Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newcastle v Chelsea | Premier | KO Sat 12.45 SS2

• 02-12-2011 11:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,627 ✭✭✭

Newcastle v Chelsea | Premier | KO 12.45 Saturday 3rd December, SS2

(No fancy graphics - the Toon just dont do fancy)

Live from the "Sports Direct Arena" :eek:

Team News

Newcastle midfielder Cheick Tiote has again been ruled out with the troublesome knee injury that has kept him sidelined for four league matches.
    Sylvain Marveaux (groin) is out until the New Year but Leon Best returns to the fold after his own groin injury.

Chelsea captain John Terry served his one-game suspension in the League Cup defeat by Liverpool and should return.
    Oriol Romeu is expected to continue in midfield at the expense of John Obi Mikel and the injured Michael Essien.
    Drogba is expected to get the nod ahead of the 50 million pound man Torres

Preview
    Newcastle, currently in 4th position and on a fantastic run, play the final game in a difficult "pack of three", having picked up a point from the 2 Manchester games and face a struggling Chelsea side who have already lost 4 games this season to Newcastle's 1, and 4 defeats on the road from 8 outings all told.
    The pressure is on for Chelsea's young manager and Newcastle will be extra pumped to get a win for Gary Speed RIP (Although the official Toon tribute will be in 2 weeks time at the request of Louise Speed who wishes to attend Saturdays tribute at Leeds)
    Chelsea will take some comfort from the fact that they havent lost in 11 visits to the North East and they have only let in just 6 goals away in the league (Only Man U have conceded fewer)
    No club has scored more first half goals than Chelsea (15), but Newcastle share the joint best defensive record with Liverpool and Man City, having only conceded 12 times

All in all, should be a cracking match

Form
    Newcastle WWWLD

Chelsea LLWLW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Going to put a bit on us at 11/10. More money than sense :rolleyes:

Will be disappointed if Romeu doesn't start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

I fancy Newcastle draw no bet - 13/8. Unfortunately I just can't see Newcastle losing this.

Please, please, please Chelsea make me regret saying the above.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,726 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gonzovision

Romeu has to start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,979 ✭✭✭Vurnon San Benito

Certainly think Newcastle have enough to expose Chelsea's poor back 4.

Without Jonas will be a big loss, alongside Tioté but we managed in Manchester without the Ivorian.

I think there'll be goals and I think we'll win, maybe 3-1.
    We'll defo create chances, but Mata will need minding.

I'm optimistic per usual :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Joeyjoejoe43

Good game of ball here I reckon, Chelsea to win it 3-2, Cashley to get on the score sheet..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,258 ✭✭✭MUSEIST

If romeu plays then chelsea have a great chance, if lamps or malouda plays then newcastle will be/should be delighted.

Please AVB play our in form 11 and forget the like of lamps and malouda. The midfield should be romeu, mereiles and ramires but with AVB it literally could be anyone he picks.

Man for man chelsea have the better team and should win but newcastle have a good team spirit and the fact that they are confident and at home makes me think a score draw. 1-1 Sturridge and mata to be chelseas main threats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭RichT

Chelsea's biggest game of the season........ The race for fourth.

okayguy.jpg?1283381711

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

There's gonna be a big black sack full of goals in this one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Upset central! Is Ba available?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

mike65 wrote: »
    Upset central! Is Ba available?

I have not heard anything about him being unavailable

I had it in my head he might have a knock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Wouldn't mind this line up:
    Krul

Simpson --- Colo --- Saylor --- Raylor

Obertan --- Cabaye --- Guthrie --- Lovenkrands

Ba --- HBA

Best is available again. Without Jonas on the wing I think Pardew should opt for an experienced head like Lovenkrands. Match fitness would probably work against him but I just don't see Sammy or even HBA on the wing tracking back to help out Raylor who is reliant on his left winger to help him out.

Depending on how the game is going, I'd like to see Best come on and then maybe HBA on the wing. Decent attacking options if we need them.

I know a few mags are optimistic about this but Chelsea have some serious talent there. I think we've got enough to cause their defenders a few problems. Hopefully Luiz plays. ;)

Chelsea team for Newcastle: Cech, Ivanovic, Luiz, Terry, Cole, Romeu, Ramires, Lampard, Sturridge, Drogba, Mata.

Johner wrote: »
    Chelsea team for Newcastle: Cech, Ivanovic, Luiz, Terry, Cole, Romeu, Ramires, Lampard, Sturridge, Drogba, Mata.

Delighted with that team, apart from lampard (baffling)

MUSEIST wrote: »
    Delighted with that team, apart from lampard (baffling)

Agreed, Meireles should be starting, he's earned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭internelligent

I'd like to see Newcastle win this and would be very surprised to see Chelsea keep a clean sheet considering their form at the back. Fancying a score draw here unless for some reason Torres is subbed on after 5 minutes :P

He doesn't trust Torres at all by the looks of it.

Could he be gone in Jan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Sunderland fan Dave Jones on Sky Sports: ''We're here live from The Sports Direct Arena'' :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,153 ✭✭✭everdead.ie

rarnes1 wrote: »

Could he be gone in Jan?
    Abromovich surely wouldn't allow it how much would a team really pay for him now 25m?

Cut their losses?

He'll be worth less come the summer if things keep going the way they are.

It's a strange one because Drogba isn't playing great.I'd have Torres in, he needs games.

Nice stream here,

http://adf.ly/2Md10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Could he be gone in Jan?

looked like he was turning the corner before his silly red card...Drogba doesn't look any better though. Wonder where Torres will end up because apparently there is no other level after Chelsea.

Would like to see Newcastle pick up the win today...think they will fall down the table over the season but Chelsea dropping 3 points now would be nice.

Cut their losses?

He'll be worth less come the summer if things keep going the way they are.

It's a strange one because Drogba isn't playing great.I'd have Torres in, he needs games.

Its 50/50 between torres and drogba atm, neither are in good form. Torres has been slightly better over the course of the season so I'm suprised he is not starting again.

Newcastle: Krul; Simpson, S Taylor, Coloccini, R Taylor; Obertan, Cabaye, Guthrie, Lovenkrands; Ben Arfa; Demba Ba

Substitutes: Harper, Santon, Perch, Gosling, Sammy Ameobi, Best, Shola Ameobi.

Chelsea: Cech; Ivanovic, D Luiz, Terry, Cole; Ramirez, Romeu, Lampard; Sturridge, Drogba, Mata.

Substitues: Turnbull, Bosingwa, Bertrand, Meireles, Malouda, Kalou, Torres.

Really surprised to see this

0 - Chelsea are the only team of the top 7 to take no points from head-to-head games vs. the other teams in that group this season. Bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Lampard to score a hat trick :P

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 492 ✭✭thebison

No PL club has more first half goals than Chelsea this season (15)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Joke of a referee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

That's obviously a red.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Should have been red.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

THAT WAS A RED!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Luiz is shocking. Dunno how some Chelsea fans think he's better than Jones. He always gets himself into a spot of bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭AwayWithFaries

Bottled it. Refs eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭Benimar

Thats a red all day long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Defo a red that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

How in the name of God was that not a red?

That said, leaving Luiz on the pitch probably punishes Chelsea more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Ref bottles it

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

How the **** can a ref not make that call?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Terrible decision.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Luiz should absolutely be off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

how is that not a red. how is luiz playing at this level of football anyway.

Neville was right he is like a ten year old playing a playstation. oh i feel dirty now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Luiz should absolutely be off.

Will probably be taken off soon enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,161 ✭✭✭✭M5

what a disgrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭CR 7

Luiz really is a laughably bad defender. I wonder has anyone calculated where chelsea would be in the table without him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭The Davestator

As a Chelsea fan, I'm delighted he's banned for the man city game. Total liability

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭Benimar

I'm not joking here, if I was AVB I'd take Luiz off now.

State of pardew.

Ref having a shocker, first the luiz red and that should have been two free's for chelsea, instead newcastle get one:rolleyes:

Last January must of been the worst transfer window for chelsea ever!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭yesno1234

Any of the firstrow streams working for ye lads? In college so don't know if it's blocked or it's just not working

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Last January must of been the worst transfer window for chelsea ever!

Indeed, over £70 million of rubbish.