Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Latest Poll Shows FF Rise to 2nd!!

• 03-12-2011 6:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭

Well it's official.. not only do the Irish electorate have the memories of GOLDFISH, they really ARE too stupid to be allowed govern themselves (and I say that as an Irishman myself). Maybe the Germans taking over is the best result for this corrupt inept little backwater after all!
    A new opinion poll out in tomorrow's Sunday Business Post shows that Fianna Fáil have crept ahead of Labour for the first time since the General Election.

Support for Fine Gael remains strong on 32%, up one since the last poll, but Fianna Fáil are now in second place on 18%, ahead of Labour and Sinn Féin on 15%.

Full story here

We really DO deserve everything we've gotten because we clearly haven't learned a thing!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Well it's official.. not only do the Irish electorate have the memories of GOLDFISH, they really ARE too stupid to be allowed govern themselves (and I say that as an Irishman myself).
    Maybe the Germans taking over is the best result for this corrupt inept little backwater after all!

Full story here

We really DO deserve everything we've gotten because we clearly haven'y learned a thing!! :mad:

People have the luxury of giving FF the nod, knowing it means nothing as its not an election. 3% is a margin of error. Poor FF will find some comfort in the poll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭raymon

A certain section of people will vote for the soldiers of treason no matter what.

Sad but true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

We have an opposition deficit. Until a new party takes off it will always swing between the big 3 (lab/fg/ff). Disappointing that nothing new has emerged in the last year or so as it would have been an ideal time to kill off FF but in absence of an alternative they'll survive, re-group and be back in government sooner than you can say shower of gombeens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

I blame Eamon Gilmore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I don't see what the fuss is about. It's less than a 1% improvement on their general election performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

This is sad news indeed. But, only nine months after getting rid of the effeneffers, the Irish people are beginning to realise that they are still being rode (or should that be ridden?) and the pain they feel is different, but no less unpleasant than when they were bending over and taking it in the cornhole for Fianna Fail. Perhaps some of them are beginning to suspect that maybe the effeneffers, with their much longer experience of riding the nation crossways, may be gentler in the long run, and that would explain the resurgence of FF in the polls.:rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Hopefully it's just a verbal protest to the latest shower of incompetents with people just using it to indicate their disgust at their reneging on their election promises re taxes and bondholders.

But the time is now to start a new, ethical party that has the interests of decent people at its core, so as to be ready for the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭rodento

Pete_Cavan wrote: »
    I blame Eamon Gilmore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭brimal

I heard a rumour ages ago that Shane Ross wanted to start his own party. Stephen Donnelly(who I think is very good) was going to get involved too. Any word on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

Don't think it arises out of support for FF, but anger at Labour. Labour have been in the spotlight lately for reneging on many of the cornerstone policies like free third level fees. Following the protest and coverage that that has been getting in the past month, it's hard not to imagine that they'd not lose a few percentage points in the polls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Hopefully it's just a verbal protest to the latest shower of incompetents with people just using it to indicate their disgust at their reneging on their election promises re taxes and bondholders.

Fine Gael are still performing well. I think it's a sign people are sick of being held to ransom by public service trade unions and are high social welfare rates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭fly_agaric

Maybe the Germans taking over is the best result for this corrupt inept little backwater after all!

We really DO deserve everything we've gotten because we clearly haven't learned a thing!! :mad:

Haven't you heard, it is all the fault of ze Germans, the EU, the public sector, the Dublin Government, the <insert scapegoat>, not our local FF stalwart who always came through for the local GAA club...he's a trojan and sure maybe we were too hard on them last election...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

sure bertie cowen et al werent that bad :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Nice one Ireland. :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,727 ✭✭✭✭Godge

Labour, Sinn Fein and Independents (mostly ULA) together get to 50%.

Maybe the voters want a new left-wing government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,937 ✭✭✭patwicklow

well were half way down the tubes why not just go all the way to be done with it half wit voters out there...laughable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

We have an opposition deficit. Until a new party takes off it will always swing between the big 3 (lab/fg/ff). Disappointing that nothing new has emerged in the last year or so as it would have been an ideal time to kill off FF but in absence of an alternative they'll survive, re-group and be back in government sooner than you can say shower of gombeens.

It really is a big 4 now or like when it used to called a 2½ party system, it's now 1 and ¾'s or something!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Really bizarre as they have not actually done anything to warrant an increase so I imagine it must be Labours election promise breaking costing them points.

We'll see after the budget, the cuts made will decide a lot TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

I'm pretty sure that FF TDs put on some really shiny suits and gelled up their hair real nice. Surely a vote getter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Well it's official.. not only do the Irish electorate have the memories of GOLDFISH,

Correction, 18% of the electorate are fools, 82% are not. Somehow I think they are older people as they were the ones who voted them in last time on false empty promises.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

What do people expect? We're facing into the teeth of a really nasty budget and Labour look a bit dodgy from the cuts in areas they campaigned against.

I'd be shocked if FF hadn't risen, really you people surprised by this need a bit of a reality check. Where else are people going to go with their vote? SF? ULA?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

nesf wrote: »
    What do people expect? We're facing into the teeth of a really nasty budget and Labour look a bit dodgy from the cuts in areas they campaigned against.

I'd be shocked if FF hadn't risen, really you people surprised by this need a bit of a reality check. Where else are people going to go with their vote? SF? ULA?

People(electorate) need to be educated. Any party in govt whoever they are will have to implement cuts, its part of the IMF deal. There needs to be a serious cop on among people that whoever you vote for will implement cuts as they have to. Seems reality has not set into the mindset of some Irish people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

Delighted.

Not so much for Fianna Fail, mostly because it is mildly enjoyable to see the low FF tolerance brigade squirm. Hurlers in ditches hate to see their commentary get trashed, and a few months back these antis - who really have little other interest in politics - were gleefully hammering nails in FF's political coffin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Godge wrote: »
    Labour, Sinn Fein and Independents (mostly ULA) together get to 50%.

Maybe the voters want a new left-wing government.

Realistically, you can't call today's Labour left-wing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

nesf wrote: »

gurramok wrote: »
    People(electorate) need to be educated. Any party in govt whoever they are will have to implement cuts, its part of the IMF deal. There needs to be a serious cop on among people that whoever you vote for will implement cuts as they have to. Seems reality has not set into the mindset of some Irish people.

In fairness a swing to FF, though tiny given the margin of error, is a sign that people realise SF and ULA don't offer practical alternatives. I think their support has plateaued.

Given polls a year or so ago showed Labour as the biggest party I'd say FG and SF gained most from their drop initially. There doesn't seem to be that much of a change recently between the other 3 now things have settled.

I'd treat this poll the same way SF supporters claimed they were the 2nd party.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

Taking the past aside, since the General Election, what the hell has Fianna Fáil, led by Michael Martin, done to deserve even a mention ? Must the recent documentaries and new books that are coming out on the party. I knew they would never die, but never have taught any poll would give them a boost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭criticalcritic

Democracy is something Irish people should be entitled to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭hoorsmelt

You 18% of absolute ****ing morons- half the country under 30 is emigrating, you're going to be bent over a table and shafted (again) by the ECB/IMF in a few days time (all to prop up the European banks who bought bonds in Anglo and the others), and unemployment is a strong 15%, but still 18% will vote FF and 28% of the electorate gave a first pref to the Bagman in the Presidential election. What's wrong with ye :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Taking the past aside, since the General Election, what the hell has Fianna Fáil, led by Michael Martin, done to deserve even a mention ? Must the recent documentaries and new books that are coming out on the party. I knew they would never die, but never have taught any poll would give them a boost.
    You mean the documentaries where they stabbed Biffo in the back and blamed him for the whole lot!

There like rats off a sinking ship!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

hoorsmelt wrote: »
    You 18% of absolute ****ing morons- half the country under 30 is emigrating, you're going to be bent over a table and shafted (again) by the ECB/IMF in a few days time (all to prop up the European banks who bought bonds in Anglo and the others), and unemployment is a strong 15%, but still 18% will vote FF and 28% of the electorate gave a first pref to the Bagman in the Presidential election. What's wrong with ye :mad:

Parties like FF want to see plenty of young people emigrate, because they are less likely to buy into a party for life, and have grown up in a more liberal era.

The majority of the Irish 'brains' are already somewhere else. Hope to join them soon enough - too many servile idiots left here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 FeckinUsername

I'm disappointed to see this, but not altogether surprised. FF have been plotting a clever course back to political prominence over the last few weeks and months. Firstly they have distanced themselves from their own actions in government, so much so that no one seems to have noticed the irony of them criticizing the current shower for continuing to implement their own policies. They have also identified SF as their greatest threat and have began targeting them of late. They have come out with a number of statements and gestures designed to portray themselves as the main voice of political Republicanism. Their presence at Republican commemorations has become more visible and publicised, and Eamon O Cuiv has taken to defending the position of currently incarcerated POW's being held in British prisons in the north. They are coming out fighting, and this opinion poll suggests that they are making progress.

All of that will be forgotten when they get back into power though. Considering that Southerners did not care a whole lot about POW's in the past, you really think that FF attention (what publicity by the way?) is making people down here think of FF in a better light? Michael has being very quite on the commemoration talk actually. Its just FG shooting themselves in the foot, with ironically seeking to remember 1913 lockouts and Bruton pushing his love for redmond into the mix

You mean the documentaries where they stabbed Biffo in the back and blamed him for the whole lot!

There like rats off a sinking ship!

yep, seems people have some adverse strange to FF even when these programmes show FF people in bad light. Oh for we live in a wacky island. Mary Hanafin is some turnip

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

To be fair FF have been very active in the Oireachtas - rather uniquely engaging in constructive opposition and putting forward dozens of proposals via private members time. For example, FF has published extensive bills on issues such as mortgage relief and corporate donations. Such hard work is paying off and is likely to continue to do so as people recognise that constructive proposals are the only way out of this mess.

Furthermore the actual renewal of the party probably deserves a mention, and you will be hearing a lot about that renewal within the media in the coming months as Fianna Fáil re-evaluates what it stands for and radically alters its party structure. With three Fianna Fáil Ardfheiseanna due to occur next year I suspect the process of renewal which is ongoing within FF will become evident and a real talking point of discussion.

Dáil Éireann - Private Members Business (Fianna Fáil) 22-23 November 2011

Dáil Éireann - Private Members Business (Fianna Fáil) 2 - 3 November 2011

Dáil Éireann - Private Members Business (Fianna Fáil) 18 - 19 October 2011

Dáil Éireann - Private Members Business (Fianna Fáil) 4-5 October 2011

Dáil Éireann - Private Members Business (Fianna Fáil) 14 and 15 September 2011

Dáil Éireann - Private Members Business (Fianna Fáil) 19-20 July 2011

Dáil Éireann - Private Members Business (Fianna Fáil) 28th & 29th June 2011

Dáil Éireann - Private Members Business (Fianna Fáil) 7-8 June 2011

Dáil Éireann - Private Members Business (Fianna Fáil) 10-11 May 2011

Dáil Éireann - Private Members Business (Fianna Fáil) 12 and 13 April 2011

Dáil Éireann - Private Members Business (Fianna Fáil) 22 and 23 March 2011

Seanad Éireann Private Members Business Wednesday 30 November 2011 - Fianna Fáil Group

Just a small collection of Fianna Fáil's contributions to the 31st Dáil to dispel any misconceptions that FF have been up to nothing.

To be fair FF have been very active in the Oireachtas - rather uniquely engaging in constructive opposition and putting forward dozens of proposals via private members time. For example, FF has published extensive bills on issues such as mortgage relief and corporate donations. Such hard work is paying off and is likely to continue to do so as people recognise that constructive proposals are the only way out of this mess.

Furthermore the actual renewal of the party probably deserves a mention, and you will be hearing a lot about that renewal within the media in the coming months as Fianna Fáil re-evaluates what it stands for and radically alters its party structure. With three Fianna Fáil Ardfheiseanna due to occur next year I suspect the process of renewal which is ongoing within FF will become evident and a real talking point of discussion.

Seanad Éireann Private Members Business Wednesday 30 November 2011 - Fianna Fáil Group

Just a small collection of Fianna Fáil's contributions to the 31st Dáil to dispel any misconceptions that FF have been up to nothing.
    Thats great!

But dont expect the people of this country to ever forget the vermin of that party and there banker/builder/estate agent croonies have sold out the people of this country for the next 50 years or so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

If we had learned anything we wouldn't have voted for the present 'green jersey' team, who in reality wear the same jerseys with their proud bank logos as the previous lot did.

I

I'm calling treasonomics on these populist unrealistic proposals from the party that handed over our sovereignty

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,601 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

raymon wrote: »
    I

I'm calling treasonomics on these populist unrealistic proposals from the party that handed over our sovereignty

What is unrealistic about the mortgage relief document, which is fully costed and quite realistic in what it aims to achieve? Also what is unrealistic about the corporate donations bill? Have you actually read either document, or are you on cruise control lambast FF mode?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Really I don't think it is any of the above, it is more the rumors that all Labours protected areas are going to be hit in the budget anyway despite their election promises.

Really if the budget isn't as bad the rumors say and they usually aren't, Labour will probably bounce back in the polls a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

I notice Michael McGrath seems to be Martin's new right hand man. Seeing him almost everyday on the RTÉ news makes me want to puke...And yes a fool can't be rehabilitated and fools will fall for McGrath's attempts to act like the new untainted FF..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

Well it's official.. not only do the Irish electorate have the memories of GOLDFISH, they really ARE too stupid to be allowed govern themselves (and I say that as an Irishman myself). Maybe the Germans taking over is the best result for this corrupt inept little backwater after all!

Full story here

In a couple of years it won't really matter. Our 'government' will really just be pen pushers implementing budgets that are controlled by central europe. Maybe this will be a good thing because if there is one thing we have shown since the formation of this state it's that we really are not fit to govern ourselves. Gombeen politics etc etc have ruined this country.
    As a proud Irishman it really pisses me off to have been brought to having this view.

Thats great!

But dont expect the people of this country to ever forget the vermin of that party and there banker/builder/estate agent croonies have sold out the people of this country for the next 50 years or so!

I would not be so sure. Other FF governments led for decades long, FG have never won two elections in a row. Many of the croonies are gone.

Martin, O Dea, Mc Grath...there is enough there to keep reminding me, and the fact were were been run from Germany now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

charlemont wrote: »
    I notice Michael McGrath seems to be Martin's new right hand man. Seeing him almost everyday on the RTÉ news makes me want to puke...And yes a fool can't be rehabilitated and fools will fall for McGrath's attempts to act like the new untainted FF..
    Maybe we should bring back capital punishment, ahern, cowan and a few more should be first followed by the likes of fitzpatrick & drumm and then...... oh f**k, it'll be a long list!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭hoorsmelt

What is unrealistic about the mortgage relief document, which is fully costed and quite realistic in what it aims to achieve? Also what is unrealistic about the corporate donations bill? Have you actually read either document, or are you on cruise control lambast FF mode?

Well tickle me pink, an FF apologist (or are you just a member?). As cannot be emphasised enough, they were in government for the last 13 years yet did nothing on corporate donations, and the mortgage crisis took place on their watch but they did nothing about it either, so forgive me when I say they are self-seeking liars who put forward proposals they have no notion of implementing and which they know the present government will oppose because they are a carbon copy of themselves with no interest in anything other than accruing pensions and reaping expenses from the taxpayer. When their turn to ride the perks'n'mercs gravy train comes around again, which it will as sure as day follows night with the blithering idiots who make up 30-40% of the electorate, you can be damn sure that any of these proposals will be quickly forgotten and any reform agenda they trumpet in opposition will be thrown out the window quicker than you can say 'unvouched expenses'.

Sierra ... I have actually read both docs.....

I am still a bit unclear if it is correct for Michael Martin to lodge corporate donations into his wifes bank account .

This point is still a bit unclear for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭Shattered Dreamer

Just like always the Irish people I've memories shorter than goldfish. FG lead governments don't have a history of going full term because for whatever reason the Irish people have less of a tolerance for them then they do the dodgy dealings of FF. Expect a FF lead government sooner than you all think. Will you all every let the Civil War politics go?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭HovaBaby

Disgrace, I wonder if Brian Cowen if licking his breakfast-roll laden fingers at the thought of him being able to come back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,095 ✭✭✭doc_17

18% clearly haven't learned anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭transylman

If this is correct then it marks a returning to the same old patterns. FF under dev ruined the country in the 40s and 50s, FF under Lynch ruined the country in the late 70s, and FF under Ahern ruined the country now. You can guarantee if they get back in again they will be ruining the country again in another 20 years.