Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mastermind Irish Version

• 09-12-2011 2:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,847 ✭✭✭

Apparently this is starting on TV3 some time after Christmas and I'd love to apply to go on but I can't seem to find any way to apply on the TV3 website as yet. Does anyone know anything about the application procedure or if I'm too late etc.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,663 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

Oh gaaaaawd:rolleyes:. I can see this being as successful as the Who Wants To Be A Millionare? disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,030 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Celebrity Mastermind coming soon to TV3 anyone know who is on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

Apparently the former justice minister Nora Owen is the host / questioner. No idea who is taking part but there are plenty of C & D list celeb's in Ireland with time on their hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,085 ✭✭✭✭neris

that mairead farrell one from the ray darcy show said she was going for it. the celebrity version is on in june apparently and the junior in the autumn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭555guy

Celebrities include Jimmy Magee, Mary O’ Rourke, Holly Carpenter, Alan Shortt, Rick O’ Shea, Mairéad Farrell, Anton Savage and Gavin Duffy

Celebrity Mastermind airs Sunday 17th June 2012 at 8.30pm on TV3

above taken from TV3 site.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

This is the line up for tomorrow (8.30 on TV3):
    New series. Jimmy Magee, Holly Carpenter, Anton Savage and Louis Copeland take to the black chair to answer questions on their chosen subjects. The second round sees them putting their general knowledge to the test in a bid to carry off the commemorative trophy

http://www.tvnow.ie/detail.asp?id=126266447

It'll be interesting to see how Nora Owen does. She really doesn't strike me as a suitable host for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,935 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Maybe I'm just very out of touch but I had absolutely no idea who Holly Carpenter or Anton Savage were.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 16,287 Mod ✭✭✭✭quickbeam

It's not really so bad. Quite lighthearted but the British Celebrity version isn't as serious as the normal one either. Only complaint is Nora Owen is asking the questions far too slowly. Feel like giving her a kick up the arse to get her moving.

Edited to say: Found another complaint. What's with the having two fecking ad breaks?!!!

Nora Owen isn't slick enough at this. She reads the questions too slowly and deliberately, and she hasn't got the sense of humour that John Humphrys brings to the BBC version.

Anton Savage, one of the contestants tonight, would have been a better host.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

Was surprised at Anton Savages specialist subject, I thought it would have been nepotism!!!!:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,749 ✭✭✭✭grey_so_what

Good evening all, haven't seen this so far, anyone around watching?

I'm dropping slowly off here.......Nora is like a Prozac "Punch and Judy" with a hand up you know where...........Zzzzzzzzzzzz

This is terrible. Good old TV3. Up to usual standards. Embarrassing. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭fifi234ie

Who was that Dylan dude?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,367 ✭✭✭batistuta9

fifi234ie wrote: »
    Who was that Dylan dude?

I dunno never heard of him before but he's supposed to be a comedian

See in the general knowledge round why was your man dylan's questions the easiest, dickie rock's were easy enough too compared to the other two's

this is the order they went, lowest score from the specialist rounds first
    1. dylan
    2. dickie rock
    3. mairead - joint top
    4. alan - joint top

do the people who score lowest in the specialist subject round & go first in the GK round get easier questions or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭MrThrifty

Yikes - car crash TV... Shocked at the poor general knowledge of contestants!

Some news about this week's show (the spoiler reveals how one of the contestants performed)
    Crystal Swing's Derek Burke has made his way into the record books.

He's recorded the honour of achieving the lowest ever score on a celebrity Mastermind, managing just five points, three in his specialist subject round - which happened to be Ford Tractors - and two in the general knowledge round.

Derek's score also equals the lowest ever score in Mastermind history set on 29 January 2010 by software analyst Kajen Thuraaisingham.

Derek's history making can be seen on TV3 this Sunday.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/entertainment/crystal-swings-derek-records-lowest-ever-mastermind-score-559028.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Skid wrote: »
    Some news about this week's show (the spoiler reveals how one of the contestants performed)
    Crystal Swing's Derek Burke has made his way into the record books.

He's recorded the honour of achieving the lowest ever score on a celebrity Mastermind, managing just five points, three in his specialist subject round - which happened to be Ford Tractors - and two in the general knowledge round.

Derek's score also equals the lowest ever score in Mastermind history set on 29 January 2010 by software analyst Kajen Thuraaisingham.

Derek's history making can be seen on TV3 this Sunday.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/entertainment/crystal-swings-derek-records-lowest-ever-mastermind-score-559028.html

That site scraping the bottom of the barrel, I see... :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: ;)

Still have last week "on tape" to see - getting from the dire to pure dire to be honest if this is part of the "line up"....

Nora Owens must be hard up for money or just a "Media Wh***" I'm sorry to say....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Nora Owen and Mammy O'Rourke should be confined to history and kept off our screens. They are from the past. They were no good at the jobs they had. Why couldn't some young person get this instead of some old greedy ex-politician?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Nora Owen and Mammy O'Rourke should be confined to history and kept off our screens. They are from the past. They were no good at the jobs they had. Why couldn't some young person get this instead of some old greedy ex-politician?

I don't think a show like Mastermind would work too well with a host under the age of 35...

(It's worth pointing out that Magnus Magnusson was 42 when the BBC version began in 1972.)

How does Mike Murphy sound? ;)

th_d41736c947aed26dadd773613b4a5fa8_Mike-Murphy-161.jpg

I don't see any reason to have an "RTE/TV Personality" presenter at all.....

The show stands for up for itself, Just someone with a brain would do......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Anyone watching it now, Derek from crystal swing must be the stupidest dense i have ever seen.
    Questions he got wrong:
    Where is Ireland highest mountain
    First President of U.S.A
    What Ulster county is called the orchard county, he said Belfast:o
    What office does Alan Shatter hold, he said Finance.
    Did this guy ever go to school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Seamu$

Incredible stuff, as it says in the spoiler above, joint lowest score ever! That takes some going when some of the questions were very easy. If quizzes or general knowledge aren't your thing you really shouldn't go on the programme! He didn't even know anything about his specialised subject!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭A Disgrace

Anyone watching it now, Derek from crystal swing must be the stupidest dense i have ever seen.
    Questions he got wrong:
    First President of U.S.A

Don't forget the 'in the nursery rhyme, who kissed the girls and made them cry?' question - to which Derek answered 'werewolves'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,063 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

TV3 are just poor filth now, a complete and utter embarrassment to the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭Outkast_IRE

Questions he got wrong:
    First President of U.S.A
    He left before his leaving , as crystal swing was just taking off .

I think he should of stuck it out for a while, and what a stupid specialist topic to pick when he clearly didnt know too much about it., wouldnt he of been better off picking somthing to do with music.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Christ, why the fcuk does it have to be 'celebrity' Mastermind, what next Celebrity Toilet Cleaner, Celebrity Mechanic, Celebrity Heroin Addict...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

A Disgrace wrote: »
    Don't forget the 'in the nursery rhyme, who kissed the girls and made them cry?' question - to which Derek answered 'werewolves'

Thicker than a jar of frozen treacle. Muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭endakenny

Will TV3 be doing a series of Mastermind for which members of the public can apply?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Christ, why the fcuk does it have to be 'celebrity' Mastermind, what next Celebrity Toilet Cleaner, Celebrity Mechanic, Celebrity Heroin Addict...

Plenty of takers for that one ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,935 ✭✭✭donegal_man

Mate of mine reckons the lad from Crystal Swing was just playing to the camera to generate more publicity for their (love this phrase) "designer culchie sthick" and he could be right, I've heard a few people express sympathy for the hard time he's gotten in the press when he was only "doing it for charity". Maybe I should have posted this in CT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭blowtorch

So - what do we celebrate about the contestants? Celebrities my a*&e.

I think it's about time for a cull of the old pokes and the has-beens. Nora Owen? Mike Murphy? Gaybo (boomerang), Marty Whelan.

We're being force-fed pure rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Questions he got wrong:
    First President of U.S.A

It doesn't help that the questions are iffy - Shatter holds two ministries, Finance and Defence, but the question implied he only had one. There were other questions that I'd say the BBC would have reworded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,063 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

goose2005 wrote: »
    It doesn't help that the questions are iffy - Shatter holds two ministries, Finance and Defence, but the question implied he only had one. There were other questions that I'd say the BBC would have reworded.
    Yeah Im sure he would have scored highly if the questions were just a little bit clearer :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

It doesn't help that the questions are iffy - Shatter holds two ministries, Finance and Defence

Really.

Seamu$ wrote: »
    Incredible stuff, as it says in the spoiler above, joint lowest score ever! That takes some going when some of the questions were very easy. If quizzes or general knowledge aren't your thing you really shouldn't go on the programme! He didn't even know anything about his specialised subject!

he said he was doing it for charity though and didn't claim to know anything, just when he heard it was for charity he said he'd do it

he's getting a bit of stick over it but what about the girl studying for a doctorate, she didn't do much better at all

He is Minister for 'Justice, Equality and Defence', but I agree that it was a bad question.

There is a method to writing questions, you make sure there is only one correct answer. A better question would have been 'Who was appointed Minister for Justice, Equality and Defence in March 2011?' Not that Derek would have had any idea of that one, either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Skid wrote: »

He is Minister for 'Justice, Equality and Defence', but I agree that it was a bad question.

There is a method to writing questions, you make sure there is only one correct answer. A better question would have been 'Who was appointed Minister for Justice, Equality and Defence in March 2011?' Not that Derek would have had any idea of that one, either.

How is that a dodgy question? How would you confuse defence and finance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭brian_t

Grand Final tonight.

In tonight's last episode Dragon Gavin Duffy, broadcasters Anton Savage and Rick O 'Shea and comedians Alan Shortt and Abie Philbin Bowman are rivals are in the black chair. Pop sensation Jessie J, classic sitcom Fr. Ted and the Solar System are among their specialist topics.

Junior Mastermind with Nora Owen will be coming in the Autumn.

brian_t wrote: »
    Grand Final tonight.

In tonight's last episode Dragon Gavin Duffy, broadcasters Anton Savage and Rick O 'Shea and comedians Alan Shortt and Abie Philbin Bowman are rivals are in the black chair. Pop sensation Jessie J, classic sitcom Fr. Ted and the Solar System are among their specialist topics.

Junior Mastermind with Nora Owen will be coming in the Autumn.

Thanks for that brian_t

I wouldn't really know half of the above as "Celebrities"......

Junior Mastermind with "Someone else"....would be something to look forward to..... Nora has no special affinity with the teen's that I can see....or the "Celeb's" for that matter. Way too wooden.

First time watching this. Nora Owen is a bit slow reading the questions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

This is like universitry challenge for me if I get one right I feel like a genius

This is just silly.

Lapin wrote: »
    First time watching this. Nora Owen is a bit slow reading the questions.

are you allowed to answer before she's finished reading the question?

What do you want in a man?

To be Dougal.......

I just don't get it.........:(

(unless you are Dougal):)

This is just silly.

Understatement of the year Lapin.......:rolleyes:

Don't think so.

I've never seen it happen on the real Mastermind.

Stupid categories like Father Dougal have there place elsewhere.

Dumbing down a quiz like Mastermind like this just puts me off it.

As for Nora - I hope the autoque doesn't break down for her. Christ she's awful.

What's wrong with the real thing?

Imagine, a Mastermind with intelligent people and a "real live Irish MMagnusson"....

He said 'don't know', not Pass just there.

John Humprys wouldn't have taken that as a pass.

Don't think so.

I've never seen it happen on the real Mastermind.

this was to my question, yeah?

if so that's a bit stupid i think, as the full questions take a load of their time sometimes or with that Nora one anyway