Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anything To Worry About Here? (Urgent)

• 29-11-2011 11:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭

Have arranged to go view this Fiesta today,

Full?id=8799481

But have just done a quick check on the Motor Tax website and according to that the car was sold to a "Dealer" on the 18/11/2011.

Anything to worry about? Because I'm sure this guy aint a dealer.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

The guy might have bought it, and wants rid as there might be sommit wrong with it....thread carefully.

Link to the add would be nice, that pic isn't a live link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Kevvv

Thats exactly my thoughts. Think it may be worth passing ? I know its due a timing belt and water pump change, but surely that couldnt be the reason hes selling :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

RoverJames wrote: »
    Link to the add would be nice, that pic isn't a live link.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2739000

Kevvv wrote: »
    Thats exactly my thoughts. Think it may be worth passing ? I know its due a timing belt and water pump change, but surely that couldnt be the reason hes selling :confused:

Sorry never realised the picture didnt link. Was just talking to the guy there and he said that he picked up the car as a run around until he bought a bigger car. Invited me to bring along a mechanic, so I'll go have a look anyway. Never know it might turn out okay :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

People sell cars for all sorts of reasons. How do you know he's not a dealer? It does look like potentially a good car. I'd have a mechanic I trusted look it over, paying particular attention to the LHS bodywork. Pics can be deceiving, but it doesn't all look quite the same colour to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

engine warning light on one of the pictures there.

robbie_998 wrote: »
    engine warning light on one of the pictures there.

Open to correction but I thought that was the light to say one one of the doors was open :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭Nixer Jim

Might I suggest that he is infact a dealer masquerading as a private individual. Sneaky devil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭oregano

If he is a dealer English is not his first language. Cars drive well, not good.
    I just nct'd an 02 ghia. Failed on rusty brake pipes and rust on wheel arches. Fixed it for 200 euro, sold and gone. Do the usual checks as per the excellent sticky thread on buying a used car, and budget for 350 belt and pump.

Fiestas love rust! Remember, this car will always be worth 500 euro to somebody so long as it's safe to drive, so you won't lose your shirt if you get it for, say, 700...

oregano wrote: »
    If he is a dealer English is not his first language. Cars drive well, not good.
    I just nct'd an 02 ghia. Failed on rusty brake pipes and rust on wheel arches. Fixed it for 200 euro, sold and gone. Do the usual checks as per the excellent sticky thread on buying a used car, and budget for 350 belt and pump.

Fiestas love rust! Remember, this car will always be worth 500 euro to somebody so long as it's safe to drive, so you won't lose your shirt if you get it for, say, 700...

Yeah thats why I thought he wasnt a dealer. Got a few quote on a timing belt and water pump. Suppose the only thing to do is go and see the car. Check for the usual, especially rust on the arches and door sills. Hoping theres no hidden flaws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭JAMM222

i have a 01 Fiesta..... great car... only thing that went wrong was the ignition coil went and it was about €250 to replace.... just put it through the nct but it failed cos it had a little bit of rust on the sill... got it fixed for €100 and it passed straight away...... They are very reliable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭Theanswers

Poor awl Fiesta Does not score too well in the crash test.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JuEXNQ5aqJY

I would not drive one, theres plenty of better scoring, more comfortable cheap cars about.

Theanswers wrote: »
    Poor awl Fiesta Does not score too well in the crash test.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JuEXNQ5aqJY

I would not drive one, theres plenty of better scoring, more comfortable cheap cars about.
    Such as?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

How well did you look over the car? Test drive it? Internet pictures are very deceiving... :rolleyes:

dgt wrote: »
    How well did you look over the car? Test drive it? Internet pictures are very deceiving... :rolleyes:
    I havent, going to view it now in a while.

yep, wait till it's dark.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

MidlandsM wrote: »
    yep, wait till it's dark.....:D

At least it's stopped raining. :pac:

Check the fluids!!!

Then go over the body. Go over it with a finetooth and comb. Look for different shades of he same colour: suggests a crash repair job.

What condition is the drivers seat in? Well worn, its had a fair few miles.

Check the condition of the spare. Less used the better. Suggests a careful owner.

Start it up when satisfied.

Wait till its warmed up and turn it off. Then start it up again. Run like the wind if it does this when starting (my blue fester)

Give it a GOOD long drive at different speeds. How does it feel over bumps, any odd noises? Go on a motorway, is it a bit wanderly wagon? Town driving, is the steering heavy?

Finally, reverse it. Rattles in reverse means it needs a new box, splines a stripping. No excuses.

Let us know how you get on! :)

Thanks for that. will give it a good drive and hopefully all is well. Prob gonna be dark so a torch will be essential :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Don't check out cars in the dark. Seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

If the engine is already warm when you go to view it, that could mean alot of things, it's tappety on cold starts, smokey or somthing else. Ahhh I dont like fiestas but good luck with that:)

BostonB wrote: »
    Don't check out cars in the dark. Seriously.

ironically, there is self proclaimed experts on here that suggest it makes no difference if you look at a car in daylight or the dark :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭alexlyons

well? how'd it go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It is a strange spec Ghia model, the Fiesta Ghia had colour coded eletrically heated door mirrors, tilt/slide sunroof and fake wood centre console. That model doesn't appear to have any of those.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,721 ✭✭✭Al Capwned

Just checked the ad there lads - it's sold as of 5 minutes ago....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,859 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Check the fluids!!!

Then go over the body. Go over it with a finetooth and comb. Look for different shades of he same colour: suggests a crash repair job.

What condition is the drivers seat in? Well worn, its had a fair few miles.

Check the condition of the spare. Less used the better. Suggests a careful owner.

Start it up when satisfied.

Wait till its warmed up and turn it off. Then start it up again. Run like the wind if it does this when starting (my blue fester)

Give it a GOOD long drive at different speeds. How does it feel over bumps, any odd noises? Go on a motorway, is it a bit wanderly wagon? Town driving, is the steering heavy?

Finally, reverse it. Rattles in reverse means it needs a new box, splines a stripping. No excuses.

Let us know how you get on! :)

I know this car is sold now but regarding general buying advice I'd add:

- bring to an empty car park, roll down the window, steering lock full left, power on, power off abruptly in 1st, listen for any CV knocking. Full lock right and repeat.

also

- be sure to check spare tyre area for wetness. I looked at a Focus last year that looked mint, but there was a small lake hiding under the boot. The guy was trying to tell me if was from his wet golf clubs :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

bazz26 wrote: »
    It is a strange spec Ghia model, the Fiesta Ghia had colour coded eletrically heated door mirrors, tilt/slide sunroof and fake wood centre console. That model doesn't appear to have any of those.
    It has fake wood alright and the correct alloys and body coloured door strips plus aircon and foglights.

The 00 model didn't have a sunroof as it had aircon but the door mirrors should be colour coded. It also has the correct trim on the seats and a leather steering wheel

My sister had one in black. It was a VERY nice car

bazz26 wrote: »

Its certainly missing the colour coded mirrors and the shitty fake wood radio...

My blue fester had air con and a sunroof. Wasn't a Ghia either

This one has the fake wood or am I missing something?

johnos1984 wrote: »
    This one has the fake wood or am I missing something?

Its missing this load of crap, which is made of soiled thongs by the looks of it

YI113FH76.jpg

Its missing this load of crap, which is made of soiled thongs by the looks of it

YI113FH76.jpg
    I've enlarged the photo and it isn't.

The colour is hard to see but the wood* texture is there alright. It's just a badly taken photo

The radio in the Fiesta had a knob on the left hand side for volume instead of buttons

Similar shape to this one

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Ford/Fiesta/1.25-GHI/213209330900740/advert?channel=CARS

The light is just very poor in the original ad making it hard to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Punto and yaris both have 4 star rating, that generation fiesta was a resin of the 1989 shape.

I've enlarged the photo and it isn't.

The colour is hard to see but the wood* texture is there alright. It's just a badly taken photo

The radio in the Fiesta had a knob on the left hand side for volume instead of buttons

I stand corrected, this is what I get for staring at a computer all day, blindness :rolleyes:

The 5000rds came with either buttons or a knob. Have 2 of them here along with a 6000 cd unit in my green fester :D

/*Puts away e-penis regarding getting anal about ford radios */

I stand corrected, this is what I get for staring at a computer all day, blindness :rolleyes:

The 5000rds came with either buttons or a knob. Have 2 of them here along with a 6000 cd unit in my green fester :D

/*Puts away e-penis regarding getting anal about ford radios */
    I wouldn't worry, it's been a slow evening my end too :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

ironically, there is self proclaimed experts on here that suggest it makes no difference if you look at a car in daylight or the dark :rolleyes:

I'm an expert, and it doesn't. Once it's not pitch dark.

Just not rain/wet, never look at a car with a coat of water over it.

So went to view the Fiesta today and decided to buy it. Ended up getting it for less than €900. Car was in grand condition and had nothing that left me worrying. Believe it or not the car even had service history :pac:

Is the radio black or does it have wood effect trim :pac:

Black.. Looks like its been changed though. Il be changing it myself anyway, gonna get an adaptor kit and pick up something else.

:o

Sorry dgt

Well wear BTW

Just not rain/wet, never look at a car with a coat of water over it.

Considering you can't see colour acurately at night, even with a decent light, I would have assumed it would be difficult to new paint. That been my experience, especially on certain colors. Certainly look at the same car in the daylight, showed up things that a night time didn't. In the paint. That said I'm not an expert, so I stand corrected.

Just near spit tea on the laptop when I read this

https://www.motorcheck.ie/free-car-check/00ke9267

Seems you bought the "Ohhh my" model :P :pac:

Best of luck with it :)

Just near spit tea on the laptop when I read this

https://www.motorcheck.ie/free-car-check/00ke9267

Seems you bought the "Ohhh my" model :P :pac:

Best of luck with it :)

You had me worried there for a second :eek:

Lol, no need to fret, 00 MY is 2000 model year :)

you're not, and you're still wrong.;)

I won't fight with you. I spend my days looking at cars, and in the dark under a flash lamp I've seen alot more than I've ever seen in daylight.

But I won't argue with you, you might cry.

Attacking the poster without answering the question without any useful information of why its no problem in the dark, is a good way to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

I won't fight with you. I spend my days looking at cars, and in the dark under a flash lamp I've seen alot more than I've ever seen in daylight.

But I won't argue with you, you might cry.

Grow up, the both of ye

BostonB wrote: »
    Attacking the poster without answering the question without any useful information of why its no problem in the dark, is a good way to go.

I've covered it before, mis matched paint, lines of filler, fish eyes and alot more stand out on a car alot most in dusk/darkness under a flash lamp than in daylight. I'm not saying go out and buy a car in a dark field, but in my own expereicne if you're anyway competant, looking at a car in day or night shouldn't make a difference as long as it's not raining/covered in due/moisture.

In fairness I haven't read everyone of your previous 12k posts, so I may I missed it. Thats good to know that a flash light makes it stand out, so its probably better to look at car at dusk/darkness then. I've not spotted paint defects before, whereas the mechanic with me has, almost straight away.