Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you like this country?

• 19-11-2011 11:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭

Or can you see yourself emigrating for good at some point?

The way I see it is I've already been here for twenty odd years and so in years to come I'd like to experience life in another country for the same length of time, say Canada or the US.
    Australia doesn't appeal to me so much, It's not a country I ever desire to visit.

Anyway I'm hoping in two years time I won't be living here any more, anyone else feel this way?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

If I had the means I'd be gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Fcuking love this country and the people. No where like it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

hondasam wrote: »
    Green tinted bollox, there are plenty of places like it and better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I could never move far away from my family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭gigino

lots would be gone if they were not trapped by negative equity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Ireland's great, but if we could tow it a few of hundred miles south it would be even better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Why is Ireland known as the Botswana of europe then? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I like it.

You have the choice to leave.

You could sit here for the next ten years and complain about how crap it is, our you can leave.
    If you don't like it here, then just go. Nobody is stopping you.

Best of luck wherever you end up. I'm sure you'll find it much better than here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭AnamGlas

Probably the culture

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

Scotland's quite like it.

Mountains, Gaeilge, junkies etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

It's still my favorite place in the world after living in a few.

I hope to go back in a few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Pred192

I like certain aspects of the country but in a few years I can see myself emigrating. Obviously the weather affects everybody, but I find that the country lacks proper infrastructure. There are practically no parks or recreational activity outside of Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Green tinted bollox, there are plenty of places like it and better.

Each to their own opinion. I like it and for those who don't leave. The world is your oyster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

That's a very weird put down considering Botswana is one of the wealthiest countries in Africa.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Downlinz

The countrys great, the people I'm mixed on. So many insufferable moaners, there's been 2 in the first 5 posts of this thread already which is probably a fair reflection on their representation in society. The past couple of recession years have been difficult not because of tightened belts or reduced job prospects but because of this insufferable cloud of whine, begrudgery and bitterness present amongst our people.

Other countries have our financial problems and are far more carefree and relaxed about it on ground level, in fact there's probably 3rd world countries out there more chilled than we are.

Basically if you take out the pale region and those people who blame Fianna Fail for all of their lifes little problems then the rest is great. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭AnamGlas

In terms of culture/geography/tradition: Yes.

In terms of the system: Fcuk this, I'm emigrating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Because you are quite obviously deluded, and have never been to Botswana.
    Or else you live in the deserts of Ireland, and have grown to hate all the sand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭sparkle_23

I like it because it's home! I'd be quite a home bird and even after a week or two in sunny Spain the plane landing in rainy Dublin makes me smile! All my family have lived her for generations and I see myself as Irish through and through. I have no desire to visit Australia (except maybe on a 3 week holiday) I wouldn't mind living in the US or Canada for a year but I would be afraid I'd be homesick. Hope to get some money together and give it a try in a year or so. Can't imagine myself moving away permanently.

Hate it when people go on "Oh this place is a kip, can't wait to get out of here" Yeah things suck at the moment but it's my home and always will be so I don't like to say things like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

phasers wrote: »

Friends and family - Other than that this cold, damp, miserable, rain-drenched, ****ed up high-tax, low net income sham country has nothing to offer anyone ever......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Originally Posted by hondasam View Post

^ I lol'd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

I do like it but I wouldnt be very optimistic about the future here. Hopefully moving to Uk and then Canada in a few months time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,759 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I absolutely love Ireland, I honestly could not see myself as content anywhere else.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭G.muny

Love it here, would like to travel abit more than I have yes but reckon I will always come back to Ireland. Its just home basically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I like it - not in a patriotic way, and it obviously could be better in some senses, but it's a really easygoing life here. One thing I don't like about it is the interminable spoilt brat whinging by people who have it a lot better than they realise.
    Not saying there's anything wrong with wanting to leave, but going on about how life is so awful here is just spinning a pack of lies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

It has its good and bad points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

phasers wrote: »

Siamese twin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

It's alright needs more tesco's though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,457 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

The only difference between this country now and this country five years ago is that a lot of people had plenty of money and now plenty of people have very little. If all this country had going for it was a wad of cash, then it had feck all going for it. Personally, I think it has a lot more going for it and I wouldn't want to live anywhere else. For all those of you who feel differently, I hope you find what you're looking for elsewhere

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭paky

would rather be in a more densely populated place in the world and perhaps a warm climate too.
    ireland is a fantastic country for scenery and holidays but im afraid the disadvatages outway the benefits.
    missing half a days work two days in a row because the train lines got flooded? am no thanks. dublin is supposed to be the capital and we have a sh1tty third world transport system. in fact i have been to third world countries with far better transport systems than ireland. ireland isnt even on the radars rating system as far as im concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I'm out of here when the kids finish school, no money here, guarenteed 3K a week in Auatralia.I love what this place should be, , but not what it's become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭themandan6611

galwayrush wrote: »
    I love what this place should be, , but not what it's become.

it was always crap if you can remember before the Celtic Tiger period

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

I like it, but if a good opportunity comes up in a decent country then why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

it was always crap if you can remember before the Celtic Tiger period

Don't agree, for me it was different then, a place of growth, hope, and good bloody memories.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭vampire of kilmainham

Or can you see yourself emigrating for good at some point?

The way I see it is I've already been here for twenty odd years and so in years to come I'd like to experience life in another country for the same length of time, say Canada or the US.
    Australia doesn't appeal to me so much, It's not a country I ever desire to visit.

Anyway I'm hoping in two years time I won't be living here any more, anyone else feel this way?
    if you have a chance go for it iv worked abroad travelled around nearly everywhere on the planet i have an appartment in bulgaria now and spend all summer soaking up the sun over there and stay here in ireland for some of the winter so iam on the tablets at the moment and copious amounts of whiskey. So anyone out there who has a chance to leave this kip go for it run and dont look back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

I am happy living here if I get to travel,
    I like Ireland but I don't think my life would be a very happy existence here feeling trapped if I didn't have the financial means or skills to move, but then again a lot of people aren't happy being forced to set up lives somewhere else just for a job so it swings both ways.

I would like to move just to experience other ways of life, I would like to bring my children up here but would worry they would get stuck in the same trap, it doesnt mean I don't like this country its just got it's problems.

And for those saying its shíte well surprise surprise where ever you go most people think where they grew up is boring and the rest of the world is so exciting.

yea write ger up the yard theres a smell of benjy:eek::eek::eek:

yea and staunch loyalists like northern ireland and even worse. And on top of that it even rains a lot more then it does here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

yea and staunch loyalists like northern ireland and even worse. And on top of that it even rains a lot more then it does here..

Leave scotland alone:p

John Doe1 wrote: »
    Leave scotland alone:p
    Leave Britney alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Downlinz wrote: »
    So many insufferable moaners
    Bertie?

The moaners are at least awake, paying attention and give a shit. Bertie would rather we weren't "against things or looking around and things".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭The Radiator

ara shur its grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 590 ✭✭✭maddragon

galwayrush wrote: »
    I'm out of here when the kids finish school, no money here, guarenteed 3K a week in Auatralia.I love what this place should be, , but not what it's become.

3k a week but that's in Auatralian dollars which are only worth 1 tenth of Australian dollars. Australia is Auatralia's rich next door neighbour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,538 ✭✭✭flutterflye

I really don't like anything about Ireland except some of the countryside and views.

I will definitely be emigrating for good when I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭policarp

Ireland is a great little place to live,
    except it's full of fordiners,
    taking hour jobs and us wimmins. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Love the people(bar the junkies, scumbags etc. obviously), the craic and the general way of living that you won't get anywhere else.

But a part of me really wants to leave at some stage. Preferably somewhere with sun and other Irish people(I'm a homebird to be fair, so I couldn't see myself settling anywhere there's not a decent Irish contingent!). Family and friends are the only thing that'd make me think twice about leaving, tbh.

Goods2ship wrote: »
    Emigrating is a big step, and I cant believe we are back to where we were in the 80s. But you know something, Ireland wont cease to exist and we will pull ourselves out of this, like we have so many times before. Things cant be so bad while we still are affording our laptops and internet..:)
    Apparently we have more debt than any other industrialised country in the world, including Greece. We havent seen anything yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭whatislife

I dislike this country and will be hopefully leaving in then next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

That's a very weird put down considering Botswana is one of the wealthiest countries in Africa.

Also, Botswana is land locked so there's a bit of a difference there.

I love Ireland, all areas of it. I've only ever lived away from here for a short time, but it made me realise that no matter where you go in the world there'll be something that makes you hate that place.

Ireland is not the only country with dodgy politicians, or rain, or horrible public health care. In fact we are far from the worst in these cases. Although I have to agree infrastructure is severely lacking in some areas. Particularly in transport, I mean why build a second terminal for an airport that you can barely get to, it's crazy.

But yes I always see myself coming back here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

we are the greatest country ever end of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 mdoyler2

Like;
    -the people;
    -culture;
    -opportunities (although diminishing);

Dislike;
    -assumed right of entitlement;
    -unions;
    -99% of politicians;
    -the weather;