Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RásUCD 5k - 25th Feb

• 22-11-2011 11:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭

Ok I'm racedirector for this race once again this year! We have decided to move the date back earlier then last year (when it was in April), and it was too close to students exams!

A bit of info about the race, its organised fully by students, including the UCD athletics club, its a 5k roadrace around the UCD Belfield Campus. Race entry will be a very reasonable 10euros for Students/Juniors, and 15euros for Adults, and 100% of your entry fee goes to the UCD volunteers overseas charity, of which many of the students competing in the race go to do aid work in third world countries with.

A website with online entry will be up very soon, and all the info will be contained on this. Last years website is still up here http://www.ucd.ie/rasucd/en/, and boards thread to it last year is here http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=71648302

Rate this race based on, Scenery, PB potential, Atmosphere, Value, Organisation 12 votes

5 stars (excellent)
    0% 0 votes
    4 stars (good)
    66% 8 votes
    3 stars (average)
    33% 4 votes
    2 stars (poor)
    0% 0 votes
    1 star (terrible)
    0% 0 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

https://www.facebook.com/events/295101483874738/ on facebook now, Online registration will go live over the next few days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭huskerdu

I was hoping to sign up for this but the website is not clear.

The website has not been updated for this year at all apart from the race advice page.

If you go into the page marked Results, there is a link which claims to be a 2012 online registration page, but I am not convinced I should use it unless it is clear that it is for this year.

http://www.ucd.ie/rasucd/en/results/

http://www.ucd.ie/rasucd/en/

Any idea when this is going to be cleared up ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭funrunner95

Yeah thats this years one, last years registration form wasnt as fancy and you didnt actually pay for the race online last year either.

Thanks.
    It's a pretty poor website when they haven't even updated to this year date on the home page and they have hidden the registration link on the results page.

There is nothing to encourage people to sign-up.
    I hope they improve it soon,for their own sake.

Hi, I'm the racedirector for this race, if ya have any questions, feel free to ask me! In terms of the Website, yes, sorry, we have had trouble with it! UCD IT were abit slow about updating the website for me, but they have got there now thankfully!

But yep, registration for this years race is now opened, there is a link of all pages on the left, under the menu. Race entry is done by paypal, however you can pay by Creditcard though paypal if you don't have a paypal account.

Almost all races now are have online payment, this to allow us to plan ahead and have the best possible setup, and reduce any queues on the day itself.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Hi, I'm the racedirector for this race, if ya have any questions, feel free to ask me! In terms of the Website, yes, sorry, we have had trouble with it! UCD IT were abit slow about updating the website for me, but they have got there now thankfully!

But yep, registration for this years race is now opened, there is a link of all pages on the left, under the menu. Race entry is done by paypal, however you can pay by Creditcard though paypal if you don't have a paypal account.

Almost all races now are have online payment, this to allow us to plan ahead and have the best possible setup, and reduce any queues on the day itself.

Thanks for the reply. Sorry if I came across as critical. Once you mentioned the central IT department, I felt your pain,

I have signed up and am looking forward to it.

H

Just to correct that- the Results page is the only page where there is a link to the online registration.

On all other pages, there is the text " Online registration for Ras 2011" but its not a link, just text.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭macinalli

Hi Timmaay,

I think the point that huskerdu is making is about the page header on the website - that still says April 16 2011. Looking forward to this race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭gnu

huskerdu wrote: »
    Just to correct that- the Results page is the only page where there is a link to the online registration.

On all other pages, there is the text " Online registration for Ras 2011" but its not a link, just text.

The text "Online Registration for Rás 2012 Now Open" was a hyperlink for me on this page http://www.ucd.ie/rasucd/en/
    It seemed to work fine. I haven't had a confirmation email though, just a Paypal receipt.

Oh and I tried emailing using the address given but it bounced back with this error Diagnostic-Code: smtp; 5.1.0 - Unknown address error 550-'5.2.1 user disabled; cannot receive new mail:

Of course I was not quite awake so perhaps I typed the address wrongly!

gnu wrote: »
    The text "Online Registration for Rás 2012 Now Open" was a hyperlink for me on this page http://www.ucd.ie/rasucd/en/
    It seemed to work fine. I haven't had a confirmation email though, just a Paypal receipt.

Thanks. That is working now. I must have been looking at an old cached version of the page this morning, I reloaded it and the link is now there.

You're welcome.:) Happy racing!

All useful feedback! I have asked the IT lads to change the date in the header title, I didn't spot that it wasn't done so thanks for highlighting it. Any other questions feel free to post up, or pm me! I look forward to seeing you's on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭captain P

All signed up! No confirmation email received apart from the Paypal receipt - this correct?

Hopefully my injury has cleared up by then because I have challenged a group of the lads in my class and wanna abuse them afterwards for being beaten by a girl :p:p.

captain P wrote: »
    All signed up! No confirmation email received apart from the Paypal receipt - this correct?

Hopefully my injury has cleared up by then because I have challenged a group of the lads in my class and wanna abuse them afterwards for being beaten by a girl :p:p.

I got a confirmation email today .. a good while after I actually entered.

Good luck with healing up that injury ... and showing the lads how it's done! :)

Steady stream of entries coming in for this at the minute, Just a quick reminder, only the 1st 500 who have paid up will get the free tshirt/goodiebag, and the race itself will be limited to 600 runners, with online registration closing Thursday, at 12noon sharp.

If we have not hit 600 by then, there will be a limited number of day entries (on a 1st come bases, from 10.10am in the UCD hall the Sat morning), and entry on the day will be 15euros for students/juniors, and 20euro for everyone else.

Also, if you have registered already, you will be able to pickup your number, racechip, tshirt and goodiebag on Thursday/Friday of next week (and save the hassle of queuing on the day etc!), from the Student Bank of Ireland branch in the Montrose, there will be full details of this and everything else send out in a pre-race email over the next few days to all competitors!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

Correct me if I've got this wrong but 4.96km?????

http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/fullscreen/30703970/

Ha, don't worry, its an accurately measured course and bang on the 5k, start point is wrong on that map, it is 50meters back from the finishline. I'd never go with mapmyrun for distances, its way out anyway.

I assume that the BoI branch for picking up numbers is the one across the dual carraigeway from UCD beside the hotel, and not one on campus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

I assume that the BoI branch for picking up numbers is the one across the dual carraigeway from UCD beside the hotel, and not one on campus.

The one on campus is an AIB. The lad there said "the Student Bank of Ireland branch in the Montrose", and since there's 2 BofI's next to each other, and one is the student branch and the other is in the Montrose, I can see why there'd be confusion. Either way they're right next to each other so I'm sure it'll be grand.

Hmm, I forgot that I posted that up here, seeing as we are only closing registration on Thursday at lunchtime, we have decided only to have the numberpickup on Friday. But sorry about the confusion ha, it is the Bank of Ireland Student store, which is here: http://g.co/maps/2g7d4, directly across the road from the flyover, and not the full BOI branch by the hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Simmo39

Also, if you have registered already, you will be able to pickup your number, racechip, tshirt and goodiebag on Thursday/Friday of next week (and save the hassle of queuing on the day etc!), from the Student Bank of Ireland branch in the Montrose, there will be full details of this and everything else send out in a pre-race email over the next few days to all competitors![/QUOTE]

Hello Timmaay,

I got my email about going to the student bank to sign on but the email states between the time of 10am to 3.30pm Friday only! Has this changed to Thursday and Friday because it would suit me to sign on today.

Thanks.

Yes, sorry it has changed to friday only, see my post just above yours. You can of course still pickup the number on the day, untill 11.30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭Simmo39

Thanks very much for the reply. I'll get in early on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭geekington

Hey guys, I've been sick all week so not sure if I can race or not hence I held off on registering. Any confirmation on whether we can register on the day? Thanks

There will be a limited number of entries, on the Saturday morning, from 10.10am, on a 1st come 1st serve bases, so get there early!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭Bludub

I have registered for this race but have not got the pre-race email yet. Can you let me know when and where to pick up my number and chip on the morning of the race. Thanks

PM'd you there. There is a map and instructions for parking/numberpickup etc on the homepage of www.rasucd.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭Doinker

PM'd you there. There is a map and instructions for parking/numberpickup etc on the homepage of www.rasucd.ie

Signed up today.
    Can't see it on the website - will there be a bag drop facility?

Bludub wrote: »
    I have registered for this race but have not got the pre-race email yet. Can you let me know when and where to pick up my number and chip on the morning of the race. Thanks

Thanks Timaay - very speedily sorted

Doinker wrote: »
    Signed up today.
    Can't see it on the website - will there be a bag drop facility?

Yep, there will be a bag drop in the Sports hall itself. The usual rules apply here, anything you put there ya leave at your own risk!

Just back from picking up my race number from two very nervous looking students in the BoI branch. Tell them they are doing a grand job.

Nice t-shirt, nice bag, dissappointing healthy goodies. Not a sniff of chocolate. I suppose I'll have to buy my own. My 3 year old is delighted with the rubber aeroplane, though.

See you tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭VR46

Not fit enough to run this year but ran a 5k PB in this race last year.

I'll be back in 2013. :)

For anyone who is has not registered, there will only be 50 places on the day, from 10.10am on, and where they are gone they are gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 574 ✭✭✭SWL

Ran this race today – good course, well marshalled, great atmosphere and a very friendly vibe to the event.
    I was delighted to hear the cupla focal as well.
    well done to organisers.

SWL wrote: »
    Ran this race today – good course, well marshalled, great atmosphere and a very friendly vibe to the event.
    I was delighted to hear the cupla focal as well.
    well done to organisers.

+1. Great cakes afterwards too. It was for charity, so I had to try some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭tunguska

+1. Great cakes afterwards too. It was for charity, so I had to try some.

Gutted. Had to leg it off straight after so the usual post race feed was dispensed with.
    Nice race, really friendly crowd, marshalls, volunteers, everybody was dead sound. Not crazy about the course though, too many turns for my liking but thats only a minor and personal gripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭macinalli

Agree with all of the praise above - the race was organised by lots of enthusiastic students which made for a really good atmosphere. I didn't mind most of the turns on the course but I did think the 1st corner was a bit of a mess - ended up coming to a near stop on that one. That was my only gripe - thought everything else was top notch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭captain P

Agree with the above, very well put together race. Really enjoyed it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭Lock

Really enjoyed the race today, great organisation plenty of numbers helping out. Can't complain really. Brilliant to see so much being raised for UCD volunteers. Well done to all involved.

Thanks to the organisers. My first propoer race - thoroughly enjoyed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭corny

Great race. Great atmosphere. Nice to see a few younguns taking part.

Raging i missed the cakes rushing home to watch the rugby.

BTW does anyone know what happened to the girl lying at the side of the road about halfway round the course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 CloseToTheEdge

Was going for a warm down afterwards and saw someone on a trolley being put into an ambulance, thought it might have been one of the entrants.

Must have been the lady you saw.

On the event itself, thought everything other than the course was excellent.
    Wouldn't complain to the organisers though, they have to comply with the UCD authorities and we know what they have done to the track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Results are now up

I'm sorry to hear someone needed the ambulance, I didn't see any of that - hope the woman is ok.

My thanks to everyone who helped with this race. I thought it was well-organised and very friendly. I really enjoyed it and it was fine for a newbie like me. I was surprised how nervous I felt beforehand but I really needn't have been. Anyway - now I've caught the bug and can't wait for my next race! :)

Thanks for all the posts everyone, great feedback, and the positive comments are great to see! We were very happy with the record turnout of over 560!

Few photos up here: http://lindie.zenfolio.com/p379005602

http://www.racepix.com/Ras-UCD/pictures/670/

We had afew of the students recording a video from it also, I'll put that up once they have it edited.

The girl who needed attention had fainted during the race, she was thankfully fine afterwards, it was great to have the St. Johns ambulance crew on hand to deal with everything in relation to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭duffyshuffle

Anyone have a Garmin link for this race, my garmin shut down halfway :-(

Can anyone find the results on the webpage. Got an email last night saying the results are on the webpage but can't find them anywhere.

Doinker wrote: »
    Can anyone find the results on the webpage. Got an email last night saying the results are on the webpage but can't find them anywhere.

Here's a direct link to the results.

Somehow I didn't make it into any photos - possibly a blessing but would have liked proof that I did it! :)

gnu wrote: »
    Here's a direct link to the results.

Somehow I didn't make it into any photos - possibly a blessing but would have liked proof that I did it! :)

Much obliged.