Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celtic Series 2012 - join Hinault in Connemara

• 09-12-2011 10:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭

Join 5 time Tour de France winner Bernard Hinault in the Celtic Series Tour de Conamara or cycle with Graham Obree in Scotland. Tackle one or all events in the Series.

The Celtic Series kicks off with Tro Bro Leon which is known as mini Paris Roubaix followed by the Tour of Pembrokeshire in Wales. The Celtic Series Tour de Conamara takes place on Sunday May 27th in Clifden followed by the Graham Obree Ayrshire Sportive in July.

Full details available on www.celticseries2012.com.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

That looks really cool!

Would love to do all four. Not possible next year, but if they keep it up, I'd fancy putting it in my 2013 calendar.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,489 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Tour Champion Hinault lines up for Tour de Conamara
    One of the world’s most successful cyclists of time Bernard Hinault will take part in the Tour de Conamara. He will be joined by a large French cycling contingent travelling to Connemara to take part in the irish leg of the Celtic Series.

Hinault known as the Le Blaireau (the Badger) is a five time winner of the Tour de France and acknowledged as among the greatest cyclists of all time. He is one of only five cyclists to have won all three Grand Tours and the only cyclist to have won each more than once. He won the Tour de France in ’78, ’79, ’81, ’82 and ’85. He came second in ’84 and ‘86 and won 28 stages, of which 13 were individual time trials. This is your chance to cycle with one of the all time legends of the sport.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Threads merged.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

Signed up for that lads cheers...!

I must get the rest of "The Dirty Half-Dozen" organised for next year !

I done this years tour de Connemara and it was the dirtiest, wettest and windiest day ever.. but it was a great days craic ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭Wicklowrider

Just reading the Hinault/Lemond story now.
    Love the quote from Hinault " If I sound self assured, its because I am" :)

Heres a photo of Lemond and Hinault in Aspen at the start of a stage in the Coors in '85. On the very left in the Killians Jersey is ex Bray Wheeler Brendan O'Callaghan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭mountclare4

Registration for Celtic Series Tour de Conamara 2012 opens Friday 16th December and also for Celtic Warrior package. Register for Tour de Conamara before 2nd April and receive a Celtic Series rain / wind jacket. Registration for Celtic Warrior package must be completed before March 31st to receive jersey and bib shorts in advance of start of series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Just checked out that warrior package - €160 for entry to 4 events, a rain jacket and jersey and shorts - that's not bad! [adds to list of things to save for!]

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Feck that ride clashes with the RAS....

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

RobFowl wrote: »
    Feck that ride clashes with the RAS....

Jeez Rob, I knew you had a secret training plan, but never had a clue that would be your target for next year :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Miklos

Very interesting! 45 quid to enter the Connemara one AND you get a rain jacket. Not bad at all!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I dare someone to touch Hinault's bike.......

Hinault-punch-PINP-thumb.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭cantalach

No profile on the website so I mapped it out on RideWithGPS and MapMyRide. Links follow. I've never cycled in Connemara before and I'm amazed at how flat it is, in the sense of there being no long 'categorised' climbs just lots of uppy-downy sh1t. The highest point reached on the route is around 100m.

http://ridewithgps.com/routes/850773

http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/fullscreen/60595066/

Looks like a fabulous event though and a great excuse to see that part of the country!

Its a great route, spectacular scenery but your legs will know you have done 140km after the last stretch home. The 80km route takes in some really beautiful parts of Connemara as well. Plus loads of interest from the Bretons, so will have a real 'international' feel to it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Rev

Would be nice to do all these, but college gets in the way of France and Wales and probable lack of funds will prevent Scotland being done.. But Connemara is quite possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

cantalach wrote: »
    . . . I've never cycled in Connemara before and I'm amazed at how flat it is, in the sense of there being no long 'categorised' climbs just lots of uppy-downy sh1t. The highest point reached on the route is around 100m.

http://ridewithgps.com/routes/850773

http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/fullscreen/60595066/

Looks like a fabulous event though and a great excuse to see that part of the country!

I think the topography is one of the main points that is attracting me to this event:D

Registration for Celtic Series Tour de Conamara now open on Sunday 27th May - Celtic warrior package open as well. Www.celticseries2012.com

Rain / wind jacket for all participants who register before April 2nd. New design this year by Velotec Cycling Clothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭FuzzyDunlop100

I hope they've a better supplier for the 2012 event, I'm still waiting on my rainjacket for this years event...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Looks good. I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭torturedsoul

Just signed up!!! Can't wait, this is my first event. Doing the 140K. Kiddy with excitment. "what time is it Ted?" "and the eurovision is on when?" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

Would like to sign up to all four and take the Tro Bro Leon in but Brittany seems pretty inaccessible in April, Rosslare-Roscoff sailings only begin in May and Cork Roscoff ferry only travels once weekly. Cherbourg is a bit of a trek away.

Voting for event jacket design is now on the events facebook page. Choose between black, White or green. Jackets are free for all participants that register before April 2nd.

Have your say on the design on

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Celtic-Cycling-Series-2012/296099467086655?sk=app_251338781595162

Www.celticseries2012.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Actually, think this is the link to the Jersey voting.

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Celtic-Cycling-Series-2012/296099467086655

Reading 'slaying the badger' at the moment so very interested in this!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

Just signed up for my first event next year, sounds like a cool event and 45 euro including a rain jacket is pretty good value. Only wish I could get to all four events.

Now to shift all this christmas excess!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭happygoose

Same as Arthur - I wonder if there were enough interested could something be organised travel wise...mountclare4...I wonder would the organisers be interested in gauging the level of interest in this in Ireland, I don't think too many would be required in order to make it a viable package.

Yip, Great Idea. I'd be up for that

Lads we have had a number interested in arranging a group effort to travel to events. As you say it doesn't take a big number to make it happen and ferry works for Obree and Pembrokeshire. Brittany will be flight and transfer.

If interested can you email celticseries at gmail.com and we will start compiling a list and look into options based on numbers interested.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

I hope they've a better supplier for the 2012 event, I'm still waiting on my rainjacket for this years event...

I only got mine over Christmas so email the organisers and they'll sort you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭ccull123

can anyone tell me what the 80km route is like... how demanding would it be for a novice??

ccull123 wrote: »
    can anyone tell me what the 80km route is like... how demanding would it be for a novice??

Its pretty flat with no big climbs, just some small hills. If you can do 40km by yourself then it'll be easy enough in a group ride.

Its a long time away so why not set a higher goal for the 140km ride?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭ccull123

Its pretty flat with no big climbs, just some small hills. If you can do 40km by yourself then it'll be easy enough in a group ride.

Its a long time away so why not set a higher goal for the 140km ride?

the longest cycle i done last year on my own was around 50km...... i'll def look into th 140km one so. Thanks for the confidence booster;)

The 80km is a very doable route and if you are already passed the 40/50 km mark you would have no problem with the 80km option. Plenty of time to prepare for the 140km route.

It will be Bernard Hinault's first 140km in Ireland as well so you could dine out on that for a while!! The day Bernard and I did our first 140km in Ireland!!

happygoose wrote: »
    Same as Arthur - I wonder if there were enough interested could something be organised travel wise...mountclare4...I wonder would the organisers be interested in gauging the level of interest in this in Ireland, I don't think too many would be required in order to make it a viable package.

Definitely doing the Irish leg, hopefully the weather won't be as windy as last year!

I think I might do the Welsh one so I would have space for 2 more in the car with bikes, 4 in the car with bikes is pushing it with a hatch back but 3 keeps it comfortable.

I'll post again when I'm sure but having been mtb'ing in Wales last year I'm keen to go back for a road spin. I figure if a few split the costs it could be done cheaply considering the ferry lands in the Host town. Ferry is coming in around 125 per person based on 3 people and car. Petrol would only be a few Euro more and then thinking of staying on Friday and Saturday night.

I still got no rain jacket? Went on Facebook and voted for my own particular taste too.

anyone know what the story is with it?

I have got no email correspondence either. When should we expect to start getting info on the event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 988 ✭✭✭Benbecul97

Registration for Celtic Series Tour de Conamara 2012 opens Friday 16th December and also for Celtic Warrior package. Register for Tour de Conamara before 2nd April and receive a Celtic Series rain / wind jacket. Registration for Celtic Warrior package must be completed before March 31st to receive jersey and bib shorts in advance of start of series.

@mountclare4: Probably not possible for me to do all 4 events, but is it possible to register for the Tour de Conamara and to purchase the warrior package jersey and bib shorts seperately? Very nice design for that warrior package gear.

Who is the manufacturer of the warrior package gear, by the way?
    What is the quality like etc.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 M Aurelius

Benbecul97 wrote: »
    @mountclare4: Probably not possible for me to do all 4 events, but is it possible to register for the Tour de Conamara and to purchase the warrior package jersey and bib shorts seperately? Very nice design for that warrior package gear.

Who is the manufacturer of the warrior package gear, by the way?
    What is the quality like etc.?

Clothing is made by velotec, the quality should be good. the kit will be available for purchase on the site, and also at the Conamara event.

I still got no rain jacket? Went on Facebook and voted for my own particular taste too.

anyone know what the story is with it?

I have got no email correspondence either. When should we expect to start getting info on the event

If you are waiting on the jacket for the 2012 event, you will get it at registration on the day of the event, the colour option was just a way of finding out which colour people would prefer to get. I liked the black one but maybe its not a safe colour on the darker days.

M Aurelius wrote: »
    Clothing is made by velotec, the quality should be good. the kit will be available for purchase on the site, and also at the Conamara event.

Thanks for the info.

Oh ok, so the kit will be available for purchase on the site, and also at the Conamara event - there is no mention of that on the site though. Any idea how much the kit will cost? thanks

Benbecul97 wrote: »
    Thanks for the info.

Oh ok, so the kit will be available for purchase on the site, and also at the Conamara event - there is no mention of that on the site though. Any idea how much the kit will cost? thanks

The kit will cost €100, €55 for the shorts and €45 for the jerseys. doubt they will be available until mid February.

Ok thanks, sounds good.

Updates will be posted on the website and email updates / final event details will be sent to registered participants in weeks leading up to event. as confirmed in previous post jackets supplied at event to those who have registered by April 2nd.

Celtic warrior kit will be ready in coming weeks to purchase.

We have already been notified by some hotels that a lot of bookings have been received for that weekend for the event so if you are travelling en masse you'd be advised to talk to accommodation providers sooner rather than later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭byebye

Just signed up for this :D looks like a good event and great backdrop! :)

Celtic Series Tour de Conamara will now be limited to 1001 places. One quarter of slots already taken availing of the free wind / rain jacket (worth €55) with registrations before April 2nd.

Event will start and finish at the Clifden Station House Hotel on Sunday May 27th. Saturday 26th will feature family cycle over 14km.

Dublin cycling clubs appear to be travelling into the West in force

Register on www.celticseries2012.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 718 ✭✭✭gaffmaster

At the lower end of the spectrum, what average Kph would suit this event?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

I signed up for the 140km today. My last sportive was the Wicklow 200 in 2008. Training starts tomorrow. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭mel.b

gaffmaster wrote: »

I don't know but i just did a 55km spin on Sat with my fastest speed of 21.5km/hr, so if need be you can stick at the back with me doing the 80km event!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,013 ✭✭✭kincsem

gaffmaster wrote: »
    20 kph would be enough. My average for the W200 was just below that.
    The Connemara route if flat, you might go faster, it might be windy so you go slower.
    Tyres pumped to 90 psi or higher with a track pump will roll faster than those pumped with a mini-pump.

What time do the 80km and 140km cycles start at? I can find that info on the website.

It mentions Event Sign on Sunday 27th: 8am - 9am for the 80km and 140km. Are both cycles starting together?

No sign of the warrior package shorts and jerseys for sale on the site - any ideas?

Due to a much higher than expected take up on the Celtic Series Warrior Package there are no shorts left for sale. Keep an eye on the website / fb / boards for information on the jersey. If more become available it is likely that they will be available for purchase at the event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭Arthurdaly

What numbers have entered to date? is the number capped?