Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PDC Ladbrokes World Championship 2012

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Webster v Burnett is an interesting one! There are some good games in there and I see a number of shocks on the cards.

Tough one for Finnan against Mark Walsh if he manages to get through the prelim round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Dicie

Kingp35 wrote: »
    Webster v Burnett is an interesting one! There are some good games in there and I see a number of shocks on the cards.

Tough one for Finnan against Mark Walsh if he manages to get through the prelim round.

Walshy aint got a great record against irish players on tv. Bother mac cracken and Skelo beat him in tv events. If connie plays his own game on the big stage he will do himself proud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

Draw attched:

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 492 ✭✭thebison

Any Bookmarkers doing good specials on this?

Best price for Taylor seems to be evens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭Healio

thebison wrote: »
    Any Bookmarkers doing good specials on this?

Best price for Taylor seems to be evens!

5/4 in Ladbrokes. Serious Value.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

Dudbridge v Chisnall and Thornton v White are 2 interesting games. Both Dudbridge and Thornton are in big danger of dropping out of the World's top 32 and really need wins here to secure their top 32 status but I could see both Chisnall and White winning these ties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 ATR180

WADE @ 10/1 e/w 1-2...half the odds..gotta be worth a punt....on the right side of the draw.....:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭StephenHendry

tough game for finnan, walsh has played very well this year and did well at the GSOD.

Is this starting on the 9th of Dec or 14th?

I was full sure it was the 14th.

Is this starting on the 9th of Dec or 14th?

I was full sure it was the 14th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

15th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,413 ✭✭✭Dartgod

Starting on Thursday, December 15th.
    Connie Finnan & Brendan Dolan playing on Sunday, December 18th.

Full schedule here - - - http://www.pdc.tv/page/NewsdeskDetail/0,,10180~2534850,00.html

I think I'm going to lump a nice bit of money on Taylor..

Just can't see him losing it.

Also, a I seen a nice offer on Twitter from Setantabet.
    @setantabet
    Setantabet
    If any player throws a 9 dart finish in the PDC World Darts Championship, we'll refund all losing outright antepost bets for the event #pdc

Now call me crazy but I'd be 80% sure that there will be a Nine dart finish during the tournament??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Now call me crazy but I'd be 80% sure that there will be a Nine dart finish during the tournament??

Yeah you're crazy.

9/4 top price with the bookies so they think at most a 30% chance of a 9 darter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭pmy.murphy

Dudbridge and chisnall is potentially a very good game. Chisnall is playing well and im sure mark dudbridge will be for this one as his place in the top 32 is in serious danger. Richie Burnett will also want to prove a point against his fellow welshman.

After this weekend's Players Championship there's sure to be question marks raised about certain players before Thursday's World Championship starts.

Phil Taylor had what I'd suppose you could call a controversial weekend! While he seemed to be upset over crowd behaviour at the Players Championship personally I think there was something more bothering him than reporting crowd behaviour to the PDC!

While Taylor will rightly remain the hot favourite to win in Ally Pally he would need to have a clear mind going into Ally Pally to be focused on winning his World crown back. Reporting crowd behaviour could backfire on him and he could be the target of the boo boys in Ally Pally. It'll be interesting to see how he gets on.

Gary Anderson is a hard player to judge! Brilliant in the 1st round he had a stinker in the 2nd round! Disappointed with his performance at the weekend but if he gets it together and everything goes well for him he could go all the way but 1 blip and forget about it!

James Wade and Ray Barneveld are 2 players who I don't think have any chance at Ally Pally. Barney looks disillusioned with the game and doesn't seem too bothered about winning with a while. As for Wade I seriously think that this boy is still ill especially after his ill advised ramble about Rand and his supporters on TV today!

Adrian Lewis didn't qualify for this weekend's players championship and personally I think this man is in the right frame of mind to make it 2 World titles in a row. The action kicks off Thursday and I can't wait for what should be a great 2 and a half weeks of darts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭buster180

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

Anyone need a couple of balcony seats for the Semi Finals night, Jan 1st? I'll put them on eBay if I can't shift them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,483 ✭✭✭User Friendly

I agree with the other poster,i might just place a bet that there wont be a 9 darter. just had a bet on Taylor @ evens.
    dartbhoy wrote: »
    After this weekend's Players Championship there's sure to be question marks raised about certain players before Thursday's World Championship starts.

Phil Taylor had what I'd suppose you could call a controversial weekend! While he seemed to be upset over crowd behaviour at the Players Championship personally I think there was something more bothering him than reporting crowd behaviour to the PDC!

While Taylor will rightly remain the hot favourite to win in Ally Pally he would need to have a clear mind going into Ally Pally to be focused on winning his World crown back. Reporting crowd behaviour could backfire on him and he could be the target of the boo boys in Ally Pally. It'll be interesting to see how he gets on.

Gary Anderson is a hard player to judge! Brilliant in the 1st round he had a stinker in the 2nd round! Disappointed with his performance at the weekend but if he gets it together and everything goes well for him he could go all the way but 1 blip and forget about it!

James Wade and Ray Barneveld are 2 players who I don't think have any chance at Ally Pally. Barney looks disillusioned with the game and doesn't seem too bothered about winning with a while. As for Wade I seriously think that this boy is still ill especially after his ill advised ramble about Rand and his supporters on TV today!

Adrian Lewis didn't qualify for this weekend's players championship and personally I think this man is in the right frame of mind to make it 2 World titles in a row. The action kicks off Thursday and I can't wait for what should be a great 2 and a half weeks of darts.
    good post,the only thing i would disagree with is Lewis retaining his title,my reason........ stats! in any sport you need luck in running to win an event and for this to happen 2 years on the trot is not something that happens to most people,the fact lewis didnt qualify for last weekend isnt something that should worry lewis fans,but to reproduce the form that won him the title again this year? not for me.
    finbarrk wrote: »
    Anyone need a couple of balcony seats for the Semi Finals night, Jan 1st? I'll put them on eBay if I can't shift them.
    try these guys,great site http://toutless.com/viewforum.php?f=1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Think 4/5 on the rest of the field is decent bet. Someone's bound to put it up to Taylor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Ian White to beat Robert Thornton at 6/5 has to be the bet of the first round, also like the look of Scholten at 13/10 Scott Rand 6/5 and Kim Hubreychts 11/10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

I was going to back Wes Newton but 28/1 is a bit short.

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Ian White to beat Robert Thornton at 6/5 has to be the bet of the first round, also like the look of Scholten at 13/10 Scott Rand 6/5 and Kim Hubreychts 11/10.
    I'd agree with all of them except Rand who I think may find it difficult to reproduce his players championship form in Ally Pally.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,325 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

So it's that time of year lads, Christmas officially starts tomorrow: :)

Tomorrows schedule of play with my predictions in Bold

Thursday December 15
    7.10pm Jamie Caven v Roland Scholten
    8.15pm Paul Barham v Scott MacKenzie (P)
    9.00pm Mark Webster v Richie Burnett
    10.00pm Adrian Lewis v Nigel Heydon
    11.00pm Wayne Jones v Barham/MacKenzie

When the World darts starts Christmas starts!

Mark Webster 7/2 to win his quarter with Ladbrokes is a great bet I reckon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

Degag wrote: »
    I was going to back Wes Newton but 28/1 is a bit short.

He is 40/1 with Ladbrokes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,691 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Here we go. Tis the season :D

What a finish to that match. Thought that Caven was gonna get a 9 darter there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,261 ✭✭✭Juwwi

Gringo180 wrote: »
    Ian White to beat Robert Thornton at 6/5 has to be the bet of the first round, .

Lads can someone tell me is Thornton out of form or something just never heard of Ian White wondering why he's fancied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

1st of my treble up and by far the riskiest one!
    Stuck €8.20 on McKenzie, Webster & Lewis. Gets me €22.80 back if they all win.
    Surely the last 2 won't feck it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Dillonb3

robbie1977 wrote: »
    Lads can someone tell me is Thornton out of form or something just never heard of Ian White wondering why he's fancied.
    Ian White qualified for the Grand Slam and bet Van Barneveld in the first round whilst putting up decent performances against Winstanley and Hankey I'll say he's in with a good chance against Thornton

Stevecw wrote: »
    1st of my treble up and by far the riskiest one!
    Stuck €8.20 on McKenzie, Webster & Lewis. Gets me €22.80 back if they all win.
    Surely the last 2 won't feck it up.
    webster in big big trouble here:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭pudzy

early yet.. webster still got the darts in this set ... prob win 3-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭stylie

KevIRL wrote: »
    What a finish to that match. Thought that Caven was gonna get a 9 darter there

Who won ? no results anywhere yet

webster in big big trouble here:mad:

1-1 now, but geeze he made hard work of that. Missing a lot of doubles.

pudzy wrote: »
    early yet.. webster still got the darts in this set ... prob win 3-1
    poor Ritchies finishing is dreadful so far.

Now come on ta f**k webby!:mad:

stylie wrote: »

Scholten won 3-1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭pudzy

scholton won 3-1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,275 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Anyone know if Anderson is in Taylor's half of the draw? Saw him at 4/1 with Paddy Power to get to the final but can't find a link for the projected draw

stylie wrote: »

Scholten won it. Poor game but it kicked off in the last couple of legs. Was 4 180's in the second last leg of the game

Webster 2-1 down, big pressure on now!

Cracking match this.

Wow webster back from the dead to level it at 2-2. Great match

2 sets all, 2 legs all. Must win by 2 clear legs now. 19 180s already, this is quality stuff.

cant believe that result:(

Wow Burnett wins, and there goes my bet!! Fair play to Burnett tho, won a great match. Never wud have thought Webster would be gone so early, was thinking of him as my outside e/w bet to get to final!!

dartbhoy wrote: »
    Mark Webster 7/2 to win his quarter with Ladbrokes is a great bet I reckon.

Wud have thought so too, but not to be.

What a belter of a match that was