If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Lads.

• 28-11-2011 12:19AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭

I've been seeing this everywhere on boards recently, but I have no idea what it means! 'Lads. No, it's lads. Actually it's Lads. :pac:' is it a one off thing or does it come from some tv show or something, like that 'chinese are a great bunch of lads' thing came from father ted? Like, what is it a reference to?

(Congrats in advance to whoever's witty page one post gets thanked an inordinate amount of times.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Thumbs up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Ah lads. Come on now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭AhSureTisGrand

:confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,762 ✭✭✭✭stupidusername

wut?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Biscuits16

A great bunch of lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Whatcha talkin bout Willis? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

*strokes lad*... :eek:

carry on... :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

"Alright lads we're the guards"

"Alright guards we're the lads"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,294 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

It's a reference to a gay porn movie, so I'm told, i.e. a great bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,707 ✭✭✭stimpson

He gets his lad out. And so forth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

♫♫ Get your lad out for the girls ♫♫

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Never seen it nowhere guvnor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

I'm not being funny, but are your a fordiner? I can't understand how someone who lives in Dublin could be confused as to the meaning of the terms "lads."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

S'up lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,355 ✭✭✭amacca

Fbjm wrote: »

(Congrats in advance to whoever's witty page one post gets thanked an inordinate amount of times.)

quit your ironic thanks whoring!

anyway: Lads = plural of Lad.......Lad is often used to refer to a boy or a young man as a form of address

great bunch of lads is reference to that fr ted episode

the lads = group of lads you hanfg around with

cmon now lads = cmon people

etc

whats not to understand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

efb wrote: »
    S'up lads!

S'up Santa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

No I know what the term lads means, but people just randomly saying it. Saw it in C&H there today, saw it in the LC forum a little while back etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,635 ✭✭✭xsiborg

Kiera wrote: »

always wondered, how DO you do the music notes thingy? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭Wetai

S'up lads!
    S'up San-
    chucken1 wrote: »
    S'up lads!
    S'up Santa

Aww :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

ypu cant be doin' that lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

xsiborg wrote: »

I make music with my lad all the time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭boomkatalog

If you just say 'lads' on its own, its the same as how's the goin lads. The way at home you'd say 'well', meanin 'are ye well?'.

No I know what the term lads means, but people just randomly saying it. Saw it in C&H there today, saw it in the LC forum a little while back etc.

Its a bit like people saying random things randomly..like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,355 ✭✭✭amacca

if people randomly say lads then perhaps they have some sort of psychological issues or problems

eg: would you like ketchup? --- eh yes oh wait eh no...eh lads?

did you hear that aunty mavis died tragically in a spelunking accident? ----lads lads lads

get your ass off my face! ---- lads?

so all I know is that there were rumours of lads!

sorry did you say nads....no I said lads!

Q: why did the chicken cross the road? A: Lads

lady da!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

You get special keyboard powers when you get over 25k posts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

chucken1 wrote: »
    S'up Santa

Wanna sit on my knee?;)

http://fsymbols.com/computer/music-note/

I've no idea how :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

Kiera wrote: »