Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gloucester V Connacht saturday 17th dec @ kingsholm 15.40 live on sky sports 1 HD

• 15-12-2011 10:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

I am heading over to this (the shed of course!) to what I thought was going to be on the back of our 1st win in the comp,oh well!
    anyhu lets wipe the slate clean and start again!
    I really hope we can put in a shift against a very beatable team like glaws.
    We need out front row to stay level at least and give away fewer penalties.
    Back line is static but i would say its not their fault collectively as their 9 and 10 dont know what they are doing most of the time,Go or not to go, up the tempo slow it down.
    Its like we are three seperate units forwards,half-backs and backs and until we can play as a team ,well you know the rest.......

I understand we have injuries but hope EE puts out the most attacking XV we have as we have nothing to loose!

NOC should be dropped and even an average nikora or jarvis for that matter would give us more options.

strongest possible front row or else we will be pushed around all afternoon.
    line out needs to do its job also(hope the darts are good!)
    what say you?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis.

In summation, please Eric, start Jarvis at 10.

He's been our only 10 to show anything by way of game management this season.

Griffin should be ready again, fitness wise. I'd like to see Vainikolo start with O'Halloran ready to come off the bench if he's not producing the goods.

Rogers in for Ah You and, I'm presuming Ray is injured so Grace in the backrow with McKeown on the bench.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

not a single smilie to be seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,202 ✭✭✭seanin4711

durkadurka wrote: »
    not a single smilie to be seen.
    :D;):p:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

seanin4711 wrote: »
    I am heading over to this (the shed of course!) to what I thought was going to be on the back of our 1st win in the comp,oh well!

Gloucester is a great rugby town, not exactly a tourist hot-spot but thats not what you're after on a rugby weekend! I was there for the Munster quarter final in 2008. Theres a great bar called Mike Teagues directly opposite the shed, real rugby pub, gauranteed good times!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

seanin4711 wrote: »
    :D;):p:)
    Bit more like it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭siltirocker

Robbo wrote: »
    Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis, Jarvis.

In summation, please Eric, start Jarvis at 10.

He's been our only 10 to show anything by way of game management this season.

Griffin should be ready again, fitness wise. I'd like to see Vainikolo start with O'Halloran ready to come off the bench if he's not producing the goods.

Rogers in for Ah You and, I'm presuming Ray is injured so Grace in the backrow with McKeown on the bench.

I don't see your logic. Vainikolo is WOEFUL! And has been in his 3 Senior & 2 A caps. In his first 2 games he was at fault for tries that were the difference. And when I say at fault, I don't mean played the wrong line/bad tackle, I mean amateur stuff! Whilst O'Halloran has been exceptional this season.

And Rogers is an amateur player who is never going to make it as a pro, worse than Ah You IMO. I'd give Loughney another shot. (Wait is Loughney injured?)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

I don't see your logic. Vainikolo is WOEFUL! And has been in his 3 Senior & 2 A caps. In his first 2 games he was at fault for tries that were the difference. And when I say at fault, I don't mean played the wrong line/bad tackle, I mean amateur stuff! Whilst O'Halloran has been exceptional this season.

And Rogers is an amateur player who is never going to make it as a pro, worse than Ah You IMO. I'd give Loughney another shot. (Wait is Loughney injured?)
    I'd rate Rogers as being more stable than Rodney in the scrum at the moment. Rodney is miles off in terms of fitness so 20 minutes at the finish is the best way to use him, with his sheer size being more useful against a tired opposition front row in the scrum.

About Vainikolo, I'm an insufferable optimist and would like to see more of him before writing him off as an expensive mistake. I think O'Halloran's clocked up plenty of minutes already for someone of his age and from the bench he can cover wing/fullback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Heading over with 3 mates. Keep an eye out for 4 eejits with green wigs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

Johnny O Connor is back

4 points, chalk it down

Still trying to decide whether or not to drive down to this. Will be on my tobler if I do go, unless I can convince a workie to come with. One came to Bath last weekend and had an epic time, but not sure he'd be game again so soon...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Dont see how any connacht fans can have any optimism going into this game.
    Playing badly and Gloucester are very strong at home id expect Connacht to get stuffed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Digifriendly

sickpuppy wrote: »
    Playing badly and Gloucester are very strong at home id expect Connacht to get stuffed.

Maybe Connacht have one big performance to give and it will be this one. They weren't that far away last Saturday against a very ordinary Gloucester side. I remember Ulster got stuffed against Gloucester at Ravenhill a few seasons back but put in a real backs to the wall performance at Kinsholm in return fixture only losing by a few points. Can't see Connacht getting anything at Toulouse and by the time the Harlequins return game is played the pool will probably have been decided with little or nothing hanging on the game so maybe this is the Westies best chance left to make a statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

sickpuppy wrote: »

I'm expecting a 14 pt win for Gloucester

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

15 Gavin Duffy (C)
    14 Mark McCrea
    13 Eoin Griffin
    12 Dave McSharry
    11 Tiernan O'Halloran
    10 Niall O'Connor
    09 Frank Murphy
    01 Brett Wilkinson
    02 Ethienne Reynecke
    03 Ronan Loughney
    04 George Naoupu
    05 Mike McCarthy
    06 Dave Gannon
    07 Johnny O'Connor
    08 John Muldoon

16 Adrian Flavin
    17 Dylan Rogers
    18 Rodney Ah You
    19 Mick Kearney
    20 Eoin McKeon
    21 Paul O'Donohoe
    22 Matthew Jarvis
    23 Kyle Tonetti

NOc starting again:(

on the plus side good to have JOC and Griffin in the side

rogers in for buckley on the bench

the backroom staff must be watching different games to me

evil_seed wrote: »
    Heading over with 3 mates. Keep an eye out for 4 eejits with green wigs

where to get one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭cityman 18

freyners wrote: »
    15 Gavin Duffy (C)
    14 Mark McCrea
    13 Eoin Griffin
    12 Dave McSharry
    11 Tiernan O'Halloran
    10 Niall O'Connor
    09 Frank Murphy
    01 Brett Wilkinson
    02 Ethienne Reynecke
    03 Ronan Loughney
    04 George Naoupu
    05 Mike McCarthy
    06 Dave Gannon
    07 Johnny O'Connor
    08 John Muldoon

16 Adrian Flavin
    17 Dylan Rogers
    18 Rodney Ah You
    19 Mick Kearney
    20 Eoin McKeon
    21 Paul O'Donohoe
    22 Matthew Jarvis
    23 Kyle Tonetti

NOc starting again:(

on the plus side good to have JOC and Griffin in the side

rogers in for buckley on the bench

Really cant understand NOC starting again, it defies logic. Great to have griffin back. Himself and Dave McSharry are capable of causing Glaws a few problems. For some reason i think Connacht can get a losing bp in this one.

Not sure why i think that...

cityman 18 wrote:
    Really cant understand NOC starting again, it defies logic. Great to have griffin back. Himself and Dave McSharry are capable of causing Glaws a few problems. For some reason i think Connacht can get a losing bp in this one.

Not sure why i think that...

i would expect a LBP at minimum

+14 on the handicap is very generous

If the same Gloucester turn up as last week and Loughney can do 80 minutes, we've decent ref and we're allowed compete at the breakdown, then we're in with a shout. All the bollocks about the Shed is just that, bollocks. Between the white lines is where it's won and lost

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭ouncer

3 bp wins and we're back in this competition :-). great to see JOC back. our decline has really been since he got sidelined. is tuohy injured this weather?

Tuohy out of favour

I don't advocate dirty play but I hop Jim Hamilton is at the receiving end of a couple of haymakers at the bottom of a ruck

Clear and intentional gouge on Dave Gannon last week and not even a citing. Bloody disgrace. He was acting the maggot throughout the game as well. I think it's appalling that Mike McCarthy can get cited for an innocuous tackle on Clerc and Hamilton gets away with the most disgraceful act in the game. Clearly one rule for one and another rule for others.

Live television game today, lets put on a performance and knock these ***** out of the competition on their home patch

CMON CONNACHT

Niall O'Connor has to have some compromising photos of Elwood. He's the Teflon Ten.
    ouncer wrote: »
    is tuohy injured this weather?
    He was out with the A's last week so I assume he's fit. He's a Pro12 grade player at best though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Diom

About Galway? Connacht Clan gathering upstairs in Busker Browne's for the match. We'll have some alcoholic beverages to give away, and a quiz for half-time entertainment.

just like to add to PB on the hamilton thing, wonder what would happen if a connacht player had done the same:rolleyes:

although if connacht didnt report it we cant argue with him playing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

freyners wrote: »
    just like to add to PB on the hamilton thing, wonder what would happen if a connacht player had done the same:rolleyes:

although if connacht didnt report it we cant argue with him playing
    Connacht can't report. Only the citing commisioner can

balls, always that it was different. In that case, we can bitch away so:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

Elwood should have said something to get press coverage of it though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 littledubs

Anyone have a link to watch this for free online? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

littledubs wrote: »
    Anyone have a link to watch this for free online? Thanks

http://www.justin.tv/twomintpork1#/w/2258845408/2

beautiful try, great hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Nice try Connacht.

NOCs kicking technique is so poor and he hasnt changed it a bit from his underage days.

Good man TOH finishing off that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭johnnysmack

Good try but why were the connaught players so much slower then the gloucester guys in a straight sprint?

great try but bad start overall, need to be more varied in attack

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

That looks a try to me.

edit No hang on Gloucester 14 has knocked it on - just after Duffy failed to gather.

edit again not given anyway.

No try thank god

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭castie

TMO cant call for the knock on though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

What are those commentators watching TOH's hand clearly touched the ball first. Sharples never touched the ball cleanly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

I didn't think TOL got to it first at all. Looked ok as a touchdown by Gloucester winger to me.

McCrea off for Tonetti, hamstring

Nice break. Should level it here.

NOC playing well.

COnn should of had a penalty for runner being taken out

13-10 Connacht lead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

What kind of decision was that for the knock down at the scrum? Still playing advantage AFTER the scrum has been completed? :confused:

good half

NOC playing alot better than last week, tactical kicking is fantastic
    JOc is making his presence known

chupacabra wrote: »
    What kind of decision was that for the knock down at the scrum? Still playing advantage AFTER the scrum has been completed? :confused:

There was a knock on and they hadnt really moved away.
    He let advantage continue since they hadnt gone anywhere and called it up when they were blocked down.

Should of called for the scrum alot earlier and not played the adv so long.

No idea what your saying with adv after the scrum??

Try should have been allowed, terrible decision

Playing ok, can't kick it away to their back 3, too much pace

Come on lads keep it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭Funk It

going well so far, was still playing advantage when it was blocked down, if the kick was cleared it would have been advantage over, but still got me up shouting about like a lunatic, bring on the second half

Connacht have been in position to recieve a kick a few times where no one has properly claimed it.

This is great from Connacht, they're controlled, and aggressive, and they're playing the game to their strengths. NOC better kick this