Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Miriam O Callaghans Recession Christmas !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Excuse me while I tune my tiny violin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Vego

Id give miriam a large wedge :D

She must be worried about the budget and the childrens allowance too, tough times, only €200k odd a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Hasmunch

Vego wrote: »

After 8 kids that'd want to be some large wedge...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

If they want a cheap Christmas they family could all gather between her legs and pretend it's Santa's grotto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

Clearly not all recession Christmases we're created equal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

My heart bleeds for her, her choice to have eight kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭texidub

She makes more than 1/4 of a million euros a year and she's doing the poor mouth?! FFS! These people in RTE are delusional.

Arrrrgh! *runs off screaming*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

Dotrel wrote: »
    If they want a cheap Christmas they family could all gather between her legs and pretend it's Santa's grotto.

that's Halloween silly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭Vego

Hasmunch wrote: »
    After 8 kids that'd want to be some large wedge...

smash the back doors in

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 460 ✭✭four18

Too much of an echo ! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

RTE star in out of touch with reality shocker!

Again.

People earning €290k a year should look up the word recession in the dictionary before spouting on about it :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭texidub

Death to RTE! Off with their heads!

(had a nice little scream/jog there and feel refreshed now :D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

phasers wrote: »
    Excuse me while I tune my tiny violin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Thief

Nauseating article.

It must be hard to get by when your salary been cut by a massive 3.6 % over recent years :rolleyes:

She'd make a good politician that one! Full of Sh!te.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,606 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Venom wrote: »
    People earning €290k a year should look up the word recession in the dictionary before spouting on about it :rolleyes:

If you bought a lifestyle commensurate with your earnings at the height of the Celtic Tiger (A mortgage on a house at 5 times salary, car loans and the works) and are now faced with a 30%/35% paycut which will make the continued financing of those purchases impossible then you are facing your own personal recession.

This logic applies the same to the €30K earner being reduced to €20K up to the €1M earner being reduced to €660K.

Now obviously people will save their sympathy for the first person above, but it's churlish to suggest that the recession can't put you in a similar financial mess if you are a super high earner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

If you bought a lifestyle commensurate with your earnings at the height of the Celtic Tiger (A mortgage on a house at 5 times salary, car loans and the works) and are now faced with a 30%/35% paycut which will make the continued financing of those purchases impossible then you are facing your own personal recession.

This logic applies the same to the €30K earner being reduced to €20K up to the €1M earner being reduced to €660K.

Now obviously people will save their sympathy for the first person above, but it's churlish to suggest that the recession can't put you in a similar financial mess if you are a super high earner.

3.6% cut.

With that said, article is designed to inflame.

texidub wrote: »
    She makes more than 1/4 of a million euros a year and she's doing the poor mouth?! FFS! These people in RTE are delusional.

Arrrrgh! *runs off screaming*

isn't her hubby a big shot in RTE too earning a massive wedge?

God I fu­cking hate her...

*bites fist*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,606 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

RichieC wrote: »
    3.6% cut.

With that said, article is designed to inflame.

I think the article said that there was a 30% pay reduction expected when RTE contracts are renewed in 2013. I do agree about the tone of the article though.

My point was more against Venom (and many other people on other threads) suggesting that at a certain salary level that recession and/or pay cuts doesn't affect you.
    Whereas depending on the financial committments you made at your maximum salary you can be every bit as affected as Joe Soap. A mortgage, unwisely taken is out, is no longer manageable - bills have to be juggled, maybe every time the phone rings theres a dread that its a cred mgmt agency again etc.

Peoples 'schadenfreude' about this for the €300K earner, and comparative sympathy for the €30K earner, is perfectly understandable obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,229 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

"Like OMG this resasshan is like hitting me like totally hord"?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

I genuinely feel sorry for her, on a measly €290k p/year.
    Must be very tough on herself and her family.

It's the Herald so i suppose a large tract of Siberia should be taken - she doesn't appear to go into any depth about why xmas this year will be so hard on her and her husband and children.
    Did they really take out an x8 or x9 mortgage? Do they run ten cars?
    Own (on paper) twenty overseas investment properties?

Alas, we'll never know...damn you The Herald!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 264 ✭✭mariano rivera

You are talking about her vagina?

right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Miriam took a cut from €301,667 in 2008 to €290,625 in 2009, a decrease of €11,042 or 3.6pc

She was earning €221k in 2006 - http://www.independent.ie/entertainment/tv-radio/steve-and-miriam-king-and-queen-of-rte-1719898.html

€11k pay cut?..... or close to €500 eur a month less.... Spare me :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭Ben Hadad

You are missing the point. There is a baseline that people have to spend just to survive, i.e food stuff, medical, L&H, rent etc. For everyone these are fairly similar, and lets say for an example are roughly €20K per annum. Every penny you earn over this amount can be spent on discretionary spending.

Someone earning 300K and taking a cut of 10% will have to tighten the luxury belt a little and hold off on that chalet in the alps for another year.

Someone earning 20K and taking a 10% cut will have to eat less, or make reductions in neccessities, and maybe actually have to tighten their belts.

So no the logic does not apply that a person going from earnings of 1m to 660K and from 30k to 20K is the exact same. Seriously what world do you live in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Ben Hadad wrote: »
    You are missing the point. There is a baseline that people have to spend just to survive, i.e food stuff, medical, L&H, rent etc. For everyone these are fairly similar, and lets say for an example are roughly €20K per annum. Every penny you earn over this amount can be spent on discretionary spending.

Someone earning 300K and taking a cut of 10% will have to tighten the luxury belt a little and hold off on that chalet in the alps for another year.

Someone earning 20K and taking a 10% cut will have to eat less, or make reductions in neccessities, and maybe actually have to tighten their belts.

So no the logic does not apply that a person going from earnings of 1m to 660K and from 30k to 20K is the exact same. Seriously what world do you live in?

the person earning the 1m will have bills, ongoing expenses and a mortgage relevant to their income though. people live to their means. obviously there's plenty that she can do here, she can sell the house, sell one of the cars, all the usual stuff that we can all do, in order to make things a little easier - but she is probably choosing not to for the same reasons that you or i choose not to

shes not saying shes broke, shes saying shes going to relax a good bit with the expenditures. you know, shes being sensible with her money. plenty of people, poor and rich alike, who could do with that kind of cop on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

four18 wrote: »
    her Hubby is on a large wedge

Is he indeed? Kinky.

It's going to be a tough Christmas in the O'Callaghan household this year. Everyone will get their Christmas presents and they can all have a nice big dinner and wont have to worry about the cost of the Christmas period.

It's just not fair that people have to go through something like that. Hope they'll be O.K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭EarlERizer

Helix wrote: »
    the person earning the 1m will have bills, ongoing expenses and a mortgage relevant to their income though. people live to their means. obviously there's plenty that she can do here, she can sell the house, sell one of the cars, all the usual stuff that we can all do, in order to make things a little easier - but she is probably choosing not to for the same reasons that you or i choose not to

shes not saying shes broke, shes saying shes going to relax a good bit with the expenditures. you know, shes being sensible with her money. plenty of people, poor and rich alike, who could do with that kind of cop on

In fairness the peron earning the €1 million a year is probably a Banker or Bondholder or some other corrupt fooker who brought this latest round of misery on the country .........they wont be earning that kind of money without knowing how to squirrrel it away somewhere where nobody can get to it :p

As for poor aul Miriam, I wouldn't want to be her waking up Christmas morning feeling like a letdown coz the kids didnt get what they really wanted!

These coming weeks will have her clawing the table worrying about how they'll get by this year.

only corrupt people make over a million a year? really?

thats a really weird perspective

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭blackdog2

EarlERizer wrote: »
    In fairness the peron earning the €1 million a year is probably a Banker or Bondholder or some other corrupt fooker who brought this latest round of misery on the country .........they wont be earning that kind of money without knowing how to squirrrel it away somewhere where nobody can get to it :p

As for poor aul Miriam, I wouldn't want to be her waking up Christmas morning feeling like a letdown coz the kids didnt get what they really wanted!

These coming weeks will have her clawing the table worrying about how they'll get by this year.

Odd that all millionaires I know who have apparently "lost it all" seem to be living exactly as they were. It seems as if certain people are afraid to call in their debts, as if, god forbid, the house of cards resting on a stack of dominos were to come tumbling down...

sure almost everyone i know "seems" to be living exactly as they were too, whether they are or not i have no idea

i dont get this thread, would people rather o'callaghan was going mad spending a fortune or something? shes damned if she does and damned if she doesnt.

No, not just the corrupt, anally retentive types do too :rolleyes: ....... don't do much tongue in cheek do you?
    sure almost everyone i know "seems" to be living exactly as they were too, whether they are or not i have no idea

i dont get this thread, would people rather o'callaghan was going mad spending a fortune or something? shes damned if she does and damned if she doesnt.

No, i think people would just prefer not to hear about or read about this type of artical.Personally I couldn't give a fook what she is or isn't doing at any time of the year let alone Christmas.

I've volunteered during Christmas at hostels for homeless in the past, I've seen real hardship,then you see these over indulgent 'celebs' and they're crting about wage cuts and how they deserve the money they get......boll*x

I wonder with all these paycuts at RTE will there be any scope for a reduction in licence fee's?

:D (note to Helix - tongue firmly in cheek again)

EarlERizer wrote: »
    No, i think people would just prefer not to hear about or read about this type of artical.Personally I couldn't give a fook what she is or isn't doing at any time of the year let alone Christmas.

see that's the thing, people DO want to read this kind of crap. if they didnt it wouldnt be published

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

I think the article said that there was a 30% pay reduction expected when RTE contracts are renewed in 2013. I do agree about the tone of the article though.

My point was more against Venom (and many other people on other threads) suggesting that at a certain salary level that recession and/or pay cuts doesn't affect you.
    Whereas depending on the financial committments you made at your maximum salary you can be every bit as affected as Joe Soap. A mortgage, unwisely taken is out, is no longer manageable - bills have to be juggled, maybe every time the phone rings theres a dread that its a cred mgmt agency again etc.

Peoples 'schadenfreude' about this for the €300K earner, and comparative sympathy for the €30K earner, is perfectly understandable obviously.

I'd be fairly sure that if I had a third of the income that her family has that I'd be very well prepared for a 3.6% paycut.

see that's the thing, people DO want to read this kind of crap. if they didnt it wouldnt be published

:confused: I'm confused now.........are you been tongue in cheek here? or seriously suggesting the press only give us the news we want to see/hear?

Just getting back to the poor aul dear O'Callaghan , i've a novel idea for her to run by RTE........a fly on the wall type reality show "Christmas with the O'Callaghans" - we can all tune in and watch how this poor unfortunate lot get by on the run up to the festivities (or lack of given her financial constraints this year)

:D she'll rake it in and Christmas can be the festive indulgance it once was and no hardship to endure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

Oh no , now here poor little darling children will have to choose either ipad or iphone and not both, boo hoo :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

Perhaps it is effecting her. I think RTE should be looking at actually paying Miriam more. She did a fantastic job during the presidential election debate and for me, she is one of RTE's finest presenters.

BBC or UTV should look to appoint her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭busyliving

KeithAFC wrote: »
    Perhaps it is effecting her. I think RTE should be looking at actually paying Miriam more. She did a fantastic job during the presidential election debate and for me, she is one of RTE's finest presenters.

BBC or UTV should look to appoint her.

I hope your being Sarcastic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Miriam is NOT a sex symbol. Really.

After 8 kids, it would be like throwing a welly up O'Connell Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,269 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Should we have a whip-round for her?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,509 ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Is this suffering from newspaper spin though?

She never actually complains about her salary, and says she's fully prepared for a cut.

She also says that she thinks Christmas "is all a lot of fuss, it's too much."

Her actual words could just as easily be read as someone who thinks there's too much commercial hype around Christmas, and is using the opportunity to point out to her kids that bad times come along the way too ... and for that matter doesn't want her kids going back to school after Christmas boasting about the big, expensive presents they got when their classmates may be from families who the recession is actually hitting hard, and who may not have been as lucky.

If she was buying them big expensive presents people would be giving out about her, if she's trying to teach her kids a few lessons about thrift and common sense and reasonable expectations people will give out about her ... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

Is this suffering from newspaper spin though?

She never actually complains about her salary, and says she's fully prepared for a cut.

She also says that she thinks Christmas "is all a lot of fuss, it's too much."

Her actual words could just as easily be read as someone who thinks there's too much commercial hype around Christmas, and is using the opportunity to point out to her kids that bad times come along the way too ... and for that matter doesn't want her kids going back to school after Christmas boasting about the big, expensive presents they got when their classmates may be from families who the recession is actually hitting hard, and who may not have been as lucky.

If she was buying them big expensive presents people would be giving out about her, if she's trying to teach her kids a few lessons about thrift and common sense and reasonable expectations people will give out about her ... :D

Huge spin. Even at the start they say she said something with a quote at the end of a sentence that she said was something her son said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

Love to see the Hearld work the AH masses up into a tizzy over a non-story. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭thee glitz

amacachi wrote: »
    Even at the start they say she said something with a quote at the end of a sentence that she said was something her son said.
    Ye wha?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

Vego wrote: »

And I'd say you'd need a jumbo one by now.:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

It's a hoor being a millionaire in Ireland. Fortunately, not too many of us have that problem. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Is there really any need for the constant references to the size of Mrs. O'Callaghan's vagina?