Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Gentlemens Gift Idea Stocking

• 24-11-2011 4:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭

Right it may be too early for some, however, there may be a few like myself who don't get shopping done during the week due to work and may need to get the Christmas shopping out of the way in the next weekend or two as a result.

Basically the idea is to post up ideas of what you would like for Christmas, what you're thinking of getting for brothers, sisters, parents, grandparents etc - seeing what others are getting for people who may be difficult to buy for such as grandparents might inspire you.

*Mods if this isn't the place for my bad, take 'er down.

So to start off:

Hoping to get a Smartphone like a HTC sensation or Galaxy SII for myself. Maybe a good xbox game too like Forza 4

Thinking of getting the brother a L'Oreal for men gift set

Golfing shoes for my father and haven't had any ideas for mother & grandmother as yet so open to recommendations :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,956 ✭✭✭Doc Ruby

Get me a Sea Eagle 124smb Ultimate package inflatable boat:

124SMBK_U.jpg

Orrrr, one of those briefcase solar chargers. Or maybe a copy of the good book:

goodbook-300x300.jpg

Praise Jesus.

Failing that a pocket fishing rod will do the trickpi_395.jpeg

vampire hunting kit

1980_vampire_hunting_kit_1_by_happystabby-d3ajskc.jpg

One of those natty little cast iron teapot warmers

mecairtewa.jpg

And if all else fails Michelle Rodriguez

Michele%20RodriguezSwat400x400.jpg

Yes I know insanely hot Latina actresses are for life, not just for Christmas, I'll make adjustments. Apologies if this isn't the "buy Doc a pressie" thread, it should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Sorry Paulie - just couldn't help myself.
    LKjmn.jpg

Back on topic.....

I'm asking for the nike+ setup for running with. The one I want is about 50 quid I reckon. Ive seen it in action and it's da bomb.

As far as everyone else is concerned, we're going practical in my family this year. Brother is getting some cycling stuff.....haven't gotten a straight answer from anybody else yet.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Anything Sherlock Holmes / Knight Rider / Airwolf / martial arts movies.

I'll be more then happy.

I'm cool enough with trinkets the give a bit of a giggle. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

Me - same things Ive gotten for the last 5 years - aftershave,socks and jocks.

Dad - probably a good outdoor jacket or a couple of decent shirt and tie combos.

Mum - Vouchers or money.

Siblings - Nada.We decided a couple of years ago that it was pointless buying eachother gifts,kinda like robbing Peter to pay Paul job.Feck that.

Nobody else to buy for,Grandparents are long dead and Im single.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I only want one thing and I'll be buying it myself. :pac: None of the mates I've had over the years bothered with this. I was saying to someone the other night I wanted something, he said he'd get it and he'd tell me what he wants. Then we realised he'd need my credit card to buy it so it'd all be a bit pointless. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭LeeHoffmann

I like to get/give experience gifts - things the person can do rather than hold: theatre tickets, flying lessons, bungee jump. For anyone who's into poker, a personalised pack of playing cards is a good stocking filler (gave this to someone once - he thought it was great). If you like to take the piss out of your friends, there's the funky t-shirt jumpers or t-shirt printing company in the Ilac centre in Dublin.

If anyone knows a Leinster rugby fan, Leinster are playing Connacht away on New Years Day. Leinster Rugby are organising a bus to bring fans there and back that only costs €20.

I don't know if these suggestions will meet with tgc approval. Hope this thread properly kicks off - always find men tricky to buy presents for. Women are easy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

Me - same things Ive gotten for the last 5 years - aftershave,socks and jocks.

Dad - probably a good outdoor jacket or a couple of decent shirt and tie combos.

Mum - Vouchers or money.

Siblings - Nada.We decided a couple of years ago that it was pointless buying eachother gifts,kinda like robbing Peter to pay Paul job.Feck that.

Nobody else to buy for,Grandparents are long dead and Im single.

You can buy me something if it will make you feel better :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Looked into tickets to a munster game for my dad and brother in Cork - not the same as Thomond but figured they could come up and stay with me, have a few pints after but they're not playing until April in Cork so not sure about it.

My mam's hard to buy for - she loves home stuff, and furnishings etc. but it's difficult to buy her something that would (a) be in her taste and (b) not be insulting to a mother - buying a woman stuff for the kitchen can sometimes go badly!! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Nephew a drum kit :D Yes Im the Unkle all parents fear :)

MAm. I dunno yet think Ill try persuade my dad and bro to pool our money together and get her a new tv :)

My dad, thinking maybe he needs a knew camera bag...

No girl friend so i uses il buy my self a Canon 5D mk 2 I've been saving since the start of the summer for one ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Me: The Killing Series 1 & 2 (if nobody buys me this, there may be some actual killing :pac:) or any other TV series that I have not yet watched (Breaking Bad etc). If anybody out there feels very generous, I wouldn't mind a Macbook either :pac:. Books/plays are always welcome. I'd really like a Complete Arthur Miller collection for example. Or better still, tickets to a play. All sorts of fiction and non-fiction I'd read too. Just no pseudo science or pop-psychology.

Sisters: One of them wants Bridesmaids on DVD. Peter Marks vouchers.

Parents: What do you buy a 60 year old woman or 72 year old man with no interests and no hobbies :P I think a voucher for a meal out between us will have to do.

If I had a girlfriend (:(), I'd be thinking along the lines of accessories for make up (Bobbi Brown set of brushes for example), a day at the spa etc. If I got something like a spa trip, I'd always make sure to have something tangible as well that she could open up on the day. Plus there are always the usual stereotypical presents where a knowledge of the girl would come in handy (i.e would the idea of lingerie make her day or make her vomit).

a day at the spa
    that would be my perfect present. :D

I tell people to make a donation to a charity of their choice in my name (it's not selfless - I just don't need more stuff and can't/don't find the extra cash to donate so it's win-win) but it's only ever happened once. I guess I'll be gifted some driving lessons this year and maybe a new phone - both would be useful

that would be my perfect present. :D

I always know exactly what the people want when I don't actually have to buy presents for them:pac:

I'll throw in these ideas as well:

Downton Abbey Series 1 & 2

Touchscreen gloves (look them up!)

Cookery Course

You can get touchscreen gloves for €2/3 in Pennys atm man

I'm sure the quality isn't great but still worth taking a look at :)

PaulieC wrote: »
    You can get touchscreen gloves for €2/3 in Pennys atm man

I'm sure the quality isn't great but still worth taking a look at :)

They aren't for me, thinking of things other people might want. Might be a handy stocking filler I guess.

I HATE the phone I was recently given. I want buttons back!!

Stop living in the past maaaaaaan :pac:

PaulieC wrote: »
    Stop living in the past maaaaaaan :pac:

Touch screens suck. If anybody buys anybody a touch screen phone as a gift, I will shun them :P

Downton Abbey Series 1 & 2
    Touchscreen gloves (look them up!)
    Cookery Course
    yeah I'd like all them...you are good at this :D
    I was given a balaclava last Christmas (for the cold) - that was a great present.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Touch screens suck. If anybody buys anybody a touch screen phone as a gift, I will shun them :P

I've got rather large and defined thumbs and i can use one... i love them, they do stuff :cool:

I was given a balaclava last Christmas (for the cold) - that was a great present.

I was given a pillow :eek:

A funky balaclava is THE accessory about town for the discerning gentleman or lady :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

For the Mrs - bringing her shopping - usual list, clothes, shoes, perfume, more shoes etc....she deserves it all and more.

For my 3 year old daughter Santa is taking care of all that - Bicycle, Lego Set, Kid's games like Pig Goes Pop

For myself - I'm not much of a clothes horse but the Mrs got me a very nice coat. I'm a gadget man but this coat is the biz. Might pick myself up a PSP in the January sales if there's any euros left (unlikely)

For Godson - Lego Kit, you can't go wrong

For everyone else - Thankfully we're doing the Kris Kringle thingy...

I was given a pillow

A funky balaclava is THE accessory about town for the discerning gentleman or lady
    yep, but I do get some odd looks when I wear it! A pillow's a brave present...people can be very picky about where they lay their head

Bump time! Lots of gift guides knocking around the place. This is from The Observer.
    Robert McCrum: Books editor

· The Tynan Diaries by Kenneth Tynan, audiocassette narrated by Simon Callow (£9.99, Bloomsbury). A brilliantly narrated memoir of life after The Observer

· A copy of Ian McEwan's Atonement (£16.99, Jonathan Cape). The novel of the year

· A subscription to Granta. Still the coolest magazine to have on your coffee table. £24.99

· A Mont Blanc pen. Large, black, ultra-chic writing tool which might improve your prose. £279

· A bottle of Waterman's Encre Noir (black ink). Nothing blacker for the ultimate manuscript. £3.60 for 50ml

· An annual subscription to Arete. Eccentric Oxford literary magazine, ripe with mad but provocative essays, and so unlikely to survive it's highly collectable. £21

· A British Library volume. Adopt a book: choose a tome and your name and message will appear inside, while your donation supports conservation. From £15

· Roy Jenkins' biography of Churchill (£30, Macmillan). The biography of the year

Akin Ojumu: Screen editor

· Billy Wilder's Some Like It Hot (£100, Taschen). Lovingly compiled book with a copy of the original screenplay, exclusive photos and interviews

· The Ingmar Bergman Collection DVD (Tartan). Collection of nine films from the Swedish auteur, including The Seventh Seal. £19.99 each

· Cinema pass One for the frequent movie-goer. A UGC Cinemas pass allows you unlimited access to any screening at any of their 43 cinemas in the UK. £120

· The Man With The Golden Arm Soundtrack (Spectrum). Ground-breaking Elmer Bernstein jazz soundtrack to Frank Sinatra's grim cold-turkey movie. £6.99

· The Godfather Collection DVD (Paramount). Five-disc widescreen box-set boasts three hours of additional features. An offer you can't refuse. £59.99

· Time Out Film Guide 2002 (£14.99, Penguin). The best guide for cinephiles - 1,500 pages of lively and erudite opinion

· Sony VPL HS1 cinema projector State-of-the-art home entertainment system based on the old-fashioned experience. Projector and screen, £1,870

· Original film poster Buy a vintage poster such as American Gigolo; they look great and are a great investment. £20

Jeannette Hyde: Escape editor

· Issey Miyake Pleats Please Basic, straight, sleeveless dress in stretchy man-made fibre. Creases are part of its design, and if you have to wash it in a hotel sink, it dries in 15 minutes. £170

· Eurostar gift vouchers Return tickets to Paris or Brussels start at £79, and Lille, which is great for shopping, from £69

· Hip Hotel Budget (£18.95, Thames & Hudson) and Hip Hotel France (£18.95, Thames & Hudson ) by Herbert Ypma. Two of my favourite guidebooks this year

· Point It: Travellers' Language Kit by Dieter Gra. Little book with 70s kitsch pics of everyday objects, such as a plate of chips or a bottle of suncream, to which you can point and grunt. £3.99

· Samsonite by Starck The A4 version can be used as an ergonomic briefcase with rucksack straps, or you can undo a zip to concertina it out into an overnight option. £85

· Raymond Blanc cookery course A one-day course with overnight stay and seven-course Menu Gourmand meal is £400. Gift vouchers available

· Kenwood Discovery steam iron with fold down handle. Does the job as well as a normal iron and looks good, too. £14.99

· A Canon Ixus camera is the size of a cigarette packet and easy to keep hidden from view in places you might feel nervous about attracting thieves. APS from £68.89; digital from £400

Robin McKie: Science editor

· Projector barometer This alarm clock and weather station wakes you up with weather information displayed on your bedroom wall, so you don't even need to open the curtains before deciding to stay in bed. Science Museum, £99.99

· Wildlife Photographer of the Year Portfolio 11 A compilation from the Natural History Museum's annual exhibition of last year's best wildlife photographs. £25

· Chirpie the Robot The perfect family pet. It doesn't need a litter tray or a walk in the park, but it will dash about your house banging into things. It's even got a mind of its own, the manufacturers claim. Hmmm. Science Museum, £39.99

· The Blue Planet video set. Simply the best natural history series of recent years. £29.99

· Mapping the Deep The extraordinary story of ocean science by Robert Kunzig (£8.99, Sort of Books). If you liked The Blue Planet, then buy this. It's also the current Aventis Science Book of the year

· Hot Air Balloon About 6ft in diameter, the balloon can be launched over a fan heater or a barbecue. Just the thing to enliven a garden party. Science Museum, £12.99

· Chemistry 100 With over 100 experiments, this gives children (over 10) a chance to get some hands-on scientific experience. Science Museum, £29.99

· Glowing ice cubes. Just tap these plastic light cubes to switch them on and then drop them into your drink. You'll get a real glow: like whisky but re-usable. Science Museum, £15.99

Brian Oliver: Sports editor

· Nike Tiger Woods golf range including a golf shirt, £40, a 'Tiger fine tool cap', £12, a pack of 12 Tiger Woods golf balls, £42.99, and 50 Nike golf tees, £4.99

· Man Utd's Red Cafe pre-match hospitality package at Old Trafford. You get a reception drink, a three-course set lunch including a half-bottle of wine, a match programme and a ticket for the game. £99 or £115 - depending on the opposition

· Table tennis table Could prove somewhat unwieldy and difficult to wrap, but it includes two adult bats and two junior bats. Peter Jones, £399

· Hot Rides Although only 30 minutes in duration, you are driven around Silverstone at speeds of up to 145mph by a racing driver. £35

· Sports memorabilia on the web's eBay ranging from the sublime (signed Maradona shirt, £150, David Beckham signed England children's shirt, £40, signed picture of Michael Owen, £5) to the frankly ridiculous (Serena Williams doll, £20, signed Tiger Woods Wheaties box, £13, David Beckham Jaffa cakes, £4.50)

· Pool table For £39.95 you get a scaled-down table, 9.51cm by 51cm, which has the added advantage of detachable legs, enabling it to be easily stored away. For a more extravagant £1,395, you can have a full-size football table. Gadget shop

· Masterball Ideal for budding Glenn McGraths or Muttiah Muralitharan, designed to show how to grip the ball for spin or fast. Junior and senior sizes. £11

· Posh and Becks garden gnomes The ultimate garden decoration, with thrones. Callaghanstone, £27.50 each

Neil Spencer: Astrologer and music writer

· Miniature Fender Stratocaster For the air guitarist with everything comes this miniature Fender Stratocaster, a mere 9in high but still a thing of beauty. Baby Axe Company, £20

· Heavier Than Heaven The biography of Kurt Cobain by Charles R Cross (£17.99, Hodder & Stoughton). The Nirvana singer remains icon of choice for the mosh-pit generation

· Homage to the King Between Takes: the Elvis Presley calendar 2002 Give someone a kingly New Year with snaps of El smouldering on-set but off-duty. Virgin. £7.99

· Frank Sinatra's In The Wee Small Hours and Songs For Swinging Lovers. Rat Pack chic for Robbie Williams fans and nostalgic OAPs alike. This pair of classic albums from the mid-50s captures the Voice at his most heartbroken and exuberant. £7.99

· Kind of Blue: the Making of the Miles Davis Masterpiece by Ashley Kahn (£20, Granta). The best-selling, most influential jazz record ever, put under the microscope in a beautifully written volume

· The Clash: Westway To the World DVD (Sony Music Video). Documentary of the Last Gang In Town mixing acres of live footage, interviews, a photo-gallery and interactive tricks. £19.99

· The White Stripes White Blood Cells (XL Records). This Detroit duo and their scruffy but witty garage rock have become NME favourites and the toast of the campus. Of course, you've heard of them. £13.99

· Hear'Say Dolls Gives fans a chance to manipulate the music biz puppets for themselves. Hamleys. £4.99

What I really, really want: Five celebrities reveal all

John Pawson, designer

· Clarissa Berning Cube Vase and crystal platter, Dominic Berning Gallery. The hand-crafted vases are heavy lead crystal cubes that look as if they've been hewn from ice. Prices on request

Tara Palmer-Tomkinson, socialite

· Be A Bag. Put a favourite photo on to an Anya Hindmarch bag and support breast cancer care charity Lavender Trust at the same time. I did one for my mum with a picture of her dog, which had died, on it. Day tote bag, £145, and evening bag, £120

· Union Jack cushions. Fake of London has lots of cool ideas, from great cushions with a union jack on them, £150, to cashmere sweaters with a pit bull terrier on the back, £350

Trinny Woodall, TV presenter

· SpaceNK gift vouchers. My mother never gives herself any time, so the best gift I can give her is a massage, from £65. SpaceNK offers a wide range of treatments, from stone therapy, £75, to pregnancy massage, £55

· Wigglets dressing gown. Made from double-brushed cotton, but feels like cashmere - and it goes in the washing machine. A hint to my husband. £89

Tom Parker Bowles, food writer

· Membership of the Real Food Club. It costs £49 for the first year and gives you access to some of Britain's finest producers, a copy of Great British Food by Heather Hay French and a 25 per cent discount on your first order

Kelly Hoppen, designer

· Candles and cologne. Jo Malone has fragranced candles a foot in diameter in glass containers, £230. Bath oils are rarely given these days, but all the women I know love them, £18 (100ml)
    http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2001/nov/18/shopping

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

A sexy woman with one leg in that stocking and the other leg in another... mmm.

Though a nice pair of long, narrow dark brown boots (for wearing with a suit) would be just the ticket too.

Or the Game of Thrones DVD boxset (if it's out).

Or one of those fancy Nespresso machines.

Or a Plasma ball... HMV sell grand ones for €25, and they are insanely cool in the dark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,964 ✭✭✭ToniTuddle

The Mother: Big hanging photo frame which I'll fill with photos of her parents me and the brother and the niece and nephew. Stocking fillers: Novelty cute mug+coaster, sweets, favourite spray...think I have some other things but they are all wrapped and can't remember :pac:

The Brother: Loooooads of shower gels and sprays, last few months worth of photos of his kids have something else too but again can't remember as it's wrapped up long ago :o Oh plus gonna make a DVD of all the mini videos I have of the kids on my camera and phone.

Niece and Nephew: Big farm set complete with tractor and trailers and farmhouse,stable,horses,cows and other animals. Wooden peg puzzle. Sound story books, an abacus, doll with loads of bits and bobs. Big puzzle box with 10 different puzzles in it. Another puzzle which will be easier for the nephew, clothes and cute funny gloves plus funky PJs. Sticky catcher mits with a ball. Plastic bowling ball set. Plus extra stuff I can't think off!

Sooo much fun buying for kids :D

Friends: Can't say in case they see :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

I'd love one of these.

hmb023-haynes-combustion-engine.jpg

Link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,925 ✭✭✭Otis Driftwood

ToniTuddle wrote: »

Friends: Can't say in case they see :P

Dont worry Tuds,I can feign surprise when it arrive Christmas morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

Someone get me this! Or if ye all want to chip in a few quid and go splits on it, that's ok....

http://joelparko.com/freestyling/aquatic-rollerblades/

I am lucky in that the girlfriends and I long ago agreed to not bother with gifts. We buy gifts for any kids in our family and that is it. Our family has slowly followed suit.

Christmas for us is about children and family so we have all long stopped doing anything for each other in terms of gifts. Gifts are for the children. Making time is for the family and we always make time.

All that said however I would like the link on where to buy that Vampire Hunting kit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

The male family members will each be getting one of these, as their hobbies/needs dictate:

http://www.swisstool.co.uk/st/home.php?cat=250&sort=price&sort_direction=0

I've two Cybertools and one Voyager wrapped and ready to go, just waiting for a Traveller to be delivered and thats all the men sorted.:)

Spa days aren't universally welcomed for girls btw, if someone gave me one I'd grit my teeth and act grateful, but I find that kind of stuff really boring.

Gentlemen, know your audience. :)

Giselle wrote: »
    Spa days aren't universally welcomed for girls btw, if someone gave me one I'd grit my teeth and act grateful, but I find that kind of stuff really boring.

Gentlemen, know your audience. :)

Well no present is universally welcomed. But the thread is just for ideas so I put one out there that a lot would like. Everybody should judge any ideas with the person in mind.

That post wasn't aimed at you Parker, I just know from experience that many guys assume all (or at least most:)) girls love spa days or endless perfume/beauty products as gifts.

I like practical things personally, something I can get a lot of use from is always appreciated. :)

That post wasn't aimed at you Parker, I just know from experience that many guys assume all (or at least most:)) girls love spa days or endless perfume/beauty products as gifts.

I like practical things personally, something I can get a lot of use from is always appreciated. :)

Oh I know you weren't having a go. Was just using my own post as an example. If I used somebody else's they may have got offended and we could have started a chain of insults!

Always use your knowledge of the person!

What do you mean by practical things? I've always been told that useful things aren't a good idea for presents. :pac:

amacachi wrote: »
    What do you mean by practical things? I've always been told that useful things aren't a good idea for presents. :pac:

I think its a case of know you're target again. Off the top of my head the last few presents I really appreciated were...

All terrain tyres
    A years membership to my gym
    New hiking boots
    Tent
    Le Creuset pots
    A slow cooker

I do love girly impractical things, but I prefer to choose them myself.

An annual pass to a cinema is a good present. Hint hint :pac:

I think its a case of know you're target again. Off the top of my head the last few presents I really appreciated were...

All terrain tyres
    A years membership to my gym
    New hiking boots
    Tent
    Le Creuset pots
    A slow cooker

I do love girly impractical things, but I prefer to choose them myself.

Marry me.

Thats a brilliant idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,404 ✭✭✭✭Pembily

Thats a brilliant idea.
    That is a great idea :)

I've still 3 presents to get - 2 girls and a guy! No clue for the guy...

My ideas
    Hotel break for a couple
    Spa day
    New boots
    A tablet
    Kindle

What is the guy into Pembily?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Pembily wrote: »
    That is a great idea :)

I've still 3 presents to get - 2 girls and a guy! No clue for the guy...

My ideas
    Hotel break for a couple
    Spa day
    New boots
    A tablet
    Kindle

For the guy:

Not sure what he's into, but here's some ideas:

Games console or games
    MP3 player
    Digital camera
    Tickets to a gig or match
    Kindle
    Book vouchers

What is the guy into Pembily?
    Gaming! I'm spending a max €50! I've no idea what console he has...

He's not a fan of gigs and supports united and tears too expensive!

You could do the subtle scan of what games/consoles he has next time you are over. A bit similar to a guy doing the drawer check to see what size bra she wears :pac:

If you were able to check what he already has & what he is about to get himself, you could do worse than use Metacritic to pick a game. You can narrow the results by console or genre and pick something with a high score.
    http://www.metacritic.com/games

If I were buying myself a present, I'd get Batman: Arkham City (PS3 or XBox360), The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim (PC, PS3 or XBox360, The Legend of Zelda: Skyward Sword (Wii) or Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception (PS3). He probably already has FIFA 12 if he is into soccer!

I'm never at his place... I can try sus out the unchartered one!

Ask him to go out with you on Saturday or Sunday afternoon. Go somewhere with a Gamestop. See whether he goes to the side of the shop with Xbox or PS3 games!

Good plan batman :):):) Please tell me they are the only games consoles??!!!

He could have a Wii either. Sorry :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,077 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Just get him a Man U jersey...should be pretty cheap after last night :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

I got this DVD for myself a few years ago. It's 3 DVDs on Eric Cantona's career. It should keep him going for a while anyway. I still come back to it every once in a while. It's a bit expensive but if you look around you might get a better deal.

Another option if you're getting the DVD above is to get the 2008 Champions League Final matchday programme. It has been reduced from £9.99 to £0.43. Not a half bad deal at all.

I'm probably over-estimating how much of an interest he has in soccer here but I'd recommend the book "Inverting the Pyramid". Only get it for him if his interest extends outside checking the teletext every weekend for the scores in the matches. It's a pretty heavy read at times and delves quite deeply into the history of tactics in the game, but it's still a fantastic book.

Speaking of books on football, here's a few that I really liked that would make good gifts.

Bobby Charlton: My Manchester United Years: The Autobiography
    The Ball is Round: A Global History of Soccer
    Strange Kind of Glory: Life of Sir Matt Busby and Manchester United
    Only a Game?: The Diary of a Professional Footballer by Eamon Dunphy
    The Damned United - David Peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Adhamh

If you're buying for a man, just get him a few packets of really good cured meats. A packet of pancetta, proper salami, perfect. Simple, cheap enough and highly enjoyable by everyone.

Unless he's a vegetarian, in which case he's gay.