Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

iCade for iPad

• 05-12-2011 9:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭

Does anyone know where I can get this?
    I saw it on the toy show on Friday night and know my husband would love it!

I had a quick scoot around online but couldn't find anywhere except online at Carphone Warehouse but it was not in stock.
    I will have a proper look later but just thought I would try here for a quick answer first!

Thanks a lot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭Pyongyang

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭No1XtinaFan

Thanks a lot!!

Can it only be purchased online do you know? I would prefer to buy it somewhere and have it immediately, would be afraid I wouldn't get it intime for Christmas!

Thanks a lot.

To be honest, given VAT will increase today and by lunchtime tomorrow we'll start being taxed on breathing oxygen within Irish airspace, I'd buy it from Firebox.

Great price, reliable delivery, cheaper than getting it here and saves you running around the shops looking for one.

Get it clicked, get it bought! :)

EDIT: Or for 99.99 get it here, with FREE delivery. Works out only €8 more than Firebox, and it's in stock:

http://www.clickcase.ie/proddetail.php?prod=iCade

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

It is available on Peats.ie website, ships in 2/3 days and is €99.99.

I seen it in stock in the store in Blanchardstown centre on Friday but as it was on the Toy Show it may be sold out.

http://www.peats.ie

If everywhere is sold out, buy yourself/your fella/your bird a real cab. The look on the neighbours face when they boast they got their other half an "you just couldn't get them anywhere Bridie, I'm tellin ye!" iCade and your other half rocks up with an Astro.

BOOM! YEAH! etc... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,906 ✭✭✭Steve X2

I got mine from Firebox and delivery was very quick.

Some light assemble is required with the iCade but it only takes a few mins and they provide the tools in the box.

Steve SI wrote: »
    I got mine from Firebox and delivery was very quick.

Some light assemble is required with the iCade but it only takes a few mins and they provide the tools in the box.

Do any of the Cave titles work with the iCade? I might get one for the laugh if so.

....actually, I wonder if it's possible to have the following chain:

iPad > VGA OUT > Scan Converter > Scaler/Processor > VGA OUT > VGA to CGA Converter > 15khz CGA arcade monitor

??

I might give it a shot and see if I can at least get a display up!

Pyongyang wrote: »
    Do any of the Cave titles work with the iCade? I might get one for the laugh if so.

....actually, I wonder if it's possible to have the following chain:

iPad > VGA OUT > Scan Converter > Scaler/Processor > VGA OUT > VGA to CGA Converter > 15khz CGA arcade monitor

??

I might give it a shot and see if I can at least get a display up!

Don't think any of the Cave games have support yet.

I'd say it is possible to get that display setup your talking about using the iPad VGA dongle.

What does the iPad output to? It might need scan converting before it hits CGA.

I wonder how you'd make a control hack for it? Maybe Bluetooth hacked classic wiimotes?

I'm curious to do this now!

What does the iPad output to? It might need scan converting before it hits CGA.

I wonder how you'd make a control hack for it? Maybe Bluetooth hacked classic wiimotes?

I'm curious to do this now!

Well my iPad 2 outputs up to 1080p using the hdmi adapter and I've not tried it yet but it should do the same on the vga adapter. My original iPad only does 720p without any hacks.

You would need a jail broken device to get the cydia app that would let you control the exact resolution.

The default is 1024x768 until an app tells it to go higher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

They have them in the gadget shop in Dundrum Shopping Centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭ghostchant

In HMV Grafton St for 90e, PC World for 100e. I caved and bought one :P tempted to jailbreak and use it for MAME, unless Cave start to make their shooters compatible

ghostchant wrote: »
    In HMV Grafton St for 90e, PC World for 100e. I caved and bought one :P tempted to jailbreak and use it for MAME, unless Cave start to make their shooters compatible

MAME is nice on it all right with the iPad 1.
    I'd love to see the iPad 2 running MAME though as the extra power would make a big difference.

But, no jailbreak for the iPad 2 yet.

Hmm, I've an iPad 1, I was thinking about HDCP issues with that and the iPad 2 once you output to an external source. Some scalers/processors won't strip HDCP before output and all you get is a green or blue screen.

In those instances an HD Fury is needed. Those are most certainly not cheap.

I think I'm going to investigate the iPad 1 output and Wii controller pad hacks as I'd love to see if I can get DDP, DS or EG working on my cab. If anything to show it can be done and to play them for the laugh. :)

They have them in the gadget shop in Dundrum Shopping Centre.

Yep, becool on the gallery level. They're €119 though :)

Would love one myself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭The Last Bandit

Apparently these also work with Android tablets, might pick now one up now I've got mame4droid working.

Skins for the iCade coming soon by the looks of things.

http://www.thinkgeek.com/contests/icadeskin/index.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Hmmm. Can an iPad on the latest firmware be jailbroken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭No1XtinaFan

Got it on special in PC World in Jervis Centre, €70.

They had about 10 left at lunchtime. Your man said they are selling them off coz they got too many in!!!
    I had called Peats, HMV and PC World HQ this morning and Jervis was the only place with them!

Thanks for all your help :)

I just have to remember to download the app Christmas Eve so he doesn't cop it!

Got it on special in PC World in Jervis Centre, €70.

They had about 10 left at lunchtime. Your man said they are selling them off coz they got too many in!!!
    I had called Peats, HMV and PC World HQ this morning and Jervis was the only place with them!

Thanks for all your help :)

I just have to remember to download the app Christmas Eve so he doesn't cop it!

Good stuff.

Here's a screen grab of the games I have on my iPad 2 that work well on the iCade.

1323115810933.jpg

If the iPad is jailbroken also get MAME.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,175 ✭✭✭Doge

Its a lovely looking unit, the only tiny criticism is the fact you can't slide the case so that it supports landscape, but its prolly hard to implement that a wooden case, without ruining the look of the sides, by adding hinges and things.

waveform wrote: »
    Its a lovely looking unit, the only tiny criticism is the fact you can't slide the case so that it supports landscape, but its prolly hard to implement that a wooden case, without ruining the look of the sides, by adding hinges and things.

At least they have that little groove you can put the iPad into to allow use in landscape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 fedora

I have seen them in Harvey Norman i bought the piano apprentice its a iPad accessory made by the same company that teaches you how to play piano.... very cool

Steve SI wrote: »
    At least they have that little groove you can put the iPad into to allow use in landscape.

Yeah thats a handy yokey to have alright.

She has some fine box up on her boss.

Here biys, do any of ye know the name of the only other decent toy on the show?

The ufo yoke that flew up into the air at the end. Twas lethal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Mods if this is allowed can I just mention that we got more of these in Peats. They arrived into our warehouse this morning. If it's not allowed then please delete. Price is €99.99 with free delivery within Ireland if bought over the web.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 glideslope

To be honest, given VAT will increase today and by lunchtime tomorrow we'll start being taxed on breathing oxygen within Irish airspace, I'd buy it from Firebox.

Great price, reliable delivery, cheaper than getting it here and saves you running around the shops looking for one.

Get it clicked, get it bought! :)

EDIT: Or for 99.99 get it here, with FREE delivery. Works out only €8 more than Firebox, and it's in stock:

http://www.clickcase.ie/proddetail.php?prod=iCade
    Got the icade from clickcase last weekend - actually €14 cheaper than Firebox!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Pulse8

Lads has anyone run this successfully with MAME (imame4all) on an iPad2???

Thinking of taking the plunge but dont wana bother if it wont control the games as the Atari ones dont really interest me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭CathalDublin

Ipad2 jailbreak is looking close
    http://pod2g-ios.blogspot.com/

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,679 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

Woo Hoo!
    Can't wait!
    It's unfortunate that, due to the small mindedness of the current Mame team, the recent iMame release was pulled.
    Apparently the dev of iMame4all reckons it'll be back on itunes without the offending Mame logos.
    Not sure how that itself will wash given it's still Mame code running under there, albeit 10 year old Mame code.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭DinoRex

They weren't even charging for iMame either...