Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Engine RPM at 75mph

• 28-11-2011 5:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭

Can people note there typical engine revolution speed at 75mph...

Im sure im way off with the poll options... and im guessing diesels will be less rpm

Just wondering how hard the engine is being worked on my motor in comparison to others.

Mitsubishi Colt 1.1litre about 3500/3600rpm @75mph

Engine RPM Speed @ 75mph 172 votes

less than 2000rpm
    0%
    2000-2300rpm
    8%
    CoyotebkehoeBodhanvectraCrowdedHouseTiggerTheBazmanhi5guyfoJustjensTop Dogjamesk_irlokane1aristotle25WestWing 15 votes
    2300-2600rpm
    24%
    DingatronTheFatdavidPadraig MorRedorDeadreb73DutchiePaulKKel diabloAln_Spm.SavmanHenry Ford IIIcrosstownkdamo86dobsdavechallengemasterR.O.Rspank_infernoBlazer 42 votes
    2600-2900rpm
    12%
    Dr_TeethMutzrabbitinlightsRoviJAMM222ongariteMenaJ.R.skelliserturbodieselGERMAN ROCKSSVphp-foxburger1979[Deleted User]pajero12DeepSleeperlavine7IrishZeuspolod 21 votes
    2900-3200rpm
    11%
    btkm8unsl0w5r4zilog_jonesCJhaugheypred racerdar83GhostInTheRuinspatrickcTimmaaypudzey101Design_DudeMax Power1Foxhole Norman2k9cian2k9thebull09kertengarhjwInboxrickyjbmickob16Thud 20 votes
    3200-3500rpm
    12%
    GreeBorain onBrian?Plugél statutoriodeaglan169alphaninepippipJarrenTopper HarleyChriscl1enumbersmatt70iuflyingsnailGreyfootcipro 55padmadgtCrackleflynnke 22 votes
    3500-3900rpm
    14%
    CivilServantBigEejitStandard ToastertoxofbikoCuddlesworthPaul_DRowley Birkin QCYouTookMyNameunknownlegendhi_im_filMr BenevolentW.Shakes-Beeraidankiface1990mp22CiniOWarrior011RenPdarraghwex 25 votes
    3900rpm and above
    15%
    ZascardeadduckThe Real B-manDilbert75Wolverine_1999T-MaxxVertigo100cjt156HogzyNewApproachcabrwabOSIJoe 90doc crockevanSpiddalLookBehindYouthewintermutejohnners2981Ardennes1944Kcboy 27 votes

2600-2900rpm
    That's about right for a small engine to be honest, the 1.4 cars I had were all at 3000rpm at 60mph, 3500rpm at 70/75 ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

3500-3900rpm
    Woofstuff wrote: »
    Can people note there typical engine revolution speed at 75mph...

Just wondering how hard the engine is being worked on my motor in comparison to others.

Mitsubishi Colt 1.1litre about 3500/3600rpm @75mph

Higher RPM doesn't mean engine works harder.

In mine it's about 3400rpm (Mazda 6 2.0 petrol).

3500-3900rpm
    draffodx wrote: »
    You want people to break the law just so you can make a comparison? biggrin.gif

To break which law?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

75 miles = 120.7008 kilometers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

2900-3200rpm
    From memory, around 2900-3000 at 120 kmh (Golf 1.9 TDI)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭Kevvv

Dont forget your speedo reads over what your actually doing ;)

3500-3900rpm

All right.
    But you still don't need to break any law to find out what's your RPM at 75MPH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

2900-3200rpm
    Fairly sure mine is at 2300-2600, then again i have 6 gears :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

2000-2300rpm
    Not sure. I think bordering 2k or just under.

2600-2900rpm
    Think mine is less than 2500rpm, dunno really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,272 ✭✭✭✭Max Power1

2900-3200rpm
    RoverJames wrote: »
    Dont you have a petrol ZT? Thats quite low RPM, barely ticking over ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

About 4200 or so....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

2000-2300rpm
    A shade under 2000 at 120 km/h, 8th gear

EDIT - I could legally observe it this morning and it's nearer 1800 rpm

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

2300-2600rpm
    A shade under 2000 at 120 km/h, 8th gear

You change motor?!?

Think mines a shade over 2k rpm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

2000-2300rpm
    EPM wrote: »
    You change motor?!?

Yea nice conservative 520d :eek:

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,534 ✭✭✭✭guil

3100 in a 1.8 mondeo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

pudzey101 wrote: »
    Fairly sure mine is at 2300-2600, then again i have 6 gears :pac:
    ...in a Levin?!

Mine is at about 4300ish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Design_Dude

2900-3200rpm
    about 2800 in megane 1.5dci

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,777 ✭✭✭flyingsnail

3200-3500rpm
    About 3100, 1.8 Petrol mondeo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

2900-3200rpm
    ...in a Levin?!

Mine is at about 4300ish

No way could it be that high mate :o

Im just home now and had a look at 100kmph an it was in about 2100rmp :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

~4k or so for me in 6th.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭db330

2300-2600rpm
    Just over 2000rpm on a flat road in an auto pajero, up hill could hit 2300, r down hill could do 1800,

pudzey101 wrote: »
    No way could it be that high mate :o

Im just home now and had a look at 100kmph an it was in about 2100rmp :)
    Dude there's no way that your car is doing 75mph (120 mph) at 2100 rpm, it's a 1.6 (fairly) revvy petrol, sure EPM drives a 2.0 Diesel and he's at around 2000. Myself and Gary ITR drive the same car, we ain't both wrong.

Also, Jimmy bottlehead drives an s2k, a 2L vtec, not a million miles away from my own engine, he has a 6th gear and his is at 4k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Not too sure.... I'd have to check on the way home, though I'd imagine its about 2400-2500RPM

Its at 1950rpm @ 100kph though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

2300-2600rpm
    Dude there's no way that your car is doing 75mph (120 mph) at 2100 rpm, it's a 1.6 (fairly) revvy petrol, sure EPM drives a 2.0 Diesel and he's at around 2000. Myself and Gary ITR drive the same car, we ain't both wrong.

Also, Jimmy bottlehead drives an s2k, a 2L vtec, not a million miles away from my own engine, he has a 6th gear and his is at 4k.

4k!?! :eek::eek::eek:

That's nuts lads, especially in a 6 speed car. Y'all must drink savage loads of fuel on a long drive.

MCMLXXV wrote: »
    4k!?! :eek::eek::eek:

That's nuts lads, especially in a 6 speed car. Y'all must drink savage loads of fuel on a long drive.

Mine only has 5 gears, and yeah it uses a lot of juice at that speed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

2300-2600rpm
    Just a touch over 2k in 6th.

Usually reads about 50mpg at that speed on the flat, E46 320d.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,767 ✭✭✭el diablo

2300-2600rpm
    Just over 2,000 in 6th gear. :)

Orange pilled.

2300-2600rpm
    Mine only has 5 gears, and yeah it uses a lot of juice at that speed

Feck that carry on! :eek:

My own yoke (3.5V8) would be more economical on a long run.

2600-2900rpm
    RoverJames wrote: »
    Max Power1 wrote: »
    Dont you have a petrol ZT? Thats quite low RPM, barely ticking over ;)

Yep, petrol ZT.
    Checked on the way home, wasn't far off earlier, 2400rpm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Feck that carry on! :eek:

My own yoke (3.5V8) would be more economical on a long run.

It's not as bad as you'd think tbh. The car goes all the way to near 9000

2300-2600rpm
    Gary ITR wrote: »
    It's not as bad as you'd think tbh. The car goes all the way to near 9000

Any idea what it would cost you on a run say from Galway to Dublin and back?

I once did Maynooth to Castlebar and back on a tank, so about 400kms (same as dub to galway ish) and to fill it is 45L, so about 65 quids worth of petrol (I'm sure there was a few litres left in the tank too)

2300-2600rpm
    I once did Maynooth to Castlebar and back on a tank, so about 400kms (same as dub to galway ish) and to fill it is 45L, so about 65 quids worth of petrol (I'm sure there was a few litres left in the tank too)

I can do Galway and back in half a tank, about €60 at todays rates so pretty much the same. Costs me €10 a day to do 12 miles around Dublin though! :cool:

2300-2600rpm

400km == 250 miles

45L == 9.9 Gallons.

250/9.9 = 25mpg.

LOL.

PaulKK wrote: »
    400km == 250 miles

45L == 9.9 Gallons.

250/9.9 = 25mpg.

LOL.

LOL?! Dude, my record is 27

And that record was actually achieved in said return trip to castlebar. It was actually 270 miles, twas a rough guess at miles to kms.

2300-2600rpm
    LOL?! Dude, my record is 27

Nice record, mine is 58 ;)

Sorry, just seems atrociously bad to me. If I was getting that kind of economy I'd be spending a fortune on fuel.

If I was getting that kind of economy I'd be spending a fortune on fuel.
    ...I do :D
    Costs me €10 a day to do 12 miles around Dublin though! cool.gif

When I get put on a job close to home it's sweet, I could get by on 30 quid for the week, generally it costs me about 60 (for mon-fri)

2300-2600rpm
    ...I do :D

When I get put on a job close to home it's sweet, I could get by on 30 quid for the week, generally it costs me about 60 (for mon-fri)

60 quid a week is a fortune?

I spend that in mine, I'm doing about 500 miles a week though ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭kerten

2900-3200rpm
    Around 2800 rpm in 2.0 cvt primera
    Exact 3500 rpm in e46 320i(2lt 6 pot)
    unknown in vitz 1.0 auto due to lack of tachometer:D

60 quid a week is a fortune?

I spend that in mine, I'm doing about 500 miles a week though ;)

That's my Mon-Fri petrol cost. Weekend will be between 40-60

Sorry for going OT!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

2000-2300rpm
    6 speed 2.2 diesel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

2,490 ish. In 5th in a 1.9 Octavia.

2600-2900rpm
    kerten wrote: »
    Exact 3500 rpm in e46 320i(2lt 6 pot)...............

Seems a tad high, can't remember what the e34 520i did tbh, might have posted that in a similar thread though...... mmmm to search or not to search..

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=65670053

3500rpm !!!!
    That was a 1993 e34 though me thinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

2300-2600rpm
    At 120km/h it's around 2,000. Citroën C4 1.6 HDi 110bhp in 6th gear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

2300-2600rpm
    2050ish if I recall in 5th, 2.8l.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭matt70iu

3200-3500rpm
    About 3000rpm 1.8t petrol golf (5 speed)

2300-2600rpm
    matt70iu wrote: »
    About 3000rpm 1.8t patrol golf (5 speed)

Nissan? :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 566 ✭✭✭Greyfoot

3200-3500rpm
    err if memory serves around 6700rpm (redline) in 3rd, somewhere along 4k in 4th and bit less than 3k in 5th.

E36 325i...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

3900rpm and above
    3600RPM - 156SW 1.8TS