Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Frontline 12th Dec - Lucinda Creighton (in particular)

• 12-12-2011 9:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭

Is it my imagination or does she have a snigger on her face when she is "trying" to explain what's going on in Europe at the moment to us ordinary folk?

Almost like she is dying to burst out laughing.

Almost laughing like she couldn't give a toss:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

vicwatson wrote: »
    Is it my imagination or does she have a snigger on her face when she is "trying" to explain what's going on in Europe at the moment to us ordinary folk?

Can't stand her. She only got that mickey mouse junior position because of her gender. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

Hate everything about her. Totally arrogant and a complete elitist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

telekon wrote: »
    Can't stand her. She only got that mickey mouse junior position because of her gender. :mad:
    I'm not a fan either but I feel it was more to do with youth than gender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

telekon wrote: »

Telekon you are so gonna get whacked on this thread for that comment :D:D:D ;);)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 523 ✭✭✭coonecb1

She's looking well though!

(Sorry for my flippancy in such a serious debate)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Kenny knows more about Creighton's job that she does ffs...

coonecb1 wrote: »

I think she looks alot older than 31 though.

Oh no, don't go there please ! She has a condecending grin on her face, she's laughing at us all. Grrr

MrsD007 wrote: »
    I think she looks alot older than 31 though.

31? Wha', she is yeh

Seriously, she is only 31.

Rubbish scarehouse tactics from Crighton. Here is a person who is happy to let disabled people go without just so the likes of Bertie Ahern can have a gold plated pension. ****.

What :pac: Shes a bint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

She's been well trained up for the role, I'll give Enda and the FG press office that muc.

Liz O'Donnell is dead.

Long live Lucinda Creighton!

(the new Queen of political pin-ups).

Again, I apologise. In terms of what she's actually saying, it's complete rubbish. "ALL of the eurozone countries are in crisis"? Not quite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

its amazing .

she hasnt a breeze what she's talking about as nowts drawn up yet but she's already signed up to sell us out.

to think these numpties are negotiating on our behalf.

EDIT.

ah here we go, one of VinnyBs girls.

Liz O'Donnell is dead.

She has horses teeth for Gods sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

I'm not a fan either but I feel it was more to do with youth than gender.

thought she got it just to keep her quiet after her loud part in the failed heave?

ah here we go, one of VinnyBs girls.

She got very thick with Vinny last week because she felt he wasn't giving her enough air time :D

thought she got it just to keep her quiet after her loud part in the failed heave?
    There was definitely an element of that but Enda needed to appoint a few younger ministers too.

She got very thick with Vinny last week because she felt he wasn't giving her enough air time :D

Maybe that's because she is....:rolleyes:

ah he likes a feisty one !

must say she looks prettier here, the lad that does the lighting in RTE must be a dab hand at his job.

I see what you mean now. Definitely looked a couple of times like she was amused by the whole thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

More moaning from Pat and some of his guests that all this was the fault of someone else. We have an Irish TV presenter on nearly 1 million a year telling the Germans that we've suffered enough austerity and they need to pay our debts.

Our self pity knows no bounds.

hmmm wrote: »
    More moaning from Pat and some of his guests that all this was the fault of someone else. We have an Irish TV presenter on nearly 1 million a year telling the Germans that we've suffered enough austerity and they need to pay our debts.

Steady on, Pat is only on about €600,000 now :D

I see what you mean now. Definitely looked a couple of times like she was amused by the whole thing

Sure why would'nt she be amused. She has a great paying job and a gold plated pension for when she retires at 45 like most other ministers. These guys don't give a hoot folks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

hmmm wrote: »

DONT MENTION ZE WAR!!!

yeah, shameless.

shure didnt ('we', ie the Americans) sort yese out after the war, and shure, em, well, look, just gis the money right?

she does a weird thing with her eyes at inopertune moments too.

comes off as very "little girlish" .

leo does something similar in terms of his mannerisms , only he comes off as a smug prick when he does it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Plautus

I've had a one-to-one encounter with luscious Lucinda (rawr) before. She was at a conference in Berlin last May to sell Ireland as a 'good European partner' with a 'brilliant human rights record' and history of 'standing up for small nations'. Oh, and apparently Ireland is neutral.

So, then, I got up and asked her what we're to make of it all when, as equality spokesperson, she said that she was against gay marriage. And the little matter of our participation in the EU CFSP, the collective security of the UN and membership of NATO Partnership for Peace.

He response went like this: 1.) Well ... I suppose other countries have different definitions of neutrality ... we don't like to tell them what to do (!) and 2.) Our government brought forward civil partnership* ... we can't have gay marriage under our constitution.

That's great, a qualified Barrister who hasn't even read Constitution or heard of Zappone v Revenue Commissioners; appeal ongoing to the Supreme Court :rolleyes:

*Cough, it was Fianna Fail and the Greens Lucinda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

ArtSmart wrote: »
    DONT MENTION ZE WAR!!!

I was nearly expecting Pat to break into a Basil Fawlty routine he was ranting at that poor german woman in the audience so much.

Cringy.

Duckjob wrote: »
    I was nearly expecting Pat to break into a Basil Fawlty routine he was ranting at that poor german woman in the audience so much.

Cringy.
    hey your stealing MY thanks.

I mean I made the pun, ye know....

like.

he he. thanks lads.

(Art, the thanks whore)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

If the euro didnt exist, farming in Ireland wouldnt exist. I think the D4 lady may not know too much about farming :eek:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

No she's not. That title goes to Lorraine Higgins.
    Lorraine-Higgins-count.jpg

GSF wrote: »
    If the euro didnt exist, farming in Ireland wouldnt exist. I think the D4 lady may not know too much about farming :eek:

im more worried about the gobdaw that cant sell his product to other countries that dont share his currencies

fecking hell.

guess he doenst want a part of those 3 billion PLUS chinese and indian markets !

meh.

now as for Liz mac Manus.

hoooowwwwwrrrrrryeeeaaaahhhh

:D:D:D

i think she meant all the monies the EU gave to Irish farmers.

or something.

im more worried about the gobdaw that cant sell his product to other countries that dont share his currencies

fecking hell.

guess he doenst want a part of those 3 billion PLUS chinese and indian markets !

Its a bit simplistic to say that you can automatically sell in a common currency zone given the extreme cost base disparities that currently exist. Surely if an IR£ devalued by 30-50% versus a DM it would be like shooting fish in a barrel to sell in Germany (assuming the Germans like jelly beans)?

Lapin wrote: »
    No she's not. That title goes to Lorraine Higgins.
    Lorraine-Higgins-count.jpg

Whaddya smoking? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

hey your stealing MY thanks.

I mean I made the pun, ye know....

like.

:cool:

I thought it was cringeworthy that the woman felt so under attack by Pat she had to "defend herself" by saying that she's been in Ireland for 17 years, has an Irish husband, Irish kids etc. Don't think she realised when she went to attend the programme that she'd be representing the German government :o

OT, re Lucinda - I don't know what it is about her, but I definitely would.

i think she meant all the monies the EU gave to Irish farmers.

or something.

Well they wouldnt have to wait in for the postman to arrive :D

meh.

now as for Liz mac Manus.

hoooowwwwwrrrrrryeeeaaaahhhh

:D:D:D

It was Liz who said that the washing machine was the greatest advance for women in the last 50 years ... because of the female orgasm, right?

Read it in the Irish Examiner around the time that the Vatican announced that the washing machine was the greatest invention in the last five decades ^_^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Someone should have called her out on that - it made no sense.

She gives off the impression of a brainwashed Cult member

The Euro is good
    Europe is good
    Merkozy is good
    Before The Euro, we were all in rags etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,741 ✭✭✭withless

Anyone with a 'posh' accent gets abuse in this country.

withless wrote: »

Who has the "posh" accent that you refer?

withless wrote: »

i thought fintan did ok ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

Plautus wrote: »
    It was Liz who said that the washing machine was the greatest advance for women in the last 50 years

To be fair, that statement has been made by many others, including statistician Hans Rosling

Skid wrote: »
    To be fair, that statement has been made by many others, including statistician Hans Rosling

Ah, I'm sure Liz meant it tongue in cheek anyway :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Good loser

Lucinda was by far the best contributor to the programme.

The German Ursula complimented her.

Fintan O Toole is an ass; now if we get a sniff of a chance to blackmail the EU let's go for it is his approach.

Good loser wrote: »
    Lucinda was by far the best contributor to the programme.

The German Ursula complimented her.

Fintan O Toole is an ass; now if we get a sniff of a chance to blackmail the EU let's go for it is his approach.

How do I join Fine Gael eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

One of the reasons for her position, a FG TD once told me she was a ride and a fair few of them were of that opinion(not like she has much competition in the Dail). She strikes me as the sort that would play up to that and also not afraid to hang you at a moments notice to maintain her career. Every large office has a Lucinda.