Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What shows have you given up on?

• 28-11-2011 11:44am

Basically as the title suggests - what TV shows have you given up on and removed from your viewing schedule?

For me they are:

Supernatural - I've been rewatching the early seasons after buying the boxsets of Seasons 1 through 3, and it's insane how terrible the latest season is in comparison to it. Something that really bugs me now is the constant over acting.

Dexter - the last season of Dexter, with Lumen, was an absolute chore to get through. This is season is leaning the same way.

The Office - Oh how I miss Michael Scott.

Walking Dead - well, I somewhat gave up on this midway through Season 1, but thought Season 2 may have improved and just gave up after the first two episodes.

Community - while it's still pretty funny, it seems like it could now be shelved after they've put on a forced hiatus, with 30 Rock taking over their timeslot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

Glee - The first few episodes were genuinely good. Then, instead of parodying High School Musical, it became High School Musical. Disappointing.

V - I have heard it picks up in Season 2, but I was bored to tears in Season 1. May come back to this.

30 Rock - Started brilliantly but just lost some of its charm as the seasons progressed.

Can't think of any more right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭Mikosyko

The Simpsons

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Fringe - Season 4 was just an abrupt plot twist too far for me. What the writers did amounted to a sci-fi version of "it was all a dream" and a lazy attempt to reset the narrative. To see character arcs & emotional beats simply disappear made me drop the show after episode 1.

The Walking Dead - yesterday's episode was the last before the mid-season break & I can honestly say I won't be back. The show lurched from from one non-entity of an episode to the next. No budget, no drama, no impetus, no audience from me any longer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

walking dead: Brilliant opener but got so bad as the series wore on that I gave up

Thinking of packing in Dexter too but I love the early stuff so much I'll probably stick with it out of some kind of loyalty

Terra Nova (Sky 1)
    The Cafe (Sky 1)
    The Prisoner (Skyfy)

All yawn fests!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭Otacon

pixelburp wrote: »
    Fringe

You should pick it back up.
    Peter is back and they seem to be getting into the nity-gritty now of what exactly happened.
    pixelburp wrote: »
    The Walking Dead

Wasn't last night's episode the last one Frank Darabont was involved in? Maybe the show will change after the break?

Though, personally, I hope it doesn't. I really like the pace and writing, except for the female characters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Bodhidharma

Game of Thrones
    Dexter
    Six Feet Under
    My Name is Earl

Gave up all of them but will pick them back up, except Dexter which I just dont like at all

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Otacon wrote: »
    You should pick it back up.
    Peter is back and they seem to be getting into the nity-gritty now of what exactly happened.

Ah yeah I'm aware that it happened, and I knew it would, but I don't care for the show now. I enjoyed 3 seasons watching the characters grow and for the writers to then arbitrarily reset everything so they could stretch out another 22 episode season was cheap.

Otacon wrote: »
    Wasn't last night's episode the last one Frank Darabont was involved in? Maybe the show will change after the break?

Though, personally, I hope it doesn't. I really like the pace and writing, except for the female characters.

Perhaps, I'm not sure. I'll keep an eye on the show & its feedback, but I won't be watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭tjc28

Of shows that are still going I've given up on Community, Sons of Anarchy and the Simpsons.
    Previously I gave up on Heroes and Scrubs amongst others.
    I haven't started season 2 of the Walking Dead and other comments here have me worried that it'll be added to shows i quit while still in production.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,595 ✭✭✭Giruilla

The Walking Dead - Its so obvious the budget was massively cut. It seems like series 2 was a bit of an experiment to see if audiencies would continue to watch the show whilst they stretched out as many episodes as they could on a tiny budget rather than compact them into lesser pacier but pricier episodes. Obviously more episodes equals more money for the producers. I'd hoped people see this and stop watching to show they won't tolerate this, but that doesn't seem to be the case.

The Office - What the heck is going on in the current series?? Did they fire the entire writing staff or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭pauldoo

Boardwalk empire-nothing happens, waiting for it to kick off, and it never does, stopped after season 1, i hear season 2 is along the same lines.

Gave up on dexter after about season 4/5, the one with the trinity killer, was getting farily old by then, the first couple of seasons were great, especially the one with dokes

also gave up on simpsons, scrubs, family guy, should have stopped making them years ago

pauldoo wrote: »
    Boardwalk empire-nothing happens, waiting for it to kick off, and it never does, stopped after season 1, i hear season 2 is along the same lines.

What do you mean, like an all out mob war or something? Season 2 is a lot lot pacier than season 1.

Personally I'm gripped by almost every single scene in the show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Temaz

Given up on Boardwalk Empire and The Walking Dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

Chuck. I loved it for the first season, got bored toward the end of the second season but fell back in love with it after a great season finale. Enjoyed some of the third season but started getting bored again. Gave up part way through the 4th season when I realised I had several episodes to watch but no inclination to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Walking Dead - Just gave up half way through the last episode. I'm only getting frustrated and shouting at the tv! :pac:

Boardwalk Empire - Didn't actually give this much time, only a few episodes, but I watched them back to back and didn't like it. I've never liked mob-style stuff anyway.

Bones - Loved the quirkiness of this, and I was a sucker for the will they/won't they, but with this season, it's like
    they've skipped that whole tension and gone straight to barefoot and pregnant
    . No thanks.

Chuck - Saw enough, it's boring now.

Dexter - Watched the Lumen series, but not looking forward to investing in yet another one unless they do something really wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

Supernatural - I've been rewatching the early seasons after buying the boxsets of Seasons 1 through 3, and it's insane how terrible the latest season is in comparison to it. Something that really bugs me now is the constant over acting.

Yes, couldn't agree more with this. I absolutely flew through the first three seasons of Supernatural. Sure, in the beginning it was formulaic and very "monster of the week" but I really enjoyed it. After that I started to lose interest a little, which is a shame because I do usually like the demonic/evangelistic ideas. I've tried on multiple occasions to get back into it, I've watched the season finale of last season and the season premiere of this season on three separate occasions now and it's just not happening.

Other shows I've given up on are Gossip Girl (it was always terrible, granted, but now I'm really just not bothered), Glee (hasn't been much use since the first half of the first season) and Terra Nova (it's just HORRIBLE, though I have been watching an episode or two with boyf just so we can rip the piss out of it).

I'm behind on House, The Mentalist, Dexter and The Walking Dead, but only by a couple of episodes and am not ready to give up on them yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

For anyone who has given up on the walking dead please watch season 2 episode 7 !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭pauldoo

Giruilla wrote: »
    What do you mean, like an all out mob war or something? Season 2 is a lot lot pacier than season 1.

Personally I'm gripped by almost every single scene in the show.

A mob more would have been good, or someone making a move on nucky, i found it moved at a very slow pace and was painful enough to watch, i was warned before i watched it that it was slow moving, but stuck it out till the end anyway, sorry i did

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭nisior

My tastes have changed lately so within the past year I've given up on Glee, Gossip Girl, 90210, Grey's Anatomy and Jersey Shore (don't judge me ;) ).

I hope people stick with Community, the beginning of this season was a bit messy but Remedial Chaos Theory and Horror Fiction in Seven Spooky Steps, I think, are amazing and the more you watch them the more you notice.

Can't wait for Mad Men to return..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Well there's shows I have watched for a long time that have soured recently:

30 Rock, the US Office, the Simpsons (well, it turned pants many years ago, as I'm sure everyone will agree), Family Guy, South Park all started out great, but recently have gone pretty poor.

I haven't fully given up on Boardwalk Empire, but never bothered with season 2, I might give it a go sometime soon, same with Treme. There was nothing at the end of the first season of each of these that made me want to see more.

Then there's the shows that I tried to watch, but could never get into: Sons of Anarchy, True Blood, Mad Men and Dexter all lasted about 7 or 8 eipsodes before I decided that I just didn't like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭nisior

30 Rock, the US Office, the Simpsons (well, it turned pants many years ago, as I'm sure everyone will agree), Family Guy, South Park all started out great, but recently have gone pretty poor. .

Ah forgot about these actually. Gave up on all 3 in maybe 2009ish? They used to be must-watch for me but became a chore to watch in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

nuxxx wrote: »
    For anyone who has given up on the walking dead please watch season 2 episode 7 !

I've given it long enough, but my boyfriend is still watching it, so I'll probably get a synopsis from him, whether I ask for it or not. :pac: Anyway if
    Sophia is in the barn, or something completely predictable like that, which took WAY too many episode to reveal
    I'll feel justified in giving up! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Home and Away.

When Ailsa sees Bobby come through the fridge Terminator 2 style.

A mob more would have been good, or someone making a move on nucky, i found it moved at a very slow pace and was painful enough to watch, i was warned before i watched it that it was slow moving, but stuck it out till the end anyway, sorry i did

I'd seriously recommend you to watch series 2 so because the pace and plot development is a lot faster. But if in general you don't like the long scenes and enjoy the dialogue then maybe you wouldn't find much of a change.

nuxxx wrote: »

It was inevitable that a good zombie episode was going to come eventually, but does one episode justify sticking with the show for a whole series to get to it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,591 ✭✭✭STIG83

The Mentalist
    The Simpsons
    Grey's Anatomy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

Ringer - it's just bad, the acting and writing is beyond woeful....it's plotys are worse then a daytime soap, SMG acting is dreadful, the only half decent character is Zoey Deutch....and she plays a teen drama queen el bitch.

Jaxxy wrote: »
    Yes, couldn't agree more with this. I absolutely flew through the first three seasons of Supernatural. Sure, in the beginning it was formulaic and very "monster of the week" but I really enjoyed it. After that I started to lose interest a little, which is a shame because I do usually like the demonic/evangelistic ideas. I've tried on multiple occasions to get back into it, I've watched the season finale of last season and the season premiere of this season on three separate occasions now and it's just not happening.

Other shows I've given up on are Gossip Girl (it was always terrible, granted, but now I'm really just not bothered), Glee (hasn't been much use since the first half of the first season) and Terra Nova (it's just HORRIBLE, though I have been watching an episode or two with boyf just so we can rip the piss out of it).

I'm behind on House, The Mentalist, Dexter and The Walking Dead, but only by a couple of episodes and am not ready to give up on them yet.

:eek: i'm shocked Jaxxy....i'd thought you were a loyal UES come what may :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Pretty much given up on Dexter this season. Watched the first episode and haven't felt much need to watch any more of it.

:eek: i'm shocked Jaxxy....i'd thought you were a loyal UES come what may :(

To be honest I'd planned on giving up on it after the last season, but the finale sneakily lured me back in... And Liz Hurley, cuz I like Liz Hurley. But after the first couple of episodes I stopped downloading them and I haven't missed it at all!

Sacrilege, I know. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭du Maurier

Yeah, I agree. I'm waiting on the last two episodes in the second series and it was painful enough to get that - the characters are way too ponderous and laconic, and loses the momentum for viewers. When there is a dynamism and a bit of pace it's too far and few between.

Plus Kelly McDonald is annoying the head off me with her simpering face - I didn't think she could actually up the simpering to another level in Series 2. I sigh when she's on screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

This year I've dropped a lot, due to declining quality and because I value my time.

Supernatural, Dexter and Bones have been the long-term shows dropped from my schedule, although I could see myself going back to any of them during the summer months... 2 of my best friends have both recently gotten in to Supernatural and I've been watching a lot of early episodes with them, so maybe when they catch-up to season 7, I could join back in, but at the moment its just not doing it for me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭fiacha

Supernatural - Jared Padalecki can't act and I couldn't sit through any more of his cockerspaniel like head tilting. (phew, feels good to get that off my chest)

The Walking Dead - The only thing slower than the Zombies at this stage is the pace of the show. I read a good bit of the graphic novels over the summer, so my expectations for the show are probably a little too high.

For those of you have given up on Sons Of Anarchy this season, things have certainly picked up action wise. I think it's still worth hanging in to the end.

Boardwalk Empire is still enjoyable. Plenty happening in it at the moment.

^ tis interesting all the same shows getting mentioned.......?

fiacha wrote: »
    Supernatural - Jared Padalecki can't act and I couldn't sit through any more of his cockerspaniel like head tilting. (phew, feels good to get that off my chest)

Haha! That's brilliant.

He has this constant pained expression on his face, like he's constipated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Lifes Too Short, Ricky Gervais needs to go away for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭djkeogh

I'm loving Boardwalk Season 2 and surprised at the hate for it here. One of the best shows on telly in my book.

I'm 2 episodes into Walking Dead Season 2 and while it's slow I'm still enjoying it.

True Blood has been middling to fair with the odd stand out episode that keeps you coming back for more but it needs to get alot better in the next season. I really should have dropped this a few seasons back

Sons Of Anarchy season 3 was so dull it has completely turned me off watching another one.

Blue Bloods was one I did quit after the first 3 eps. just didn't see it going anywhere and after enjoying The Wire and The Shield over the last few years its hard to watch such an inferior cop drama.

Dexter is getting a bit samey now as well and needs to be shaken up alot. Some of the side plots are just so boring in it at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,649 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

To be honest,I'm a take it or leave it gal.
    Used to watch Grey's Anatomy and Desperate Housewives- but got fed up and didn't care whether or not I saw them again.
    Watch no soaps,haven't done in a decade,I'd say.There are lots of shows I think I'd probably enjoy, but don't have the Sky options and couldn't afford them eitherways.
    Presently enjoying Love/Hate, but if I've something else on/to do- I guess I'd survive without watching it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Gave up on dexter after about season 4/5, the one with the trinity killer, was getting farily old by then, the first couple of seasons were great, especially the one with dokes

also gave up on simpsons, scrubs, family guy, should have stopped making them years ago
    Family Guy did have some bad seasons but it's actually picked up a bit lately.

Gave up on Downton Abbey, it's pretty clear that the writer has no real idea what way the plotlines are going or what the point of any of them are, there are too many principals and too many events that are just forgotten about for no reason; not to mention how odd it is that the Crawleys virtually never interact with anyone beyond their staff - do none of them have friends?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭floutingmaxims

Glee - I just realised how terrible it is. Used to love it, then i started fast forwarding bits when i watched it online and now i don't watch it at all.

Supernatural - I've kinda lost interest in this as well and i was a HUGE fan. I bought the magazines. I even bought John Winchesters Journal! I still watch it online sometimes but i'm not following it as religiously as I used to.

Misfits - I still like it just not as much as the previous seasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Dexter - have watched all the episodes to date and it's so boring I couldn't actually tell you what's happened so far.

Boardwalk Empire - watched the first one and just thought 'meh'. Will go back to it when I get stuck though.

Sons of Anarchy - current season rubbish, which breaks my heart as I used to love it.

I watched a few episodes of both Terra Nova and Grimm, but will not be going back.

The Walking Dead - still really enjoying this actually. And I'm watching American Horror Story, which is awful, but entertaining awful.

All in all, pretty poor though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

Gave up on Breaking Bad after 2 episodes but thank god I went back, brilliant show.

Season 8 of Entourage was a horrible nightmare, how the mighty has fallen. Feck off Sloane and E, no one cares!

Given up on terra nova (crappy CGI does my head in) the Late Late Show (crappy Tubridy does my head in) and the Apprentice (crappy TV3 crappiness does my head in).

telekon wrote: »
    Gave up on Breaking Bad after 2 episodes but thank god I went back, brilliant show.

Season 8 of Entourage was a horrible nightmare, how the mighty has fallen. Feck off Sloane and E, no one cares!

Given up on terra nova (crappy CGI does my head in) the Late Late Show (crappy Tubridy does my head in) and the Apprentice (crappy TV3 crappiness does my head in).

Jaysus I'd forgotten about entourage, I watched it til the end, but my god the last season was a struggle!

I gave up on Homeland after the pilot....i hear great things about it, but i have to try reduce the amount of shows i watch. I also decided to dump Awkward today, had half a season to watch, decided i'd never get round to it so - deleted.

How I Met Your Mother - A great concept but sadly as the series progressed it just became less and less funny. Ted is perhaps the least exciting character on TV and his constantly shooting down the wacky plans of Marshall and Barney makes for rather dull. I'd much rather see what Marshall and Barney are getting up to rather than listen to Ted talk about his love life followed by a scene where Marshall and Barney tell about he wacky adventure they just had. The Ryan Reynolds film Definitely Maybe managed to condense the entire concept down into 90 entertaining minutes and had a central character who was interesting.

Bones - Just became rather dull and plodding with none of the shows early wit or imagination. I may go back to it at some stage but it's low down on my list of shows to watch.

30 Rock - Went from being mildly amusing to down right unfunny.

Chuck - first season was great fun but that sense of fun disappeared over time. I'll watch the odd episode here and there but it's became so formulaic that it's just boring at this stage.

Hung - This could have been something special, the premise is great but sadly the writers have never ventured beyond the initial set up. There's so much that they could do with the concept but week after week it's the same banal ideas told over and over again.

Anything Seth McFarlane - While never a big fan of any of his work I would watch them periodically but over the past few years they've gone from somewhat amusing to downright dreadful. I saw a full season of Family Guy and laughed a total of two times.

The Mentalist - Again a great idea but the central character is a selfish asshole who you really can't warm to. Psych covers similar ground but does so with a hell of a lot more with and imagination and has two central characters who are actually likeable.

Lie to Me - Much like the Mentalist an interesting premise but a central character whose a selfish dick. Hard to watch a show where the main character is so unlikeable. That and each weeks plot was striking similar, kinda felt like Scooby Doo at times.

Terra Nova - Only saw two episodes but the lack of dinosaurs and the many gaping plot holes put me right off. For a place which is supposedly so dangerous people do spend a lot of time wandering around outside the camp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,070 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

The Killing after it started taking the piss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

du Maurier wrote: »
    Yeah, I agree. I'm waiting on the last two episodes in the second series and it was painful enough to get that - the characters are way too ponderous and laconic, and loses the momentum for viewers. When there is a dynamism and a bit of pace it's too far and few between.

Plus Kelly McDonald is annoying the head off me with her simpering face - I didn't think she could actually up the simpering to another level in Series 2. I sigh when she's on screen.[/QUOTE]

I like Boardwalk Empire but Kelly McDonald wrecks my head in it- as you say the simpering 'i'm a simple irish lass done good' is getting very irritating. Poor casting imo.

Also watched series 1&2 of sons of anrachy and enjoyed it for the most part, but season 3 is utter utter ****e.
    The IRA storyline was so drawn out and completetly ludicrous. US bike gang arrive in Belfast; kill half the IRA / local motor bike gang and ride off without a scratch...wtf.

The role of the entire supporting cast seems to be entirely sort out whatever trivial issue Jax and Gemma (with her constant long face) have going on, Their own concerns/lives are irrevelant. Any other gang would have been told Gemma to fuk off yonks ago by its members regardless of her relationship with the boss.
    Plus the chief of police seems exist simply as an extension of the gang- every file of note and anything that happens regarding Samcro and the boys get the heads up in minutes, usually while they wait in front of the police station.

Also watched series 1&2 of sons of anrachy and enjoyed it for the most part, but season 3 is utter utter ****e.
    The IRA storyline was so drawn out and completetly ludicrous. US bike gang arrive in Belfast; kill half the IRA / local motor bike gang and ride off without a scratch...wtf.

The role of the entire supporting cast seems to be entirely sort out whatever trivial issue Jax and Gemma (with her constant long face) have going on, Their own concerns/lives are irrevelant. Any other gang would have been told Gemma to fuk off yonks ago by its members regardless of her relationship with the boss.
    Plus the chief of police seems exist simply as an extension of the gang- every file of note and anything that happens regarding Samcro and the boys get the heads up in minutes, usually while they wait in front of the police station.

Couldn't agree with you more, a good few lads in work are captivated by SOA, but I never saw the appeal. I found none of the characters in any way likeable or interesting. Very one dimensional characters with ridiculous plot lines to boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭DuckStab

Gave up on Fringe in season 1, it seemed to be doing a very bad impersonation of The X Files and I found Anna Torv to be little more than moveable scenery. I rather regret it now because I heard the show really picked up in season 2, but it never seems to be repeated anywhere and I'm not willing to buy the boxsets on a whim.

DuckStab wrote: »
    Gave up on Fringe in season 1, it seemed to be doing a very bad impersonation of The X Files and I found Anna Torv to be little more than moveable scenery. I rather regret it now because I heard the show really picked up in season 2, but it never seems to be repeated anywhere and I'm not willing to buy the boxsets on a whim.

Keep an eye out on play for Fringe, I got season one and two on Blu-Ray for something like 22 euro awhile back. That's 50 cent an episode or so and while I'm not a huge fan and I've yet to get into the series I know that it's money well spent as it will pass a few quite winter evenings.