Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Budget 2012 - 40 Garda Stations to Close

• 05-12-2011 2:17pm
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭

According to today's Evening Herald, there will be provisions in tomorrows budget which will see the closure of 40 Garda stations. The Herald is claiming that most of those closures will be within Dublin.

What do people think? What stations do you think will be in the firing line?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

OConnell st Upper... after that I would not even hazard a guess.
    Donnybrook maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Kill of the Grange?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

We should know fairly soon anyways as the week goes on, the 2012 - 2013 Policing Plan is expected to be signed off on by the cabinet this week. I suspect some of the stations to be axed have already been identified.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 thesword

John Burke in the Sunday Business Post reported this story yesterday -- 40 stations to close, and talks underway to cut force by an additional 1,000 on top of the current cut sought (brining force to below 12,000!!)

Lots of the budget stuff was in yesterday's papers -- mostly the Business Post and Sunday Times.

Evening Herald exclusives eh!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

Kilmessan, Longwood, Crossakiel, Carbury. All are within range of larger stations to take up the slack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

I doubt O'Connell St will close, AFAIK that is a CCTV Office with a single garda on desk duty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

http://budget.breakingnews.ie/news/31-garda-stations-to-close-in-2012-531022.html

Dublin Metropolitan Region
    Rush, Whitehall, Dalkey and Harcourt Terrace

Western Region
    Corrandulla (Galway)
    Glenisland, Tourmakeady, Mulranny and Bellacorrik (Mayo)
    Loughglynn and Cootehall (Roscommon/Longford )
    Carrigaholt (Clare)

Southern Region
    Shanagolden and Doon (Limerick)
    Glenville (north Corkh)
    Knocknagree, Ballyfeard, Goleen and Inchigeela (west Cork)
    Ballylongford, Moyvane and An Clochán (Kerry)

Northern Region
    Clontibret and Smithborough (Monaghan)
    Tullyvin (Cavan)
    Culdaff and Dunkineely (Donegal)
    Kiltyclogher, Bunnanadden and Drumkeeran (Sligo/Leitrim)

South Eastern Region
    Baldwinstown (Wexford)

Following stations to have reduced hours of opening:

Cabinteely, Stepaside, Kill O’ the Grange, Sundrive, Terenure, Cabra, Malahide, Santry, Howth, and Donnybrook (Dublin Metropolitan Region).
    These stations are currently open to the public on a 24-hour basis and will, in future, be closed to the public between 10.00pm and 8.00am.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

31 in the press release.

4 in the Dublin Met area
    • Rush
    • Whitehall
    • Dalkey
    • Harcourt Terrace
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1205/garda-stations.pdf

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Surely that does not mean that Harcourt Terrace is to cease operating entirely? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

thats exactly what it means.

Will be interesting to see what Pat Kenny has to say tonight on the frontline about has local station being closed up. Lot of well to do folks in that area wont be happy. Lets see if money does tallk, Tubbridy, neil jordan, enya, bono, et all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

Sundrive road?!

theyll regret that decision...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Surely that does not mean that Harcourt Terrace is to cease operating entirely? :eek:

Where is Harcourt terrace? Is that C&C? I thought it meant the station in Harcourt St?

Your right, for some reason when I saw Harcourt I immediately thought of Harcourt Square - would be odd to see the regional HQ close! :P

Anyways the Herald clearly got the wrong information as the closures are geographically spread across the state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭stop

gerire wrote: »
    http://budget.breakingnews.ie/news/31-garda-stations-to-close-in-2012-531022.html

Western Region
    Corrandulla (Galway)
    Carrigaholt (Clare)

Southern Region
    Glenville (north Corkh)

Northern Region
    Tullyvin (Cavan)

South Eastern Region
    Baldwinstown (Wexford)

Cabinteely, Stepaside, Kill O’ the Grange, Sundrive, Terenure, Cabra, Malahide, Santry, Howth, and Donnybrook (Dublin Metropolitan Region).

These stations are currently open to the public on a 24-hour basis and will, in future, be closed to the public between 10.00pm and 8.00am.

Will I still be able to phone these Garda stations outside of 0800-2200?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

The closure of whitehall is an absolute disgrace

harcourt terrace is a small station on the canal near the barge pub

its nothing to do woth harcourt st

as far as i know, harcourt terrace was sold a while back during the boom for quite a large sum..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭The Maverick

Was Harcourt Terrace not meant to close years ago? Can't believe Whitehall is going.

For stations that are closing between 10 pm and 8 am, does mean just closed to the public or fully closed, no one there at all?

Was Harcourt Terrace not meant to close years ago? Can't believe Whitehall is going.

For stations that are closing between 10 pm and 8 am, does mean just closed to the public or fully closed, no one there at all?

id imagine closed fully.......... whats cost saving about just locking the front door?

WilcoOut wrote: »
    harcourt terrace is a small station on the canal near the barge pub

its nothing to do woth harcourt st

as far as i know, harcourt terrace was sold a while back during the boom for quite a large sum..............

The building is still owned by the OPW - but a developer is sueing the Minister of Finance for failing to abide by a contract which would have seen the building swapped for affordable housing elsewhere. Looks like the government are now giving in to that pressure and honouring that commitment.

stop wrote: »
    Will I still be able to phone these Garda stations outside of 0800-2200?

Yes, but they won't be signing passports..The call will be diverted to the nearest 24 hr station, who will forward the emergency to your local garda, who will be on patrol, instead of chained to a desk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭Thepredator

Harcourt terrace is off adelaide road, beside the grand canal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭The Maverick

WilcoOut wrote: »
    id imagine closed fully.......... whats cost saving about just locking the front door?

I was thinking that would be the case but wouldn't that put a lot of pressure on the stations left open at night? Space in the cells mightn't be a problem during the week but they could get fairly stretched on a busy weekend. Not that the governemnt actually cares, as long as a few euro is saved along the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭planetX

I live near one of the rural ones and have had to use it in an emergency once. It was the one emergency service I didn't have to give directions to. Try dialling 999 and trying to tell the operator where the ambulance needs to turn left, how many kms etc. It's a nightmare, and I'm going to feel less safe with the local guard gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭joegriffinjnr

The closure of whitehall is an absolute disgrace

Why? Santry and Ballymun about five/ten minutes away.

Anyone know how many stations are in the country at the moment (31 stations closing seems like a high number to me, personally, but I don't know how many stations we have, so it's hard to judge).

Why? Santry and Ballymun about five/ten minutes away.
    Its literally five minutes away but the resources ballymun station is basically not much bigger than whitehall had which is very very little and santry can only do some much to support ballymun and santry and royal oak and belclare and glasnevin thats a vast area to cover for two stations and also too cover whitehall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Surprised about Harcourt Terrace going,will the members based their now be allowed to apply for transfer to wherever they want or will they just be squeezed into Pearse or Kevin Street stations?

The 10pm closing means that just the public office is closed yes?the stations involved will continued to be fully manned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

I dont exactly know what is meant when these stations wont be open 24 hours, its certainly a good call though, people dont need passport forms etc signed in the middle of the n ight.

What will be interesting is if the station is completely closed, and guards based there allocated a different station for the night, fore breaks etc, or if it is just closed to the public but there may still be guards inside completing paper work etc on quiet nights.

Also what will happen to the cells in these? If the station is fully closed at night, it would mean not being able to use the cells, which would put extra strain on other stations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

I honestly can't believe there closing Whitehall . Santry and Ballymun are a good few KM away and they service a big enough patch as it is, if something serious was to happen in rush hour traffic it would take a fair amount of time to get too anywhere below the Whitehall station IE Drumcondra.

Howth and Malahide to reduce hours of opening? That's a bit of a mad move if they are really closing the station at night IE no one there, who is going to service the area ? Clontarf is the nearest for Howth and Swords for Malahide.

Have the government lost there mind? People want to feel safe for **** sake, hearing this is not going to make people in them areas feel safe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Madworld

In fairness Whitehall isnt exactly a crime hotspot.

However I really can't see the rational regarding Sundrive and Cabra. :rolleyes:

Whitehall is a crime hotspot between coolock Ballymun and fairview It is as bad but the doors are open for the gangs to take advantage of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭leposean

gerire wrote: »

Western Region
    Corrandulla (Galway)
    Carrigaholt (Clare)

Southern Region
    Glenville (north Corkh)

Northern Region
    Tullyvin (Cavan)

South Eastern Region
    Baldwinstown (Wexford)

Cabinteely, Stepaside, Kill O' all close, so what Dun Laoghaire and Shankill have to cover from the n11 Bray North roundabout out to Jonny Foxes, Cherrywood, Cabo to Monkstown. Not to mention those problem areas like The Brack, Loughlinstown, The Farm, Ballyogan (not picking on these but I've lived in all of them and know what they're like) having to be managed by just 2 stations

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭tom traubert

I believe that the Dublin stations going on reduced hours will simply not be open during the night shift which will mean not needing a Sgt and 1 or 2 Gardai to be on duty within.

Some stations in country areas operate like this already, but with further reduced opening hours. In the country stations I'm thinking of there is a patrolling presence in the station's area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ste88m

It's ridiculous. Went into Whitehall to get a passport stamped recently. The front of the station was completely done up so I'd assume there was improvements throughout the station. Now those have turned out to be a complete waste of money.

Also, Santry is now on reduced hours. That whole area seems to have taken a big hit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Cardinal Richelieu

ste88m wrote: »
    It's ridiculous. Went into Whitehall to get a passport stamped recently. The front of the station was completely done up so I'd assume there was improvements throughout the station. Now those have turned out to be a complete waste of money.

Also, Santry is now on reduced hours. That whole area seems to have taken a big hit.

They did up Rush recently enough too do most of the time its a press button job on the door and you end up chatting to someone in Balbriggan Station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

msg11 wrote: »
    Clontarf is the nearest for Howth and Swords for Malahide.

Raheny would actually be the closest station to Howth but your right its crazy. Swords has a very large district to cover at night allready having to go beyond Donabate as it is.
    mmcn90 wrote: »
    I doubt O'Connell St will close, AFAIK that is a CCTV Office with a single garda on desk duty

One Garda for the entire place not just the counter and he is sent up from Store Street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,332 ✭✭✭Mr Simpson

Eru wrote: »
    One Garda for the entire place not just the counter and he is sent up from Store Street.

Ah I knew the guard was from store street, I was under the impression there was a few guards monitoring cctv in there though, as any time i've spoken to someone in Store street about it, they refer to it as the cctv office.

i fail to see how closing certain stations at night will save money?

i mean the same number of gardai will be working, and most of these stations cant be left unmanned at night. particularly the dublin ones, i mean there is security issues etc, the phones will still be manned i take it?

so basically, these smaller stations ( kill o the grange, cabinteely i would be more familiar with) will still have a member sitting inside, as there is now, and the car crew will be working, as they do now, so the only difference would be that the public cant go in??

woo hoo, give me the job as s.o. in those stations!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

bubblypop wrote: »
    i fail to see how closing certain stations at night will save money?

i mean the same number of gardai will be working, and most of these stations cant be left unmanned at night. particularly the dublin ones, i mean there is security issues etc, the phones will still be manned i take it?

so basically, these smaller stations ( kill o the grange, cabinteely i would be more familiar with) will still have a member sitting inside, as there is now, and the car crew will be working, as they do now, so the only difference would be that the public cant go in??

woo hoo, give me the job as s.o. in those stations!!

They'll most likely work like the country stations. The station itself will be closed to the public and the Gardaí assigned there will be out in the car.

so all locked up then?

what about security?
    files/uniforms/equipment/(other stuff) all inside. im thinking specifically of the other stuff here. surely they cant just close the doors and leave all inside?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭markpb

so all locked up then?

what about security?
    files/uniforms/equipment/(other stuff) all inside. im thinking specifically of the other stuff here. surely they cant just close the doors and leave all inside?

Yup. They've been doing this for years - rural stations close at night all the time.

yea but the difference is that rural stations that close at night dont have detectives.

they are based in the bigger stations.

every station in dublin have detectives, a lot of whom are not appointed, surely some of their equipment cant be left in a station with no one there as security?

yea but the difference is that rural stations that close at night dont have detectives.

they are based in the bigger stations.

every station in dublin have detectives, a lot of whom are not appointed, surely some of their equipment cant be left in a station with no one there as security?

Do you seriously think the security of garda stations is something to be discussed on the internet?

merely pointing out that its not really going to save money is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

People have a number if they require police 999. The public do not need a station to answer calls at all hours. If the station is closed you can just lock it up. Just like banks do. If the station is unmanned you are saving the cost of wages.

Zambia wrote: »
    People have a number if they require police 999. The public do not need a station to answer calls at all hours. If the station is closed you can just lock it up. Just like banks do. If the station is unmanned you are saving the cost of wages.

What wages are being saved? There will be no job losses associated with the station closures.

But you have more gardai patrolling the streets rather than having to force at least one so stay indoors and mind the shop..Better value for money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭markpb

But you have more gardai patrolling the streets rather than having to force at least one so stay indoors and mind the shop..Better value for money.

The question was not if it was better value for money, it was what money was being saved.

My guess would be that since there is a recruitment ban in place, the number of Gardai will fall over time so the number of stations that can remain open must fall. It's more a consequence of the recruitment ban than an effort to save money by itself.

There will also be minor other savings like electricity, phone lines, heating, cleaning, having Gardai on SO 24/7, etc which might all be quite small but over time and over 40 stations, will add up.

It turns out that Loughglynn Garda Station is undergoing extensive renovation at the moment which is due to be completed shortly, yet the station is to close.

What sort of joined up thinking is that? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭In my opinion

It turns out that Loughglynn Garda Station is undergoing extensive renovation at the moment which is due to be completed shortly, yet the station is to close.

What sort of joined up thinking is that? :rolleyes:

Good news is that the builder is on site again today!!!

This wanton waste is frightening, especially as the running costs of the Station are less than €4000 per annum.(light, heat, phone, water and wheelie bin). I believe this work is the equivalent to the running costs of Loughglynn Garda Station for twenty years.

To add further insult to the community the Office of Public Works are making the Garda Station wheelchair accessible with wider doors level floor etc however this money amounts to nothing as they decided to remove the planned wheelchair ramp from their plans?????

God rest those that went before especially the two Gardai murdered in Loughglynn in 1980.