Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you look for in a Good pub?

• 01-12-2011 8:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭

i'm a barman and working (bored) in a bar with 2 customers at the moment.
    just wondering wat Irish people look for in a bar
    i.e decor, price etc...
    For me I like a bar not too modern but not shabby.
    Clean toilets are important.
    As long as the price of the pint (I drink lager) is under a fiver i won't be too worried.
    A nice simple food menu including a selection of Bar snacks (Wings, Gougons etc..).
    Plenty of Tv's for sport (its so quiet in here I have Crocodile Dundee II on the big screen).
    Would use any tips that'd suit the bar but in general just lookin to see wat other people think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭robman60

I thing having beer is important in a bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Aodan83

Don't turn the music up so loud I can't hear the person next to me talking. What point is there going to the pub if you can't talk to anyone because you have no idea what anyone is saying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

No TVs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

rodrob111 wrote: »
    i.e decor, price etc...
    As long as the price of the pint (I drink lager) is under a fiver i won't be too worried.
    A nice simple food menu including a selection of Bar snacks (Wings, Gougons etc..).
    Plenty of Tv's for sport (its so quiet in here I have Crocodile Dundee II on the big screen).
    Would use any tips that'd suit the bar but in general just lookin to see wat other people think

No food served, it's a pub not a restaurant. Reasonable decor but most importantly plenty of high stools and a couple of tvs.

Thing is, it's the people that make the pub, nothing else really.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 147 ✭✭massiveattack

Staff that dont post on boards during their shift

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭pdbhp

The entrance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

i.e decor, price etc...

Pornography playing instead of the match at the weekend. You could bring women in then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

i.e decor, price etc...

How are you on boards and working in a bar at the same time?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,806 ✭✭✭✭KeithM89_old

One of those machines with the little tubs of jelly beans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭Underground

cheap pints,friendly staff and a clean jacks-preferably one with those dyson hand dryers..they're epic.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Samich wrote: »
    How are you on boards and working in a bar at the same time?
    Magic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

A 3.50 pint of either Tuborg, Bavaria, Olm, Fosters, Carling or any other lager
    fast service
    plenty of seats
    No riff raff
    Sport on tv
    Clean toilet
    heated smoking area
    WI-FI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

A quick exit.

Just in case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭Keith186

Hot women getting drunk.

That'd draw a crowd in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Bigtoe107

Some craft beers preferably on tap, anything other than bud, coors etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Women. Scantily clad, adventurous, friendly, tipsy, emotionally stable women.

If I have to lose any of those features, I'll do without the emotional stability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

cheap beer
    plenty of culchies
    opened during the day
    shop pub combo so i can drink while i shop
    (this is a description of my local)

No food unless is a gastro pub, and then I only go to them for a bite to eat and leave if I want to have a drink and the craic. All chairs and stools to have a back on them and plenty of them. Music not too loud, I can go to a disco bar or club for that. Good prices, I will leave somewhere if they ask for more than a fiver for a pint. Friendly barman who remembers your drink (not from the week before but from the last round). Half decent choice of bottled beers and beer on tap (not just Guinness, Carlsberg and Smithwicks). I guess what really makes a good pub though is the customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭IcedOut

an Alcoholic beverage is what im lookin for when I go to a pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

Heineken,yes plenty of heineken.
    Makes a good pub for me ,fcuk your wifi and fancy jellybean dispensers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭rodrob111

On break at the moment and like i said only 2 people in the bar. Have everything cleaned twice in the place.

Yea there is nothing worse than music too loud in a place. A lot of bars do not realise that really loud music in a bar with 50 people is fine, but the same volume with 8 people is unbearable.

I also like a lot of stools and counterspace in a bar as thats my fave place to sit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I want a bar with cowboys , injuns , a sherrif and somewhere to tie up my horse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

Cheap beer and a barmaid with big t*ts ,that is all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

I tend to judge a pub by whether or not there's a guy in the jacks who is employed to help me wash my hands.

If there is I consider it a **** pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Jazzzman

Barmen who do their job and don't spend their time posting on internet forums.

Get back to work ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭Underground

I tend to judge a pub by whether or not there's a guy in the jacks who is employed to help me wash my hands.

If there is I consider it a **** pub.

Nothing worse than making drunk conversation with those lads, since I'm pretty sure that they couldn't give a sh*t what I have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

No surprise the bar is empty if you're showing Crocodile Dundee 2.

A good pub should have:
    - no TVs
    - dim lighting
    - good Guinness
    - good, quick barmen
    - no music, or quiet music
    - no leather or plastic sofas, chairs etc
    - A deck of cards, board games or a few auld books

• Closed Accounts Posts: 203 ✭✭Oddjob

On break at the moment and like i said only 2 people in the bar. Have everything cleaned twice in the place.

Yea there is nothing worse than music too loud in a place. A lot of bars do not realise that really loud music in a bar with 50 people is fine, but the same volume with 8 people is unbearable.

I also like a lot of stools and counterspace in a bar as thats my fave place to sit.

How is really loud music fine in a bar with 50 people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,254 ✭✭✭overshoot

good stout for a start, so id hope the lines are regularly cleaned!
    pint below €4.50
    seats in the smoking area
    all types of seats in the bar from the high bar chairs to benches to sofas and armchairs
    decent relaxed backgound music (stuff like stone roses not chart shit)
    a guitar somewhere for occasional use (like a wednesday night)
    possibly an out of the way dartboard/pool table
    option of peanuts or chese and onion crisps incase the munchies set in.

oh yes and pints until the wee hours
    A lot of bars do not realise that really loud music in a bar with 50 people is fine, but the same volume with 8 people is unbearable.
    people are sound absorbers, brick walls, chairs reflect it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

a pub with anything other than feckin bud, heineken, carlsberg etc, get some nice booze in, and sell it at a price that wont bankrupt you! somewhere you can have a laugh with your friends and the barman, bit of banter and messing! dont really like places that have their staff wearing stupid uniforms, like shirts and ties and the like, its a pub, im going for a few pints, not a meeting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

mattjack wrote: »
    I want a bar with cowboys , injuns , a sherrif and somewhere to tie up my horse
    Ahh leitrim.. tis a good oul town :pac:

I like a craft beer in a bar but find as a barman any more than 1 or 2 don't sell, unless in the porter house or Mulligans where there is no Mainstream beers. I love a fire in a bar aswell, think it is really cosy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 LadyGardener

Aodan83 wrote: »
    Don't turn the music up so loud I can't hear the person next to me talking. What point is there going to the pub if you can't talk to anyone because you have no idea what anyone is saying?

This.
    Gordon wrote: »
    No TVs.

And this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

and a bed if I fancy a snooze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

I look for this everywhere, not just the pub - Restaurants, cinema, supermarket, bus stops, counselling centres, post offices, etc.

stoneill wrote: »
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Kevin Duffy

I look for this everywhere, not just the pub - Restaurants, cinema, supermarket, bus stops, counselling centres, post offices, etc.

Dammit I should have started a thread about where to find the above

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

In no particular order

Chilli Nuts
    Pool
    Darts
    Good Guinness
    Variety of shots
    Jukebox
    Bit of leeway when it comes to horseplay
    T.V.s, sensibly placed
    Good heated smoking area with a bar and plenty seats with T.V's
    Variety of different seats, sometimes I feel like a stool others a couch
    Board games

All these are huge pluses for a bar IMO.

EDIT: how the fcuk did I forget bacon fries

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Guinness and Bacon Fries.

Everything else is a bonus or a nuisance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭livinsane

I don't think there are rules across the board. I have a few favourite pubs and they are very different to each other. But they earn a few bonus points for the following:

Have a fire lighting the winter. Real preferably but fake electric one will do.

Definitely have to have crisps on sale (AT LEAST TWO FLAVOURS!), salted AND dry roasted nuts at least.

Live music few times a week, doesnt have to be anything special. Low key trad group is good.

Lounge area with pool table, dart board and jukebox (if pub is large)

Newspapers and books around the place. Handy if having a quiet on by yourself.

I like when they do pichers of beer/deals on bottles of beer

Im not into sport but I don't mind tvs. Id watch away golf or darts if it was a quiet evening.

If I owned a pub, Id do classic movie nights!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Reamer Fanny

i.e decor, price etc...

A pub with class no riff raff or scumbags in track suits.

If I owned a pub, Id do classic movie nights!

Not sure about movie nights cause you have to have a very general movie on. think I'd walk out if a pub had a Rom Com on and girls prob would aswell for an action flic.
    Even "Classics" aren't to everybodies tastes

Although if it was a movie I liked i'd probably stay in the pub till at least the end.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Plenty of stools at the bar
    Bar staff who know their trade
    Telly for sport only and only on at the right time
    No Musack, EVER
    Regulars slipped the odd free scoop.
    Totty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Turntables
    Small selection of craft beers
    Locks on the toilet doors
    No blacks in the jacks (or any toilet attendants)
    No television sets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 black_ray

i.e decor, price etc...

Flock wallpaper. The sign of a good sturdy honest pub is flock wallpaper...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭livinsane

Not sure about movie nights cause you have to have a very general movie on. think I'd walk out if a pub had a Rom Com on and girls prob would aswell for an action flic.
    Even "Classics" aren't to everybodies tastes

Although if it was a movie I liked i'd probably stay in the pub till at least the end.

Movies would be in the lounge, bar would be separate for my other cliental.

Id also do toasted sandwiches all day. But only ham and/or cheese. I wouldn't messing around chopping onions and tomatoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Lets not forget the odd pub quiz!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭cosanostra

1. Good beer its amazing the amount of pubs that sell slops serve your customers something decent.

2. A pub should have an atmosphere even when its empty dim the lights ambient music playing and gradually increase it as people come in, people will talk louder making it seem busier but never have it too loud that its over powering.

3. Find a market! figure out who your regulars are what brings them in and what would bring more of them in, if its young people consider getting a pool table, juke box and drink promos, older men culchie farmer types have some deals on for them 1/2 pint of smithwicks and a powers for a €5 something like that

4. Make your customers feel important give them the odd free pint get to know their names! Chat to them listen to their problems no matter how board you get.

5. Big roaring fire on these cold nights

6. If you do food keep it simple and cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Drunk sluts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Eroticfishcake

A lot of the things already mentioned, as long as there's no karaoke, clean glass (no lipstick), good beer, heated smoking area, I'm happy out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 2k9cian2k9

Cheap pint, Nice atmosphere , Good food..What more could you want :P