would bet my house on this coming in.

• Registered Users Posts: 331 ✭✭Mr CJ

dvpower wrote: »
    Not sure that they're using the boards.ie poll as their key metric.;)

No but I would trust the poll above more so than any other poll.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,497 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

alastair wrote: »
    It's unjust because you don't like it or what?

I'm pretty sure my home is not a castle. The lack of a drawbridge for starters.

I consider this Law to be unjust. Here's a quote from a man who gave his life to oppose unjust laws.

One who breaks an unjust law that conscience tells him is unjust, and who willingly accepts the penalty of imprisonment in order to arouse the conscience of the community over its injustice, is in reality expressing the highest respect for law.
    Martin Luther King, Jr.
    The other part of your post deserves to be ignored.

Ghandee wrote: »
    Similar usernames with similar views..........

Do you believe in non-violent resistance?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

drkpower wrote: »
    In order to argue reasonably about the unfairness of one particular tax you need to convincingly distinguish it from other types of taxation.
    We were already paying taxes. VAT, PAYE...?
    These managed up until now. Or are we expecting incredible upgrade of public services for this tax, because they haven't announced much?
    The idea is, a service is announced, you pay for it.
    This is just "We're bankrupt, owe money, gimme money."

The money the idiots in this country owe has nothing to do with me, I'm debt-free, apart from this governmental albatross looming over me. Therefore, unfair.

Or do you think any tax brought to fruition is a just tax?

and now your repeating your rubbish?? Are you truly that desperate?? Stop digging

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Do you believe in non-violent resistance?

My signature should answer your question.;)

and now your repeating your rubbish?? Are you truly that desperate?? Stop digging

Can you convincingly distinguish it from other types of taxation?

grindle wrote: »
    We were already paying taxes. VAT, PAYE...?
    These managed up until now.

Hmmm; I wonder whether the situation that presents itself now might be relevant.....
    The money the idiots in this country owe has nothing to do with me, I'm debt-free, apart from this governmental albatross looming over me. Therefore, unfair.

If you are debt free, it would be the height of fairness that you pay a little bit more. Go fairness.

I wont pay income tax because my job/income does not cause damage. Sorted.

But the shower of cnuts you pay it to have done untold damage. Boom boom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

No but I would trust the poll above more so than any other poll.

Why do you trust the boards.ie poll above the recent Red C poll?

Can you convincingly distinguish it from other types of taxation?

I dont even know why im wasting my time replying to you. Do you actually realise what your asking here???

Its different in so many ways someone else can reply with more cause im not arsed, here is one anyway its a blanket charge you have to pay no matter what, if your getting no income you still have to pay name another tax like this????

But the shower of cnuts you pay it to have done untold damage. Boom boom.

So we should boycott all taxation? Is that the logical extension of your position?

Taxation is unfair. There's a new concept.

Can i get a rebate for all of the taxes that I have paid that I reasonably consider unfair?

If you consider it fair then you pay.
    I don't so i will not pay. Simple.
    I pay all the other taxes as I think they are fair - won't pay this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Funny how the naysayers never give out about their elected representatives passing this law in the Dail. What I see is disrespect for our elected parliament by refusing to obey the law of the land.
    We'll be the laughing stock of Europe and be known as a nation of lawbreaking bandits if that many refuse to pay their fair share.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Do the government paint your property once a year ?

Do the government call in and cut your lawn every now and again ?

Do the government collect your rubbish for you ?

Do the government provide your internet, electricity and heating for you ?

NO

• Registered Users Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭grindle

If you are debt free, it would be the height of fairness that you pay a little bit more. Go fairness.
    Ah, do you... understand... fairness? I didn't gorge myself on credit until my world collapsed into a pit of shít, therefore I should have to pay for other people's stupidity?

I suppose you serve prison sentences on behalf of others while you're at it, do you?

So we should boycott all taxation? Is that the logical extension of your position?

tayto is this guy for real????? were is the ignore button ha

Its different in so many ways someone else can reply with more cause im not arsed, here is one anyway its a blanket charge you have to pay no matter what, if your getting no income you still have to pay name another tax like this????

There are exemptions for those on low/no incomes.
    Just like water charges, waste charges.
    Car tax is payable if you have no income.
    A dog licence is payable if you have no income.

You still havent distinguished it. Keep trying though (if your arsed).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

gurramok wrote: »
    Funny how the naysayers never give out about their elected representatives passing this law in the Dail. What I see is disrespect for our elected parliament by refusing to obey the law of the land.
    We'll be the laughing stock of Europe and be known as a nation of lawbreaking bandits if that many refuse to pay their fair share.

We already are the laughing stock of Europe..

I'm surprised Vaseline haven't opened a plant here, What with all those willing to bend over...

Ah, do you... understand... fairness? I didn't gorge myself on credit until my world collapsed into a pit of shít, therefore I should have to pay for other people's stupidity?

I worked hard while many couldnt be arsed. Why should I pay more income tax then them?

You are debt free. Those who can be, should pay, right?. That sounds fair.

dvpower wrote: »
    Why do you trust the boards.ie poll above the recent Red C poll?

Because they dont tally up with many other polls I have come across and I dont think they are as independant as you might think

If you consider it fair then you pay.
    I don't so i will not pay. Simple.
    I pay all the other taxes as I think they are fair - won't pay this one.
    I dont consider the amount of income tax I pay to be fair. Should I be entitled not to pay it? Simple?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

There are exemptions for those on low/no incomes.
    Just like water charges, waste charges.
    Car tax is payable if you have no income.
    A dog licence is payable if you have no income.

You still havent distinguished it. Keep trying though (if your arsed).

Use less water, reduce your waste.
    Sell your car/take it off the road.
    Get rid of dog.

Can do all above if find myself out of work.

What am I supposed to do with my household charge though?
    Live in the house less to reduce the charge?

Wakey wakey Drkpower......

Use less water, reduce your waste.
    Sell your car/take it off the road.
    Get rid of dog.

Can do all above if find myself out of work.

What am I supposed to do with my household charge though?
    Live in the house less to reduce the charge?
    Sell your house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

BishopDonal/Donalg
    Dvpower/Drkpower

Similar usernames with similar views.........

All very coincidental of course.

Sill, what are the chances.........

You would want to be seriously f**ked in the head to want to have 2 usernames on boards.ie to argue the same point, especially on this subject.
    That would be bordering on insanity.

tayto is this guy for real????? were is the ignore button ha

That lad has a career in the entertainment industry ahead of him
    I am enjoying this thread though. Good craic. I really believe some of these lads are getting paid for trying to convince people to pay this unjust tax. They should give the money back as the gap is widening everyday..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,183 ✭✭✭dvpower

Because they dont tally up with many other polls I have come across and I dont think they are as independant as you might think
    You think the Red C poll is fixed or biased in some way?

gurramok wrote: »

No your wrong there more like well fairplay to them their standing up for whats right at least there not mindless twits obeying there masters every order