Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht v ospreys sat 26/11/11 @18.30 sportsground live on TG4/S4C

• 24-11-2011 6:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,218 ✭✭✭

need a win without a doubt.
    Macca out for this and treviso game.
    ospreys with a mix of youth and experience coming over as Wales play soon.
    what say you?

GWAN CONNACHT

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Nothing yet on a team, but quoth the Advertiser:
    Elwood has several concerns, including Eoin Griffin with a hamstring, Frank Murphy’s on-going groin injury, Michael Swift (knee), George Naoupu (shoulder), and Adrian Flavin (shoulder), and Dylan Rogers. Keith Matthews, Andrew Browne, Johnny O’Connor and James Loxton remain out of contention. As always Elwood will not deviate too much from his starting XV, but it will depend on the availability of Mike McCarthy, who has been cited for his high tackle on Vincent Clerc last weekend. If all are fit, expect pretty much the same team that started against Toulouse.
    I would have thought this was as good a time as any to give a couple of lads like Griffin a rest. Frank seems to have been carrying something for a while now, I'd like to see Dave Moore get a look in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I'm hoping to see Toneti make his senior debut at 13 replacing Griffin who could do with a rest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

hopefully we'll b able reproduce some of our early season form and get our Pro12 season back on track with a win. Macca be big miss but we can survive. Hope there is a big crowd at game, some atmosphere when Sportsground full.

Like to see Fetu get game on wing- I know he was woeful in two games for us so far but he has so much ability it is surely just a matter of when and not if it clicks for him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

15 Gavin Duffy (C)

14 Brian Tuohy

13 Dave McSharry

12 Henry Fa’afili

11 Tiernan O’Halloran

10 Miah Nikora

09 Paul O’Donohoe

01 Brett Wilkinson

02 Adrian Flavin

03 Rodney Ah You

04 Dave Gannon

05 George Naoupu

06 TJ Anderson

07 John Muldoon

08 Ray Ofisa

16 Ethienne Reynecke

17 Ronan Loughney

18 Stewart Maguire

19 Mike Kearney

20 Eoghan Grace

21 Frank Murphy

22 Niall O’Connor

23 Mark McCrea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 816 ✭✭✭vinny chase

They've named the team: from: http://www.connachtrugby.ie/news-centre

15. Gavin Duffy
    14. Brian Tuohy
    13. Dave McSharry
    12. Henry Fa'afili
    11. Tiernan O'Halloran
    10. Miah Nikora
    9. Paul O'Donoghue
    1. Brett Wilkinson
    2. Adrian Flavin
    3. Rodney Ah You
    4. Dave Gannon
    5. George Naoupu
    6. TJ Anderson
    7. John Muldoon
    8. Ray Ofisa

Reps: E. Reynecke, R. Loughney, S. Maguire, M. Kearney, E. Grace, F. Murphy, N. O'Connor, M. McCrea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

15 Barry Davies

14 Tommy Bowe

13 Andrew Bishop

12 Ashley Beck

11 Richard Fussell

10 Matthew Morgan

9 Rhys Webb

1 Duncan Jones

2 Richard Hibbard

3 Aaron Jarvis

4 Ian Gough

5 James King

6 Tom Smith (Capt)

7 Chauncey O'Toole

8 Joe Bearman

Replacements:

16 Mefin Davies

17 Cai Griffiths

18 Joe Rees

19 James Goode

20 George Stowers

21 Tom Isaacs

22 Sonny Parker

23 Hanno Dirksen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Matthew Morgan is a very talented 10 but he's a mouse and a weak defender. Connacht should send Fa'afili down his channel every chance they get.

Incidentally what do Connacht fans make of Fa'afili so far?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Meh. He runs some reasonable lines and made some good breaks but in defence he's pretty poor. McSharry brings way more to the party.

I'm baffled as to why Jarvis isn't even benching for this one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

Matthew Morgan is a very talented 10 but he's a mouse and a weak defender. Connacht should send Fa'afili down his channel every chance they get.

Can't defend, doesn't want to tackle.

McSharry has the 12 slot nailed down when we've everyone fit.

Surprised Fetu'u isn't getting a run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

Surprised Fetu'u isn't getting a run

He had a shocker in England against Saracens from what i hear.Dragged off not long into second half

its_phil wrote: »
    He had a shocker in England against Saracens from what i hear.Dragged off not long into second half

Christ, that's not good at all

Looks like we've got ourselves a dud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 Sea_point

Think it's just post RWC hangover, got to be a bit of a downer to come back from RWC Show (admittedly carrying a knock) but then find yourself playing A or AIL rugby....

I have a spare ticket for this, Main Stand. PM me to arrange it. I should be hitting the ground just after 5:30 but will have access to Boards.

Would love to see Connacht turning over Ospreys tonight. Would be great for Connacht, a proper kick up the arse for Ulster (to go down to 4th out of the Irish provinces) and would give Leinster and Munster a better chance to get home semi finals when the season goes down to the wire

Second row is an area of concern with McCarthy and Swifty out, would be curious as to why Jarvis has fallen out of favour

3-0 now Connacht lead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭liam12989

i have seen very little of jarvis what is he like? and what happened the other welsh lad that came over with him?

Boomer from O'Halloran. Weather conditions playing a big factor in this game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

I've already asked in the streams thread, but has anyone got an understandable stream for this? All seem to be broadcasting bloody tg4 :mad:

liam12989 wrote: »
    i have seen very little of jarvis what is he like? and what happened the other welsh lad that came over with him?
    Loxton is injured at the momrnt

I'd rate Jarvis ahead of NOC not great but a decent young OH.
    Boomer from O'Halloran. Weather conditions playing a big factor in this game.

Just after he caught the ball he really looked lost like he was trying to figure out what to do, Ofisa yelled something and he kicked.

pretty poor from odonoghue..get mcsharry in game and faffli over gain line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭paulisagayboy

is there anywhere to get english commentary on radio??

Good try for Ospreys, break from Webb put Morgan away. Morgan left Duffy for dead with a magnificient step.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 63 ✭✭big toenails

wtf is Tommy Bowe after doing to himself?

kenmc wrote: »
    I've already asked in the streams thread, but has anyone got an understandable stream for this? All seem to be broadcasting bloody tg4 :mad:

Is commentary really that important to you? I'm sick of people moaning about this. All four provinces were broadcasted this weekend for free. Would you really pay €16 a month for Setanta?

Actually yes, yes it is. Especially the panel stuff at half time. Watching tv without sound is crap.

its a rarity we get to see connacht live so i think its great.just hope we push on in 2nd half.cant see where it is going to come from.

Why hasnt tonetti been brought in?

He has played 2 A games for Connacht since he arrived. I'm not sure why he wasn't called into the senior squad. Should have been there tonight ahead of fa'fili who I don't rate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭paulisagayboy

Dont get me wrong, great having it for free. Would just be better if i could hear english commentary and the analysis as well!!

ya he is poor.money could be better spend on other guys like mcsharry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

The fela doin the half time analysis is my irish teacher

Chavways wrote: »
    The fela doin the half time analysis is my irish teacher
    Ask him for the subtitles please. Although I hope he's also a Rugby coach too, and not *just* an irish teacher...

Is this Kearney's Pro12 debut?

yes think so and if he had stayed in leinster in would have been playing ail today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭Chavways

Ask him for the subtitles please. Although I hope he's also a Rugby coach too, and not *just* an irish teacher...

He lives rugby.Won 3 Munster senior cups as a coach and he part of the Young Munsters coaching team aswell

Time with Ospreys on 14 men is running out. Disappointing to get no re turn from the period

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭iwasonbwh

Does anyone else think this referee is bad? I play underage in Ulster and I haven't seen someone as bad as him.

Ospreys try. Game over I reckon.

Jesus Connacht let Duncan Jones "sprint" 20 metres before they could catch him.

ref poor and faffalli is awful get someone else in at 12

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭EmeraldNK

iwasonbwh wrote: »
    Does anyone else think this referee is bad? I play underage in Ulster and I haven't seen someone as bad as him.

Awful, he's very frustrating to watch.
    Actually yes, yes it is. Especially the panel stuff at half time. Watching tv without sound is crap.

Irish annoys you THAT much, you turned the sound off? Get real...

faffalli is awful get someone else in at 12

No fear, Griffin and McSharry will be the starting centres. Hopefully Tonetti will get gametime next week too.

Fa'fili came from a relegated Leeds team, he was never going to be great but he's been pretty poor. For a big guy his defence is awful.

EmeraldNK wrote: »
    Irish annoys you THAT much, you turned the sound off? Get real...
    Its just noise. Why would I listen to noise?

*facepalm*

Surely you want to hear what the ref is shouting?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭ouncer

another night for pulling your hair out. can connacht not go forward without causing an infringement of one sort or another. they must have had 80% of the possession but thats feckin useless if penalties are handed away time and again. duffy and o'halloran were the only guys who could be said to have played half decent

ah you and fa'filli are right up there with ezra taylor imo.flops.

and nikora my word he's poor,awful game managment since he's come back.i would put him 3rd choice outhalf thats how bad i think he's been since he came back.

tonight is a huge disappointment.there seemed to be a big crowd at it and a few of the punters who went along due to the game last week probably wont be back next week.i do hope im wrong btw.tonight was a showcase to show we could win and get results.we couldnt even manage a bonus point..

not particularly tbh, didn't look like he was having much of a game in silent mode anyway, so can't imagine the sound would have added much...
    I don't understand Irish, so it doesn't add anything to the experience, and just annoys me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭EmeraldNK

ah you and fa'filli are right up there with ezra taylor imo.flops.

and nikora my word he's poor,awful game managment since he's come back.i would put him 3rd choice outhalf thats how bad i think he's been since he came back.

tonight is a huge disappointment.there seemed to be a big crowd at it and a few of the punters who went along due to the game last week probably wont be back next week.i do hope im wrong btw.tonight was a showcase to show we could win and get results.we couldnt even manage a bonus point..

Agree with you, wasn't much impressed with Nikora myself. Think Connacht had a shocker almost all over the park tonight but still disappointed they didn't manage the bonus point. I'd have to add that I don't think the referee did either side much justice though... I'd be optimistic enough about Connacht still though after the way they've played over the last few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭ouncer

its true. the forwards have to take a lot of responsibility for this loss. this really was the game to say connacht were going in the right direction. well they simply aren't going anywhere. 18 ospreys missing due to injury or international duties and this is the best we can do. you can be very sure that there will be fewer punters turning up at the sportsground after this fiasco

ouncer wrote: »
    another night for pulling your hair out. can connacht not go forward without causing an infringement of one sort or another. they must have had 80% of the possession but thats feckin useless if penalties are handed away time and again. duffy and o'halloran were the only guys who could be said to have played half decent
    I'd add McSharry and Muldoon to TOH and Duffy as players did well for themselves. POD had a few decent moments as well.

EmeraldNK wrote: »
    I'd be optimistic enough about Connacht still though after the way they've played over the last few weeks.

If you take away the performance against Harlequins,we've been playing very poorly. Toulouse obviously they are just a different class. Ulster should have been a 30 point loss but for some poor finishing by ulster. cardiff was a shambles with being 17-6 up and throwing it away again in 5 mins like the leinster game.

its frustration after frustration and im getting tired of it

Poor, poor stuff tonight

With Ospreys missing alot of players it was an ideal chance for us to pick up 4 points. Lots of territory, too many mistakes, no ****ing ideas beyond 2nd or 3rd phase. Lots of honest sluggers out there, but ultimately not good enough at this level. Swift, McCarthy and O Connor were sorely missed in the pack, and Griffin's pace and invention in midfield. When Fa'afili plays at 12, everyone outside him might as well be above in the stand.

We need some Russian investor or something to come in and give us money to shake up the squad