Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wheels.. wheels.. wheels..

• 24-11-2011 1:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭

Damn I am confused with all the options. First of, I am looking for deep section wheels.

First option Campa Bora One, great all round wheel, light, stiff with great hubs and bearings. I am also thinking about the FFW F6R but they are the same price and I would prefer the campa over them, they do have much better crash replacement though.

Then we have the custom built from wheelsmith.co.uk with Gigantex rims and choice of spokes and hubs or from stradawheels.co.uk with more or less same rims and same spokes and hubs choices as the wheelsmith. The price for them are around 200-250euro less than the above.

So... help me decide. If you have any other proposal, feel free to suggest it!

I am not interested in Zipps, I think they are overpriced and overhyped for what they offer and I would much prefer any of the above.

Oh.. on another note, I am trying to buy these wheels through a local shop, but I keep getting at least 200+euro prices than what I can find online... in some cases even 450euro differences :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

I will throw a spanner in the works and ask do you need these wheels? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

el tel wrote: »
    I will throw a spanner in the works and ask do you need these wheels? :)

Do I need super record 11 with carbon chainrings? feck no.. I am just having my "fun", not expecting to conquer any leagues anytime soon.

More seriously now, I do need a pair of wheels as I sold my Cosmic few months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,123 ✭✭✭LCD

AstraMonti "Do I need super record 11 with carbon chainrings? feck no.. I am just having my "fun", not expecting to conquer any leagues anytime soon".

Best answer ever, calling it as it is. The Tour was won many many times on a steel bike & 12 gears. Do we "need" anymore? No. Do we want more? Yes

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I'm fond of Campag wheels. Very reliable and easy to service. If Bora Ones had been around when I was buying mine I would have seriously considered them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,846 ✭✭✭Zippe

I think there should be a group set up for lads like us,(CA meetings),it's as bad as having a drinking problem,we always want more,only problem is tesco don't have the low cost bikes like they do drink !! I think we need help!!

Campagnolo Bora are very nice wheels,don't think I have herd anyone with anything bad to say about them,they look great on the bike also,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

Of the options you have listed, the Bora are the nicest I reckon. Eastons are alright too. From the looks of it, it's tubs you want rather than clinchers right ?

Quigs Snr wrote: »
    Of the options you have listed, the Bora are the nicest I reckon. Eastons are alright too. From the looks of it, it's tubs you want rather than clinchers right ?

Yes I 'm going for tubs. Easton were quite high on my list (due to price) until I started reading about hub issues and how bad they are in crosswinds and that put me off. The other potential candidate is Reynolds forty-six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

AstraMonti wrote: »
    Yes I 'm going for tubs.

Why?

niceonetom wrote: »
    Why?

Good question, a couple of reasons. First is the price/weight ratio which is quite higher going tubs. Second, I want to see that super feeling that everyone who runs tubs seem to praise.

I am not 100% sold to it yet due to my incompetence on anything mechanical (and that involves changing a tire too) so nothing is certain yet.

Is there a reason you would select going to carbon clinchers instead of tubs (if you suggest that from the question)?

I wouldn't want to spend €1500 on wheels and then only use them a few times a year.

If I had a pair of carbon clinchers they'd get used a lot. I ride to and from most of the races I do and I'm lazy about changing brake pads so the wheels would inevitably end up being used for some training too.

Tubs however would only get used for open racing, and only for races I don't ride to or from - that just because of the sheer expense and hassle that a flat tub involves.

For me, the whole 50 quid puncture-tax and faffing about with glue needs to be justified. Tony Martin demolished the rolling resistance argument at the world TT champs. Weight? Well ok, that argument still stands. Feel? I'm sceptical of that, and even if it's true I don't find it compelling. I reckon a lot of the feel thing is about how the wheel sounds. Aesthetics? Full carbon clinchers look the same so you needn't fear those aluminium braking surfaces clashing with your carbon rings.

I like the look of these.

If you're planning on buying wheels so you can take pictures of them on a digital weighing scales then they're not the ones. Are you planning on that?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 113 ✭✭Rob987

Hi I'm running Easton EC90 carbon aero rims for about 5 months. Light, strong, good braking performance and ok in crosswinds. Profile is 50mm and finish is really nice. Any deep sectioned rim will cause problems in strong crosswinds, as that's just physics.

They're clinchers as tubs seem too much hassle and I don't race.

I also have Bontrager Aeolus 5.0 rims on my other bike - same comments apply. Ultimately you're balancing form, function & aesthetic. Enjoy the hunt.

Rob

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,269 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Although they seem appealing, I'm not sold on all-carbon clinchers and if I was going down the clincher route would go for something more solid like Cosmics, where you're not risking blowouts from rims overheating or rim warp.

Tubulars = more faff for installing but less flats. You should only really be binning a tub if the tyre thread is cut badly, which you'd also do with a clincher.

Although they seem appealing, I'm not sold on all-carbon clinchers and if I was going down the clincher route would go for something more solid like Cosmics, where you're not risking blowouts from rims overheating or rim warp.

That's probably a good argument against cheap carbon clinchers but I think they've come a long way in the last couple of years. In racing any braking I do is late and hard so heat build-up wouldn't be an issue. I wouldn't feel great about using a carbon clincher on a mountainous etape or marmotte however. But I wouldn't use tubs for that either.
    Tubulars = more faff for installing but less flats. You should only really be binning a tub if the tyre thread is cut badly, which you'd also do with a clincher.

Please. That's pure tubist propaganda. I've had one pinch flat in the entire time I've been cycling. One. I'm not that heavy and can bunnyhop like a motherfcuker. Every other puncture was from penetration and tubs and clinchers perform the same in that regard. Glass doesn't care. And when I got that pinch flat I didn't have to learn how to sew rubber together or put my tyre in an envelope and post it abroad to someone who knew how to do it for me. Or mess about with glue. GLUE FFS.

You want tubs for no better reason than that's what the PROs use. Admit it! They use them because it makes sense for them. They don't glue them, or pay for them, or have to give a second's thought to what pads are on the bike. Being able to ride a flat until you can get a wheel change is great for them, but I don't see any of us doing that. We don't even have a team car most of the time! That's why you never use your tubs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Please. That's pure tubist propaganda. I've had one pinch flat in the entire time I've been cycling. One. I'm not that heavy and can bunnyhop like a motherfcuker. Every other puncture was from penetration and tubs and clinchers perform the same in that regard. Glass doesn't care. And when I got that pinch flat I didn't have to learn how to sew rubber together or put my tyre in an envelope and post it abroad to someone who knew how to do it for me. Or mess about with glue. GLUE FFS.

I marshalled at a triathalon during the summer. 210 folks racing. We had about 45 punctures on the day. Overwhelming amount were on tubs.

The race the road is run on, is my regular training route. I have never punctured on it. Fat as fu*k, cycling the worst roads in the country (or Europe for that matter) and I rarely puncture on clinchers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭fat bloke

Check out the Felt F1/F5 bike sale thread in the for sale section.

He's selling with Zipp 404 tubs, might be worth asking if he'd let the wheels go - if he got little use out of the bike, then he'll have gotten shag all use out of the wheels!

I struggled with the tubs/clinchers thing myself a while back, and went for the usability of clinchers (606's). And even then, with the weather we've had (didn't use em if it was wet, windy or hilly) I hardly used them at all. Glad I bought them, but equally glad I didn't go tubs. -Though the fact that I bought second hand and therefore don't have half the money tied up in them eases any purchase guilt or remorse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

Just go tubeless and buy fulcrum. Mucho tasty wheels IMO and made by Campag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Rev

I had a pair of all-carbon clinchers until one of them blew out (Luckily while I was not on the bike). If I am getting clinchers again, they will be something like the SRAM Sx0 range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

New Fulcrum Zeros delivered from Germany today :)

Prefer all black. Run smooth and can't wait to try them out. I think this kind of wheel is best compromise for our Irish roads (I hope)
    By the way have I voided my warranty by removing some of the decals?

Good luck with your purchase AstraMonti..... decisions decisions. I know how you feel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,230 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Buy tubs. Ride them everywhere. When you get a puncture, call Vlad to pick you up.

Thank you all. I had no intention to turning this on a Clinchers VS Tubs but I am secretly happy that it went there too.

To answer to you tom, yes I am not going to buy the wheels to take a photo (although i will :p) or just have them for a couple of rides per year. I want to use them, and use them enough to justify my purchase.

As I understand, the major argument not to get tubs is in a case of flat. Ok there is this possibility always, but the last 18 months I had one and only flat tire (with contintental attack/force) and that was because i forgot to pump them before i leave the house. I mean, I could deal with the risk of that and from what I have been reading if you invest in expensive tubs (eg vittoria evo cx - veloflex) the chance of a flat is even smaller.

Ok if I am in a race and I get a flat, I will be out anyway as I can't change a clincher fast enough in order to remain in the race. So that's not to worry me.

Now.. if I choose clinchers, I wouldn't have to worry about spending extra money into tyres, I already have them. And I wouldn't have to worry about glues, carrying a whole extra tire and so on..

BUT.. do I want to limit my choice judging only the case of a flat tire? Don't know..

Ok if I am in a race and I get a flat, I will be out anyway as I can't change a clincher fast enough in order to remain in the race. So that's not to worry me.

In that event, how do you propose to get home? Thumb a lift?

Lumen wrote: »
    In that event, how do you propose to get home? Thumb a lift?

I think carrying a preglued tire with you is the answer to that, or that sealant (which i don't remember the name right now).

You spent all that money on weightweenie composite chainrings, and you're now proposing to carry around a pre-glued tub?

hahaha sad but true.

Since this morning (and my employer will be very happy to know this) I spent my time looking around for full carbon clinchers. The ones that appeal to me so far are the Soul 5.2 and this Strada. (mainly because of the weight). I don't want to spend 1k in wheels and be in the same situation as I was with my Cosmics. The wheels were fine, but they were too heavy for anything else apart from a flat route.. Any other options?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

I don't want to spend 1k in wheels and be in the same situation as I was with my Cosmics. The wheels were fine, but they were too heavy for anything else apart from a flat route.. Any other options?
    ha ha ha

You've got to be kidding here right?

No, why? I mean all things equal, my campag zonda were much better to climb and they were only 100-150grams lighter. The cosmic have a heavy feeling when going uphill. All I am saying is, if I am going to spend 1000euro on a pair of wheels, I want something better than what I had. What's weird about it?

That's probably a good argument against cheap carbon clinchers but I think they've come a long way in the last couple of years.

When you see Edge rims warped, you start to wonder.

No I don't. I add it to the near infinite list of stories about other failed or damaged bike parts on the internet and I move on. If I lived in the Alps and did loooong descents a lot it might influence me but most stories of clincher rim heat build up I put down to people not knowing how to use their brakes. It's not like it's hard to find stories of people exploding their alu rims through that kind of idiocy or accounts of people who've melted their glue either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,111 ✭✭✭joker77

No, why? I mean all things equal, my campag zonda were much better to climb and they were only 100-150grams lighter. The cosmic have a heavy feeling when going uphill. All I am saying is, if I am going to spend 1000euro on a pair of wheels, I want something better than what I had. What's weird about it?
    No, it didn't seem like you were saying you wanted something better for a 1000euro, it seemed like you were saying you were saying you couldn't climb a hill because of the wheels :D

Since this morning (and my employer will be very happy to know this) I spent my time looking around for full carbon clinchers. The ones that appeal to me so far are the Soul 5.2 and this Strada. (mainly because of the weight). I don't want to spend 1k in wheels and be in the same situation as I was with my Cosmics. The wheels were fine, but they were too heavy for anything else apart from a flat route.. Any other options?

I like my Soul 5.0s, 1398g on the scales and not too expensive compared to the alternatives at the time, but there are definitely cheaper options now.

I'd probably go for Gigantex 50mm from Wheelsmith, from £600/pair.

Reynolds Assault are worth looking at, although parts may be hard to come by.

From other threads...

http://www.wheelsmith.co.uk/wheelprices.htm
    http://quasarwheels.nl/products/qc38c/
    http://www.jedi-sports.de/product_info.php/info/p2976_Sonic-Super-Carbon-Clincher-Wheelset-2011.html
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=270687907219&ssPageName=ADME:X:RTQ:US:1123

joker77 wrote: »
    No, it didn't seem like you were saying you wanted something better for a 1000euro, it seemed like you were saying you were saying you couldn't climb a hill because of the wheels :D

Sorry, it was probably bad wording of the sentence.
    I like my Soul 5.0s, 1398g on the scales and not too expensive compared to the alternatives at the time, but there are definitely cheaper options now.

From other threads...

http://www.jedi-sports.de/product_info.php/info/p2976_Sonic-Super-Carbon-Clincher-Wheelset-2011.html
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=270687907219&ssPageName=ADME:X:RTQ:US:1123

Thanks Lumen. Did you have to pay any import tax on the wheels? I see they are coming from Singapore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭Quigs Snr

From other threads...

Actually I might sell my assault clinchers. Not sure that I need them, I already have the dv46 tubs, cosmics, 808s and 404s.

Did you have to pay any import tax on the wheels? I see they are coming from Singapore.

No duties or VAT. It's a lottery. I won!

Delivery times can be veeerrrry loooonngg. DirkVoodoo cancelled his Soul order after waiting a few weeks.

As I said, there are other decent, cheaper options now. I'd probably rather have handbuilts than factory wheels for ease of parts supply and repair, but many "factory" wheels use off the shelf parts (e.g. DT hubs and spokes) so that's not necessarily a good rule.

I opened this thread for an answer and I only have more questions now to answer.. Tubs or clinchers..

This does sounds nice for a clincher.. 50mm Built with Extralite hubs: 1360g

Thanks all for your comments, you certainly put another perspective there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Idleater

This does sounds nice for a clincher.. 50mm Built with Extralite hubs: 1360g

If it's any use, I bought a set of Extralite Hyperclinch wheels after going through a similar wheel quandary.

The hubs are the Extralite SP model and they are stupid light. You are more than welcome to have a look at them if you like. The wheel weight is as advertised 1150g ex skewers and they are fully maintainable handbuilts.

In the end I decided on climbing wheels instead of deep sections, though these deep sections clinchers are very near the top of the wish list/next to buy list for no reason other than I like the look of them.

Idleater wrote: »
    If it's any use, I bought a set of Extralite Hyperclinch wheels after going through a similar wheel quandary.

Ooooh, €900 alloy clinchers. Want! :pac:

http://www.extralite.com/Products/HyperClinch%20SP.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,176 ✭✭✭Idleater

Ooooh, €900 alloy clinchers. Want! :pac:

"you could get two sets of Ksyriums for that".

on the other hand, I saved myself €500 buying them instead of the sidewinders :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

sy wrote: »
    New Fulcrum Zeros delivered from Germany today :)

Prefer all black. Run smooth and can't wait to try them out. I think this kind of wheel is best compromise for our Irish roads (I hope)

I have them (from Germany also) and raced on them this year. They are super-light, roll very nicely and I am very happy with them. On the other hand, I suspect they don't perform as well as decent deep-sections in racing conditions (except climbing but there's not a whole lot of that to be had). They would definitely be my choice for all round "good" use but I think my next set of racing-specific wheels will be deep sections.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Astra,
    TUBS OR CLINCHERS
    Why dont you take the clincher route and get a set Vittoria Evo's (or Veloflex if that what does it for ya) with a decent set of latex tubes. Its the closest thing to running tubs without the faffing about with glue and sewing and stretching etc.

You can't use carbon clincher rims with latex tubes. A lot of manufacturers would have a warning about this one the rim.

True dat but is he deffo going with full carbon.

Yeah I don't see a point going alu/carbon, I could have kept the Carbones and we wouldn't be having this discussion now :p

An interesting thread here. The majority there are in favor of tubs. (but it's WW so weight is no1 for them)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

You can't use carbon clincher rims with latex tubes. A lot of manufacturers would have a warning about this one the rim.

Really? Why not?

Latex tubes are far more likely to go boom when the rims heat up.

I think I am going to go with tubs. There is no valid reason behind my decision besides that that's what I want. If it works out to be too much trouble.. then there is always the adverts forum..

Now.. starve for a month and get the Bora One or settle with the cheaper Gigantex?

Vladimir will you help me glue the first ones? :D

the Bora One or settle with the cheaper Gigantex?

Well you when you roll a tub on a hot day descending at 60km+ and write off a wheel which one will you be able to afford to replace? :p

OT
    I found it funny that you posted in the Camper Van about you being Greek and how you are depicted with empty pockets but here you are looking for advice on spending a grand on a set of wheels.:D. Yes Greek indeed.

bcmf wrote: »
    Well you when you roll a tub on a hot day descending at 60km+ and write off a wheel which one will you be able to afford to replace? :p

OT
    I found it funny that you posted in the Camper Van about you being Greek and how you are depicted with empty pockets but here you are looking for advice on spending a grand on a set of wheels.:D. Yes Greek indeed.

Think positive dude!

As for the greek part.. it was for the greeks still living in Greece :D (and probably soon enough for the ones living in Ireland too :rolleyes: )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

An interesting thread here. The majority there are in favor of tubs. (but it's WW so weight is no1 for them)
    I think this quote from above link is brilliant and sums up the Carbon Clincher v's Carbon Tubs debate..
    IMO carbon clinchers are the worst of both worlds. I'm sure however that it make no difference what others ride so if you love your carbon clinchers I'm happy for you. When my friend shows up with carbon clinchers, disc brakes, electronic shifting I am reminded that he also married a young lady that was high maintenance, a bit dangerous and more bling then substance. On the plus side she did not weigh more then the competitionicon_beerchug.gif