Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Weed grown in Ireland is more potent than weed in Amsterdam!

• 29-11-2011 2:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭

Heard this on RTE news this morning.

Seems our weed is far more potent, (and potentially makes us more prone to mental health issue) than weed grown, and sold in the Dam!

http://www.thejournal.ie/irish-grown-cannabis-more-potent-than-imported-variety-report-292130-Nov2011/

HERBAL CANNABIS GROWN and used in Ireland is more potent than the imported variety, the National Advisory Committee on Drugs (NACD) has said.

In a report from its forensic science lab the NACD has warned of the dangers of cannabis grown in Ireland which contains a higher level of Tetrahydrocannabinol or THC, which can cause psychotic episodes, than quantities of the drug that are imported.

It also expressed concern about the “surges” in cannabis cultivation in Ireland overall.

The study stated that the reason for higher potency was because of the way the plant was grown indoors, producing herbal cannabis such as ‘skunk’ or ‘weed’.

“While the majority of cannabis products seized by An Garda Siochana in Ireland are thought to be imported from countries where it is specifically grown for exportation, there is concern about the surges in cannabis cultivation here in Ireland,” NACD chair Dr Des Corrigan said.

While cannabis grown in Ireland has high levels of THC it lacks the substance known as CBD which can mitigate the psychotic effects of THC when taken together.

The NACD said that samples taken from seizures of cannabis herb in Limerick, Cork, Tipperary, Bandon, Fermoy and Dublin has shown cannabis cultivated in Ireland had very high THC levels and very low CBD levels compared to imported herb or resin, which is known as ‘hash’.

As an example cannabis which was seized in Limerick and suspected as having been imported contained a 5 per cent level of THC compared to cannabis seized in Bandon and suspected as having been cultivated here which had a THC level of 16 per cent.

“In the context of the recent findings from the 2010/11 Drug Prevalence Survey that cannabis remains the most commonly used illicit drug in Ireland, monitoring the potency of available cannabis is extremely important,’ Dr Corrigan added.

All joking aside, mental health issues, and addiction to smoking weed is no laughing matter.
    This news should really make potheads sit up and take notice!

**whistles, and looks around innocently**

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,327 ✭✭✭Sykk

Weed doesn't kill in comparison to alcohol.. We all however, know that one person who smokes so much of it that they're just completely brainless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

They give no figures on what percentage of their haul is the high potency stuf. Anyone that has tried Irish stuff vs Dutch stuff knows the claim in the thread title is false.

Also, they compare hash vs weed. Compare Irish weed vs Dutch weed and see...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭invinciblePRSTV

Happy days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Sykk wrote: »
    Weed doesn't kill in comparison to alcohol.. We all however, know that one person who smokes so much of it that they're just completely brainless.

I knew a guy, he smoked so much that he became a conspiracy theorist. And not a sane one. He was in a court case for something or other, open and shut, would have won a few thousand for it. Instead of preparing for the case, going over his testimony, wearing a suit, that sort of thing, he turned up late, stoned, in hippie clothes, and not really a convincing witness. Lost the case, blamed the loss on the fact that the court room it was held in was a bad numbered courtroom.

Well played, friend. Well played.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Cant find the source of RTE's Radio broadcast.
    I did go into much more deail of the mental health issues involved though.....

And just in time to scare lads stocking up for Christmas!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Another reason to leagalise it if you ask me. At least that way they can regulate it. It seems like the responsible thing to do to me..
    But sure what do I know, I smoked the gange about 5 years ago so my head is obviously ****ed :P
    Many fit and healthy people are pro cannabis users and are very successful. Joe Rogan being one.

Another reason to leagalise it (the lower strain) if you ask me.
    Many fit and healthy people are pro cannabis users and are very successful. Joe Rogan being one.

Pick a better example, that guy is a douchebag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭Jagle

sorry but they havent a clue, growing weed indoors doesnt make it more potent, its the genetics of the plants that do.

and ive smoked dam weed, im sorry but the stuff here is not stronger.

And if people are allowed to grow there own weed they wont be supporting criminals, lets be honest here now, portugal, spain holland, and last week switzerland allowed citizens to grow a handfull 4-6 plants depending on country for home use to stop funding criminal gangs, why not have that system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,861 ✭✭✭stimpson

Remember kids - buy Irish.

Snakeblood wrote: »
    Pick a better example, that guy is a douchebag.
    Haha, I like him :D
    Great commentator for the UFC.
    Even if you don't like him, to be fair, he's very quick and witty.

stimpson wrote: »
    Remember kids - buy Irish.
    We might see a return of this :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Jagle wrote: »
    sorry but they havent a clue, growing weed indoors doesnt make it more potent, its the genetics of the plants that do.

and ive smoked dam weed, im sorry but the stuff here is not stronger.

And if people are allowed to grow there own weed they wont be supporting criminals, lets be honest here now, portugal, spain holland, and last week switzerland allowed citizens to grow a handfull 4-6 plants depending on country for home use to stop funding criminal gangs, why not have that system
    Shut up, stick to the status quo, don't be using any of those logical ideas ya here me, it's all just the reefer madness talking.

if the government allowed it, they could cut criminal funding by easily half, and boost revenue for the countries coffers, if they just made legal what people are doing for the last 6000 years

Haha, I like him :D
    Great commentator for the UFC.
    Even if you don't like him, to be fair, he's very quick and witty.

Well, I like him for the UFC, actually, but I heard his comedy album, and it seemed to centre largely round the theme of gay rape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

The best way to recognise a weed addict is from the white stains on his pants, from constantly jacking off when he can't find a rape victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

as long as there's no drought over christmas, i couldn't give a fcuk if it's grown on mars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭clare ny

lets just legalise this , its natural and to be fair if more people were having
    a smoke on a sat night instead drinking themselves to state , fight outside chippers and night clubs , and kiling themselves and others on the road ...
    When the country in recession and cutting everything in the budget why not tax weed sales , keep the money out of the scumbag dealers hands ..
    I think this old fashioned approach has to change .. Its in something like 22 states in the usa .And the tax income is needed ... Know going to have this statments of its a gate way drug , but what is not a gateway drug .. Just to add not hearing to many stories about domestic violance from weed abuse ...

Snakeblood wrote: »
    I knew a guy, he smoked so much that he became a conspiracy theorist. And not a sane one. He was in a court case for something or other, open and shut, would have won a few thousand for it. Instead of preparing for the case, going over his testimony, wearing a suit, that sort of thing, he turned up late, stoned, in hippie clothes, and not really a convincing witness. Lost the case, blamed the loss on the fact that the court room it was held in was a bad numbered courtroom.

Well played, friend. Well played.
    Jim Corr is another one too, although that's probably more than just weed. That man must have done some serious ****.

clare ny wrote: »
    Know going to have this statments of its a gate way drug , but what is not a gateway drug

the gateway drug theory was dis proven, its akin to saying if a child drinks milk he will grow up to being an alcoholic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

A load of me bollix.

why cant i get through to someone at the NACD?
    no ones picking up.

Saying weed grown indoors is stronger, is like saying if human babies are raised underwater we will grow gills, very annoyed at the arrogance of this published report

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭stewie01

i love smoking weed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Legalise heroin and give it to school kids as a reward for doing their homework.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Ghandee wrote: »

The study stated that the reason for higher potency was because of the way the plant was grown indoors, producing herbal cannabis such as ‘skunk’ or ‘weed’.

Like listening to your granny talking about it.
    So factually inaccurate it's no wonder people don't take them seriously.

While they are faffing around with this..... meanwhile.....
    Ireland has most users of heroin in EU

EU Commission figures released on November 15 show that Ireland has the highest documented use of problem opioid use in the EU. According to estimates, opioid use in Ireland (mainly heroin) is about eight cases per 1,000 population aged 15 to 64, compared to an EU average of around four cases. The estimated mortality rate among Irish adults (aged 15-64 years) due to drug-induced deaths is also second-highest in the EU, at almost 70 deaths per million (the EU average death-rate was 21 per million) in 2009.
    http://www.imt.ie/features-opinion/2011/11/ireland-has-most-users-of-heroin-in-eu-2.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭Johro

Sykk wrote: »
    Huh? What?

mikom wrote: »
    Like listening to your granny talking about it.
    So factually inaccurate it's no wonder people don't take them seriously.

yes that part really gets me, genetics these guys know nothing about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Lies.

The stuff in Germany is better. Most comes from the Netherlands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭Pure Sound

The only problem I have with weed is that people I know who smoke a lot have serious motivational problems, saying that if I were to drink as many nights in the week that they smoke I would not be able to do anything else. So if it were to be legalised attitudes would have to change so that it would not be so acceptable to smoke every night. If it were to be legalised I would imagine crime would greatly decrease though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Jesus, cannabis plants producing weed. We're all going to hell in a handbasket.

The only problem I have with weed is that people I know who smoke a lot have serious motivational problems, saying that if I were to drink as many nights in the week that they smoke I would not be able to do anything else. So if it were to be legalised attitudes would have to change. If it were to be legalised I would imagine crime would greatly decrease.

Funny that. Most of the people I grew up with who smoked are still holding down professional jobs and are productive members of society.

Perhaps it's the people you hang around with rathter than the weed.

The only problem I have with weed is that people I know who smoke a lot have serious motivational problems, saying that if I were to drink as many nights in the week that they smoke I would not be able to do anything else. So if it were to be legalised attitudes would have to change. If it were to be legalised I would imagine crime would greatly decrease.

i work, am in college, and smoke weed everyday.

I have some friends who go out drinking 4 nights a week, based upon their behaviour and inability to control themselves, i want alcohol made illegal.

doesnt work just because the people you know are idiots does it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 258 ✭✭stewie01

stewie01 wrote: »
    i love smoking weed

yeah me too ;)

Jagle wrote: »
    why cant i get through to someone at the NACD?
    no ones picking up.

Saying weed grown indoors is stronger, is like saying if human babies are raised underwater we will grow gills, very annoyed at the arrogance of this published report
    That's weird man... Like... Reeeeeeeeeally weird...
    Makes ya imagine all kinds of weird shit man... Awesome..

Johro wrote: »
    That's weird man... Like... Reeeeeeeeeally weird...
    Makes ya imagine all kinds of weird shit man... Awesome..

NACD is an anagram of DANC, which is very close to DANK.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

Its disgusting, obscene, pure evil in fact how narrow minded authorities are to the benefits of cannabis/weed as a drug/medicinal cure for 5000 years, its far FAR less dangerous than alcohol, a drug which if it was discovered in the morning would be outlawed immediately

Look at theses videos of hemp oil, made from cannabis and weep how ignorant (maybe gladly) the medical establishment/government is to this plant

The truth is out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭duiggers

Have any of you guys heard of weed butter, I recently heard about it from a friend and I couldn't believe someone came up with that

mikom wrote: »
    NACD is an anagram of DANC, which is very close to DANK.
    Wow... You just blew my mind man... Wow...

duiggers wrote: »
    Have any of you guys heard of weed butter, I recently heard about it from a friend and I couldn't believe someone came up with that

lol

http://www.icantbelieveitsnotbutter.com/images/products/productImage_original.jpg

LOL - "I can't believe it's not weed butter"

Probably some sixty years ago.

its just the oil based thc being absorbed by the fat in butter, making it easier to cook with so people who need it medically, and who cant smoke (Cancer patients, Crohns patients) can get the relief without the smoking

oh yeah :p most excellent for pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

The NACD is just a group of government Yes Men installed to give credence to government policy for people that don't know any better.

If they started publishing meaningful information then they wouldn't be in jobs for much longer à la Prof. Nutt in the UK a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The study stated that the reason for higher potency was because of the way the plant was grown indoors, producing herbal cannabis such as ‘skunk’ ......cannabis cultivated in Ireland had very high THC levels and very low CBD levels compared to imported herb or resin, which is known as ‘hash’.

"weed"..."skunk"...."hash" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Lemsiper

I would have to say the last two strains I have bought in Ireland, some type of Kush and Green Poison, were up there with some those Dutch and Canadian varieties I've had in the past. The latter, hydroponically grown, definitely brought back memories of the 'dam.

But overall, I wouldn't agree with this article.

"Studys" and "media reports" can be scaremongering and full of shit, kids.
    The report quoted at the top of this thread is one.
    Here's another...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Oh_Noes

Ah that evil skunk hash that's 1000% stronger than it is in Amsterdam. Makes people have psychotic episodes so it does. And that's your lot in Irish cannabis news for 1947 1985 2011.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It's embarrassing how little they know about cannabis, it makes the government look like complete dicks. That report reads like a 90 year old Mayo farmer trying to explain string theory after hearing about it at the pub.
    Seems our weed is far more potent, (and potentially makes us more prone to mental health issue) than weed grown, and sold in the Dam!
    It's funny how the cannabis seeds magically get stronger after it's exported from the Netherlands to Ireland. :rolleyes:

It also expressed concern about the “surges” in cannabis cultivation in Ireland overall.
    They'd rather the money left the country, at worst this is the best of a bad situation.
    We should sell this new indoor growing techniques around the world. What if we started using it on other foods? World hunger = solved.

As an example cannabis which was seized in Limerick and suspected as having been imported contained a 5 per cent level of THC compared to cannabis seized in Bandon and suspected as having been cultivated here which had a THC level of 16 per cent.
    In the US dispensaries all weed is labeled with the THC and CBD content and I know for a fact most are up around 10-20% THC content. This is just a complete fabrication.

Our government can't be trusted when it comes to drugs, they're clueless and are doing more harm than good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

Weed - User spends 20 minutes in complete confusion, looking for their pint, having left it down somewhere.

Alcohol - User spends 20 minutes, in a frenzied rage, kicking a man on the ground for looking at his bird.

Now, as Psychotic episodes go, which would you ban first ??