Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New fancy ar$e bike shop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 canhascheez

Is this the guy that was on here a yearor so ago selling off Highroad frames/wheels etc..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,913 ✭✭✭JacksonHeightsOwn

Is this the guy that was on here a yearor so ago selling off Highroad frames/wheels etc..?

i think it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Web shop has 3 models of Turbo trainer and thats it? http://kinetixproducts.com/shop-3/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,666 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Web shop has 3 models of Turbo trainer and thats it? http://kinetixproducts.com/shop-3/

teams dont disband till 31st dec, do they

My weather

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

Check this place out:

http://kinetixproducts.com/

Ex pros bikes be japers!!
    Hope they don't have Hoogerlands TdeF bike from this year, it'd need some markdown for the scratches!

kenmc wrote: »
    Hope they don't have Hoogerlands TdeF bike from this year, it'd need some markdown for the scratches!

i think there would be quite a few, ahem slightly worn frames from this years tdf

My weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭jiffybag

Would an ex pro bike not be ridden into the ground? Yes , plenty of servicing and maintainance but it would have many many KM's on it , all done by a 'horse' on wheels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

jiffybag wrote: »
    Would an ex pro bike not be ridden into the ground? Yes , plenty of servicing and maintainance but it would have many many KM's on it , all done by a 'horse' on wheels.

So? I can understand about the groupsets (although they are changing cassettes and chainrings often enough not to be a problem) but the frames shouldn't have any issues and it's a great way to get an awesome frame in a low price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,230 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

AstraMonti wrote: »
    it's a great way to get an awesome frame in a low price.

Where is the price list?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Sorry, have no clue. I should have said that I am expecting it to be low. I think somewhat around 50-60% (maybe even more) of the retail value would be a fair price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

Is this above board?

He was selling 404s with tubs for €750 before. I can't recall any of the frameset prices.

I think Blorg bought some and had no issues with them.

Cape Clear wrote: »
    Is this above board?

I'm not sure what you mean by that. The public records...

From cro.ie

Type Company
    Number 397905
    Name KINETIX PRODUCTS LIMITED
    Address 64 B HEATHER ROAD
    SANDYFORD INDUSTRIAL ESTATE
    DUBLIN 18
    Registered 18/02/2005
    Status Normal
    Effective date: 18/02/2005
    Last AR Date 18/08/2011
    Next AR Date 18/08/2012
    Last Accounts to Date 28/02/2011

From whois:

Registrant:
    Kinetix Products
    Units 64B Heather Road
    Sandyford Industrial Estate
    Dublin, Dublin 18
    IE
    Domain name: KINETIXPRODUCTS.COM

Administrative Contact:
    Hicks, Paul PH950@HOTMAIL.COM
    Units 64B Heather Road
    Dublin, Dublin 18
    IE
    +353.12957475 Fax: +353.12957475

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,261 ✭✭✭Junior

Ciarán Power was given one of the Ex HTC Bikes - think he's going back racing.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Is this above board?

Why on earth wouldn't it be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭jiffybag

Why on earth wouldn't it be?

<snip>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Cape Clear

Lumen wrote: »
    I'm not sure what you mean by that. The public records...

From cro.ie

Type Company
    Number 397905
    Name KINETIX PRODUCTS LIMITED
    Address 64 B HEATHER ROAD
    SANDYFORD INDUSTRIAL ESTATE
    DUBLIN 18
    Registered 18/02/2005
    Status Normal
    Effective date: 18/02/2005
    Last AR Date 18/08/2011
    Next AR Date 18/08/2012
    Last Accounts to Date 28/02/2011

From whois:

Registrant:
    Kinetix Products
    Units 64B Heather Road
    Dublin, Dublin 18
    IE
    Domain name: KINETIXPRODUCTS.COM

Administrative Contact:
    Hicks, Paul PH950@HOTMAIL.COM
    Units 64B Heather Road
    Dublin, Dublin 18
    IE
    +353.12957475 Fax: +353.12957475

Fair enough. Their website does not give a lot of information about them. Just being cautous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Looks 100% to me, can't wait to see the full list of products for sale once he gets the Webshop up and running fully....

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Right, I think it's time to remind everyone that even suggesting someone's business is not above board is a pretty serious allegation. Establishing who's behind a business and their bona fides is quite easy to do and there's no place for wanton speculation. No more of this please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭C3PO

Is this above board?

Absolutely! I know the guy behind this personally and I've seen some of the stock!!
    I think the website has only recently gone live and I'm sure it will be updated soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,261 ✭✭✭Junior

Just to clarify, Ciarán wasn't given a bike by HTC but by Kinetix Products. I wonder are they putting a team together ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

He was selling 404s with tubs for €750 before. I can't recall any of the frameset prices.

I've bought wheels from this seller before, and he is a total gent. He also gave me a frame for free one time because it had a dent in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Yup second that, dealt with this seller before... totally legit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭redzone

Repeat what the above posts say.

I bought a turbo of this lad only last week. I was in his premises on Heather road. I'm not long into cycling and don't know much about pro kit but he has some serious top end stuff there.

I found him to be a sound fella, nothing was a problem or a stupid question. He gave me a good deal and threw in a few bits for free without me even asking.

He did mention that his website is only getting going. But have no doubt he is totally legit. I will definitely buy from him again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭joemc99

I recommended this a couple of weeks ago but it got removed, not sure why as people recommend CRC, etc all the time.

<snip>

joemc99 wrote: »
    I recommended this a couple of weeks ago but it got removed, not sure why as people recommend CRC, etc all the time.

Because your post began with:
    A friend of mine has just launched a company...

Boards doesn't allow you to promote your own business or any business that you have a connection to, i.e. owned family members or friends.

I've removed the rest of your post. While no doubt well intentioned, it still falls foul of those rules.

For future reference, just PM the mods if you've any queries about decisions we've made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Yes, completely legit seller, he had some of the frames there also when I purchased, some big names by the seat post and they looked mint.

Seller also loaned me a bike box to go do the Marmotte despite barely knowing me. Good guy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭joemc99

ok, fair enough, I understand. Thought it might be ok as he is starting out, but I understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

joemc99 wrote: »
    ok, fair enough, I understand. Thought it might be ok as he is starting out, but I understand.

What are the warranties / guarantees like on used pro bikes from this retailer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

What are the warranties / guarantees like on used pro bikes from this retailer?
    guaranteed to improve average speed by 3km/h or your money back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭dermur

I can vouch for that guy too. Got a set of zipps from him with DA cassette. Very good nick & haven't had any problems yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

I was very interested in
    buying a HTC team bike couple of years ago from him but had just shelled out on a new bike a month or so previously. Would now love something flashy with a bit of provenance so am keen to see the site go live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,027 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Check it out!!! Just back from this shop and picked up some flash pro kit for myself!!

I now have the EXACT SAME .... <ahem> bottle ..... as MARK CAVENDISH and his team mates!!!

I was looking for bottles of all things, earlier and tried these lads, and I also fancied a sneaky nose at their pro gear. Mother of Jaysus -it's a proper Aladdin's cave of shiny carbon treasures! Unfortunately all my meagre budget allowed for was a bunch of water bottles and some recovery bars and gels. In fairness a box of 20 recovery bars for a tenner. A box of 30 gels for another tenner, and the bottles - i know they're only feckin bottles, but they look great and if they hold water then I'll have nothing to complain about.

Savage selection of wheels down there too, but all tubs so no use to me unfortunately, though I adore those dura ace C24's :(.

Anyway, much as I'd love to be bleating about the new Di2 S-works/BMC/Giant I brought home in my boot, I'm happy enough with my accessories :D.

Deffo worth a look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭25sean

sounds good.. are they open to the public? can you walk in any time?

might try popping in after spin tomorrow... midday?

25sean wrote: »
    sounds good.. are they open to the public? can you walk in any time?

might try popping in after spin tomorrow... midday?

I think you need to talk to Paul first. Possibly not there on a Saturday either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 994 ✭✭✭25sean

thanks.. probably a good thing.. more stuff i do not need to buy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 P D

Well i bought Eisels SL3 DI2 and a pair of RS80 training wheels (for now )

The kit is in as new condition and is about 60% below RRP imo, thing you have to remember is its all high end stuff to start with. Sound guy and fair , NO bull , it is what it is .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,027 ✭✭✭fat bloke

P D wrote: »

The kit is in as new condition and is about 60% below RRP imo, thing you have to remember is its all high end stuff to start with. Sound guy and fair , NO bull , it is what it is .

You weren't trying out your new toy around Blackrock a week or so ago by any chance? Copped a HTC coloured SL3 out of the corner of my eye.

What are the rs80's like?

does that mean you have to sleep with cav now :confused:
    http://twitter.com/#!/MarkCavendish/status/160621300736458752

My weather

naa wasn't me , there's a couple about now , havent ridden it yet

wheels ? dunno , havent ridden them either !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 261 ✭✭Wheely GR8

When I fell a couple of weeks ago ,a sound bloke stopped and helped me. He turned out to be a mate of this guy paul hicks ,he was on an s-works that looked to have electronic gears ,lovely bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭monkeyslayer

reckon they do bike to work? :)

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

reckon they do bike to work? :)
    It's your employer that does BTW - it's nothing to do with the retailer, and as I'm sure you are aware it's complete new bikes only;)

Have an itch for more gear , think ill call up after lunch :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 ruczak

Have an itch for more gear , think ill call up after lunch :-)
    Hallo!
    I'm Kaczur Zoltán from Hungary! I interested this bike!
    http://kinetixproducts.com/shop/index.php?route=product/product&path=74_75&product_id=73
    Reliable site? Please HELP! Thank's Zoli

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

ruczak wrote: »
    Hallo!
    I'm Kaczur Zoltán from Hungary! I interested this bike!
    http://kinetixproducts.com/shop/index.php?route=product/product&path=74_75&product_id=73
    Reliable site? Please HELP! Thank's Zoli

I've known Paul for the past 15 years, top guy, totally reliable.

Eamonnator wrote: »

I'll second that .... totally sound!

RPL1 wrote: »
    Eamonnator wrote: »

I'll second that .... totally sound!
    Thank's!

http://www.mitracycles.com/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&page=shop.browse&category_id=28&Itemid=10028
    This legal site? Good price! You know? (sorry the short post, i little speak english) thank's Zoli

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

ruczak wrote: »
    http://www.mitracycles.com/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&page=shop.browse&category_id=28&Itemid=10028
    This legal site? Good price! You know? (sorry the short post, i little speak english) thank's Zoli

Looking at the prices NO. This is a scam.

Kinetix is a legal site (as many posters have already pointed out)