Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disappointed with open day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Maybe_Memories

Iceuil wrote: »
    I am a first year in TCD and I can easily say that lecturers here are very helpful and easily approachable. I never met a lecturer who was arrogant or anything like that. BUT beware of library staff. These are the most rude and unhelpful people in college.

I wouldn't say that about all the library staff. Some can be quite helpful. I once had a €22 library fine, went in to pay it, the clerk asked why I had such a big fine, I explained, and she let me off with €20. Not much, but hey, it was still nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Jammyc

Exactly, some library staff can be really nice and helpful. I remember in first year, not knowing how to check if books were in, shelfmarks etc. Rather than get frustrated at yet another first year not having a clue, one of the librarians took 5 minutes or so to show me where everything was and how to search for books. On the flip side of that coin, there are some that can be rude or just indifferent, but then again thats life and to say all library staff are rude isn't fair.

On topic, OP don't get too worried about your impression from the open day. Look more into the course you want to do, talk to current students and email lecturers. I didn't have a great impression of Trinity before I started but now I think its nice. I also found open days to be annoying in general as you get bombarded with information, half of which doesn't answer any questions you might have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭shanefitz360

Trinners is for winners!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭cookiemonst3r

[QUOTE=CIARAN_BOYLE;75815058 Many tutors see being a tutor as an extra bonus onto their paycheck.[/QUOTE]

I'm pretty sure the tutors here don't get paid extra. I think it's voluntary.

Also, another reason why the lecturers don't put much effort into their talks is because they know that students will go to Trinity, regardless of whether they give a good talk or not. This happened this year with the medicine presentations. They didn't turn up to their presentations, because they know that their spaces will be filled no matter what they do.

The budget TCD get for their open day also pales in comparison with the funding other colleges get. We just don't have the money for anything these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 TC80

This happened this year with the medicine presentations. They didn't turn up to their presentations, because they know that their spaces will be filled no matter what they do.

Huh????

There were 3 medicine presentations on the saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 likelike

well i cant speak for any of the other courses but I went to the law talk on the open day and i wasnt too impressed. So i put law in trinity first but no other trinity courses, all ucd. But i got into trinity and i actually love it. all the law lecturers are so sound its ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,761 ✭✭✭Lawliet

TC80 wrote: »
    Huh????

There were 3 medicine presentations on the saturday.
    Medicine were suppose to be running demonstrations on Friday, but they hadn't organised anything; they just weren't bothered. They got nagged into doing it on Saturday though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I'm pretty sure the tutors here don't get paid extra. I think it's voluntary.

http://brianmlucey.wordpress.com/2011/06/04/thoughts-on-tutoring-in-tcd/
    The Tutorial system is thus a mixture of academic and pastoral care. And as a consequence of the additional duties over and above the academic those, like myself, that manage a full chamber (100 students) get €255.83 extra per month (before tax).
    But you can change your tutor at any point, you don't have to specify a reason and you don't have to ever contact them to tell them, the Senior Tutor will just give you a new one!
    Not according to the senior tutor a few years back

http://www.tcd.ie/Senior_Tutor/your-tutor/change/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 651 ✭✭✭TrollHammaren

Fo Real wrote: »
    I'm going to speak a few truths here so I hope I don't come across as harsh. Trinity doesn't really care if you choose the college as number one on your CAO form or not. You can be sure there are thousands of other students fighting for a place in Ireland's premier university who would love to take your place. In fact, the college would prefer to take in a foreign student from India or Malaysia who pay more in fees than than an Irish student who avails of free fees thanks to our decrepit socialist government.

Trinity doesn't need to set up flashy stands or pay for expensive advertisements to attract the best and brightest, because frankly its world renowned reputation speaks for itself. Did you expect the lecturers to beg you to attend Trinity? This isn't DKIT. In fact, I personally think Trinity should demand potential students fulfil certain criteria other than high CAO points to gain entry into the college, such as personality tests. There are too many culchie students who treat their first year of college as one big drinking session, disrupt lectures, and then drop out. They are easily identified by their GAA jersey uniform and tacky "class rep" hoody - most likely the only two items of clothing in their minuscule wardrobe.

I feel I need to perform a public service every time this guy posts in a thread aimed at potential students. Most of the time his racism and bigotry is hilarious, but I wouldn't want any potential TCD students to think that this is how we all behave. My advice is to just ignore this guy's unhelpful response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭TimeToShine

I'm going to speak a few truths here so I hope I don't come across as harsh. Trinity doesn't really care if you choose the college as number one on your CAO form or not. You can be sure there are thousands of other students fighting for a place in Ireland's premier university who would love to take your place. In fact, the college would prefer to take in a foreign student from India or Malaysia who pay more in fees than than an Irish student who avails of free fees thanks to our decrepit socialist government.

Trinity doesn't need to set up flashy stands or pay for expensive advertisements to attract the best and brightest, because frankly its world renowned reputation speaks for itself. Did you expect the lecturers to beg you to attend Trinity? This isn't DKIT. In fact, I personally think Trinity should demand potential students fulfil certain criteria other than high CAO points to gain entry into the college, such as personality tests. There are too many culchie students who treat their first year of college as one big drinking session, disrupt lectures, and then drop out. They are easily identified by their GAA jersey uniform and tacky "class rep" hoody - most likely the only two items of clothing in their minuscule wardrobe.

I go to UCD and saw this thread on the "Latest posts" and could not believe I was reading this. You've basically reaffirmed my confidence in my decision to not go to Trinity. Amongst other things, this post is painfully arrogant, condescending, narrow-minded and bigotted. Ridiculous.

Let me point out that the vast, vast majority of TCD students are not like him. This is the guy who claims to derive pleasure from seeing natural disasters cull "lesser races".

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Also came across this in latest posts. I'm a Maynooth law student myself - something which some of you must be appalled by!

There seems to be a real arrogance in this thread about TCD. To think that people are going to go to TCD despite bad experiences is quite presumptuous. I ended up placing TCD lower on my CAO after having such a bad experience at the open day and being comPletely unimpressed by the place. And I'm glad I did if the attitude seen here and the stories from TCD students that I know are anything to go by.

I actually feel that I have ended up in a better law degree as a result. I have managed to get great opportunities that you can't get from the TCD law course.

So no, Trinity is not automatically the best and don't presume that people will go there just because.

Lawliet wrote: »
    Medicine were suppose to be running demonstrations on Friday, but they hadn't organised anything; they just weren't bothered. They got nagged into doing it on Saturday though .

Hang on a minute, the saturday presentations were confirmed weeks ago. There was no nagging by anyone.

Perhaps you should put a simpsons-style disclaimer at the start of your posts like "DRAMATISATION: May not have happened. Or perhaps more succintly "I am completely making this up"

Medicine were suppose to be running demonstrations on Friday, but they hadn't organised anything; they just weren't bothered. They got nagged into doing it on Saturday though .

Hang on a minute, the saturday medicine presentations were confirmed weeks ago. There was no nagging by anyone.

Perhaps you should put a simpsons-style disclaimer at the start of your posts like "DRAMATISATION: May not have happened. Or perhaps more succintly "I am completely making this up"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Jammyc

Also came across this in latest posts. I'm a Maynooth law student myself - something which some of you must be appalled by!

There seems to be a real arrogance in this thread about TCD. To think that people are going to go to TCD despite bad experiences is quite presumptuous. I ended up placing TCD lower on my CAO after having such a bad experience at the open day and being comPletely unimpressed by the place. And I'm glad I did if the attitude seen here and the stories from TCD students that I know are anything to go by.

I actually feel that I have ended up in a better law degree as a result. I have managed to get great opportunities that you can't get from the TCD law course.

So no, Trinity is not automatically the best and don't presume that people will go there just because.
    Besides the post which has been pointed out by Troll Hamaren as not being reflective of TCD, what others have brought you to this conclusion? I never said I thought TCD was the best, I said it was nice. Everyone will have allegiance to their university but nobody is outright demanding to be seen as superior. Not all TCD students think its the shiz. If you need proof, take alook at the rant/bitch/moan thread or indeed any of the individual course threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 162 ✭✭NeuroCat

Personally, I find the overall experience in Trinity to be positive. I enjoy the college. It ranks higher than the other colleges in Ireland consistantly (although you do have to take those polls with a pinch of salt). This doesn't automatically make it the best. The whole thing is rather subjective. The open day was terrible when I attended 3 years ago and I found it to be a complete waste of my time. Yet when it came to taking the CAO offer the only one I felt comfortable with was Trinity. I probably would have happily repeated the leaving had I been offered the same course in any other University.

Hang on a minute, the saturday presentations were confirmed weeks ago. There was no nagging by anyone.

So were the Friday demonstrations but they certainly didn't happen - many disappointed students from the open day could confirm that one. Our team leader spent most of Friday running back and forth to the medicine stand and contacting various people within the department to try and find someone who would run the demonstrations. It was only a few hours into the open day on Saturday that they informed us they'd decided to run the demonstrations after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

I feel I need to perform a public service every time this guy posts in a thread aimed at potential students. Most of the time his racism and bigotry is hilarious, but I wouldn't want any potential TCD students to think that this is how we all behave. My advice is to just ignore this guy's unhelpful response.

Actually, do we have any proof he actually goes to TCD?

To everyone here who's not a TCD student or who is trying to pick a college at the moment: we are not all like that. In fact, most of us are not like that. The "Trinity snobbery" dates back to when only rich people could apply, nowadays it's open to all and a much nicer place for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭Anita Blow

And it's equally as narrow-minded to cast all tcd students with the same brush after reading one post from some randomer who mightn't even go there.

I'm in first year and have yet to experience this snobbery that some students from other colleges go on about. It seems to be something everyone talks about, but not many have actually experienced.
    Infact, the only snobbery I've noticed is from within. As in Arts students looking down on science students and vice versa. But that happens in every college I'm sure.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

Jammyc wrote: »
    Besides the post which has been pointed out by Troll Hamaren as not being reflective of TCD, what others have brought you to this conclusion? I never said I thought TCD was the best, I said it was nice. Everyone will have allegiance to their university but nobody is outright demanding to be seen as superior. Not all TCD students think its the shiz. If you need proof, take alook at the rant/bitch/moan thread or indeed any of the individual course threads.

Well...
    kthnxbai wrote: »
    First thing, Trinity is the best university in Ireland. You just have to look at any of the rankings. Out of all the Irish universities, Trinity has the best reputation. I assume this is what the lecturers meant by saying it's the best, rather than oh we have the best this or that etc etc...

Trinity doesn't need to set up flashy stands or pay for expensive advertisements to attract the best and brightest, because frankly its world renowned reputation speaks for itself. Did you expect the lecturers to beg you to attend Trinity? This isn't DKIT

This got 9 Thanks. That says something

[QUOTE=Deleted User;75798479]Trinity really don't need to try charm people into applying to their courses though, they do have that reputation. ![/QUOTE]
    So you don't want to be with the best because they're arrogant? They were telling the truth after all, and that's what employers are gonna care about.
    Iceuil wrote: »
    TCD does care about its students unlike other colleges.
    Quite presumptuous no? And wrong
    Also, another reason why the lecturers don't put much effort into their talks is because they know that students will go to Trinity, regardless of whether they give a good talk or not.

So were the Friday demonstrations but they certainly didn't happen - many disappointed students from the open day could confirm that one. Our team leader spent most of Friday running back and forth to the medicine stand and contacting various people within the department to try and find someone who would run the demonstrations. It was only a few hours into the open day on Saturday that they informed us they'd decided to run the demonstrations after all.

Hold on now you're ducking out of what you said. What you said was they had to be nagged into giving a presentation on the saturday. This is untrue yet I am yet to see you acknowledge this.

There were three medicine talks on the saturday. The speaker for these was approached two weeks ago and confirmed two weeks ago. That person is not an employee of TCD and gave of his own free time at no cost. It is quite disingenuous if not downright insulting of you to suggest he had to be "nagged into doing it", especially when the man was volunteering.

You also said it was "hours into the open day" on saturday before there was any confirmation about a speaker. As the first talk took place at 10.15, I don't know the basis on which you can make this allegation.

Hold on now you're ducking out of what you said. What you said was they had to be nagged into giving a presentation on the saturday. This is untrue yet I am yet to see you acknowledge this.

There were three medicine talks on the saturday. The speaker for these was approached two weeks ago and confirmed two weeks ago. That person is not an employee of TCD and gave of his own free time at no cost. It is quite disingenuous if not downright insulting of you to suggest he had to be "nagged into doing it", especially when the man was volunteering.

You also said it was "hours into the open day" on saturday before there was any confirmation about a speaker. As the first talk took place at 10.15, I don't know the basis on which you can make this allegation.
    I'm not taking about the course talks, I specifically said demonstrations. The talks were a separate thing that did go ahead as planned both days. The demonstrations that were advertised in the event guide did not happen on a Friday, and those of us working in the biosciences building were only told to inform students that the demonstrations would be happening at around eleven o'clock on Saturday. Those aren't allegations but facts.

I'm not ducking out of anything I've said, that they were nagged into doing the demonstrations may not be a fact but it's definitely the impression I got. And just to clarify my issue has never been with those who gave the talks and demonstrations, but with the actual department for not being better organised and not keeping those of us working in the biosciences building up to date with their plans.

I'm not taking about the course talks, I specifically said demonstrations. The talks were a separate thing that did go ahead as planned both days. The demonstrations that were advertised in the event guide did not happen on a Friday, and those of us working in the biosciences building were only told to inform students that the demonstrations would be happening at around eleven o'clock on Saturday. Those aren't allegations but facts.

I'm not ducking out of anything I've said, that they were nagged into doing the demonstrations may not be a fact but it's definitely the impression I got. And just to clarify my issue has never been with those who gave the talks and demonstrations, but with the actual department for not being better organised and not keeping those of us working in the biosciences building up to date with their plans.

That's grand, I don't know why you couldn't just acknowledge that the talks
    took place as advertised 2 posts ago though. My initial post just wanted this acknoweldged as someone said medicine "simply didn't turn up". Now I know for a fact that there were 3 medicine talks on Saturday. Which you've now acknowledged was the case.

You then said that medicine "had to be nagged into turning up on Saturday" in response to a post saying that there were 3 presentations on Saturday. Surely you can see there is a clear implication here that the person giving the talk had to be nagged into it. That's certainly how it reads anyway.

I just think using terminology like "couldn't be bothered" and "had to be nagged into doing it" on a public forum where many of the prospective students who attended the talks by practising doctors was out of line and derogatory to those who gave their time freely to speak.

If people didn't turn up for demonstrations inconveniencing attendees and staff then you are 100% correct that's wrong. But replying to a post about the presentations with a crib about the demonstrations is a bit misleading. Anyway it's cleared up now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭A Neurotic

Prospective students: it's clear that Trinity has its fair share of knobs. But you can just, you know, not hang around with them. There are probably knobs in the other colleges too.

It's a good college otherwise: my only complaints would be the lack of a decent student centre, the knobbery of the college newspapers (a few friends of mine work for the UCD Observer and it just seems so much better than either of ours), the sometimes weird industrial yet D4 secondary school vibe in the Arts block, and the god awful administrative skills of the school of medicine.

That's grand, I don't know why you couldn't just acknowledge that the talks
    took place as advertised 2 posts ago though. My initial post just wanted this acknoweldged as someone said medicine "simply didn't turn up". Now I know for a fact that there were 3 medicine talks on Saturday. Which you've now acknowledged was the case.

If people didn't turn up for demonstrations inconveniencing attendees and staff then you are 100% correct that's wrong. But replying to a post about the presentations with a crib about the demonstrations is a bit misleading. Anyway it's cleared up now.
    I assumed it was the demonstrations cookiemonst3r was talking about -that being the only instance of medicine not organizing someone to turn up- I meant to clarify that it was the demonstrations not the presentations that no one turned up for. I thought people would know that those words mean different things, sorry for not being clearer about that.
    You then said that medicine "had to be nagged into turning up on Saturday" in response to a post saying that there were 3 presentations on Saturday. Surely you can see there is a clear implication here that the person giving the talk had to be nagged into it. That's certainly how it reads anyway.
    I did say medicine in my post, as in medicine hadn't organised anything, medicine weren't bothered, medicine had to be nagged etc. I don't think I once put the blame on the people doing the presentations or demonstrations. You jumped to your own conclusions about that.
    I just think using terminology like "couldn't be bothered" and "had to be nagged into doing it" on a public forum where many of the prospective students who attended the talks by practising doctors was out of line and derogatory to those who gave their time freely to speak.
    I don't think it's out of line, many prospective students traveled from all over the country hoping to attend the events promised in the guide and instead they got messed around and were left disappointed. The medicine department deserves much worse criticism than what I said.

This got 9 Thanks. That says something

This pisses me off, too. I reckon the "Trinity is objectively the best" crew is a vocal minority; I personally believe it really depends on the course and who the lead researchers are for that department. As I said, that guy is a fúcking tool, and I can't understand why so many people thanked a post with such blatant racism and bigotry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭Gordon Gecko

I must say that lad who was representing dentistry on the floor at Luce Hall was very informative and helpful, total babe too.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭bscm

How did this go from someone complaining about the open day to a full on debate about TCD?

For the majority of us who go to TCD, it's great craic and not as snobby as other colleges make it out to be.

For the majority of us who did attend open days in the past, yes they are crap. But it's not a reflection on the college.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,373 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

What's the point of open days anyway? No open day could've affected my decision, because it's not based upon what the college looks like, or whether the 1 or 2 lecturers I spoke to (out of the 10-20 lecturers you'll have in total), were sound. How could it affect someone's decision that much?

Trinity's the best college in Ireland in terms of reputation, even if in practice it isn't; so it doesn't need to advertise too heavily. There's already huge demand for places, so what's the point?