Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Saturday Night Show - 19/11/'11

• 19-11-2011 3:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

Here is tonight's line-up.

Twink will be talking about turning 60, her showbiz life and her autobiography.

Alex James (Blur) will discuss his other career as a cheesemaker and family life in the country.

Also appearing on the show will be Samantha Mumba, who will discuss her upcoming role as Girl Friday in the Gaiety's Christmas Panto and her engagement.

O'Connor will also be talking to Chris Burch, the stroke survivor who woke up to discover he was gay.

Terry Prone will be discussing her new book about fears and phobias, The Fear Factor.

Music on the night comes from Declan O'Rourke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

There's enough material there for BOC to take the piss out of for a month..

- Twink's phone message
    - Terry Prone giving Gay Mithcell PR advice during the last Presidential campaign
    - Samantha Mumba's career...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Twink and Samantha had a very bad falling out a few years ago, I wonder if they have patched things up since. I can't imagine why anyone would fall out with Twink :rolleyes:

Sam lashes Granny Twink

By By IAN O'DOHERTY

Thursday October 12 2000

Pop star denies queen of panto gave her start

WHEN it comes to the dog-eat-dog world of pop music, Ireland's latest success, Samantha Mumba, pulls no punches.

The young Dubliner, one of Louis Walsh's proteges, surprised viewers of last Friday's Late Late Show when she candidly spoke of how she had been badly treated in the past by people like Twink, whom she referred to as ``Barbie's Granny''.

In an explosive interview in the lastest edition of Hot Press, the singer takes up where the Late Late Show left off.

It may seem like a long way from having a UK No 1 and being poised for stardom in America, but two years ago the then unknown Mumba was sacked by Twink from the panto Rockinson Crusoe.

The experience still rankles as does the fact that Samantha obviously feels Twink has been trying to claim credit for her success.

"If I was on the dole and it all ended tomorrow and she offered me 10 grand to be in her panto I would never, never, never work with that woman again ... She didn't discover me ... She couldn't discover a fart in a paper bag,'' said Samantha.

Currently the 17-year-old is taking the UK by storm with her second single Body To Body which samples the David Bowie classic Ashes to Ashes. On pop rival Britney Spears , the Irish star said: ``The school photo where she was, okay, 17, but looked like she was about 12, was a bit too near paedophilia. That went too far ... doing a sexy cover is fine but portraying herself as a little girl went too far.''

Unlike many of her peers, whose public image is very different to their private life, Mumba said: ``I won't tell fans that I'm an angel or don't drink, I know fans want me to be real, sexually, and I am. If I like somebody I'll let them know.''

There's good news for Irish men in the article, penned by Hot Press journalist Joe Jackson, when she said: ``If I do marry anyone it will be an Irishman. And, in a few years I am going to have children and get married ... I've got my eye on a few people ... I've realised I'd never go out with a pop star.''

She also discusses the break-up of her parents' marriage and her own under-age drinking experiences, saying: ``In Ireland you get served in an off-licence from the year dot. It's grand, and everybody has the fake ID that your friend will make up on their computer ... When I'm in Dublin I would go out with my friends on a bender. I drink for the laugh ... but I will definitely not become an alcoholic.''

The Drumcondra girl has already reached No 2 in the UK charts earlier this year with her debut single Gotta Tell You which also spent a month at the top of the Irish charts.

Samantha was a member of the Billie Barry School from the age of three to 15.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/sam-lashes-granny-twink-365030.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭finfinfin

I hope Brendan is in right smartarse form tonight.it has potential to be great telly.geniuses at rte.or is it geniui?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,373 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Twink yet again. Jeez, she is on this show more than Pat Shortt is on the Late Late....

Mumba? What is she going to discusss? The release of her new album, the same album that is now 6 years waiting to be released. Snore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Just to give him Twink and Linda Martin on the same show and be done with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Samatha Mumba now theres a blast from the past :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭tintin67

I've said it at least 3 times a year when watching RTE talk shows when Twink comes up with alarming consistency. But here goes again:

If Twink dares mention her lovely daughters and her lovely cakes once again on my television I will kick my set in and personally bill the Director General.

And I mean it this time

tintin67 wrote: »
    I've said it at least 3 times a year when watching RTE talk shows when Twink comes up with alarming consistency. But here goes again:

If Twink dares mention her lovely daughters and her lovely cakes once again on my television I will kick my set in and personally bill the Director General.
    She must have a Christmas Panto book to plug :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

twink and terry prone in the same building , the roof just might lift with level of pomposity and self regard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

all of these people are yesterdays excpet the gay guy that used an illness
    to cover his coming out and get some dollars who is just a fraud

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

MrsD007 wrote: »
    She must have a Christmas Panto book to plug :rolleyes:

Her much hyped book has been postponed until 2012, for some reason.

I would find a link to give more info, only googling 'Twink' can give some surprising results :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Shakyfan

Here is tonight's line-up.

Twink will be talking about turning 60, her showbiz life and her autobiography.

Surprised she can remember that far back......:D

Wonder will Brendan ask Samantha about this .. (story is from September 25th, so it's still very recent)

Samantha Mumba's fiance caught cavorting with young Latina nurse... and he's a police officer
    Just weeks after the singer said she was going to marry U.S. police officer Torray Scales, the MoS catches him secretly cavorting with another girl.
    Samantha Mumba's fiancé is having a secret affair with a young Latina nurse, the Irish Mail on Sunday can reveal.

No doubt he will.. She's a fine looking woman, some bod on her..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭moesyzlak

Skid wrote: »

I would find a link to give more info, only googling 'Twink' can give some surprising results :rolleyes:

She looks more like an older tranny.

If I was a betting woman, I'd say there are a few legal issues with her book that need to be cleared up before its published.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

I'd rather pull my eyes out with a red hot fork than watch that oul bag twink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

Evening everyone

Usual crowd of students in tonight.. Must be complimentary tickets to Copper's for anybody who attends this yoke..

These jokes are poor. Tumbleweed poor.

These gags need to stop :(

Brendan is disappointing me with these jokes.

I do not like Samantha Mumba, ye all should know. I will refrain from commenting any further.

Ah jaysus.. just opened the wine, and it's RED... I'm must have been drunk going in to the fkn off license... In the true spirit of alcoholism, I'm gonna drink it anway .. (and a load of bottles of budweiser)

I see Samantha still has the bod, even if she doesnt still have the bloke..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

These gags need to stop :(

An all-time low,if that's possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 171 ✭✭brennan1979

Oh dear. The xenophobia really adds to the crap jokes.

Usual crowd of students in tonight.. Must be complimentary tickets to Copper's for anybody who attends this yoke..
    hotmail.com is after securing tickets for the show in a couple of weeks time, if you talk nicely to him, he might allow you to be his +1 ;)

Samantha is still stunning looking, always was.

Samantha Mumba famous for?........

shockwave wrote: »
    Samantha Mumba famous for?........

Hit records in the US and UK, starred in a Hollywood Movie - that enough for you?

hotmail.com is after securing tickets for the show in a couple of weeks time, if you talk nicely to him, he might allow you to be his +1 ;)

Yeah, cos we always get on really well dont we...

Sam looks a bit emotional, like she could start crying if Brendan mentions the ex... disclaimer: all women have the propensity to breakdown on a Saturday night for no reason, but there is usually alcohol involved..

wtf... She's still with him :eek::eek::eek:

She seems to be attracted to bad boys....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 687 ✭✭✭headmaster

Ok, which of the 2 of them is the worst, mumba or o'connor. This is really bad, like, really really bad

Hit records in the US and UK, starred in a Hollywood Movie - that enough for you?

A one hit wonder 10 years ago :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Its an atrocious line up. So bad that if i was the head of RTE i'd be calling for heads or axing the show.

What a waste of an interview, she is a no body with a not great body i might add.
    ya I know, no giving out to me.

Wouldn't mind a trip to Paris, I might just enter the competition tonight.

That's odd.. he doesnt look gay at all :confused:

Did he wake up in 1982 as a member of Kajagoogoo? :eek:

hondasam wrote: »
    What a waste of an interview, she is a no body with a not great body i might add.
    ya I know, no giving out to me.
    Ah Sam, she is pretty and I think she has a fine figure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

I find it very annoying that every prime time RTE programme has those stupid phone in comps that are basically just premium phone line adverts.
    this, LLS, football all have them.
    Very poor from state broadcaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,300 ✭✭✭✭casio4

I thought he had a bandage on his head :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭Teclo

O'Connor will also be talking to Chris Burch, the stroke survivor who woke up to discover he was gay.

That's awful. :(

But it could have been worse, he could have woken up to discover that he is Twink. :D

Wow....a talking badger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 135 ✭✭moesyzlak

Chris, the second gay in the village

He reminds me of Cruela :eek:

cruela_170.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭jimmynokia

he looks like a human badger .

Ah Sam, she is pretty and I think she has a fine figure.

sorry MrsD I really would not call her pretty,body is good.

hondasam wrote: »
    I do not like Samantha Mumba, ye all should know.
    I see Samantha still has the bod..

did anybody make the connection there... Needless to say.. I never mention the Mumba word in the vicinity of the marital bed (even if I'm picturing myself with Ms Mumba during our "intimate" time)

murpho999 wrote: »
    Wow....a talking badger.
    jimmynokia wrote: »
    he looks like a human badger .

*cough* ahem *cough*

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 687 ✭✭✭headmaster

quick, catch him, come on quick