Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FOR ALL HI-TECH BOYS ANYONE USE ANY OF THE GPS TRACKING FOR DOGS

• 02-12-2011 1:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭

I am currently working in the states and coming home at christmas a friend that i hunted with is looking for one of these.As far as i can make out there are only two companies that make anything like this garmin and tinyloc.Just wondering if any if ye guys used either of these systems and how did ye find them.Would be grateful for any advice. Steelfixerking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

If your dog goes out of sight long enough that you need a GPS to find him then there's somethin wrong.
    He should be working out & back to you constantly.
    Save ur moola I'd say.
    If you lost ur dog for some reason then it is useful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60 ✭✭steelfixerking

My good man when you are hunting a pack of 30 hounds they could be in the next county in ten minutes,big big difference than looking for a pointer or a setter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Those yokes are for treeing bears and other animals in the states. no use for them here. there used over there because most of the vermin the dogs hunt over there is up in the hills, so what they do is just drive up realse the dogs and wait to they here the main dog baying. then they locate the dogs via GPS and drive up to them or walk, just another american gadget to stop them breaking a sweat LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

My good man when you are hunting a pack of 30 hounds they could be in the next county in ten minutes,big big difference than looking for a pointer or a setter.

In all fairness lad:rolleyes:, even if it is a pack hounds they'ld be a fairly useless pack of hounds and huntsmen that would get that split up that they'ld need GPS tracking.

In fairness to yourself i would say you never hunted much if ever with a pack of hounds to make a comment like that.

@spunk 84. I think there is big use for them here,the country we hunt is all mountains and hills.A couple of year ago we were out hunting we rose a hunt before 9 in the morning.they hunted around us for about a half hour and then went out of sight and sound.10 that night we got in with them 20 mile from where they were let out and the only reason was because a farmer rang another huntsman to say there were dogs hunting.GPS would of been handy that day.that is only one of many.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

I have to agree with deeks here, a pack of hounds that end up 20 miles away aren't really the best hounds out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Im sure all them farmers within them 20 miles were happy that a uncontrolled pack of hounds were running across their land scaring the sh1te out of livestocks.

Define for me what you would call a good pack??

garv123 wrote: »
    Im sure all them farmers within them 20 miles were happy that a uncontrolled pack of hounds were running across their land scaring the sh1te out of livestocks.
    Thats the joys of hunting,if you let that bother ya you would not leave the house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

what were they hunting that ran for 20 miles :confused: if they couldn't catch a fox after 2 or 3 miles then there is something wrong if they were left to run after catching a fox then again there is something wrong ,hounds running loose over 20 miles round here would have the owners up in court and probably bankrupt too

dev110 wrote: »
    I have to agree with deeks here, a pack of hounds that end up 20 miles away aren't really the best hounds out there.
    Define for me what you would call a good pack of hounds?

@spunk 84. I think there is big use for them here,the country we hunt is all mountains and hills.A couple of year ago we were out hunting we rose a hunt before 9 in the morning.they hunted around us for about a half hour and then went out of sight and sound.10 that night we got in with them 20 mile from where they were let out and the only reason was because a farmer rang another huntsman to say there were dogs hunting.GPS would of been handy that day.that is only one of many.

in fairness mate ive hunted bears,pigs,coons,possums,skunks,deer and much more with hounds on the west coast of america and ive never seen a dog go that far. I think the problem is that your dogs are either useless and arent trained or the people who are in charge of the hounds havent a clue:eek:
    Your dogs should be put on a pickup drove along slowly on the hill/mountain/dirt track wherever you are and when they pick up the scent they jump off the pickup and hunt. Thats the way its done!!!!! Not just stand there for hours wondering where your dogs are:mad:

In all fairness all you need is little bells on the dogs collars to here them, hunted wild pigs with a pack with nothing but bells and you here them a mile away.

But back to your question, if you cant control a pack of hounds in Ireland then give up. Dont bother with bringing the GPS over

Thats the joys of hunting,if you let that bother ya you would not leave the house.

That is the worst attitude to hunting I have ever heard!
    What you are saying is you don't care what the dogs do when they are 20 miles away, let it be running sheep around a field and making them loose lambs, putting cattle through fences and the same for horses. :mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Maybe its the joys of it for you but most people would rather have the farmers permission to be on their land and have their dogs under control on the land.

Define for me what you would call a good pack of hounds?

The opposite of the ones you have :rolleyes:

landkeeper wrote: »
    what were they hunting that ran for 20 miles :confused: if they couldn't catch a fox after 2 or 3 miles then there is something wrong if they were left to run after catching a fox then again there is something wrong ,hounds running loose over 20 miles round here would have the owners up in court and probably bankrupt too
    They were hunting a fox.a good fox could last an easy 3 hours around where we hunt.A dog fox on the move when the mating is on could bring you anywhere,im not saying it was one fox they probably killed the first lad or he went to ground and then got another hunt themselves.people around us love to see them hunting.

I call BULL:eek:HIT

sounds like it's a helicopter you boys need not a gps collar ;)

dev110 wrote: »
    The opposite of the ones you have :rolleyes:
    you have the ones that will go 3 or 4 fields and come back and jump up on you.great sport they would be alright!

You just answered your own question on 'define a good pack of hounds' :cool:

Here i asked a question about Gps not to listen to people that know nothing about hunting hounds,maybe 1 day in 10 they might get away on you and usually easy to get in with them.

Spunk84 wrote: »
    I call BULL:eek:HIT
    How many days a week do you hunt hounds??

@dev110 Don't responding to posts you know nothing about.

im not saying it was one fox they probably killed the first lad or he went to ground and then got another hunt themselves

So If i'm reading this right your not sure whether your dogs are killing foxes or not when your out because basically ye have no control over what they are doing, you don't know what line they are following at any time or whether they killed a fox or not, thats bull****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

sfk,,ive hunted with some of the best hounds in this country,now in fairness gps in this country is useless,secondly what bunch of muppets:confused::confused: let hounds wander out of sight and sound not knowing wether they have worried ,injured or killed livestock?? fit bells round there neck or better still give it up altogether as ye dont seem to know what yer at ,my couson hunts hounds over near california and they dont let there hounds anywhere out of sight ,an drop the yankie attiude its bad enough listening to them, at times:mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 ProStalker

What about for a deer dog that is tracking a wounded deer? I think its a great idea personally but of course lads on here know everything.

ProStalker wrote: »
    What about for a deer dog that is tracking a wounded deer? I think its a great idea personally but of course lads on here know everything.

aaaa long lead:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭Tackleberry.

Garmin do a 2 dog system and Marshell do radio collars which i would prefer myself as they cover better distance, i've only lately been looking into this as i want to buy tracking for a Goshawk. what they make for hawks also seems to fit with dogs.
    Hunting dogs should always be under control maybe you should buy a skock collar first and lots of them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,961 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

There are quite a few options & two markets. The hunting systems that generally have a map display on the handheld & the new pet location market that uses a website rather than a handheld unit. The more sophisticated units often combine the gps function with buzzers & even shocks. I have seen one which has a loudspeaker like a walkie talkie so that you can give the dog commands.

The new handhelds can track 3 or 4 dogs. I have heard that they can be unreliable because the gps transmitter is close to the ground & can be blocked by trees, undergrowth etc. I have seen people mount the unit on a harness so that the aerial can't rotate like on a collar.

A company in the UK are developing a really small unit for domestic cats - more people end up searching for lost cats than dogs so it could be a big market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭pugw

There seems to be a lot of knocking going on in this thread! @ the OP I know where your comming from, if you get a beagle or spaniel that's a right hunter he could follow a fox for miles! A lad near me got the Garmin Astro DC30 and said it was a great job! If a dog puts a fox out of big cover and stays hunting him the gps allows you to see straight away which direction the dog has come out so that you can cut him off at the nearest road and leash him!

aaaa long lead:rolleyes:

Right... that would work on the mountain with a badly shot deer that is covering a lot of ground and you need your dog to catch and hold him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

If your dog goes out of sight long enough that you need a GPS to find him then there's somethin wrong.
    He should be working out & back to you constantly.
    Save ur moola I'd say.
    If you lost ur dog for some reason then it is useful

Fair point but you should of made the intention clear.
    I think you'll find it tough to win arguements on loose dogs. Where's the Craic in it when you can't watch the dogs? That's just releasing the dogs to run, hunt & kill hopefully just foxes. Ammo for antis I'd say.

On topic a GPS might work for what you want now that that's clear. I have no experience with them but I do like my gizmos.
    Not cheap from some browsing I've done.

Cheaper to buy faster horses, gym membership for some of you guys or a trail of bread crumbs one of the hounds could carry ;)

Right... that would work on the mountain with a badly shot deer that is covering a lot of ground and you need your dog to catch and hold him?

well if you shot the deer correctly "prostalker" then you wouldnt need
    it would ya:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,961 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

I have heard that a lot of people prefer the cheaper bleeper collars & they don't need a Sat signal. I think they come in two types, one that bleeps every set time & one that you can switch on & off remotely.

The one that I saw could be heard from at least half a mile !

well if you shot the deer correctly "prostalker" then you wouldnt need
    it would ya:cool:

The thread is about how useful it would be to have one. Not about my capability to place a bullet correctly.

Do you use dogs when out stalking deer?

in fairness mate ive hunted bears,pigs,coons,possums,skunks,deer and much more with hounds on the west coast of america and ive never seen a dog go that far. I think the problem is that your dogs are either useless and arent trained or the people who are in charge of the hounds havent a clue:eek:
    Your dogs should be put on a pickup drove along slowly on the hill/mountain/dirt track wherever you are and when they pick up the scent they jump off the pickup and hunt. Thats the way its done!!!!! Not just stand there for hours wondering where your dogs are:mad:

In all fairness all you need is little bells on the dogs collars to here them, hunted wild pigs with a pack with nothing but bells and you here them a mile away.

But back to your question, if you cant control a pack of hounds in Ireland then give up. Dont bother with bringing the GPS over
    The outdoor channel was all the hunting you ever done to come out with that garbage.

Just bought a g.p.s,all ye big hound hunting experts will be glad to hear.Now roll on the 15th for three months of hunting.

well tickty boo for you:rolleyes: good luck with it,any one who cant control they,re dogs be they hounds,or whatever breed ,either hasnt a clue how to train them and dont care where the dogs are or what damage they could do if the owners cant see or hear them,those type sicken my a."rse, most decent hunters, have control of there dogs that goes for either side of the pond,

I will not listen to someone talking rubbish that is only hunting a wet week talk about a hunt thats going 40 years and getting stronger.

are you for real lad :D the whole idea of hunting hounds is to be apart of the thing either following them on foot and trying to be as close as possible to the kill when it happens as possible so you can control the hounds at least
    what you are describing isn't hunting with hounds it's letting a feral pack of hounds loose and hoping you can catch them up when they have finished it sounds totally irresponsible to me how do you know what they are even doing

are you for real lad :D the whole idea of hunting hounds is to be apart of the thing either following them on foot and trying to be as close as possible to the kill when it happens as possible so you can control the hounds at least
    what you are describing isn't hunting with hounds it's letting a feral pack of hounds loose and hoping you can catch them up when they have finished it sounds totally irresponsible to me how do you know what they are even doing
    Believe me we have control of them,but at times due to wind,terrain and lack of manpower on the ground they will get away on you at times a hunt will split in two or even three sometimes how do you manage that??farmers or landowners have no problems with us we can to a different spot everyday we go out.when you don't know about something don't judge it.

lmao:D so now the pack splits into 2 or 3 mini packs:eek: and runs off..... It just keeps getting better and better:p

personally i think your full of crap and just wasting lads time here :mad: you oviuosly couldnt careless where your hounds go and what other protential harm they could be doing to livestock as you pointed out you cant hear them or see them,in other words you have no control over said hounds:confused:where is the sport in that??:confused:you dont get to see the end result the kill ,wether it was your chosen quarry or some poor land owners livestock,??and needing gps just so you can find your dogs that could be god knows where is in my opion is just piss poor ownership and dont patronise me with your 40yr still goin smartarse attitude:mad::mad: go waste your time and smartass know it all bullsh"tte else where

i think you should ask santy for a hunting horn and learn how to use it, what your describing isn't hunting it's mayhem
    and i can judge i'm long enough around them now to know ;)

p.s asshole ive hunted with hounds on foot and on horse since i was a wee boy and im 35 now, so i am very experienced and an old enough to judge, as land keeper pointed out what your at would,nt be described as hunting at least over here we know and can see our dogs at all times;)

How many dogs are in your pack??

where are all these packs you have hunted with from??

i think you should ask santy for a hunting horn and learn how to use it, what your describing isn't hunting it's mayhem
    and i can judge i'm long enough around them now to know ;)
    what pack do you hunt with??