Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What term do you use to identify you are in a relationship with someone?

• 01-12-2011 7:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

(God that's a long and unimaginative thread title...)

So, I just seen this being discussed in another thread there and thought I'd poll the fuck out of it.

What I mean is; if someone asked you what you did last Friday and you responded with "Me and X just went to the cinema", they ask who X is, and you say "X is my ..."; what term do you use to finish that last sentence usually?

(I've put in the most common ones I hear. I'm not including 'husband/wife' 'cause I think this tends to only be that varied amongst people pre-marriage. So if you are married chose the one you would have used before marriage/engagement. If you have a particular reason for your choice, let us know. If you never use any of the available options feel free to post your term.)

(Poll coming, give it a sec you impatient so and so...)

Which term do you most commonly use? 102 votes

Boyfriend/Girlfriend
    0%
    Other Half (OH)
    87%
    Dr_TeethKilOitWitchieCathyMoranwhatawasterchopperbyrneGusherINGstrobeKieraThe Gnome[Deleted User]GLaDOSSinfoniaIckle MagooDuffPeyton ManningStar LorddsmythyAnonoBoydf1985 89 votes
    Significant Other (SO)
    10%
    R0ot[Deleted User]shockwavetiernanobrienAlly Dicklil-ms-vodkadomkkwolf moonMs2011kupusRich11 11 votes
    Lover
    0%
    Partner
    1%
    pudzey101El_Dangeroso 2 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Jigga

Bitch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I refer to herself as err.. herself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

We're ridin'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭beeroclock

She comes from a good flock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

lol I actually say my slut in a joking way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

Other Half (OH)
    Himself. But no really boyfriend. Partner does sound ok too though.feels silly talking about my dads girlfriend but hey I still do it. Lover is cringey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Other Half (OH)
    Howdy partner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Siuin

Other Half (OH)
    deisedave wrote: »

I'm trying really hard to think of a tone that my boyfriend could use to say that in a way which wouldn't get his crotch kicked into next week :P

I say boyfriend. Partner is a little too 'my gay lover'-ish and 'other half' sounds like I'm incomplete without him, which is kinda pathetic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,813 ✭✭✭themadchef

The older you get, the more complicated things get and the more likely you are to get the dosage wrong.

I tend to go with victim until they wake up, then it's body....

Works for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Other Half (OH)
    Either "herself" or "the woman".

An ex of mine used to refer to her ex as "we" whilst we were dating, as in "the house we used to live in". Does anyone else find that weird out?

Other Half (OH)
    BTW imagine introducing someone to your parents as your 'lover'? :P Must try it some day lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Chips Ahoy

the queer one, said in a west of ireland accent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

My Neighbour calls his wife "The War Office" I go for a "the Mrs" or" My wife"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

Other Half (OH)
    I was just thinking of this myself strobe. It's a weird one...
    significant other is weird. Who the fuk says that? lover seems like you're saying 'we shag'. The other three are grand though partner seems like you're at least middle-aged, boyfriend/girlfriend sounds like you're teenagers and OH is more net-speak than something you'd say irl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭deisedave

Siuin wrote: »
    I'm trying really hard to think of a tone that my boyfriend could use to say that in a way which wouldn't get his crotch kicked into next week :P

I say boyfriend. Partner is a little too 'my gay lover'-ish and 'other half' sounds like I'm incomplete without him, which is kinda pathetic

Do you and your boyfriend not abuse each other jokingly, we do it all the time lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

Siuin wrote: »
    BTW imagine introducing someone to your parents as your 'lover'? :P Must try it some day lol

You have to pelvic thrust when you say it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

Husband wasn't there, so I said partner.
    Only got married recently, but I said partner before that because we were together 10 years, had 2 kids, and lived together, so boyfriend didn't seem right.
    Before kids, I said boyfriend though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭bedrock#1

the missus

Other Half (OH)
    Do you and your boyfriend not abuse each other jokingly, we do it all the time lol

Lol, you know, I tried to at the start of the relationship but I think it's a uniquely Irish trait cos he was NOT impressed!! XD

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

"She who must be obeyed"

Ah good'aul rumpole of the bailey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭Adyx

What kind of a deisedave are you? She's your lack boy! :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Other Half (OH)
    The lack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

The Boss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

Other Half (OH)
    I usually call him fagg0t or dudeface.

Lovingly, of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

TheZohan wrote: »
    An ex of mine used to refer to her ex as "we" whilst we were dating, as in "the house we used to live in". Does anyone else find that weird out?
    It is weird. To say 'I used to live there' is acceptable, drop 'we' in at every opportunity is a bit off colour tbh..

I'm separated, so I feel too long in the tooth to be using 'boyfriend' now.

/shrug

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

her name begins with 'k' so sometimes i call her 'lady k' or 'the missus'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

Other Half (OH)
    It's weirder to say 'he and I used to live there'. Just odd to hear your (whatever you call him/her) talk about a 'we' that doesn't include you I guess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

"My sexbot"

Management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,071 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I just call it the Fleshlight.. don't really see the need for airs and graces.

Significant Other (SO)
    i should have read the OP first
    i say my boyfriend
    i often say other half or "himself" though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,435 ✭✭✭solerina

Other Half (OH)
    I hate the term Partner, its too business like....its boyfriend for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

"I am in Hell"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,331 ✭✭✭✭bronte

Other half or himself.
    I say lover in front of Mum though...just to mess with her head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,125 ✭✭✭westendgirlie

I call him Gary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

The ol ball and chain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

In general talk: Herself

When she's around: The Better Half

When she's not around: Yer Wan, the Yoke, It, or if she's pissed me off: the Coont.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭Where To

The Dishwasher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 LadyGardener

Other Half (OH)
    I used partner in the thread I started to cover flings, boyfriends/girlfriends, wives/husbands. But I actually say 'boyfriend' myself.

EDIT: Or 'my fella'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

No idea why, but I hate me fella, the missus, ball and chain, other half, better half etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Other Half (OH)
    I say boyfriend. Boyfriend does tend to sound weird describing people who are older, have been in the relationship forever, possibly with kids together etc though so if I'm describing someone like that I'd probably say 'boyfriend' or 'partner' with an accent :P
    Partner is very gender neutral though.
    The worst is when people use ' the mrs' to describe someone who isnt their wife, that's what it means so don't use it like that >.<
    I wouldnt use other half either coz sometimes people would refer to my twin as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 HaileeSarah

I say boyfriend but instead of his name, like ''boyfriend is on his way over'' or ''just got off the phone with boyfriend'' :L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭rodrob111

"The mot" or "Herself"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Formosa

Other Half (OH)
    I use "herself".

I fcuking hate "partner", it was introduced to appease the benders...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭unknownlegend

Surprised "hen" wasn't mentioned yet. Hear a few people in the office refer to their wives as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

I alternate between other half and boyfriend. I call him my fiance now occasionally - it's not a word I like but I really silly calling him my boyfriend when we're getting married and other half is a bit informal in some situations. I don't like partner at all.

I'm kind of looking forward to just being able to call him my husband - there's no nonsense about that one!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Where's "Other" or "Something else" option?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭Samich

My i-Pad. I don't have an i-Pad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 420 ✭✭Jazzzman

Biggins wrote: »
    Where's "Other" or "Something else" option?

There is no way on this earth you call her 'something else' to peoples face.

Obvious troll is obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭moco

Other Half (OH)
    watna wrote: »
    I alternate between other half and boyfriend. I call him my fiance now occasionally - it's not a word I like but I really silly calling him my boyfriend when we're getting married and other half is a bit informal in some situations. I don't like partner at all.

I'm kind of looking forward to just being able to call him my husband - there's no nonsense about that one!

Same as me, I feel weird saying fiance so I usually say boyfriend.

A fella I used to work with used to refer to his girlfriend as his LifePartner.:confused: