Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World Cup of Golf 2011

• 24-11-2011 9:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭

Good start by Ireland justifying their pre tournament favourite tags, 2 off the lead after a 63 in the fourballs.

Australia -11
    Ireland -9
    Scotland -9
    Holland -8
    USA -8

Seems to be a bigger deal made about this now that its a biennial event, and the fact that USA have a pretty strong team (Kuchar Woodland) when they usually dont take it too seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

Is this on TV?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

holland??
    ffs
    mockery of an event..

Apologies, just checked and there are highlights on sky sports 4 at 6pm and its live tomorrow morning from 3.30am...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

conno16 wrote: »
    holland??
    ffs
    mockery of an event..

:confused: They prequalified so deserve their place there. Joost Luiten is one of the most promising young players on the Euro tour, won last week. Will only help to raise the profile of golf in his country.

shure they've no courses in the netherlands or holland or whatever they're calling the country these days..
    whats the point in them promoting the game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭DiegoWorst

shure they've no courses in the netherlands or holland or whatever they're calling the country these days..

Isn't it claimed that golf originated in Holland? (apologies to Scottish people reading this, I just need to feed the troll). And their open is one of the oldest in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

Dutch open in July this year...

missed+putt.jpg

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Not at all. Sure don't they all just smoke weed all day long :pac:

Over 70 courses in Holland - Courses

Dutch open in July this year...

photo needs some work
    there should be a windmill somewhere in the background and at least one of the blokes should be nursing a rather large cigarette

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 402 ✭✭The_Architect

Conno is a knowledgable fellow so this isn't for him.

Holland has three absolutely fantastic links courses and a number of inland / heathland courses that beat anything we've got to offer in Ireland away from the sea.

I would guess that there are more golf courses being developed in Holland right now (per head) than any other country in the world.

I don't anything about the quality of their World Cup team though.

Tied for the lead with the Aussies now -13, Scotland 1 back.

Spain, USA & England all within a few shots too. Might do an all nighter and watch this over the weekend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

$1.2m for each of the winners....

of course mcilroy is at the business end.

Its uncanny how he is always there for the big pay days. Amazing really, he just seems to really turn it on when there is major prize money at stake.

I'd say the money makes really no difference to him, but the correlation between big money and top 5 finishes is remarkable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭brick tamland

Ireland seems to have the strongest team on paper. We've generally a good record in this event dont we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

Live coverage from 1am tonight so not too bad, deffo stayin up to watch it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

$1.2m for each of the winners....

of course mcilroy is at the business end.

Its uncanny how he is always there for the big pay days. Amazing really, he just seems to really turn it on when there is major prize money at stake.

I'd say the money makes really no difference to him, but the correlation between big money and top 5 finishes is remarkable.

He's at the business end of the vast majority of tournaments he plays in and as the number 2 in the world, the vast majority of those tournaments are for big money. So I don't really get your point :confused:

Great to see McDowell back in a bit of form after his struggles earlier in the year. Hopefully they can go on and close out the victory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

Ireland are in 3rd gear. Your man Brendan Jones is a real weak link for the aussies. England and Scotland will be the main challengers i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Curious as to why the two Mc's are representing Ireland as opposed to Northern Ireland?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Jul3s

Curious as to why the two Mc's are representing Ireland as opposed to Northern Ireland?
    Because golf is an all Ireland sport in the same way that rubgy is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

Jul3s wrote: »
    Because golf is an all Ireland sport in the same way that rubgy is.
    Yes but it doesn't need to be. The rugby situation is for obvious reasons in that six counties can hardly be expected to produce a rugby team that can challenge on the world stage. Look at the nightmare that is the NI soccer team.

NI has no problem producing individual golfers. The two Macs are both very proud NI men. I think they deserve the right to compete under their own flag and similarly the southern Irish under the tri-colour.

I think what will happen here is that, like rugby, a neutral flag will eventually be assigned to the GUI for international competition and I think that would be a real shame for both countries and their proud players.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭abouttobebanned

This forum is way to obsessed with semantics. The Macs are proud Irish men. Simple as that.

That's why they wave the NI flag so proudly after they win then is it? The same flag they can't wear on their arm at the world cup!

It's not semantics, the island of Ireland comprises two separate political states. The sportsmen of either for the most part are prevented from the same proud representation as every other nation at the tournament and all because of this Ireland united in sports farce.

The only sports governing body who seem to have a proper handle on this whole thing is FIFA and it's a sad state of affairs when an organisation of chimpanzees led by a gorilla have the cop on.

Anyway that's just my opinion and I appreciate it's off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭DULLAHAN2

Ireland in the lead

Ireland 21 under
    Germany 19 under
    south africa 19 under

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,439 ✭✭✭Richard

They can of course be both. It is possible to be proud to be Irish, yet have an NI identity also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭SSK

If they didn't want to represent Ireland they wouldn't be there. They are proud to represent the island of Ireland as golf is a 32 county organisation here. I don't get why people get so hung up on it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

I think what will happen here is that, like rugby, a neutral flag will eventually be assigned to the GUI for international competition and I think that would be a real shame for both countries and their proud players.[/QUOTE]

This will never happen, no one is looking for it or expects it. They play under the Irish flag, end of story, why does there always have to be an issue surrounding this, I personally, was born in Belfast, and I am Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭THEIRISHMOB

youe chance to play in the Amateur Team World Cup of Golf 2012.

www.worldcupofgolf.com

NO NEED TO QUALIFY
    Now is your time.

SSK wrote: »
    If they didn't want to represent Ireland they wouldn't be there. They are proud to represent the island of Ireland as golf is a 32 county organisation here. I don't get why people get so hung up on it tbh.
    I'm not getting hung up. I have an opinion and I'm merely expressing it. You could argue they're representing Ireland because they have no choice. It's the tri-colour or nothing.

It remains to be seen but if they win it I'd nearly bet the house we'll see them celebrating wrapped in NI flags as they have when they won individual masters because they're proud NI men. Everyone is entitled to their opinion I just feel that the idea of Ireland united in sport is somewhat farcical.

ROI and NI are separate political states and both are at risk of losing their identity on the world scene. It's like England, Scotland and Wales being English, Scottish and Welsh when it comes to some sports and British when it comes to others. The loyalties appear interchangeable and that in my view defeats the purpose of international sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

MyKeyG wrote: »
    I'm not getting hung up. I have an opinion and I'm merely expressing it. You could argue they're representing Ireland because they have no choice. It's the tri-colour or nothing.

It remains to be seen but if they win it I'd nearly bet the house we'll see them celebrating wrapped in NI flags as they have when they won individual masters because they're proud NI men. Everyone is entitled to their opinion I just feel that the idea of Ireland united in sport is somewhat farcical.

ROI and NI are separate political states and both are at risk of losing their identity on the world scene. It's like England, Scotland and Wales being English, Scottish and Welsh when it comes to some sports and British when it comes to others. The loyalties appear interchangeable and that in my view defeats the purpose of international sport.

You're not getting hung up on it? Wouldn't like to see if you were. Give over FFS and stop dragging the thread down this road.

fullstop wrote: »
    You're not getting hung up on it? Wouldn't like to see if you were. Give over FFS and stop dragging the thread down this road.
    Would you like to enlighten us on what road that is? Because it's clear you've jumped to a conclusion regarding the direction of my point and my intent behind it. Somebody made an initial comment regarding the nationality and representation of the two Macs and an exchange ensued, it's what happens on boards, get over it.

You should have the openness of mind to realise that not everyone trying to make a point such as this is doing so forcefully. I was merely stating what I consider to be fact. So know what you're talking about before you start back seat modding.

However it has gone off topic somewhat so I'll say no more about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

quick question lads
    iv 50 quid burning a hole in my betting account would it be worth sticking it on ireland to win outright @4/7?

quick question lads
    iv 50 quid burning a hole in my betting account would it be worth sticking it on ireland to win outright @4/7?
    I dunno. €50 seems a lot for a two shot lead. They played some great stuff today but golf is a funny game. I wouldn't risk it for the sake of 28 euro in winnings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,108 ✭✭✭nordydan

MyKeyG wrote: »
    SSK wrote: »

I am sure that if they win, then they will get all the praise from Enda Kenny and Leo Varadkar. If not, they'll just be a few nordies! Sums of the hypocritical nature of the Republic tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

nordydan wrote: »
    I am sure that if they win, then they will get all the praise from Enda Kenny and Leo Varadkar. If not, they'll just be a few nordies! Sums of the hypocritical nature of the Republic tbh

You keep telling yourself that :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Stella89

Mcilroy and McDowell are never political for obvious reasons , and never will be for obvious reasons . Can we talk about the golf from now on ?

Stella89 wrote: »
    Mcilroy and McDowell are never political for obvious reasons , and never will be for obvious reasons . Can we talk about the golf from now on ?
    Nobody was talking about politics and if you have a comment regarding golf please, feel free to make it. Nobody is stopping you. This thread had turned to betting. I had made my point and agreed to leave it alone. I can't help it if people wish to maintain the debate not to mention the fact that the theme of the thread can be taken with some ambiguity.

nordydan wrote: »
    Sums up the hypocritical nature of the Republic tbh
    Exactly. No matter what people say to the contrary it's a bigger issue than gets credit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭HuntingDrog

Anyone got a stream for the final round?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭HuntingDrog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Lads making a mess of this

English in the club house after a 63, wowzers, great shooting.

Yanks looking best from the bit I've seen so far

Yanks won... our boys must have played very poorly to finish so far down the field...

1 United States -24
    2 England -22
    2 Germany -22
    4 Australia -21
    4 Netherlands -21
    4 Ireland -21
    4 Scotland -21

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

The only team in the top 10 not to break 70 (had level par 72)

Just made a few mistakes that proved costly, shame after 3 good days

Ya, I didnt watch it but I heard they had a penalty stroke early on that resulted in a double bogey... Failing to break par is a poor show...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

Benny Cake wrote: »
    Ya, I didnt watch it but I heard they had a penalty stroke early on that resulted in a double bogey... Failing to break par is a poor show...

They played very poorly today. Mc Ilroy missed a 5 footer at the 1st and Mc Dowell kept leaving him the same distance and he duly missed a few more. They played the Par 5's poorly, too many mistakes. Bit of a choke TBH!

Shame. Didn't look mentally tough or convincing. I could get slated for this but Mc Ilroy can still look suspect when the heat is on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭SARZY

I could get slated for this but Mc Ilroy can still look suspect when the heat is on.

If you are slated dont pay any heed to it because you are CORRECT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

SARZY wrote: »
    I could get slated for this but Mc Ilroy can still look suspect when the heat is on.

If you are slated dont pay any heed to it because you are CORRECT.

I agree too, regardless of talent his bottle is pretty questionable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

f22 wrote: »
    I agree too, regardless of talent his bottle is pretty questionable.

Im not sure its his bottle. I just think its his putting. He is average at best.

He needs to work on this and work hard at it too.

Picked the final round to play their (by a distance) worst golf of the week. With that happening and with so many good teams behind them, it was inevitable they would be caught.

Some round by England alright, 63 in foursomes is some shooting.

gmac was carrying rors most of the weekend
    i fear we'll be talking about mcilroy in a few years kinda like people talk about john daly or roy mcavoy today
    this train is speeding up and the rails are a little shakey down the track
    that new missus is just the first sign
    then booting out chubby
    now exploding on the final day of the world cup, golfs biggest team tournament

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

gmac was carrying rors most of the weekend
    i fear we'll be talking about mcilroy in a few years kinda like people talk about john daly or roy mcavoy today
    this train is speeding up and the rails are a little shakey down the track
    that new missus is just the first sign
    then booting out chubby
    now exploding on the final day of the world cup, golfs biggest team tournament
    Ah conno. I expected more from you. Didn't think you'd jump on the slamming Rory bandwagon.

truth is i've never really warmed to mcilroy
    too sure of himself and only 1 major to back these claims up.
    someone needs to point out to him that even harro is higher up the majors list