Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Snipers....

• 29-11-2011 7:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭

So, last night I was playing search in MW2 with my blinged out barrett. Managed to do pretty well for myself, at least 2 kills every round for the most part.

The amount of people after the game messaging me calling me a "steady aim hardscoper" pissed me off so much. Killed someone with my deagle and he was shouting down the mic about me being a noob, beacuse he was trying to trickshot and I was ruining his game. WTF is wrong with militant quickscopers?

I try to ignore it but its too annoying. Every game of search I go into is full of people spinning and taking 20 shots to try and kill someone directly in front of them.

I like proper sniping, i wont deny that. Trickshotting seems to be epidemic in MW2 and COD4. Just wondering what do ye all think of sniping across the series and how its affecting the games?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

Trickshooters are almost all 12 y/o sweaty British kids, I wouldn't even go near SnD on MW2 unless you wanna get tubed and GWK'd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭DOHC2000E

fjsanchez wrote: »
    Trickshooters are almost all 12 y/o sweaty British kids

I usually stick to ARs but did the 1000 kills challenge with the Barrett, took ages and the amount of abuse I got from young lads was unreal. It's a game, play it however you want :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,137 ✭✭✭Balfie

I love goin into search games, with an over powered smg or AR and killing the idiotic feckers that like to trick shot.. It doesn't even show skill, most of them will only hit the 360 no scope double y ladder stall equipment change once in about 10,000 shots,

I almost always go positive on snd cause of them gobshiits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭tonsiltickler

most of them will only hit the 360 no scope double y ladder stall equipment change once in about 10,000 shots

That's exactly it, they go negative every single game but still have the nerve to call someone at the top of the lobby leaderboard a noob. Its game breaking at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭coadyd

you know the only solution is paid online play you have to be over 18 . sick of these pre pubesent ase wipes in the game some of them must be as young as 10 . crazy:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭tonsiltickler

That's true. I remember when COD4 first came out. It seemed like the demographic playing it was quite a bit older, nowadays it seems like a lot more kids are playing the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,732 ✭✭✭Magill

I honestly don't know where you guys find all these trick shotters, i've not seen one in MW3 and only once in blops (Which i made a video of him getting owned).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

I've only come across a few in MW3, best one was some dude spinning around in circles for ages on top of a train in underground had loads of time to set up a headshot, they're easy kills so I don't complain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Personally, don't see many of them on S&D. If you do encounter them it's generally an easy kill. I do enjoy sniping in MW3 have to say although don't do it that often.

Start of everygame I mute everybody, except the guys I'm playing with (often mute some of them them as well :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭canister94

ya mw2 is a joke with **** kids one day i was the only lad left and there were five trickshotters left so i stood up to let them take their shots. not one even hit marked me then i sprayed them down with a rpd for the ****s and giggles.Good fun but ya in groundwar a whole team of snipers were against me ruined the game because they got poxy long shots

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 538 ✭✭✭little big planet 2

when have you ever seen a sniper in real life doin a 360 in real life sniping take skill to do at distance so trick shooters arent really snipers at all so they can f**K OFF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭DOHC2000E

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 538 ✭✭✭little big planet 2

i stand corrected but i still maintain thats not sniping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

when have you ever seen a sniper in real life doin a 360 in real life sniping take skill to do at distance so trick shooters arent really snipers at all so they can f**K OFF
    in fairness i havent even seen any snipers in real life so ive no idea what they all do. although the sniper in jarhead spun around shooting in the air at the end so maybe..............

dont think sniping is a big issue on MW3 so far. ill bide my time untill after christmas when all the ****ty little **** heads are out in force after getting it off "santy"

sierra117x wrote: »
    in fairness i havent even seen any snipers in real life so ive no idea what they all do. although the sniper in jarhead spun around shooting in the air at the end so maybe..............

dont think sniping is a big issue on MW3 so far. ill bide my time untill after christmas when all the ****ty little **** heads are out in force after getting it off "santy"
    You have never played ground war then they sit and the back not playing the objective and just annoying people with their no recoil machine pistols

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Lab_Mouse

coadyd wrote: »
    you know the only solution is paid online play you have to be over 18 . sick of these pre pubesent ase wipes in the game some of them must be as young as 10 . crazy:mad:

wouldnt work.The kids hardly bought the game themselves did they?

EDIT:very rarely come across trick shotters,but then I probably class them as **** snipers and havent noticed them.Easy kills tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

Obviously you ain't 1337 enough for them OP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭maw368

lol that real life 360 shot is total rubbish. One, the obvious fact that everyone has pointed out about the game is that these dimmers become easy targets. This would be the reason in REAL life, this rubbish isn't used and in response to the russian video sniping, how many attempts did it take of recording him to actually land a shot??? I bet many. Also you don't generally snipe at such a range because your enemy would just land a grenade by you. if any of you actually shoot then you know what I mean by groupings. Doing this technique would give you the worse groupings ever and if you kill your target, his friend would be stupid if he doesn't then kill you while your body is in motion. The only time you'd take a similar shot would be if caught off guard and even then I'd rather pull a side arm out than use the rifle as you would save your self vital seconds in aiming.

But I am fortunate enough not to have come across this yet. I do get niffed of by those who think they are awesome when they have 20+ kills but they haven't noticed the fact they have like 20+ deaths. I often see some showing off when in reality they have less than one kill per life. How useful is that, wouldn't want to fight beside that rimmer. However I do envy the gits who get high kills and low deaths. I've not quite mastered that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,207 ✭✭✭hightower1

maw368 wrote: »
    lol that real life 360 shot is total rubbish. One, the obvious fact that everyone has pointed out about the game is that these dimmers become easy targets. This would be the reason in REAL life, this rubbish isn't used and in response to the russian video sniping, how many attempts did it take of recording him to actually land a shot??? I bet many. Also you don't generally snipe at such a range because your enemy would just land a grenade by you. if any of you actually shoot then you know what I mean by groupings. Doing this technique would give you the worse groupings ever and if you kill your target, his friend would be stupid if he doesn't then kill you while your body is in motion. The only time you'd take a similar shot would be if caught off guard and even then I'd rather pull a side arm out than use the rifle as you would save your self vital seconds in aiming.

But I am fortunate enough not to have come across this yet. I do get niffed of by those who think they are awesome when they have 20+ kills but they haven't noticed the fact they have like 20+ deaths. I often see some showing off when in reality they have less than one kill per life. How useful is that, wouldn't want to fight beside that rimmer. However I do envy the gits who get high kills and low deaths. I've not quite mastered that

Dude, dont even bother. Its no secret that quick scopers are the worst kind of wanna be try hards. They leg about trying to use a sniper in some l33t way to come off as being skillfull but as we all well know from experience they are getting owned royally in the process.

They just wanna make montages and give the impression of being super high skill players who dominate the battlefield thats why nearly 99% of quick scopers wont put up consistant full length good gameplay. We ALL could throw up vids of pure and utter lucky shots with any variety of weapons and "look" badass through a montage. You show me a quickscoper who day after day puts up full lenght games where he goes and dominates and I'll hands up say that one guy has skill but for every one of him there are thousands of folks ACTUALLY dominating in game using weapons like everyone else.

Besides if you really want to be "l33t" use a shotgun in this game. Next to nearly no chance of a one hit kill (not like the snipers) and the range of a midgets lad (not like the accross map range of a sniper) .... now, THEIR elite.

Leave them too it and have a laugh at them panic swiping the air as you dance around them filling them with lead.

hightower1 wrote: »
    Dude, dont even bother. Its no secret that quick scopers are the worst kind of wanna be try hards. They leg about trying to use a sniper in some l33t way to come off as being skillfull but as we all well know from experience they are getting owned royally in the process.

They just wanna make montages and give the impression of being super high skill players who dominate the battlefield thats why nearly 99% of quick scopers wont put up consistant full length good gameplay. We ALL could throw up vids of pure and utter lucky shots with any variety of weapons and "look" badass through a montage. You show me a quickscoper who day after day puts up full lenght games where he goes and dominates and I'll hands up say that one guy has skill but for every one of him there are thousands of folks ACTUALLY dominating in game using weapons like everyone else.

Besides if you really want to be "l33t" use a shotgun in this game. Next to nearly no chance of a one hit kill (not like the snipers) and the range of a midgets lad (not like the accross map range of a sniper) .... now, THEIR elite.

Leave them too it and have a laugh at them panic swiping the air as you dance around them filling them with lead.

facepalm06.jpg

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,139 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr. Manager

Magill wrote: »
    facepalm06.jpg

What's so ridiculous about the above? I agree with pretty much all of that post.

Whats not ridiculous about it ?

Firstly, he keeps refering to players as "Quickscopers"... quickscoping is one way to shoot a sniper, its not a style of play. Most of the people i know who are decent at sniping (Yes i agree, it takes a lot more skill be do well with a sniper than your random "OMG I WIN" smg) can quickscope and do so when they need to. They'll also hardscope when it makes sense.. I certainly wouldn't call these people the worst kind of tryhards.

Is it not possible for anyone who snipes to actually be doing it because they enjoy it ? I for one do it because its enjoyable and without a doubt more enjoyable than playing in full partys constantly with an AR/SMG (Spawn trapping the other team with your gun pointed into their spawn).

As for the montage part of his post... I don't know if hes refering to the trickshotting guys or those that consistently post insane montages.. if its the latter then that entire paragraph is horse ****, coming from someone who knows how hard it is to fill a montage with good clips(Thats with using the easy guns). I agree that everyone can get those lucky shots now and again but you really would have to be one lucky bastard if you think thats all you need to make a good montage. Just using you for an example the best(only) clip you sent for the black ops montage was a broken quad spray with the AK and that was one of the better ones in that montage and was well into black ops.

I don't really watch that many CoD videos anymore on youtube but of the 4 or 5 people who i do watch occasionally, 3 (Sprattyy / Snipinator / Grizz)
    of them upload consistantly good sniper gameplays.. one of which does a series every week where he picks a "sniper" of the week where lets them post a gameplay/commentary. Never going to get 50-2 gameplays but this is CoD after all, expecting anyone to get over 40 kills consistantly without using an SMG or AR is being unrealistic !

As for his shotgun comment.. again that is bull****, the only shotguns i've used for any amount of time are the spas + striker... and the striker is quite awesome in most of the maps. The maps are very tight and narrow so using a shotgun.. you'll have an advantage over a sniper 90% of the time unless your an idiot and run into the few open areas in the game !

Is the striker the best of the shotties ?

Maybe its different over on the xbox btw.. maybe there is an awful lot of people who do nothing but quickscope even from half the map away.. I very ****ing rarely see it on PS3 tho. One thing is probably true.. that 9/10 people who use a sniper suck... just like 9/10 people who play the game suck.

Maybe i got the wrong end of the stick and he actually meant to say "Trickshotters" instead of "quickscopers" ? In which case I agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

You say snipers are the worst kind of wanna be tryhards, but then go on to say no snipers can be good enough to upload high-scoring gameplays to Youtube...? What am I missing here, so you got killed a few times by some snipers that would have more than likely killed you in the same situation with a AR/SMG? Are you gonna start complaining about people that kill you with the p90 and the SCAR too? You've thrown up this argument plenty of times here and have got the same logical-thinking responses everytime, and yet you still haven't paid any heed to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭sierra117x

canister94 wrote: »
    You have never played ground war then they sit and the back not playing the objective and just annoying people with their no recoil machine pistols
    yeah but whats that got to do with sniping? as in holding a sniper rifle and using it to shoot someone . not someone who happens to carry a sniper rifle sitting in a corner with their secondary's out :confused:

sierra117x wrote: »
    yeah but whats that got to do with sniping? as in holding a sniper rifle and using it to shoot someone . not someone who happens to carry a sniper rifle sitting in a corner with their secondary's out :confused:

i take you point but these people never collect dogtags in kill confirmed never cap positions in domination.team deathmatch they swan around dying lots.but its in kill confirmed and dom where they piss me off.They sit in the wierdest of spots ruining the game i would rather a team of assain blind eye try hards than a bunch of snipers

TBH, I really can't justify complaining about snipers on this.

I'm a fairly good player, and could certainly hold my own 'quick scoping' on mw2. I tried it on mw3 for the 1st time the other day, it is very difficult to do well. The technique itself is probably the easiest its ever been, but ARs/SMGs are far stronger than they have ever been, which is something people seem to be forgetting about. If you try it yourself you'll see pretty soon that those people who quick-scoped you probably went 2-26 and would have killed you more with a decent gun.

As per usual with cod snipers they are vastly underpowered, contrary to the opinion's of people who watch a couple of killcams and base their opinions from them.

AdamD wrote: »

As per usual with cod snipers they are vastly underpowered, contrary to the opinion's of people who watch a couple of killcams and base their opinions from them.

You're obviously just in here for a wind up with that statement. I snipe, a lot. Do you know why? Because the .50 Cal is a one hit kill just about anywhere other than the lower legs. Snipers in this are, IMO, the most powerful of any other COD. I've not once complained about hit markers with them.

I'm basing the above on not watching killcams but on the experience of ~2,700 sniper kills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭CptMackey

Snipers in this have their purpose. It's why I have a class with the msr. Reminds me of the intervention. If some body can kill you with a quickscope they would easily kill you with a smg etc. It's just part of the game and something to adapt to and expect on certain maps :)

You're obviously just in here for a wind up with that statement. I snipe, a lot. Do you know why? Because the .50 Cal is a one hit kill just about anywhere other than the lower legs. Snipers in this are, IMO, the most powerful of any other COD. I've not once complained about hit markers with them.

I'm basing the above on not watching killcams but on the experience of ~2,700 sniper kills.

Nope, they are underpowered. There are about 2 maps which have points long enough for the sniper to actually be useful, on every other map an assault rifle will beat the sniper from every distance.

Type 95 is better than any sniper at any range, just like the FAMAS in mw2, G16 in Bops, M16 in cod4.

I hate when people reply to someones post with just the one part where they can argue... why not reply to the rest of his post ? Because you know hes right ?

And for the most part, what he said is right... nearly everyone that posts about how overpowered sniping/quickscoping is has barely touched a sniper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Woorist

Surely sniping is just another way to play the game and everyone has the right to play it how they enjoy it most as obviously thats the whole point in playing a game isnt it?

And no im not a sniper as i enjoy running around shooting alot :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,411 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Woorist wrote: »
    Surely sniping is just another way to play the game and everyone has the right to play it how they enjoy it most as obviously thats the whole point in playing a game isnt it?

And no im not a sniper as i enjoy running around shooting alot :-)

Slightly off topic but apparently the FM9s, Type 95 & CM901 are all due to be nerfed in a soon to be released patch. Fair enough on the FM9s but don't really have a problem with the other two. One of the commentators on nextgentactics was making the point that if enough people complain about something it will be acted upon.
    With several million people playing the game and it being impossible to keep everyone happy I really think a lot of the "balancing" is unnecessary.
    Sniping is just another way to play the game and it is a lot harder than running round with an smg/AR.

I hate when people reply to someones post with just the one part where they can argue... why not reply to the rest of his post ? Because you know hes right ?

And for the most part, what he said is right... nearly everyone that posts about how overpowered sniping/quickscoping is has barely touched a sniper.

What are you talking about? His post was about snipers so my reply was about that. What more is there for me to talk about?

Huh ?
    TBH, I really can't justify complaining about snipers on this.

I'm a fairly good player, and could certainly hold my own 'quick scoping' on mw2. I tried it on mw3 for the 1st time the other day, it is very difficult to do well. The technique itself is probably the easiest its ever been, but ARs/SMGs are far stronger than they have ever been, which is something people seem to be forgetting about. If you try it yourself you'll see pretty soon that those people who quick-scoped you probably went 2-26 and would have killed you more with a decent gun.

Hightower* is the worst for it... comes in complaining about sniping and quickscoping like he knows what hes talking about and then doesn't reply to any of the reasonable arguments that prove he doesn't know what hes talking about. Really annoying when they come in with the same argument a few weeks/months later only to completely ignore anything others say...its like a roundabout of ignorance.

Huh ?

Creasy bear is the worst for it... comes in complaining about sniping and quickscoping like he knows what hes talking about and then doesn't reply to any of the reasonable arguments that prove he doesn't know what hes talking about. Really annoying.

Well written post. What am I to say? So because I haven't agreed that AR's are stronger than they've ever been I know nothing about sniping? Or that people who QS usually go negative?

It's a discussion forum. Not an agreeing forum.

Just out of curiosity, what exactly do you want me to talk about?

It's a discussion forum. Not an agreeing forum.

Correct.

Correct.

Another well articulated response.

What's worse than the above is when someone doesn't answer the question.

Nope, they are underpowered. There are about 2 maps which have points long enough for the sniper to actually be useful, on every other map an assault rifle will beat the sniper from every distance.

Type 95 is better than any sniper at any range, just like the FAMAS in mw2, G16 in Bops, M16 in cod4.

I cant see how you are making that out? for example @ 30feet an AR user will need on average 3-4 body shots to down someone, they also have the recoil to deal with along with the fact they now need to adjust for movement as their opponent quick scoper can kill in just one body shot necessitating the AR user to get skeety as it were.

Break it down to this example instance...

in this case...
    AR user pros - larger mag, faster move speed.
    AR user cons - 4 times as many rounds needed, recoil to account for, movement needed consisatnly during engadgement.

Quick scoper pros - one hit kill, less radar signature as only one shot needed, movement not needed during engadgement as only one hit needed on target.
    Cons - slower follow shot ability. single round kill leads to more "make or break" first shots.

IMO here the sniper has far less work to do, the AR user has a lot more to account for and has to be on target more often and a lot longer than a quick scoper needs to be.

Snipers are basically easy mode shotguns... same mag limitations, same slow follow up shots BUT with no range penalties which cripple shotguns and snipers are one hit kills where we all know shot guns are most definitly not one hit kills.

Use a shotgun and your instantly more impressive than a quick scoper, you have no infintite range, same slow reload, same low mag size and takes double the amount of rounds to kill someone.

I cant see how you are making that out? for example @ 30feet an AR user will need on average 3-4 body shots to down someone, they also have the recoil to deal with along with the fact they now need to adjust for movement as their opponent quick scoper can kill in just one body shot necessitating the AR user to get skeety as it were.

Break it down to this example instance...

in this case...
    AR user pros - larger mag, faster move speed.
    AR user cons - 4 times as many rounds needed, recoil to account for, movement needed consisatnly during engadgement.

Quick scoper pros - one hit kill, less radar signature as only one shot needed, movement not needed during engadgement as only one hit needed on target.
    Cons - slower follow shot ability. single round kill leads to more "make or break" first shots.

IMO here the sniper has far less work to do, the AR user has a lot more to account for and has to be on target more often and a lot longer than a quick scoper needs to be.

Snipers are basically easy mode shotguns... same mag limitations, same slow follow up shots BUT with no range penalties which cripple shotguns and snipers are one hit kills where we all know shot guns are most definitly not one hit kills.

Use a shotgun and your instantly more impressive than a quick scoper, you have no infintite range, same slow reload, same low mag size and takes double the amount of rounds to kill someone.
    I'd throw a guess out and say it takes a 3rd of the time to ADS and shoot your AR than it does to shoot your sniper. Guns on cod don't have any particularly affective recoil so thats a bit irrelevant.

Actually, not bothered explaining this. Anyone who thinks that the quick scoper has an easier job at 30 foot than an Assault Rifle player is either dillusional or has never attempted to quick scope. I don't do it, because it is far more difficult to do than anything else other than riot shield and throwing knife.

I'm sorry that you've written a long post about this but all I can say is try it out, then comment, because what you've said is a bit ridiculous.

gimli2112 wrote: »
    Slightly off topic but apparently the FM9s, Type 95 & CM901 are all due to be nerfed in a soon to be released patch. Fair enough on the FM9s but don't really have a problem with the other two..

The fagpuls def need a patch asap, akimbo they are far too overpowered.
    Type 95 certainly needs a patch, the main drawback for that weapon is that yes its high damage but is burst fire.... as standard any burst fire weapon should only kill in one burst when one is a headshot. if they kill in one burst where all are body shots then its just point and click shooting which is bound for abuse. The cm901 doesnt really need it though? The damage is high but the recoil is equally as high balancing it out. Its almost akin to the ak from mw2 in that respect and no one had issue with that, it really made it a disipined gun where you can kill quickly with a fw rouds but you constantly need to excersise fire controll to be effective as opposed to other ARs where you could down in more rounds but had to excersise aim / movement controll to be effective.

I think - like quick scoping - no weapon except for shoulder lauchers should be one hit kills. Every player should be given an oppertunity to get into a firefight and not one hit killed before any retaliation can be done. The game just devolves at that stage into point and click killing rather any firefighting tactics what so ever. That might have been fine for frickin duck hunt but modern shooters shouldinclude more to a gun fight than aim and click, it should always demand you to disiplin yourself in ammo, muzzle, aim and movement controll , litigation and managment in order to keep the games exciting.

The whole flinching thing is what usually makes an AR win most of the time in those 30ft encounters. If you get the first hit with an AR you'll pretty much always win unless you get unlucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

I snipe 90% of the time (the msr is my baby:)) and 90% of the time I would go positive and get the odd quickscope but its not that easy. More often in a close up one on one encounter I will die but I play off its strong points, I move around the map and stay out of the main traffic areas. I love playing against a team of other snipers cause most of them are usually crap and go negative but you will meet an odd good lad. I dont think they are a problem at all, I get killed by AR's and SMG's a lot more than snipers. If there wasnt snipers in the game I wouldnt even have bought it. They are practically all I have used since I started playing COD. Being consistently good at quickscoping is a fair skill in itself, Have a bit of a soft spot for the throwing knife too, Thats a one hit kill....should it be changed so you have to hit someone with two knifes because its overpowered??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,692 ✭✭✭GEasy

Just my tuppence.
    I used to snipe hella lot in mw2. The intervention was the weapon with which I had most kills. It probably still is. Then I started using ARs and SMGs in blops and mw3. Why? It's so so so much easier to do well with an AR and SMG. Only reason I'll snipe now is to piss people off (Recommended: Killcam abuse is beaUtiful) or to have fun.