Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Super Six Final - Froch vs Ward

• 13-12-2011 10:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭

Sorry if there is a thread already up on this and feel free to mrege.

I'm really looking forward to this. I'm a big Froch fan cos he's never in a boring fight. He got lucky against Dirrell in the first fight but I really do think he'll beat Ward on Sunday whether he's going to box long range or ko him late on.
    I think Ward was lucky to get away with his headbuts in the fight against Kessler and since then hasn't been taken out of comfort zone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Ward by a wide points decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭phily2002

Johner wrote: »
    Ward by a wide points decision.

If i was betting on it this would be what my money go on. But Ive written Froch off before(didn't give him a hope against AA) and he always comes up with the goods(besides the Kessler fight which was pretty close). I hope Froch wins, Ward was the only fighter who got to fight every fight in his hometown and the final's in the USA... say what you want about Froch, but he'll fight anyone, anywhere. He's the type of fighter boxing needs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭minty16

Completely agree. Froch is brilliant to watch. I think the most likely result is a Ward points win but at the prices Froch KO/TKO at 8/1 is absolutely huge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,817 ✭✭✭corny

Neither man has great KO power and i can only see Ward winning on points. Wouldn't be the first time Froch pulls something out of the bag though. I hope he does because i'm not too fond of Ward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,594 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Froch has overturned expectations before, but I can't see him doing it this time. Ward is a very good boxer indeed.
    Perhaps if Froch can turn it into a brawl he has a chance, but otherwise it'll be a wide points decision for Ward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,229 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I think this is very close. Froch to me is not a great boxer technically. Always "looks" beatable, but then when you are in there with him he performs, takes away your strengths and grinds you down. Ward is slick and tough, but enagement wins fights. And, he will have to engage Froch. Can't juts keep it on the outside all night. I see a great battle of styles here.

walshb wrote: »
    I think this is very close. Froch to me is not a great boxer technically. Always "looks" beatable, but then when you are in there with him he performs, takes away your strengths and grinds you down. Ward is slick and tough, but enagement wins fights. And, he will have to engage Froch. Can't juts keep it on the outside all night. I see a great battle of styles here.

Agree it looks mouth watering on paper with regards to styles. I cant wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭megadodge

I really like Froch but I think this is a step too far. Ward is just too good of an all-rounder. Froch will make it as hard as you'd expect, but I see a clear UD for Ward.

I think he can and probably will. Froch has proved he has trouble closing tidy fighters down. I'm thinking Dirrell running away form him and Taylor before the knockdown. You add to that Ward has proved he's not half bad in close either and i can't see where Froch has the advantage. He's a good chin and won't stop throwing but he'll have to get lucky for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,140 ✭✭✭ebbsy

I am going for Froch on points, I have a feeling Ward could freeze on the biggest night of his life.

corny wrote: »
    I think he can and probably will. Froch has proved he has trouble closing tidy fighters down. I'm thinking Dirrell running away form him and Taylor before the knockdown. You add to that Ward has proved he's not half bad in close either and i can't see where Froch has the advantage. He's a good chin and won't stop throwing but he'll have to get lucky for me.

I see your point. Ward is versatile. Can rough it up and stick and move. I just think Froch will have plan to make this a war. He will get to Ward and that is when we could see a brawl, one that may favor Carl. Froch is also very awkward. Throws shoTS from odd angles with power and weir reach. Could well surprise Ward.

ebbsy wrote: »
    I am going for Froch on points, I have a feeling Ward could freeze on the biggest night of his life.

Any reason for thinking this? :confused: You don't win an Olympic Gold Medal and a World Title by freezing on big nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,140 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Any reason for thinking this? :confused: You don't win an Olympic Gold Medal and a World Title by freezing on big nights.

You could say the same about Audrey Harrison.

ebbsy wrote: »
    You could say the same about Audrey Harrison.

Ward has proved himself in the Pro ranks already, winning a world title beating Kessler and defending it several times. I just don't get why you think he will freeze. There is no evidence to suggest he will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭ureds

Ward has proved himself in the Pro ranks already, winning a world title beating Kessler
    He headbutted his way win that one.

ureds wrote: »
    He headbutted his way win that one.

No way. He was just a notch or two better all night. Kessler could not get his shots off and lost a clear decision. No intentional butts.

They were most certainly intentional
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Puxp2Lv6QU

He was and is a notch or two better for me too but come on they were blatantly deliberate. He's a filthy fecker.

Not just the headbutting,Bika got the same treatment as well,but the punching when holding.At least Froch knows how to rough it too :)
    I really hope Froch gives Ward a torrid time and puts him on his arse.:D

Some pre-fight mind games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

How many fights on tonight before Froch v Ward?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

Really looking forward to this fight, great clash of styles

I think Ward will surprise Froch with how he can slug it out aswell as box.

But I just think that Froch will win it through sheer desire. He may be outboxed for long periods but Wards power isn't going to be respected by Froch who will just keep coming after him, he'll look crude at times but I think tonight will see Froch finally be recognised as the top dog in the division

This may not make any sense but if Ward wins I see him beating Bute

If Froch wins i'm not so sure he will beat Bute.

I just think Froch has the style and approach to upset Ward.

But Ward would outbox Bute who although he can box and punch, will not pressure Ward like Froch would.

Bute would have Froch respecting his power, and he could outbox Froch aswell.

I think Bute could beat both, but, as you say, Ward most likely has the style to beat Bute.

Fighters shoud be in the ring at 0230 hrs.

As Ward doesn't fight outside America and Bute doesn't fight outside Canada its doubtful if they could ever get this on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭StevePH

Jayob10 wrote: »
    But I just think that Froch will win it through sheer desire.

This.
    Though I have to grudgingly admit to admiring Ward's ring IQ, Froch's current confidence and hunger are as strong as I've seen in a boxer.

There's another thread on the board about whether fighting/winning is in the mind or body. If there's a boxer who supports the school of thought that its in the head - Froch could be the example - his determination to keep diggin in supports what his body /chin is able to take.

Froch really believes this is his night. It may well be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Ward for me, Frochs chin is carved from granite, one tough sob. Ward just is the better boxer, dont know why but i have a suspecion that Froch will stopped on cuts or one bad cut. The way all the big fights have gone this year something contreversial will happen!

I would like to see Froch win but I think Ward can win this in more ways. He will be as tough, faster, more slippy, which will be key, and he will use more angles and movement to confuse Froch. UD for Ward with many rds very close.

This is a very plausible outcome aswell most definately.

I just see Froch making things very uncomfy for Ward, Ward is undoubtedly more talented. It will all come down to Ward's ability to repel Froch and deal with his pressure. If Ward has trouble doing this then I would count on Froch wearing him down.

I do think Ward can rumble with the rough stuff, and can fight on the inside, I just wonder will he be ready for the sheer determination of Froch's in your face onslaught. Its always very dangerous when a guy can walk through your best punches and can bang himself. It can render all of your technically good stuff useless if you cannot keep him off and he can hurt you. As the fight goes on the aggressor is going to get to you.

If Ward can frustrate Froch then you will be absolutely right in a UD for Ward, may even be a wide decision.

Really intriguing fight.

I do think Ward can rumble with the rough stuff, and can fight on the inside, I just wonder will he be ready for the sheer determination of Froch's in your face onslaught. Its always very dangerous when a guy can walk through your best punches and can bang himself. It can render all of your technically good stuff useless if you cannot keep him off and he can hurt you. As the fight goes on the aggressor is going to get to you.

If Ward can frustrate Froch then you will be absolutely right in a UD for Ward, may even be a wide decision.

Really intriguing fight.

That is why I believe the slippiness will be key. Ward is very slippy when he wants, and Froch may well be pressing and throwing, but I envisage a lot of missed shots, which won't tire Ward. Analagous to Margarito-Cotto 1. But, Ward will be more determined, heartier, tougher and slippier than Cotto. Plus, a better boxer too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

ureds wrote: »
    They were most certainly intentional
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8Puxp2Lv6QU

He's a disgrace!

Hoping for a Froch won tonight. Bit worried about the judges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭Denners.ie

Great stylistic match-up tonight and one I am relishing.

Froch can bring all the heart he wants but he will be like a headless chicken in there tonight, a wide UD for Mr.Ward with Froch looking thoroughly exposed is the outcome. Get your coppers on it lads.

Walking by the bookies today, had a massive personality shift and stuck 20 euro on Froch!

5 to 2 is good value for man who invariably finds a way. I hope anyway.

Walking by the bookies today, had a massive personality shift and stuck 20 euro on Froch!

5 to 2 is good value for man who invariably finds a way. I hope anyway.

8/1 for the KO is even more tempting.

Lads whats the start time on this one please? I've heard it's earlier than usual ? :S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭pacquiao

someone said around 2:30 ish

minty16 wrote: »
    8/1 for the KO is even more tempting.

Froch by split decision I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

Absolutely delighted to see Froch getting his dues. Not the most polished fighter but a man sky should have backed alot sooner. Always great value for money

its an uphill task for him tonight though

Khan hates Froch this should be interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭Patsy fyre

Backed Andre ward to knock froch simply because he has relations in Galway 8/1 get on it

Froch has upset the odds before, but i just think Ward is too good a boxer for Froch to defeat. I'd like to be wrong though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Anyone got an ETA on when this is meant to start? And then a more realistic ETA? :pac:

Barry McGuigan is by far the best pundit on Sky tonight but he is infuriating when he constantly buts in on what others are trying to say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭gene_tunney

Barry McGuigan is by far the best pundit on Sky tonight but he is infuriating when he constantly buts in on what others are trying to say

He genuinely isn't a good pundit IMO. Lol @ when he said Haye needs to take the centre of the ring against Wlad....ya take the centre of the ring against the guy who outweighs you by 30lbs of muscle great idea. Lampley, Merchant, Kellerman and Steward know about 10 times more about boxing.

If Froch's gf starts roaring at ringside again my enjoyment of the fight will be significantly reduced.

He genuinely isn't a good pundit IMO. Lol @ when he said Haye needs to take the centre of the ring against Wlad....ya take the centre of the ring against the guy who outweighs you by 30lbs of muscle great idea. Lampley, Merchant, Kellerman and Steward know about 10 times more about boxing.

If Froch's gf starts roaring at ringside again my enjoyment of the fight will be significantly reduced.

id agree with you but compared to Khan and McCrory he is like a boxing encyclopedia :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Anyone have a stream?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭goalie2

Ward looks to be physically stronger than Froch. His speed and footwork looks to be troubling Froch as well.

At the moment Ward is too slick for Froch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 465 ✭✭pacquiao

time for plan b fast