Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Catholic fanatic Waters rants against government decision

• 13-12-2011 2:14am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭

Did anybody catch this article from back in Novemeber from Irish Times columnist John Waters, I'd imagine it went largely unnoticed outside of the Irish Catholic newspaper readership. Yet more predictable sensationalist bull from Mr. Waters, does he actually believe what he writes half the time I wonder.
    The closure of the Irish embassy in the Vatican is further evidence that we are now governed by the most bigoted, anti-religious administration in the history of the State.

http://www.irishcatholic.ie/site/content/view-government-bigots-john-waters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 412 ✭✭Haelium

If we just ignore him, he will go away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The closure of the Irish embassy in the Vatican is further evidence that we are now governed by the most bigoted, anti-religious administration in the history of the State.

Makes a change from the blasphemy law I suppose....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

The church is and has been dying a slow death for years now. It's inevitable. I'm not against it, I just want to leave it and they won't let me.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Ah, John Waters.:rolleyes:

He was seen as a groovy liberal back in the 1970s when he was young and idealist. It shows how much Ireland has moved on as a country that he is now seen as a backward and bitter old dinosaur.

Suck it up John!:pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Ignore the sod, Waters is full of antiquated, old crap and best left by the road side moaning to himself.
    Sooner he kicks the bucket, the world will be a better place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

"most bigoted, anti-religious administration"

First time in a long time I've heard these two description put in one sentence to describe one thing.

I think it's just Waters messing about again with words and phrases he doesn't understand...

Ordinary Joe Soap: "But..."

John Waters: "No, no, no ... *long, verbose and diffuse sentences full of heterogeneous amalgamations of intricate, elaborate and ostentatiously framed locutions; an exertive venture to confound, perplex and encumber one's adversaries and also to masquerade one's pedantic, fallacious and specious nature with an illusive likeness of oneself being the quintessential crux of human rationale* ... so you're wrong."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

So what? should devout catholics not have a voice within the media? i am sure a lot of devout catholics feel the same as him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Plautus

billybudd wrote: »
    So what? should devout catholics not have a voice within the media? i am sure a lot of devout catholics feel the same as him.

Since when did finding his opinion to be disagreeable (or stupid and hysterical - that too) mean to say that he couldn't have it? There he is, writing in the Times, wasting column inches. I surely wish he wasn't, but we couldn't conscionably censor him either. Nobody has any interest in doing so: only John's handmaidens in the one true faith were carrying on with that bolloxology.

Jaysis. You'd think it'd be taken as read ... rather like a lot of Waters' imagined persecution of Catholics actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭billybudd

Well he obviously has some talents if he has been around so long. he gets a reaction, job done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Seanchai

dilbert2 wrote: »

Trying to box somebody into a "Catholic fanatic" label because you disagree with them should be embarrassing for any fair-minded person. I don't think I'll hold my breath.

stupid, inaccurate personal attack ==> stupid thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Plautus

Seanchai wrote: »
    Trying to box somebody into a "Catholic fanatic" label because you disagree with them should be embarrassing for any fair-minded person. I don't think I'll hold my breath.

I repeat, it's John Waters. Trappist monk isn't the half of it with him.

Some labels we have for people whom we disagree with are accurate :/

And we need to know about this in After Hours because............?

"most bigoted, anti-religious administration"

First time in a long time I've heard these two description put in one sentence to describe one thing.

I think it's just Waters messing about again with words and phrases he doesn't understand...

Ordinary Joe Soap: "But..."

John Waters: "No, no, no ... *long, verbose and diffuse sentences full of heterogeneous amalgamations of intricate, elaborate and ostentatiously framed locutions; an exertive venture to confound, perplex and encumber one's adversaries and also to masquerade one's pedantic, fallacious and specious nature with an illusive likeness of oneself being the quintessential crux of human rationale* ... so you're wrong."

That could also be used to describe so many posters in so many forums who scare away the Joe Soaps from boards.ie back to living their real lives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The church is and has been dying a slow death for years now. It's inevitable. I'm not against it, I just want to leave it and they won't let me.

Just walk away then, they don't have you chained to the altar rails.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

John Waters sounds like he is desperately in need of several things: a good ride, which he probably hasn't got since he poked that singer wan who tears up pictures of the Pope, and then, most urgently, a cop-on transplant ---:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

He is in bad form as his ex got married again.

And we need to know about this in After Hours because............?

:D Because this is after hours and you can post the most useless news and almost any info you want :D Did I say good morning to everyone ?

Good morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Seanchai wrote: »

Aye, I don't know about this guy, but all catholics are fanatics, yadda yadda yadda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Benny_Cake

John Waters being Joihn Waters to be honest. To describe hime as a "Catholic fanatic" is probably pushing it a bit - he is that incoherent about everything. I think he must be paid by the word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Benny_Cake wrote: »
    John Waters being Joihn Waters to be honest. To describe hime as a "Catholic fanatic" is probably pushing it a bit - he is that incoherent about everything. I think he must be paid by the word.
    Did anyone hear him moaning about paying too much tax yesterday. He declared that everyone earning less than 60000 grand a year pays practically no tax while people like him were being crucified. Sad when you think about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

realies wrote: »
    He is in bad form as his ex got married again.
    The article was written last month, long before his ex announced that she was getting married.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Did he manage to make it to the end of his article before bringing up Fathers rights? Normally he doesn't. Doesn't matter what the subject is, he shoehorns it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Build a bridge over it, troubled Waters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Did he manage to make it to the end of his article before bringing up Fathers rights? Normally he doesn't. Doesn't matter what the subject is, he shoehorns it in.
    Good for him I say, and good for all the single fathers who have virtually no rights whatsoever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Just maybe he's right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Maybe he just wanted to stimulate a debate on the subject on Boards....:pac:

padd b1975 wrote: »
    The article was written last month, long before his ex announced that she was getting married.

:eek: Last months news :eek: Dont like reading last months news so so much has happened since then and with that reason I am out :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Just maybe he's right.

Maintaining a fully staffed embassy, for a place the size of a small golf course, with a population the size of Kilbeggan, at a cost of hundreds of thousands annually, when we have another embassy in the same city is not right.

Its sheer idiotic lunacy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Biggins wrote: »

Nice. Wishing death on someone. Sweet.

Don't wish death on him but WHEN he goes...
    Learn to tell the difference and don't attempt to put words in my mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

Biggins wrote: »
    Don't wish death on him but WHEN he goes...
    Learn to tell the difference and don't attempt to put words in my mouth.

How very jesuitical of you....and Waters is derided for his gobbledygook :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

The odd time I find myself agreeing with him, and it terrifies the life out of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

I stopped at John "a meteorite of desire plummeting through the Irish zeitgeist" Waters tbh.

Ugh.

How very jesuitical of you....and Waters is derided for his gobbledygook :rolleyes:

As well he should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Just walk away then, they don't have you chained to the altar rails.
    Well no, but I'm an adult.
    I'd rather not be affiliated in any way with them.
    It's similar to Hitlers Nazi Youth.
    Isn't one of them now the pope.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

billybudd wrote: »

No one is saying they shouldn't have a voice. Just saying, when that voice is John Waters, be prepared to get laughed at.

And while we're on the subject of John Waters:
    The song qualified directly for the Eurovision final (owing to Ireland's tenth placing in the 2006 event), but came last in the final receiving only five points from Albania (backup jury). It was Ireland's first song and to date only song/act to come last in the final.

It kind of reminds me of a quote often attributed to Mark Twain, but which he probably never said: "I've never wished for anyone's death, but I've read some obituaries with great pleasure.";)

Seriously, though, given that Waters rants and raves so much about father's rights, does anyone ever recall him writing a word about a father's duties, obligations and responsibilities?:rolleyes:

Methinks he is a mediocre talent who adopts provocative positions on many subjects, but is in actual fact more one of those "don't do like I do, do like I say" sort of guy. Quite catholic, I suppose, in the worst sense of the word.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

remember when he threw his toys out of the pram when his song didnt get picked for eurovision, then the following year when his song was picked, it came last in the competition
    gobshite

Lapin wrote: »
    Maintaining a fully staffed embassy, for a place the size of a small golf course, with a population the size of Kilbeggan, at a cost of hundreds of thousands annually, when we have another embassy in the same city is not right.

Its sheer idiotic lunacy.

Agreed, and especially in view of the fact that the Vatican has grossly abused its diplomatic status, as we saw when the Papal Nonce and his staff refused to cooperate with our judiciary in its efforts to establish the true extent of child sex abuse by priests of the kiddy-fiddler church. Not only should we close our embassy to the Vatican, we should also sever diplomatic relations with that absurd little comic opera statelet - a creation of the fascist dictator Mussolini, by the way - and make sure that its underlings in Ireland comply with the laws of our state. :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Did anybody catch this article from back in Novemeber from Irish Times columnist John Waters, I'd imagine it went largely unnoticed outside of the Irish Catholic newspaper readership. Yet more predictable sensationalist bull from Mr. Waters, does he actually believe what he writes half the time I wonder.

http://www.irishcatholic.ie/site/content/view-government-bigots-john-waters

I think the title "Terrible Writer Waters...." would be more appropriate, but it's your thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

What was the OP reading the Irish Catholic for? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

reprazant wrote: »

...like coffee, it can get the blood pumping.

Could be he remembers Mao's advice: "-- skillfully watch the enemy's every move for signs of any new offensive against us, so that the moment it comes they can wind up their strategic offensive in good order, turn to the strategic defensive, and thereby smash the enemy's offensive.":)

In other words, the church and its running dogs have suffered a lot of setbacks lately, but it might be a serious mistake to take our eyes off the hoors.;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Akrasia wrote: »
    Did anyone hear him moaning about paying too much tax yesterday.

Well, some has to help pay for the kiddie fiddlers in the Catholic Church.
    Akrasia wrote: »
    He declared that everyone earning less than 60000 grand a year pays practically no tax while people like him were being crucified.

Jaysis, comparing himself to.........................well, Jaysis. :D

Shocking. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Why do people constantly publicise and discuss things, articles and people that annoy them?

If it annoys you so much ignore it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 364 ✭✭dilbert2

Funny story how that came about. Got that right wing Christian rag “Alive!” in the letterbox (as is the case every month unfortunately) yet again, and decided to have a read of it for the hell of it. Came across a piece somewhere in Alive! where John Waters was talking sh!te yet again when it came to the supposed liberal, secular war on religion. It wasn’t a full article, so I googled the article title and the Irish Catholic was the source of the article.

To me Waters represents the bigoted and regressive elements in Catholicism which sees any move to rid the influence of the church out of government, school, hospitals etc. as been some Leninist, secular, pinko liberal conspiracy to de-Christianise Ireland. Predictably he has a go at members of left wing political parties, then again he probably thinks they are Marxist fundamentalists and Satanism dabblers who are out to get the church in Ireland and take away a major part of poor John’s life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

'The closure of the Irish embassy in the Vatican is further evidence that we are now governed by the most bigoted, anti-religious administration in the history of the State.'
    If you leave out the 'bigoted', which is bollocks anyway, that actually sounds like a good thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

Ignore the sod, Waters is full of antiquated, old crap and best left by the road side moaning to himself.

A bit harsh, everyone is entitled to their opinions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

orourkeda wrote: »
    Why do people constantly publicise and discuss things, articles and people that annoy them?

Why do people constantly discuss posts on topics that annoy them?