Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time and fuel saving tip.

• 06-12-2011 12:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭650Ginge

Carry a window squeegee In your car.

Use it to clear ur windows of condensation. Drive straight away with a clear window. Safer than some of the fools I seen the last couple of weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭kazul

650Ginge wrote: »

Use it to clear ur windows of condensation. Drive straight away with a clear window. Safer than some of the fools I seen the last couple of weeks.

I have wipers on the outside and a heated ventilation system on the inside - I have no need for window cleaner's tools in my car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

kazul wrote: »
    I have wipers on the outside and a heated ventilation system on the inside

I have a heated windscreen, great yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭650Ginge

I have wipers on the outside and a heated ventilation system on the inside - I have no need for window cleaner's tools in my car.

Fair enough I just find it faster. Unless you have a heated front screen I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Fiona

Whatever happened to just pulling your sleeve over your hand and wiping the window :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

mrs crilly wrote: »
    Whatever happened to just pulling your sleeve over your hand and wiping the window :D

Don't you blapheme in here! :mad:;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

That's why wolly hats are great, they double as a cloth inside :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Jesus OP, carrying a squeegee in the car will add a quarter kilo to your car! Probably amounting to an extra 20 cent in petrol per year! Just madness in the current economic climate.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,213 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I pee all over my windscreen, frosty or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

I just removed the windows, saves weight too

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

:D Wot's a wolly hat dude? Is it like a were's Wally wolly hat? Or is it more like a wy are you womiting wolly hat? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

What if your window is completely fogged up from inside, and you need to drive off quickly? It takes a while for demister to clean the window, especially if you just start the engine, and heating is not working yet...

What about frosty and snowy days?
    Do you use your wipers to clear your windows of snow and frost?

CiniO wrote: »

What if your window is completely fogged up from inside, and you need to drive off quickly? It takes a while for demister to clean the window, especially if you just start the engine, and heating is not working yet...

If my windows completely fog up on the inside, my car probably has a problem with water getting in - which I would sort out.
    On frosty and snowy days I drive out of the underground car park with clear windows, just like I do every other day - the ramp can be tricky but I can see it perfectly.

If my windows completely fog up on the inside, my car probably has a problem with water getting in - which I would sort out.
    On frosty and snowy days I drive out of the underground car park with clear windows, just like I do every other day - the ramp can be tricky but I can see it perfectly.

If a car was a sealed unit I think that the human life inside would die. That would realty effect the manufacturers ability to sell the atmospherically sealed automobile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

All right.
    If someone drives a car only during good weather to the shop on Sundays, probably you don't need anything to clear your windows.

But people who use car for everyday in all possible conditions, really do need such things.

All right.
    If someone drives a car only during good weather to the shop on Sundays, probably you don't need anything to clear your windows.

But people who use car for everyday in all possible conditions, really do need such things.

Read my posts.
    I never said that cars are completely sealed.
    I drive my car in all conditions and never needed a squeegee, nobody in a decent car does.

It takes a while for demister to clean the window,

tell him to work faster so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Why don't you just have your Butler pre heat the car and clear the windows? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

Hold on... so you're saying that if I bring an extra cloth or some such moisture soaking device and have it in my car, I can then use this to clear the windscreen of moisture if it has such a build up? Any time I see fit?

This topic has just saved me a fortune. Why may I ask, out of all the regulars on here, no one has made this topic in the past? Eh? I'm looking at you... regulars!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,107 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Who uses a squeegee to scrape off snow and frost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,107 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Not sure why but it does seem to help if you don't have the sun shining on the windscreen. We have a porch overhanging the cars outside the front of our house and if I turn the car around so the windscreen is in the porch-shade, I don't end up with frost on the windscreen in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Fiona

dar83 wrote: »
    Hold on... so you're saying that if I bring an extra cloth or some such moisture soaking device and have it in my car, I can then use this to clear the windscreen of moisture if it has such a build up? Any time I see fit?

This topic has just saved me a fortune. Why may I ask, out of all the regulars on here, no one has made this topic in the past? Eh? I'm looking at you... regulars!

But if you left said moisture soaking device in the car would that not make the problem worse as there will still be humidity in the car?

So you come out in the morning, for most people that is at the last moment for being bang on time for work.

My demister can take up to 5 mins to clear the front the rear is pathetic altogether. All that time I am just sitting there, but after quick swipe with my trusty squeegee, I go in about 30 secs.

Average cars uses 1.6 Km's worth of fuel if idling for 2 mins. 5-7 days a week u could save 35mins and 56kms of fuel for most of us thats getting on for a gallon.

Or u can rub it with ur sleeve and drive off like ur looking outta a spy hole.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

for most people that is at the last moment for being bang on time for work.

no :confused:

OP, you begin with the false assumption that we all get into fogged up cars every morning, go on to assume that everybody is running late and cap it off by assuming that the equipment built into the car for clearing condensation does not work.

Average cars uses 1.6 Kim's worth of fuel if idling for 2 mins. 5-7 days a week u could save 35mins and 56kms of fuel for most of us thats getting on for a gallon.

Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

I've fitted wipers to the inside, saves all that wooly hat and sleeve wiping of the windows.

OP, you begin with the false assumption that we all get into fogged up cars every morning, go on to assume that everybody is running late and cap it off by assuming that the equipment built into the car for clearing condensation does not work.

Is it an assumption if I actually see it everyday? It's maybe a generalization apply to absolutely everyone but if it doesn't apply to u, don't worry about it an go on ur merry way with clear windows.

I certainly do t get up too much before I need too.

The figures are based on something I came across on google. Are u able to provided other figures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭VW 1

So you come out in the morning, for most people that is at the last moment for being bang on time for work.

My demister can take up to 5 mins to clear the front the rear is pathetic altogether. All that time I am just sitting there, but after quick swipe with my trusty squeegee, I go in about 30 secs.

Average cars uses 1.6 Kim's worth of fuel if idling for 2 mins. 5-7 days a week u could save 35mins and 56kms of fuel for most of us thats getting on for a gallon.

1.6 l/km is the figure you are seeing. Not 1.6km worth of fuel burned by sitting idling for 2 minutes. Nevermind using an extra gallon of fuel per week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,123 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Don't forget your on a forum for motoring enthusiasts. The majority of people here know how to drive on motorways and know to clean their windows before driving off.

It's the people who don't know how to drive on motorways or use the correct lights that you need to inform. Maybe the RSA could waste more of our money on pointless ads.

VW 1 wrote: »

1.6 l/km is the figure you are seeing. Not 1.6km worth of fuel burned by sitting idling for 2 minutes. Nevermind using an extra gallon of fuel per week.

No it is not I don't get that data when I am stopped as I have stop/start. It is a figure I pulled off a couple of place on the net. It could inaccurate and vary from vehicle to vehicle.

You do realize it is using petrol when it is stopped with the engine running and that is why stop start changes consumption figures when fitted, look at the figures for freelander 2 with and without.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,104 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

I find the single best thing to keep the windscreen from gathering condensation is to keep it perfectly clean, and don't let any hoor near it with a squeegee, rag, sleeve, puppy or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭VW 1

No it is not I don't get that data when I am stopped as I have stop/start. It is a figure I pulled off a couple of place on the net. It could inaccurate and vary from vehicle to vehicle.

You do realize it is using petrol when it is stopped with the engine running and that is why stop start changes consumption figures when fitted, look at the figures for freelander 2 with and without.

What you are saying is if I sit with my engine idling for 5x2min periods=10mins.

In this ten minute period I will have used 5x1.6km of fuel=8km of fuel, which you say is almost a gallon.

So you use 5litres of fuel in 8km's.

This equates to a fuel consumption of 62.5l/100km of driving.

What car is it you are driving?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

I just drive like Ace Ventura.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭bogof

Where can I buy one of these miraculous new cars that never get condensation.?

My car is very inefficient and manages 10l/100km on a good day.
    Even if I use your false figure if 1.6km worth of fuel for 2 minutes idling and multiply it by 7 days I get 11.2 kilometres which would equate to 1.12 litres of fuel per week.
    1.6kms in 2 minutes is the equivalent of 48km/h - if your car is burning that amount of fuel at idle you need...oh just noticed what car you're basing this on

And how does 2 minutes per day add up to 35 minutes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,834 ✭✭✭stimpson

I find the single best thing to keep the windscreen from gathering condensation is to keep it perfectly clean, and don't let any hoor near it with a squeegee, rag, sleeve, puppy or whatever.

This.

Grease is the enemy of a clean window. I have a 20 year old car with crappy demister. I get a can of professional glass cleaner from a glaziers for a fiver, apply very sparingly to window. Wipe with a clean kitchen towel. Buff with another clean kitchen. Then do it all again, paying attention to the corners. And again.

Then go out to the car on a cold night and try to fog up the windows with your breath. If you have done it properly you won't be able to. If not, get the can of cleaner out again.

Than keep everything the f*ck away from your windscreen. No need for demister in the morning - just start the engine and drive off. Repeat once a year and you'll be grand.

My car is very inefficient and manages 10l/100km on a good day.
    Even if I use your false figure if 1.6km worth of fuel for 2 minutes idling and multiply it by 7 days I get 11.2 kilometres which would equate to 1.12 litres of fuel per week.
    1.6kms in 2 minutes is the equivalent of 48km/h - if your car is burning that amount of fuel at idle you need...oh just noticed what car you're basing this on

And how does 2 minutes per day add up to 35 minutes?

I said my car takes five minutes to clear, sorry I will say that again my car not anyone else's mine, takes 5 mins to clear, not two mins or 2 minutes or anything else 5mins not everyday but somedays. Are u following me so far or are to lost because u are right all the time.

1.6 or 1 mile ain't my figure it could be wrong but since no is providing any evidence to the contrary I will use it.

So 7 days at 5 mins is 35mins diveded by 2(mins)=17.5x1.6=28kms and if want to drive home it could well be 56kms.

Let's say the average car does 60kms to 4.564ltrs that is as near as saving a gallon as make nos difference. 4.5ltrsx €1.5x 52 weeks = €351

Sorry I wish I could think of something else to factor it up but that will do nicely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

My car is never fogged up in the morning. Are ya parking the bleeding thing in a lake at night like the vag heads on done deal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Craggy Island

MarkR wrote: »
    I pee all over my windscreen, frosty or not.

Is that from the inside or the outside? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

What the hell is a Kim's worth of fuel? Who's Kim?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Ok... so rags, mops, clothes and puppies are out

Can I use a kitten? :rolleyes:

Seriously though, OP what kind of car do u have? 2 minutes max in my fiesta and we're good to go electric heater on back window likewise
    (i know that burns fuel but still)

And who ever said kill the grease +1,000,000
    A properly clean windscreen doesn't fog up in my experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

I got one of these as a free gift a couple of years ago and its the single best thing I've ever got.

With no ice on the windscreen the car does not mist up inside and I just drive off, it was a great tool last year with the weather and I've used it a couple of times this year again, saves me a bit of money on deicer, fuel, and time.

angelfire9 wrote: »
    Ok... so rags, mops, clothes and puppies are out

Can I use a kitten? :rolleyes:

Seriously though, OP what kind of car do u have? 2 minutes max in my fiesta and we're good to go electric heater on back window likewise
    (i know that burns fuel but still)

And who ever said kill the grease +1,000,000
    A properly clean windscreen doesn't fog up in my experience

I will get ribbed for this again but its an 06 Prius.

Ladies Lounge is that way --->

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

stimpson wrote: »
    Ladies Lounge is that way --->

If you have to rely on smartass comments to get your "point" across , don't bother posting here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

i find if you use something to wipe the inside of the windscreen it gets all streaky ,prefer to use blower set to windscreen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,029 ✭✭✭shedweller

maxfresh wrote: »
    i find if you use something to wipe the inside of the windscreen it gets all streaky ,prefer to use blower set to windscreen
    Aye. The amount of cars i see with very heavily fogged windows is staggering. Not just old cars but new cars too. I've been in various peoples cars down the years and found that a lot of them would:

1: Turn off the ventilation fan.
    2: Put it on recycle, instead of fresh air in.
    3: Close off all the dash vents that can be closed off.
    4: Drive like this all the time.

For a start, the car stinks in no time! The windows fog up and it is a battle to stay awake after a while due to the lack of oxygen in the cabin!!:confused:

Could someone please explain how sealing off the cabin from the outside is a good thing?

Sorry about the rant. It is a pet hate of mine.....

Back on topic.

What would be a good windscreen cleaner for both the inside and outside?
    And regarding wipers, smears all over the windscreen as they wipe means they are worn out right? But i've seen wipers that were in bits but still cleaning excellently. :confused:
    How long are wipers expected to last, ie: clean the windscreen properly and not smear? Don't mind yer budgets lads, this is serious!!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭turbodiesel

stimpson wrote: »
    This.

Grease is the enemy of a clean window. I have a 20 year old car with crappy demister. I get a can of professional glass cleaner from a glaziers for a fiver, apply very sparingly to window. Wipe with a clean kitchen towel. Buff with another clean kitchen. Then do it all again, paying attention to the corners. And again.

Then go out to the car on a cold night and try to fog up the windows with your breath. If you have done it properly you won't be able to. If not, get the can of cleaner out again.

Than keep everything the f*ck away from your windscreen. No need for demister in the morning - just start the engine and drive off. Repeat once a year and you'll be grand.

Could you give us the name of the "professional glass cleaner" that your are using, it would save me the hassle of ringing around glass shop asking for a bottle of "professional glass cleaner".

Umm... It's called "Professional Strength Glass Cleaner"

75a2547c.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

This thread is a waste of internet.