Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are we the worst dressed nation in Europe ?

• 10-12-2011 1:06am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭

So us Irish,do we have an awful dress sense.When I'm out for night on the town all I see (most of the time) men wearing jeans and a t-shirt.Every tom,dick and harry dressed the same. :eek:

And anytime I'm abroad I see us wearing G.A.A jerseys like wtf. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Yes. Speaking as a metaller.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

It's a bit cold for t-shirts.

Are you sure you weren't in Newcastle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Paulor94

Since when is a shirt and jeans a awful dress sense? There timeless!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

No we are incredibly well dressed for a nation of athletes and bed dwellers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Curva Sud

It's a bit cold for t-shirts.

Are you sure you weren't in Newcastle?

Not in nightclubs it isn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Curva Sud wrote: »
    So us Irish,do we have an awful dress sense.When I'm out for night on the town all I see (most of the time) men wearing jeans and a t-shirt.Every tom,dick and harry dressed the same. :eek:

And anytime I'm abroad I see us wearing G.A.A jerseys like wtf. :eek:

You need to go to classier establishments. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Paulor94 wrote: »
    Since when is a shirt and jeans a awful dress sense? There timeless!

So's grammar. :pac: (Sorry).

Yeah. Thems my "dressy up" clothes (bless). Shirt jeans and all stars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭Boxoffrogs

No

Two words

Eastern Europe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I be a suit wearing man :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

I thought we'd run out of original criticisms of the Irish to start a thread about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Germans dress like boring turds. Not even exciting turds, they're so bland. At least a GAA jersey has colours other than brown or beige.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,076 ✭✭✭Eathrin

Some of my friends consider "Going out" clothes to be what I wear casually. Some are clueless in this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Generally speaking I think any person that judges a person alone on the clothes they wear is an incredibly shallow person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

how dare you! I take great pride in my appearance, my going out pyjamas are genuine imitation silk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Racist thread :pac:

The greatest suit wearers plunged this country into ahem a lifetime of debt!

Boxoffrogs wrote: »
    No

Two words

Eastern Europe

Where stone washed jeans & tank tops go to die.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

There is no excuse for going anywhere wearing a GAA jersey. Except a match.

Generally speaking I think any person that judges a person alone on the clothes they wear is an incredibly shallow person.

Not being shallow but it's true though we do have an awful dress sense compared to other nations.We are just so plain like we don't even put in any effort or seem to care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭Desire2

We learned everything we know from our glorious leaders!:pac:

http://www.finfacts.com/irelandbusinessnews/uploads/image002_187.jpg

Where stone washed jeans & tank tops go to die.

Along with brightly coloured bubble jackets, yes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭pokertalk

but its a first impression which is the basis on which we judge someone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Not being shallow but it's true though we do have an awful dress sense compared to other nations.We are just so plain like we don't even put in any effort or seem to care.

Whats wrong with UGGS? :mad:

/me ducks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Richie wrote: »
    I thought we'd run out of original criticisms of the Irish to start a thread about.

Sure we will always find some thing to criticise about ourselves ;)

The only Irish dress thing that resonates today with the older folks is the tucking in of the shirt into the y-front otherwise we be cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭whydoibother?

I think it's partly lack of effort with regard to clothes, but mainly lack of effort in relation to staying in shape. Fit people look good in anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

We wear too many colours I think. And patterns and stuff. You go to France and everyone is wearing the same 4 plain colours. Looks way classier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Why even wear clothes when you can wear a burlap sack tied on with a piece of twine.

Your name Colleen by any chance OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

The guy on the left looks like something from a Brian Friel play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

Gotcha.
    Every night this week. . .
    Some dedication.. .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,018 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

First World Problems ?

Are we to take this opinion as fact? I have to say growing up in Ireland with my brothers and having acquaintances who are Irish men and having married an Irish man I will not believe any badly written article like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

I dress my mate because he is useless. Last sumer I took him on a shoping spree and decked him out with a wardrobe that would work for winter and summer (throw in a winter jacket), new glasses, beard trimmer and I even waxed the baztard. He looked great! for about 2 months..and then it was back to the unshaven, same hoody top worn for 5 days straight,barely washed scruffer.
    He did wear a nice shirt last night though so I gave him bonus points for trying.

Are we to take this opinion as fact? I have to say growing up in Ireland with my brothers and having acquaintances who are Irish men and having married an Irish man I will not believe any badly written article like this.

Who says you have to take it as fact ?

I'm just pointing out how bad we dress.

So relax. :pac:

Kanoe wrote: »
    I dress my mate because he is useless. Last sumer I took him on a shoping spree and decked him out with a wardrobe that would work for winter and summer (throw in a winter jacket), new glasses, beard trimmer and I even waxed the baztard. He looked great! for about 2 months..and then it was back to the unshaven, same hoody top worn for 5 days straight,barely washed scruffer.
    He did wear a nice shirt last night though so I gave him bonus points for trying.

Queer eye for the straight guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

This week, I'll be mostly wearing spud skins and a cheeky grin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Skullsri

Im sure in milan or paris there are people that dont dress too well we are irish after all some dress very well some not too bad and others shocking just like the above so we are just like the rest of europe..we also have paul galvin..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭Kanoe

Queer eye for the straight guy.
    sort of but it worked ,he hooked up with someone by the end of the summer so mission accomplished. (that last about two months too but feck it he tried)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

i like the way most irish women dress not to many hipsters which is good..

Tho gaa jersey are so unflattering as are football jerseys ya look terrible in them....
    and if any one posts a picture of a woman in a tight gas foot ball shirt I've only ever seen women were baggy jerseys

Ick other then that all good

Who says you have to take it as fact ?

I'm just pointing out how bad we dress.

So relax. :pac:

I am relaxed I just think we dress very well.;)

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTJjPF54CaKEZ2R2y4zXljWWhlMa64Z0pnDoevu2zUvG7CuR2fywg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

A lot of it is pretty spot-on to be fair to her :pac:

However I will pull her up on one thing... - paying a stylist to dress you is no great step up from getting mammy to dress you ffs. It's still getting someone else to do it for you.

There is enough eejits chasing the very latest fashion trends, we don't need more of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Pete M.

SNOG- MARRY - AVOID

I am relaxed I just think we dress very well.;)

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTJjPF54CaKEZ2R2y4zXljWWhlMa64Z0pnDoevu2zUvG7CuR2fywg

Mr Ireland right there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭HavingCrack

How is wearing a shirt and jeans 'poor dress sense'? I'd say it's the the worn thing for men in most of the world. I have no intention of wearing a suit every time I go out to a bar.

List all these states that dress so much better than Ireland? Germany is full of the drabbest dressers around, Eastern European fashion is still stuck in the 1980's for the most part, French people seem to have access to black, grey and white only-it's like being stuck in a 1920's film, some Italians dress quite well I admit but loads of them are scruffy slobs, same story in Spain etc. Japanese people either dress like an extra from a sci fi film or like an 80 year old pensioner. Chunks of Americans wear Asic runners as a dressing up shoe. Honestly this Irish bashing is beginning to annoy me.

The GAA and football jerseys aside (which only some people wear), we dress much like the rest of Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

Never wear any jersey abroad. tbh I think a lot of those are w*nkers :)

How is wearing a shirt and jeans 'poor dress sense'? I'd say it's the the worn thing for men in most of the world. I have no intention of wearing a suit every time I go out to a bar.

List all these states that dress so much better than Ireland? Germany is full of the drabbest dressers around, Eastern European fashion is still stuck in the 1980's for the most part, French people seem to have access to black, grey and white only-it's like being stuck in a 1920's film, some Italians dress quite well I admit but loads of them are scruffy slobs, same story in Spain etc. Japanese people either dress like an extra from a sci fi film or like an 80 year old pensioner. Chunks of Americans wear Asic runners as a dressing up shoe. Honestly this Irish bashing is beginning to annoy me.

The GAA and football jerseys aside (which only some people wear), we dress much like the rest of Europe.

I said T-shirt :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

That article linked above made me feel strangely defensive about Irish blokes :/

Anyway I think some people are awfully dressed in Ireland same as any country-but some people dont give a damn and I quite like that. Personally I love people with their own sense of style, regardless of what that is. Beats dressing like a hipster/being a fat bloke in skinny jeans just cuz its trendy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

This thread smells bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

TheZohan wrote: »
    This thread smells bad.

Like a GAA jersey on championship day?