Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clontarf Half Marathon & 5 mile 7th July

• 22-11-2011 6:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭

Hi All,

Clontarf Half marathon & 5 mile on the 7th July is open :)

The Course may look a little different to your left on the way out and to your right on the way back (from the Start to the Bridge) if the flood defence plan goes ahead... We shall see

The Half is €30 and the 5 mile is €20

www.irishmultimarathon.com

By the by there is an offer available until the 19th March
    3 half marathons for €99. Included in this is Clontarf, Wexford 22nd April and Wicklow 25th March.
    If you go to any of these websites you'll see a yellow box. Click on that for more details.
    If you would like to do a paper entry to save the online fee just PM me here and I'll zip it on to you.

Last year's thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

If 1 half marathon costs €30, how can 3 half marathons cost €99 and be considered a special offer? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Wicklow & Wexford cost €35 up until 31st of December this year, both then €40 after that. No disrespect to race organiser, but far to costly for a race in current climate IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 739 ✭✭✭eoin ryan

tang1 wrote: »
    Wicklow & Wexford cost €35 up until 31st of December this year, both then €40 after that.

That would be right.

Forgot to mention and somebody will eventually tweak it. We are on a Sat in 2012. The race is Tide dependent and both Sat and Sun suited this year. We did a survey amongst past participants and Sat won the vote.
    As a result we are having a night out in DTwo with food platters laid on for participants. Something different - should be fun.... :D

Did both Wicklow 10km & Clontarf Half last year and i thought they were both well run races and could not fault either race. I just unfortunately cannot justify paying €35 for a half marathon anymore. As i said no disrespect to race organiser regarding the price, he has to cover his overheads etc.

Looks like the view will be the same as last year...
    The proposed flood defence system in Clontarf has been defeated. People power won the day!
    So.. looks like we will have a Junior race as well of 2.1km

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Podge83

Watch the prizes - I haven't even looked at whats advertised but the organiser is known for advertising cash prizes and then giving a voucher that can be used on a specific product in a specific shop (and with a time limit) - useless if you don't want that product and you don't go to that shop!!

Clontarf is flat but be prepared for the wind and the stretches on the sand!

Podge83 wrote: »
    I haven't even looked at whats advertised
    Maybe you should... Most would before they go on an interesting and curious attack.
    I'm getting to know people a lot better and how they conduct themselves as I go through a Life Coaching course. This is one of these moments when one (I) don't take things personnally. So - I won't.
    You could have said all this to me yesterday in Waterford if it was such an issue for you

I will put one thing straight - I don't have a rep for doing that.

We do agree on one thing tho. Clontarf is flat ;)

Watch the prizes - I haven't even looked at whats advertised but the organiser is known for advertising cash prizes and then giving a voucher that can be used on a specific product in a specific shop (and with a time limit) - useless if you don't want that product and you don't go to that shop!!

I think you are confusing this with Irish Fit (valentines day 10k, mooathon etc).

eoin ryan wrote: »
    Maybe you should... Most would before they go on an interesting and curious attack.
    I'm getting to know people a lot better and how they conduct themselves as I go through a Life Coaching course. This is one of these moments when one (I) don't take things personnally. So - I won't.
    You could have said all this to me yesterday in Waterford if it was such an issue for you

I will put one thing straight - I don't have a rep for doing that.

We do agree on one thing tho. Clontarf is flat ;)

Eoin,

1) It wasn't an attack
    2) It wasn't a "curious" attack
    3) You definitely don't know how I conduct myself, "life Coaching Course" or not!
    4) You don't need to take it personally as it wasn't a personal attack - I don't attack people i don't know personally.

Now, about my comments:

You advertised cash prizes for the Wexford Half Marathon last year and gave the said vouchers to the behest of anyone I know who won them. (I note that this year you have stated that the prizes "may" be vouchers for the Wexford Half).

BTW, I wont be running the Wexford half in 2012 because i have something else on that day - If i hadn't (got something on) I would run, despite the price tag!!.

I, for one, am not a knocker of Ryano Event Management, in fact i have defended you many times in arguments. The price of your events may be high but if you get a market you are correct to take the direction you do. People need to understand that you are running a business (100% fair play on that). People (IMO) shouldn't complain overly about your prices - either pay and take part or don't!!

By the way, i had more on my mind yesterday than speak to you - apologies for that!

Be careful about accusing people of making attacks on you - I wasn't - i was just stating fact!!!

Again, as i have said to you before - all the best with all of your events next year (and I mean that).

Happy Christmas.

menoscemo wrote: »
    I think you are confusing this with Irish Fit (valentines day 10k, mooathon etc).

I wasnt!!!

Be careful about accusing people of making attacks on you - I wasn't - i was just stating fact!!!

I replied to what you wrote. I couldn't do much more than that except maybe not reply which was my prefered option but you were motivated to write your 'piece' that didn't speak favourably about me and what i do and at the risk of impressions being formed based on that - I did reply...
    So thats how we arrived to this point.

Your say that "I'm known" for doing this. That suggests i do it all the time...!? Happened once in Wexford and the explanation was given to the few parties involved. And the shop was very accomodating from what I know. Whole thing took me by surprise when i was contacted. The word 'may' was omitted by the webdesigner and thats why it sits there now. It was meant to be there from the outset.

So here we are. All said i think it would have been better if you contacted me directly. I have 2 ears and one mouth and I'm practicing my listening :)
    Happy Christmas to you
    C u at the Slaney 10km

Your say that "I'm known" for doing this.

You are in Wexford as you did it there.
    Happened once in Wexford and the explanation was given to the few parties involved.

No explanation was given to me.

Well Padraig,

We've now gotten to the point so it looks like we won't have to go 12 rounds. I thought you were one of the 2 people who did contact me and received an explanation. Fair comment you didn't know the reason.

This came to light after I'd sent out the prizes and considering I didn't hear from you until now (here on boards) for all i knew you were happy out

It was a mistake on the website. You should have gotten in contact with me. Instead you decide to do it here after a few goes which baffles me

Ok Eoin,

If it was a mistake on your website you should stand by what was offered.

Will you meet me, stand by your mistake and swap the voucher for cash??

No - I won't Padraig.
    It would be a lot easier for me to do that and all this unravels to a distant memory BUT you burnt your bridges going this route and in the manner you did it. Read your starting post again. I'm not going to tickle your belly because you go public. The time to do this was months ago and the way to do was to contact me directly. You could have spoken to me yesterday... Instead we are here. There are no winners here as a result. In fact there is no result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,963 ✭✭✭Van.Bosch

No - I won't Padraig.
    It would be a lot easier for me to do that and all this unravels to a distant memory BUT you burnt your bridges going this route and in the manner you did it. Read your starting post again. I'm not going to tickle your belly because you go public. The time to do this was months ago and the way to do was to contact me directly. You could have spoken to me yesterday... Instead we are here. There are no winners here as a result. In fact there is no result.

As an innocent, unbiased bystander I think that the prize should match what was advertised as this formed part of the offer which the runner signed up for.

While I agree that it should have been queried on the day or within a few days, I don't think that, or going public should change the fact that the advertised prize was not awarded.

No - I won't Padraig.

I wasn't expecting you to pay what you should.

You advertised cash, claim a mistake on your website after the event - one which was advertised by you for up to six months - and you, the organizer, the promoter, didn't notice?? - Some wouldn't believe you - I just want to confirm that i do (believe you).

I've been off with injury all summer and didn't meet you since and to be honest i forgot all about it. I couldn't approach you on the day as you didn't present the prizes on the day but sent them out afterwards (at odds with previous years when you did give the cash as advertised)

You state that I burnt my bridges - I have no bridges with you to burn! - are you saying that I am banned from future Ryano Event Management races? - Please explain.

I didn't run your race for the prize - I ran it because I enjoy running and this was a local race for me. I ran it despite the price tag (I have made my comments on this before).

Oh and please don't tickle my belly (only my wife and kids can do that)!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭mrbungle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

mrbungle wrote: »
    This is a thread about the Clonakilty race which was well ran and great fun, I did this year and last!!

Er, no it isn't :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

mrbungle wrote: »
    Although very entertaining banter, take it somewhere else lads please??

Nonsense, this sort of feedback is what makes the Events section so useful. A commercial race director starts a public thread to promote his business, and then has problems with previous entrants publicly legitimately questioning aspects of that business?

That's the sort of thing that helps runners decides between what sort of races provide good value and service, and which don't.

Lads/ lassies,

Please don't take my gripe with Ryano Event management Limited as a general dig/ moan at the business. By and large this company runs good events.

There was an example when the prize advertised wasn't given - that's all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭mrbungle

RayCun wrote: »
    Er, no it isn't :)

Apologies! Just woke up and grabbed the phone.

Back to bed, legs need it. Brain too!

Oh and please don't tickle my belly (only my wife and kids can do that)!!

Are you sure...? I'm good a tickling.

This issue has taken twists and turns to get here and has hit an impass. So if your game... lets finish with a twist.
    Back in the day one of us would be dead by now and life would go on. A la Pistols at dawn.
    Why don't we race for this? Slaney 10km. We can shake hands at the end and laugh it off. (and I'll prob have to bring some cash). If I win - it means i might get fit again....
    Is it on?

Your'e on!!!

Sh!t. Does anyone know the number for a Coach... :rolleyes:
    (life coaching is going to be feck all use here)

Good on you. We'll have to introduce ourselves b4 the race

Hey Eoin - It'll be great to be part of a runner getting back to his peak of fitness.

Do you want a schedule??

Oh and by the way you should win easy as it comes in the middle of my London Marathon preparation - my legs will be well dead at that stage ;-O

If you win i'll give you back the voucher!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭village runner

Great to see ye make up again.
    If i didnt get what I was promised I would be paying a sniper that day of hte 10km........He must be confident of beating you...........
    I always thought the customer was always right...........:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

This was good fun last year to pace, sandy and windy in spots but lots of happy runners. Saw the pace balloons recently enroute to Tenerife on my holidays! :D

Do you want a schedule??

That would be great. I lost all my files and my mojo for training so this is the best kick in the arse ever.

The voucher isn't in the mix - thats yours. My reward is a 'Goal' which has been seriously lacking.

In terms of form... I'm the underdog. You put in a strong performance in Waterford. But... if i put in the work this could be a close thing!

Anyone taking bets.....

Having reflected, what I should have said was "for the Wexford Half Marathon earlier this year the Organizer advertised cash prizes and subsequently posted out vouchers after the event to the value of the cash prize"

He has since explained to me, via this forum, why this happened.

"Regarding the Clontarf Half Marathon, I run the course regularly in training. It is snooker table flat but can be windy due to its exposure - it will be in your back for half the race though!. There are stretches on sand also, but these shouldn't be too bad as the race is timed to suit the tides."

Great Vista Too!

Apologies if I gave the wrong impression of the organizer overall as I can only comment on the event in which I took part.

I mentioned this way back...
    Clontarf Junior is now open for ages 7 to 15 years
    2.1k course.
    Prizes for 1-3rd boys and girls
    Starts directly after Half Marathon start.
    www.irishmultimarathon.com
    Limit 100 entries and online entry only

The Kids mobile marathon also open for youngsters

FREE ‘Train Smarter not Harder’ 1 hour seminar will take place in Base Camp, middle Abbey St http://www.basecamp.ie/store/ on the 07th of february at 7pm. Everyone is welcome to attend. You will learn the basic tricks of the trade via the presentation including Equipment, setting Goals, Nutrition and a Training plan. Ideally suited to beginners but there are nuggets here for everyone. This could be the kick start for your New Years resolution! No booking required.
    All welcome

Bump - don't want to be lonely in the room... :D

FREE ‘Train Smarter not Harder’ 1 hour seminar will take place in Base Camp, middle Abbey St http://www.basecamp.ie/store/ on the 07th of february at 7pm. Everyone is welcome to attend. You will learn the basic tricks of the trade via the presentation including Equipment, setting Goals, Nutrition and a Training plan. Ideally suited to beginners but there are nuggets here for everyone. This could be the kick start for your New Years resolution! No booking required.
    All welcome

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Your'e on!!!
    so who won???

adamski8 wrote: »
    so who won???

I'll let Eoin tell you

Suffice to say the bet was settled!!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Name Changed

I really enjoyed this race last year. Can't wait for this one. Hopefully it won't be as warm though.

I'll let Eoin tell you

Suffice to say the bet was settled!!!:D

Yeah, I kicked his ass.... NOT! I didn't get within 2 asses roars of him :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Pronator

Can anyone tell me what the underfoot conditions are like on the beach section? Is the sand compacted or of the softer variety? Also how far is this section? Thanks.

Pronator wrote: »
    Can anyone tell me what the underfoot conditions are like on the beach section? Is the sand compacted or of the softer variety? Also how far is this section? Thanks.

Sand area that is used is well compacted underfoot and firm, the beach section is about 1.5-2 miles in length.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

tang1 wrote: »
    Sand area that is used is well compacted underfoot and firm, the beach section is about 1.5-2 miles in length.
    Dont forget thats both ways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭BenMicheal

Have to admit I'm relishing thought of doing this 1/2 marathon. The beach/road combo is similar to my training run & it will be the longest distance i will have attempted on my way to the Dublin marathon. Cant wait!

Hi Folks,

As the title says there is a free 1 hour seminar/ Presentation on
    Wednesday 16th of May.
    Location is Base Camp, Middle Abbey St www.basecamp.ie
    Start time is 6.30pm
    Open invitation to anyone. No need to book - just turn up smile.gif
    Topics covered include:
    Equipment
    Motivation
    Basic Nutrition
    Training Plan
    Q & A
    Ideal for people who are starting running/ sport career...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭pre

Pronator wrote: »

The sand is lovely its like kilmuckridge::

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭SnailsPace

Hi Folks,

As the title says there is a free 1 hour seminar/ Presentation on
    Wednesday 16th of May.
    Location is Base Camp, Middle Abbey St www.basecamp.ie
    Start time is 6.30pm
    Open invitation to anyone. No need to book - just turn up smile.gif
    Topics covered include:
    Equipment
    Motivation
    Basic Nutrition
    Training Plan
    Q & A
    Ideal for people who are starting running/ sport career...

Eoin,

The website seems to be geared towards hiking/ mountaineering, is the seminar relating to this or just running??

Is there a garmin link available for the Clontarf Half as I could not find one in the sticky or on the multimara site ??

Thanks a bunch

SnailsPace wrote: »
    Is there a garmin link available for the Clontarf Half as I could not find one in the sticky or on the multimara site ??

Thanks a bunch

SnailsPace this is as flat a half marathon you will run, the only incline/decline is going onto and back off the beach along Bull Wall. Wind is more of a factor, if its blowing off the Irish Sea it makes it tough.

Eoin,

The website seems to be geared towards hiking/ mountaineering, is the seminar relating to this or just running??

Thanks a bunch

There a stickied thread in this section (events) which people put up their garmin links to races. If you look, it should be there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭SnailsPace

menoscemo wrote: »
    There a stickied thread in this section (events) which people put up their garmin links to races. If you look, it should be there....

I hate when people dont check before posting, so trust me I have checked 3 times already. Thanks.

Apologies so, I just assumed it was there. I have added it now.

http://connect.garmin.com/activity/96468317

Eoin,

Sorry, the website on basecamp was just for directions.
    The whole thing is geared towards running / starting exercise in general.

When i began (before boards.ie existed.....) I was clueless and would have found it very beneficial to know the things in the Presentation. Thats how it all came about...
    Turns out my goofs were shared by many others. Helps you bypass the goofs...
    Were going for a drink afterwards as well - might as well make it a social:)

The pacers are from Boards i presume the same as last year, the 1.45 pacers last year were excellent!!