Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kevin Cardiff rejected by EU for Court of Auditors

• 23-11-2011 5:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭

This is the man responsible for 'losing' €3.6 billion, and who played a key role as a senior civil servant in the DOF on the night of the bank guarantee. Nice to see the MEPs on the Committee listened to the Irish people who emailed and sent them advice about Cardiff and his incompetence, not so nice to listen to Proinsias De Rossa lionising him.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/1123/cardiff-business.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭rodento

Can't wait to hear what kenny say about this:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,583 ✭✭✭Suryavarman

Does this mean we have to keep him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

However he was obviously considered good enough for the Paddywhackery that passes for competence in the Irish Civil Service. Pathetic that he is considered fit for promotion here yet is rightly rejected once he tries to move above the economic cesspit that is this country at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭texidub

What's this?

Accountability?!

Excellent news.

Now it is time for us to start some sterilising... I mean 'cleaning up' at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I was listening to Pronsíos De Rossa today.. sycophantic drivel... Bootlicking that would have had even Ryan Tubridy embarrassed...

GET UP OFF THE FLOOR PRONSÍOS..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Ja.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭PRAF

Am I wrong in thinking that Kenny & Noonan have no confidence in this guy and were effectively trying to get rid of him by shipping him off to Europe.

They tried a stroke and were caught out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

We still have to pay his pension

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

no matter what we have to do with him, a man that oversaw such shambles not only the 3.6 billion, he also oversaw the bank gaurentee, i was one ofpublic that sent an email asking that he be turned down for the post.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

Why was he nominated he was the last showers cronie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭gifted

Can you picture the mug on him whenever he slinks back into the department of finance...people giggling at him behind his back...people on the street crying cos we have to keep him...he should resign ASAP :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Hootanany wrote: »
    Why was he nominated he was the last showers cronie

To get rid of him I imagine, he had years left in his contact and with the way things are he couldn't have his contracted terminated without costing the state a fortune so ship him to Europe and advertise his job.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    To get rid of him I imagine, he had years left in his contact and with the way things are he couldn't have his contracted terminated without costing the state a fortune so ship him to Europe and advertise his job.

Do we have to take him back now he got his payoff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Listened to him live - thought he put in a very poor performance - it was embarrassing really. It was the only sensible result.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Do we have to take him back now he got his payoff

Nobody seems to be sure at the moment, his job has been advertised but did he step down from it thinking he was going to Europe or just take a time out meaning he could walk straight back into it.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Nobody seems to be sure at the moment, his job has been advertised but did he step down from it thinking he was going to Europe or just take a time out meaning he could walk straight back into it.

But he got a HUGE payoff he has to be gone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,895 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Its a good news story - firstly, I dont know Kevin Cardiff and I havent sat in on his performance reviews ( which they apparently dont have in the civil service anyway). However, his name seems to be prominent when it comes to screwups - it was Kevin Cardiff who was mentioned in the WikiLeaks US diplomatic cables where he was telling the US embassy the banks were fine, no big deal. Which the US embassy staff summarised as" :pac: "

Its fairly clear Fine Gael and Labour dont rate him at all and were giving him the McCreevy style sacking with a promotion to Europe. Because regardless of how incompetent he might be, actually sacking him is out of the question.

Its great news that the EU have crushed this. It forces Fine Gael and Labour to confront the deeply sick and insular entity that is the civil service. Its also useful that the government has been publically kicked back because it means theyre less likely to try another stroke like this in future.

And its also good news that we will be represented by a higher quality of candidate when it comes to EU affairs - given how dependant we are on the goodwill of the EU it would be useful to have top quality people there. It was remarked upon how disengaged Ireland was from the EU during the Bertie Ahern year and how FG and Labour were working to repair relationships - sending Cardiff would have signalled a contempt for the EU that wouldnt have helped us in the supposed goal of building up our profile again.

The bad news, as othe have remarked, is that we're stuck with him until FG and Labour find the spheres to roll back the Croke Park agreement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Tea drinker

But he got a HUGE payoff he has to be gone
    No, welcome to Ireland.
    Kev seems a fairly lassez faire kind of guy, especially about the 3.6. Maybe 4 will go missing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

You all know I'm immensely euroskeptic at the moment. But this is one occasion in which case I will agree that the EU has PWNED our politicians and shown them up to be a bunch of complete eejits. Fair play to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,212 ✭✭✭Jaysoose

At last some common sense is shown and Kevin cardiff has been rejected by people that are not willing to take the risk on this spoofer.

The sad thing is he and anybody involved in the 3.6 billion mistake should have been given their marhing orders instead he will walk back into a job like nothing has happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

Who can I write to in Europe to thank them for their decision?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,323 ✭✭✭Kalimah

Best news I've heard all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Lets hope they put him out to pasture, the man shows the attitude of someone who feels he is untouchable anyway no matter how poor his decision making or how poor his answers are to questions about his poor decision making.

What is worse is that he rose to this level FFS. What exactly did he do to move up the system?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,735 ✭✭✭✭noodler

I think he is getting abit too much credit for the bank gurantee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

I was listening to Pronsíos De Rossa today.. sycophantic drivel... Bootlicking that would have had even Ryan Tubridy embarrassed...

GET UP OFF THE FLOOR PRONSÍOS..

Ross has really exposed himself as the toadying, self-serving utter gombeen he always was.
    Socialist my hairy arse.

Oh, and Ross has stated tonight that he will do all 'in his power' to get teh PArliament to overturn the interview decision.

A disgrace of an Irishman.

I wonder how Kenny will like the fact that all the EPP reps on the panel voted against Cardiff despite intense lobbying by their colleagues in FG?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

Now if only we could get them to come over and access the other incompetent civil servants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭chughes

.......and the latest result from today's big European match :

Brussels 1 Cardiff 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,872 ✭✭✭View

juuge wrote: »

The Chairman of the Budgetary Control committee is Jan Mulder MEP. His e-mail address is: jan.mulder@europarl.europa.eu

The full list of committee members and their substitute members are here if you want to thank them all!

Remember though that Mr Cardiff's nomination could still go to a full vote of the EP although it is presumably dead in the water after the budgetary committee vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

View wrote: »
    The Chairman of the Budgetary Control committee is Jan Mulder MEP. His e-mail address is: jan.mulder@europarl.europa.eu

The full list of committee members and their substitute members are here if you want to thank them all!

Remember though that Mr Cardiff's nomination could still go to a full vote of the EP although it is presumably dead in the water after the budgetary committee vote.
    Thanks for that - I e-mailed them all.

Pronsíos has now called for a full vote of the parliament members as he feels that the group vote today was not representative of the parliament.. Presumably he would have felt the same way if the vote HAD gone the way he wanted.. :confused::confused:

Typical EU, if you dont like the results move the goalposts slightly and have the vote again..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭moceri

Whilst KG's appointment has been voted down by the Court of Auditors, possibly as a result of the high volume of angry emails from Irish people, Prionsias de Rossa is lobbying hard to have the decision reversed.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/1123/breaking4.html

The decision is yet to be considered by the EPP and Socialist Groupings before a final vote at the European Parliament next month.

http://www.thejournal.ie/kevin-cardiff-still-in-with-chance-of-eu-job-de-rossa-287325-Nov2011/

People who want their voices heard should email the head of each grouping and make their opinion known.

Socialists: martin.schulz@europarl.europa.com
    EPP: alopez@epp.eu

I think de Rossa's behaviour, particularly towards Nessa Childers has been mean, spiteful and undemocratic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Tolduso

[FONT=TimesNewRoman,Bold]
    From the list of written questions and answers: "Would you withdraw your candidacy if Parliament's opinion on your appointment as Member of the Court were unfavourable?
    [/FONT]Yes". That question should have been "if the opinion of the committee most relevant to your work as Member of the Court were unfavourable"... But I think he understands politics and won't let his appointment depend on a favourable vote by a majority of the whole Parliament. The Committee on Budgetary Control has spoken and probably does not like to be overruled. Government can only withdraw his candidacy, the sooner the better for them - and I don't write this because I'm either for or against. By the way, has anyone spoken on the current Irish Member of the Court of Auditors? He's doing a good job, isn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,283 ✭✭✭✭Scofflaw

Can we keep the illiterate and mindless comments to a minimum, please?

moderately,
    Scofflaw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

Pronsíos has now called for a full vote of the parliament members as he feels that the group vote today was not representative of the parliament.. Presumably he would have felt the same way if the vote HAD gone the way he wanted.. :confused::confused:

Typical EU, if you dont like the results move the goalposts slightly and have the vote again..

I think this is Enda Kennys mindset as well. They are meant to discuss it in the Dail today. So the EU Committee, has the sense to see that Cardiff displayed an extraordinary amount of imcompetence down through the years and have said we wouldn't let him near a piggy bank but yet Kenny and De Rossa are still thinking of ways to try and land him the plumb job.

^^^ Thankfully Scofflaw has interjected as although what I was going to post about what I think of this Government may not be mindless, some of the expletives to be used may have been OTT. I'll just stew in anger here for a while. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,672 ✭✭✭anymore

Perhaps Mr De Rossa should make an appeal to Moscow to intervene on his and Mr Cardiff's behalf ? I understand Mr De Rossa has some experience in lobbying Moscow>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Personally I think it gives us an interesting insight into the mindset of some of our senior civil servants. He really has some brass neck to even consider himself for such a post. He clearly has no shame or embarrassment considering the recent evidence of his monumental incompetence. It is precisely the type of mindset that has mismanaged this country for so long.

As I have siad before, this country is now a Two State nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭MysticalRain

Exactly. The really shocking thing is that he was ever considered for the position in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,872 ✭✭✭View

The Budgetary committee's hearings were held in order that the committe could express an opinion on whether or not the various nominees were suitable for the positions that they were nominated for. In the case of Mr Cardiff, they were of the opinion that he was not suitable.

Irrespective of the committee's opinion on him or any of the other nominees, a full plenary session of the EP gets to vote on each of the nominees. The EP is free to support or ignore the Budgetary Committee's opinions as it see fit just as the Dail is free to do so with its own committees here at home.

Presumably though, Mr Cardiff's chances of securing the nomination have been damaged as a result of the committee's decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭gizmo555

juuge wrote: »

Nessa Childers, Labour MEP for Leinster. She's not a member of the committee, but was very outspoken in her criticism of Cardiff's nomination. I have no doubt this trenchant intervention by an MEP from one of the political parties in the Irish government which nominated Cardiff gave the committee members serious pause for thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,728 ✭✭✭rodento

Looks like you should thank the current incumbent Irish member of the European Court of Auditors Eoin O’Shea

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2011/1124/breaking42.html

Enda kenny, FG and Labour need to stop and consider if this will have an effect on any future EU referendum ? It would definitely colour my view on any arguements on a future EU referendum if they continue this campaign.

Scofflaw wrote: »
    Can we keep the illiterate and mindless comments to a minimum, please?

moderately,
    Scofflaw

I hope this not aimed at me . I may be as learned as most folks on here but I like to interject.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

First the disastrous presidential election campaign, now this and then a harsh budget.

FG must be going for the record for shortest time in government

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Park Royal

Can someone tell me how Eoin O’Shea's emails ended up being discussed by the Dail committee yesterday ......

is there no such thing as data protection?........also Whistle blowers charter ?

thats where citizens who are aware of things going wrong or that have gone wrong are encouraged to alert the appropriate authorities......?

is Eoin O'Shea not a genuine Whistle Blower?.......who should be commended

for his emails?..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,831 ✭✭✭GSF

Park Royal wrote: »
    is Eoin O'Shea not a genuine Whistle Blower?..........

In a word NO!! What did he "reveal" in his emails that was not already in the public domain? Nothing thats what.

And what was his motivation for sending the e-mails? And why has he now retracted his criticism of Cardiff?

Presumably the recipients of the emails revealed their existence to someone, hence their appearance in the public domain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

I find it bizarre that he was still put forward even after the screw up became public.

Whatever about the specifics, whatever the actual truth was - (Fine Gael/Labour) Flab must surely have understood what the public perception would be - i.e. that Flab are giving two fingers to the electorate. Change we can believe in.

Park Royal wrote: »
    Can someone tell me how Eoin O’Shea's emails ended up being discussed by the Dail committee yesterday ......is there no such thing as data protection?........also Whistle blowers charter ?

Well unless he sent it from a private email address, I would have assumed that his emails were the property of his employers... Whatever about Neasa Childers being sued by Kevin Cardiff for loss of earnings, surely Cardiff has a case against Eoin O'Shea..
    And why has he now retracted his criticism of Cardiff?

I have a big problem with this as well.. If he's now "changed his mind" just because the Government want him to, or to protect himself from any recourse.. then this is just cowardly..

Also, if he didnt truly believe that there was a problem with Cardiff yet still sent those emails, it is FAR more sinister.. Cardiff would have a serious case for defamation given that O'Shea has now admitted on record that he told lies..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Dannyboy83 wrote: »
    I find it bizarre that he was still put forward even after the screw up became public.

Whatever about the specifics, whatever the actual truth was - (Fine Gael/Labour) Flab must surely have understood what the public perception would be - i.e. that Flab are giving two fingers to the electorate. Change we can believe in.

How so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

How so?

They came to power on a promise of political reform - then they turn around and try to do this? :pac:

It reminds me of Cowen/reshuffle-gate.