Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A case of double standards

• 25-11-2011 8:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

If a woman slaps a man across the face in a pub, her name doesn't get tarnished and people generally forget about it.

Yet if a man slaps a woman in the face, in the exact same context and situation(in a pub), his name is tarnished and he is branded a woman beater by many.

How is this fair? It's a double standard in society that needs to be stamped out IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Yeah! Lets go attack all the women! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

because its how life is, women love equality only when it suits them , sure its grand anyway, instead of slapping a woman just keep calling her fat and ugly , does far worse damage than any slap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

you got bitch slapped

and everyone says to man the feck up

do I win a goldfish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Jeysus, the amount of times ive been slapped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

Caoimhín wrote: »
    Jeysus, the amount of times ive been slapped.

On the arse doesn't count

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭gerryo777

This 'woman' you speak of sounds like a right slapper.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Which kinda slap we talkin about here OP ...the ordinary palm slap or the Ike Turner '' muddafugffin'' special ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,943 ✭✭✭wonderfulname

because its how life is, women love equality only when it suits them

I'm a woman, I like real equality, the reason behind women hitting men being seen as less of a big deal is nothing to do with feminism, it's because you guys keep insisting it doesn't matter because you're so hard, so the opposite in fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭Kasabian

A man who resorts to physical abuse of a woman is not a man in my book.

Even a slap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Typh

Ominous feeling that this thread will implode... Maybe it'll just slip by and fade into obscurity...
    What's with the constant ****ing gender binary threads though? So many people making male-female interaction into a case of 'Know thy enemy.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Because as soon as she slaps him, she'll try to slap him again, he'll grab her by the wrist, they'll lock eyes and then passionately kiss. It's the law.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

A few digs never hurt anyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Come on, women are angels who would never inflict injury on another person willingly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

Latchy wrote: »
    Which kinda slap we talkin about here OP ...the ordinary palm slap or the Ike Turner '' muddafugffin'' special ?

with a big fish

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Kasabian wrote: »

Even a slap.

Yeah. He must be a woman

Even a slap.

how would you feel about a woman hitting a man, is it as scummy , worse because the man cant fight back or is it 'not as bad'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭willmunny1990

Even a slap.

This is typical of the type of attitude that needs to change.

I suppose a woman isn't a woman anymore because she slapped a man:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

If a woman slaps a man across the face in a pub, her name doesn't get tarnished and people generally forget about it.

Yet if a man slaps a woman in the face, in the exact same context and situation(in a pub), his name is tarnished and he is branded a woman beater by many.

How is this fair? It's a double standard in society that needs to be stamped out IMO.

If a man gets a slap in the pub from a woman, he probably deserves it, he probably hasn't taken no for an answer or has touched her up or is just being a wanker in general.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

A real man would use his fists ;).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Tell everyone she was a slapper :/

If a man gets a slap in the pub from a woman, he probably deserves it, he probably hasn't taken no for an answer or has touched her up or is just being a wanker in general.

no, thats not true at all, and this is why the double standard continues, ive seen men being slapped over looking in the direction of other girls, just trying to chat a girl up or having opinions that women disagreed with

nobody should be slapping anybody , and saying 'he probably deserved it' is the same as saying to a rape victim ' sure you were probably leading him on'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Black Cow

Why do you think that's a double standard? It's only a double standard if both examples you used are equal; they're not.
    Men are stronger than women and more physically dominant - everyone knows this, including you and your faux naïf query. If I got slapped by a woman, it would sting but probably wouldn't hurt much. If I slapped a woman it would hurt her considerably. Obviously it depends on the force of the slap - but lets just base it on 70% of strength, there's a considerable difference in the results. Therefore, not a double standard.

Nice try at a 'deep' topic though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Wow OP that is such an insightful observation that isn't brought up every few days here.
    All women agree with this double standard by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

There was actually quite a good article about this on thejournal.ie a few days ago - http://www.thejournal.ie/readme/column-our-culture-glorifies-domestic-violence-%E2%80%93-from-women-that-is/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 770 ✭✭✭sgb

If a woman slaps a man across the face in a pub,

I've never seen this happen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

How is this fair?
    It isn't. Nobody should be attacking/slapping/groping anyone. It all needs to stop. Put your hand up folks if you think it's ok for women to slap/beat/abuse/humiliate men. I don't. Pretty sure we're going to be on the same side of the fence there. It won't stop the inevitable (verbal) gender bashing on this thread though...go on After Hours, surprise me!

because its how life is, women love equality only when it suits them

I'm a woman, I like real equality, the reason behind women hitting men being seen as less of a big deal is nothing to do with feminism.
    trying to reason with a woman-hater is futile...

Black Cow wrote: »
    Why do you think that's a double standard? It's only a double standard if both examples you used are equal; they're not.
    Men are stronger than women and more physically dominant - everyone knows this, including you and your faux naïf query. If I got slapped by a woman, it would sting but probably wouldn't hurt much. If I slapped a woman it would hurt her considerably. Obviously it depends on the force of the slap - but lets just base it on 70% of strength, there's a considerable difference in the results. Therefore, not a double standard.

Nice try at a 'deep' topic though.

To satisfy your brain, lets say both slaps were equally powerful:rolleyes:

how would you feel about a woman hitting a man, is it as scummy , worse because the man cant fight back or is it 'not as bad'

I find it hilarious. Blokes deserved to get slapped now and again. I was once in a bar where a 6ft bloke reacted to getting a slap off a tiny girl by punching her in the face. He got an awful hiding off what looked like every bloke in the bar.

Most decent blokes don't take kindly to physical abuse of the fairer sex.

I hate violence of any kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

A woman has a lot of sexual partners and she is a slut and disgusting.

A man has a lot of sexual partners and he is a stud and cool.

Nice case of double standards there.

sgb wrote: »
    If a woman slaps a man across the face in a pub,

I've never seen this happen
    To be fair, it does happen in the Rovers Return/Queen Vic/Woolpack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

How the hell is a muthafukken pimp sposed to keep his bitches in line without the odd slap* ffs?

*I do not advocate the initiation of force against anyone FWIW.

EGAR wrote: »

Go start a thread about it then, this is a different double standard I'm bringing to light here:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I hate violence of any kind.

I don't believe you.
    I find it hilarious.

This is typical of the type of attitude that needs to change.

I suppose a woman isn't a woman anymore because she slapped a man:rolleyes:

I am guessing you are claiming the right of a man to slap a woman.

How is this fair?
    It isn't. Nobody should be attacking/slapping/groping anyone. It all needs to stop. Put your hand up folks if you think it's ok for women to slap/beat/abuse/humiliate men. I don't. Pretty sure we're going to be on the same side of the fence there. It won't stop the inevitable (verbal) gender bashing on this thread though...go on After Hours, surprise me!
    Amen. The desperation to find women agreeing with mistreatment of men on these threads is quite priceless. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Dudess wrote: »
    sgb wrote: »
    To be fair, it does happen in the Rovers Return/Queen Vic/Woolpack.

True but isisn't a fair reflection of real life (the soaps ..not the slaps )

another double standard

this is banned for being sexist : http://www.guardian.co.uk/fashion/fashion-blog/2011/sep/14/topman-sexist-t-shirts

but the endless lines of womens tshirts slagging men are a-ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

because its how life is, women love equality only when it suits them , sure its grand anyway, instead of slapping a woman just keep calling her fat and ugly , does far worse damage than any slap

You seem to know what you're talking about....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

The threads on this forum are getting shíttter and shítter..

I am guessing you are claiming the right of a man to slap a woman.

No, I am claiming the right to be treated equally.

Blokes deserved to get slapped now and again.

i really hope your trollin there son

pconn062 wrote: »
    The threads on this forum are getting shíttter and shítter..

Maybe you should unsubscribe from AH then or even better close your account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

EGAR wrote: »

“If a key can open a bunch of locks, it’s viewed as a master key and is awesome. But if a lock is opened by many of different keys, well that’s a pretty ****ty lock"

You seem to know what you're talking about....

the auld confidence destroyer works wonders, say it correctly and bring a woman to tears in 30 seconds, even if all the lads in the pub overhear you they wont give a shít , however slap her and theyll be over to dig you in the face

i really hope your trollin there son

The sad thing about it is, he's not. It's indicative of the views of many in society.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭Rocky_Dennis

no, thats not true at all, and this is why the double standard continues, ive seen men being slapped over looking in the direction of other girls, just trying to chat a girl up or having opinions that women disagreed with

nobody should be slapping anybody , and saying 'he probably deserved it' is the same as saying to a rape victim ' sure you were probably leading him on'

That's a bit extreme.

Any man I have seen being slapped by a woman, was making unwanted advances and wouldn't take no for an answer. Thank god I haven't seen it too often.

While I do agree that nobody should be slapping anyone, some people need a slap, to get the point across.

You are entitled to equality but in my standards a bloke slapping a girl is not equal to a girl slapping a bloke.

No more than an adult slapping a child for misbehaving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

Go start a thread about it then, this is a different double standard I'm bringing to light here:rolleyes:

I rest my case. Different double standard indeed :rolleyes:.