Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fitzsimmons, Temple Bar..

• 21-11-2011 12:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭

So I was talking to a girl last night who told me she had just paid €6.20 for a pint there (about 2am) and left.. I find this hard to believe tbh so can someone confirm of deny please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,785 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

its ridiculously overpriced. Think i paid about 6 quid for a carlsberg there not so long ago. Its a total rip off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Was in their once, had one pint and left. €6+ for a pint of Bud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Davidth88

Hate that place . Tourist rip off at it's worst.

The prices are totally barmy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Can't believe how much people will pay for a pint, was talking to 2 guys in work who were over from U.S, they paid €5.80 a pint in Temple Bar, told them if they knew the right places they'd be paying 3.50 or so

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Was in their once, had one pint and left. €6+ for a pint of Bud.

She may not have been spoofing so, christ almighty thats expensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

The greed evident in Temple Bar pisses me off no end. Tax breaks were given to companies (including pubs/restaurants) to set up there in an effort to rejuvenate the place.

They pay the taxpayer back by charging extortionate prices, would love to see some form of price control to limit their greed.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,975 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

They pay the taxpayer back by charging extortionate prices
    And business seems to be booming. The taxpayer is getting his money's worth by having the building as a living business rather than a derelict shell. The taxpayer is not obliged to go in and actually buy one of their stupidly expensive pints.
    would love to see some form of price control to limit their greed.
    It exists. It's called "the market". When people stop buying the expensive pints they will stop selling them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,218 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

BeerNut wrote: »
    And business seems to be booming. The taxpayer is getting his money's worth by having the building as a living business rather than a derelict shell. The taxpayer is not obliged to go in and actually buy one of their stupidly expensive pints.

It exists. It's called "the market". When people stop buying the expensive pints they will stop selling them.

Agreed, I get all the above, I understand it... but I still think it stinks.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,017 Mod ✭✭✭✭yoyo

The Temple Bar inn (Red building on the corner) can reach over €7 a pint some nights, used to live in Temple Bar (Actually looking on to Fitzsimons at one point) and they certainly must make a nice profit most nights-always busy, I was only ever in Fitzsimons with a few m8s once a few years ago (It has a roof beer garden which was the reason for going) and the price was well over €5, this was around 2 o clock in the day!
    Happy to say I've never stepped foot in anywhere else in Temple Bar bar Farringtons, and that was only for 1 pint :)

Nick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭Lombardo86

An absolute tourist trap. Not only the pints overpriced, everything is..
    We paid 15.80 for 2 vodka and 1 7up. Thinking we were being smart sharing the mixers.

Will NEVER be going back. If only the tourists knew of other spots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭finfinfin

I was in here.may weekend 2009,Munster v lunnstur on the box.3 pints of Heineken 22.50.needless to say it was my round and I was caught a beaut.we left after them never to return.some days when I walk past it I still feel a bit of gawk coming up from my stomach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

The greed evident in Temple Bar pisses me off no end. Tax breaks were given to companies (including pubs/restaurants) to set up there in an effort to rejuvenate the place.

They pay the taxpayer back by charging extortionate prices, would love to see some form of price control to limit their greed.

Don't forget tourists heading home after visiting these places and telling their mates "don't go to dublin, it's a complete rip off"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

sugarman wrote: »
    Came into mention that, €6.80:eek::eek::eek: I thought your man was messing when I handed him €12 for 2 & asked for another €1.60.. Shocking. And the place was jammers mid week. We only stopped by because it looked to be hopping in comparison to everywer else. Left after the one to a place around the corner for €2.50 drinks:D

Name it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

sugarman wrote: »
    Came into mention that, €6.80:eek::eek::eek: I thought your man was messing when I handed him €12 for 2 & asked for another €1.60.. Shocking. And the place was jammers mid week. We only stopped by because it looked to be hopping in comparison to everywer else. Left after the one to a place around the corner for €2.50 drinks:D
    Collie D wrote: »
    Name it

EuroSpar :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

People should kick up bloody stink when asked to pay those prices,rather than meekly handing over the money and vowing never to go back.

"Ten pints please..how much?...fcuck you pal i'm not paying that".

Greedy,gouging bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Degsy wrote: »
    People should kick up bloody stink when asked to pay those prices,rather than meekly handing over the money and vowing never to go back.

"Ten pints please..how much?...fcuck you pal i'm not paying that".

Greedy,gouging bastards.

If muppets will pay it and come back for more, then tough on the muppets I reckon. Nothing worse than the idiot moaning about price of drink and then going back a week later. They can keep their overpriced slops and crap music, the rest of us can enjoy our beer without the pretentious knobs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

that place is full of assh&le english at the weekends

come to think of it so is the whole of temple bar

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

philstar wrote: »

Good..it keeps the shirt-wearing nobheads away from the decent pubs.

philstar wrote: »

Give it over with that crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭filthymcnasty

6.20 for Carlsberg in Temple Bar (Bar) last night. work do but still..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Holy crap batman. That's unbelievable.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

I went in there once during the day and the place was filthy so I never went back.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,255 ✭✭✭✭Esoteric_

Paid 11.50 there for a vodka and Diet Coke last time I was there. Never went back after that. Stick to Fibber's for pre drinks now because it's 3 euro a drink and free mixers, then head to a club when I'm drunk so I don't have to waste too much money on drink.

Spent the whole night in Fibber's last night (it's a dive, but my mates wanted to stay there) and bought my friend's drinks all night, and got both of us completely hammered (pints, cider and vodkas). Spent less than 50 euro. Best prices ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭The Scientician

Yeah it's expensive. It's a pity because the time I was in it recently it had a nice atmosphere, really good bands playing, mix of people from all over the world. Deadly buzz. But as someone said upthread, they'll charge what people are willing to pay.

A lot of tourists aren't pissheads either, they're only having a couple of drinks. Think about if you're somewhere like Paris, you might pay €5 for a coffee when you'd never do that at home, you're only there for that day and you want to enjoy it. Same deal, some tourists come in for a single pint in the Temple Bar, hear a bit of music, take a few photos. Nice evening had. They're only down €6.20. There's a constant stream of people visiting the area to only have that one pint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Long, long time since I've had a pint in Temple Bar (unless you count the Ha'penny Inn) and it seems I'm still vindicated in not doing so.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Simon2015

The bouncers there seem to be complete low lives.

Just look at this video.

https://www.facebook.com/NiallBoylanAtNight/videos/918185151590817/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭newacc2015

Simon2015 wrote: »
    The bouncers there seem to be complete low lives.

Just look at this video.

https://www.facebook.com/NiallBoylanAtNight/videos/918185151590817/

You mean their subcontracted bouncers? The ones that were not hired personally by the club and could work in any nightclub in Dublin City?

newacc2015 wrote: »
    You mean their subcontracted bouncers? The ones that were not hired personally by the club and could work in any nightclub in Dublin City?

Does it matter who employs them ? Those sort of bouncers would put me off ever setting foot in Fitzsimmons any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

newacc2015 wrote: »

If they're on the door of the premises then they're the responsibility of that premises, doesn't matter if they're sub-contracted or whatever else. Very professional indeed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

What's the story with the camera here, did he upload it himself or is there somewhere its relayed back to? I have no idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Saw this video on FB, you would wonder what happened in the lead up to it, I doubt the bouncers would go at anyone that bad unless provoked...

Some of the page comments say the 2 lads had broken bottles, you can't see that in video though...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

All of your facts to date have been completely wrong.

It is Fitzsimons.

One (1) m.

Carry on.

Fieldog wrote: »
    Saw this video on FB, you would wonder what happened in the lead up to it, I doubt the bouncers would go at anyone that bad unless provoked...

Some of the page comments say the 2 lads had broken bottles, you can't see that in video though...

Regardless of what may or may not happened before this incident Bouncers are supposed to stop trouble from happening not to encourage it.

These guys are totally unprofessional and should never have been put on the door.

Regardless of what may or may not happened before this incident Bouncers are supposed to stop trouble from happening not to encourage it.

These guys are totally unprofessional and should never have been put on the door.

'Guy', it was one prick who kept provoking the two lads for another go.

A bouncer is shown with two poles in his hands, but there's nothing to say they were used as weapons.. Tbh its more likely he took them off the street so they couldn't be used against anyone.

A lot of people are wondering why the door staff left the door, usually I'd say that's very unprofessional but from the recorded audio its obvious the two lads had armed themselves with bottles, and there's a doorman alone on the millenium door of that club who can not be left alone.

All that said, I'm working the doors over twenty years and the one lad is the kind of scumbag I don't ever want to work with, and the type I've sacked lots of times.

I doubt he's still working there, and I wouldn't be surprised if his actions cost the security company the contract for that premises.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

The brazen head use to be my local. I'm like a fat Wayne Rooney and it was like shooting fish in a barrell pullingwise. €6.20 is a bargain for the convenience of not having to go to Coppers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,571 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Fieldog wrote: »

Surely if they feel there is a threat to themselves, they should lock the doors and call the gardai?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Another thing I never got, and it hurts me when I have to do it. Paying into a 'club', how can you pay in somewhere to give them your money? Its not like there's anything great in these places either. The drinks are still sky high. Once it happens I generally avoid the place next time around.

TallGlass wrote: »
    Another thing I never got, and it hurts me when I have to do it. Paying into a 'club', how can you pay in somewhere to give them your money? Its not like there's anything great in these places either. The drinks are still sky high. Once it happens I generally avoid the place next time around.

Another Scam they pull is that they put the prices up after a certain time in most city centre pubs/clubs.

Its like they only do it to take advantage of drunk people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭MarkAnthony

Another Scam they pull is that they put the prices up after a certain time in most city centre pubs/clubs.

Well Duh! :pac:

Its arguable whether its a scam or not, just bear this in mind.

The cost of a late license (to stay open after 23:30) costs €410 PER NIGHT!.

That's a fairly hefty [+/-] €148,000 per year (not including your legal fee's and added public liability costs to cover the longer opening hours).

But people don't want to know this argument.

All that said, there are some clubs particularly in Templebar absolutely raping the arse out of our wallets.

The cost of a late license (to stay open after 23:30) costs €410 PER NIGHT!.

410 Euro is nothing to the bar when you have a few hundred people paying over 6 Euro a pint.

410 Euro is nothing to the bar when you have a few 100 hundred people paying over 6 Euro a pint.

Again it depends.

A lot of bars (at least in the cities) are leased by a license owner, some of these people are making decent money and pulling a good salary out of the bar but a lot aren't, and a lot fail because of massive overheads (rent on the lease, public liability, rates, taxes on alcohol, upkeep of the premises, security contracts etc etc).

I can't remember the publicans take on the price of a pint but its not a whole lot and €410 per night is a huge amount of drink to sell before you're back making money.

More than once I've considered taking out a lease on a bar, but when I scratch the surface I ran off with my tail between my legs. Like cafes & restaurants, bars are a very risky business.

But like I said earlier some bar owners are arse raping us.. Fitzsimmons being one of the worse, I wouldn't go near the kip these days.

I hear its in the hands of the receiver anyway, and apart from the job losses which will follow its not something I'd mourn.

I'll pay up to €5:50 for a beer in Templebar, after that I'll take my money elsewhere and they can feck off.

Again it depends.

A lot of bars (at least in the cities) are leased by a license owner, some of these people are making decent money and pulling a good salary out of the bar but a lot aren't, and a lot fail because of massive overheads (rent on the lease, public liability, rates, taxes on alcohol, upkeep of the premises, security contracts etc etc).

I can't remember the publicans take on the price of a pint but its not a whole lot and €410 per night is a huge amount of drink to sell before you're back making money.

More than once I've considered taking out a lease on a bar, but when I scratch the surface I ran off with my tail between my legs. Like cafes & restaurants, bars are a very risky business.

But like I said earlier some bar owners are arse raping us.. Fitzsimmons being one of the worse, I wouldn't go near the kip these days.

I hear its in the hands of the receiver anyway, and apart from the job losses which will follow its not something I'd mourn.

I'll pay up to €5:50 for a beer in Templebar, after that I'll take my money elsewhere and they can feck off.

I don't know of anywhere in Temple bar were you would get a pint for 5.50 unless there doing some sort of drink special.

As regards the late license many places I've been in put up the prices after 10pm which is still within normal opening hours. Its just a Scam in my opinion.

I have not been in Fitzsimmons in years but the last time I was there I paid 7.20 for a pint bottle of bulmers and the place was packed out. Places like that would easily clear 400 quid within half an hour on a busy night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭WarZ

To be perfectly honest if the two individuals were hanging around threatening staff and producing broken bottles then they deserve a good kicking.

They were a complete distraction and a constant threat who would have become bolder if not challenged. It is always better to take the initiative.

Let's say a fight broke out inside the premises what are they supposed to do? Leave a solitary doorman outside to deal with those two individuals while the rest broke up the fight? It would be asking for trouble.

The bouncer who apparently comes off as bad in this is, in my opinion, simply trying to scare the two individuals off from returning again. He needs to not let up in order to ensure this. Any sign of weakness and those two would be straight back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

WarZ wrote: »
    The bouncer who apparently comes off as bad in this is, in my opinion, simply trying to scare the two individuals off from returning again. He needs to not let up in order to ensure this. Any sign of weakness and those two would be straight back.
    Totally unprofessional, he should not have left the door & assaulting a member of the public is a criminal offence.

It's the nature of the game, on occasion people are disrespectful to you, you smile, you try to pacify them by treating them with a modicum of respect & if all else fails you & your colleagues close ranks to protect the premises & clientele, using reasonable force, if necessary, until the appropriate authorities arrive.

A PSIA licence does not give you carte blanche to take the law into your own hands.

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Totally unprofessional, he should not have left the door & assaulting a member of the public is a criminal offence.

It's the nature of the game, on occasion people are disrespectful to you, you smile, you try to pacify them by treating them with a modicum of respect & if all else fails you & your colleagues close ranks to protect the premises & clientele, using reasonable force, if necessary, until the appropriate authorities arrive.

A PSIA licence does not give you carte blanche to take the law into your own hands.

Its rare that I disagree with you, but you're wrong.

Producing bottles and threatening door staff is more than being a little disrespectful.

As regards leaving the door, as I've said (and I'm speaking from a position of experience having worked that door for almost four years), there's a doorman on the millenium door who is quite vulnerable, its common procedure (when I was there) to leave the club door if there was trouble at the M/bridge door.

Punching the guy a number of times in the back of the head is OTT IMO, but in the heat of battle and after being threatened with a bottle I can't say the f*cker didn't deserve it (I'd like to think I'd restrain the guy and call the cops instead of punching the head off him).

Gouding the idiot like the doorman did is way out of order, and tbh if I was running the door that night I'd have sent him home and asked the company to replace him ASAP.

Simon2015, I'm trying to be informative and helpful to you but you seem to have your mind made up. Take the info I gave you as you wish, but I won't be wasting anymore time on it.

Oh, you can get a pint of €5:50 or less in Templebar ~ shop around.

Please tell me where in Temple bar you can get a pint for 5.50 that is not on special offer.

Buskers were dong 5 Euro Pints for a short time but they are now back up to 6.10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Please tell me where in Temple bar you can get a pint for 5.50 that is not on special offer.

Buskers were dong 5 Euro Pints for a short time but they are now back up to 6.10.

Why? Prices suck and so do the pints.

Right off the top of my head you have The Mezz, the Gypsy Rose & the Foggy Dew.. You've also got Fitzgeralds and The Ha'Penny Bridge bar if you want somewhere quiet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,754 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Right off the top of my head you have The Mezz, the Gypsy Rose & the Foggy Dew.. You've also got Fitzgeralds and The Ha'Penny Bridge bar if you want somewhere quiet.

I think hard rock café are still doing €4 pints €5 cocktails.