Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eddie O'Sullivan quits Eagles

• 16-11-2011 3:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Hi Guys

Seen this on twitter. Can't find anything on web. Just says he has stepped down and is considering his future.

Any chance the hook idea will come through?

I dont think so. New English coach though?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,161 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Hook idea? Him going back? That would be hilarious. I don't think anyone in USA Rugby is that inept though. At least it would get him off the damn TV.

EOS is too good a coach to stay out of a job for long if he wants one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Hook idea?

Coming in as back coach for Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

wasps?

Big Nelly wrote: »
    Coming in as back coach for Ireland

Would be better then it is currently. Could never see him working under Kidney though. He's an excellent backs coach though. Ireland played some of their best ever rugby under EOS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Munster backs coach please Eddie...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

wasps?

Good guess. I wonder does he have something lined up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,954 ✭✭✭LeeroyJones

Really doubt he'd be the next England coach but PP are offering 100/1....... tempting!

Confirmation here
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/rugby/2011/1116/1224307678244.html

Note
    O'Sullivan's manager John Baker says the former Ireland coach has received some “interesting enquiries” he will now consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Here's the article on RTE
    Fast Eddie makes quick exit from USA Eagles

Wednesday, 16 November 2011 15:18
    Eddie O'Sullivan has announced that he is leaving his role as head coach of the USA Eagles and is now considering other options in rugby.

The announcement comes in the wake of USA's strong showing in the recent Rugby World Cup in New Zealand.

Confirming that he will not be seeking a renewal of his position, O'Sullivan said: "I have thoroughly enjoyed my two-and-a-half years as head coach to the USA Eagles, it has been a rewarding journey working with all the players and staff.

"I was delighted with our progress and overall performances in the Rugby World Cup, but feel that it is now time for me to consider other options closer to home.

"The win over Russia and the performance against Ireland on 9/11 was particularly special. I would like to wish USA Rugby every success in the future."

John Baker, Eddie O'Sullivan's manager, has said that he has received some interesting enquiries and that O'Sullivan could now look at these in earnest.

O'Sullivan started his coaching career with Monivea in Co Galway, before spells with Blackrock College, Connacht, Ireland under-21s and a first spell at the USA Eagles.

He then landed the Ireland assistant coach role in 1999, before taking taking the reins of Ireland in 2001, a position he held until 19 March 2008.

During his time as Ireland No 1 his team won three Triple Crowns and rose to third in the IRB World Rankings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭Burgo

Really doubt he'd be the next England coach but PP are offering 100/1....... tempting!

Confirmation here
    http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/rugby/2011/1116/1224307678244.html

Note

odds have dropped from 100/1 to 66/1 and now 50/1 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Munster backs coach please Eddie...

Interim backs coach, then to take over from McGahan as head coach next season?

• Malinder to England, Eddie to Northampton?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Have Cardiff appointed a replacement to Dai Young yet?

I never understood all the anger that Eddie got directed at him. Wherever he goes they're going to do well.

Malinder to England, Eddie to Northampton?

That's actually possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Really rate Mallinder but I don't think England is a fit for him.

Mallinder is a good forwards coach but England really need to move away from the Robinson/Johnson/Mallider style coaches if they want to kick. Brian Ashton was too big a jump too quickly but they need a coach who can develop a more rounded style of game. Mallet's name is getting bandied about a bit but it might be an idea to kidnap Joe Schmidt till someone is appointed ;)

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Cpt_Blackbeard

WeeBushy wrote: »
    Interim backs coach, then to take over from McGahan as head coach next season?

No chance I'd want him anywhere near a head coaches role in this country again. Especially at Munster, where the last thing we need is for someone to completely ignore the development of the younger lads.

Back's/Attack coach for the country or nothing.

• There's a fair few Ulstermen who'd kill for an Eddie in Ravenhill.

Would love to see what he could do with the young lads tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭roycon

i still rate eddy higher than declan kidney although id say im in a minority group(especially among munster fans for some reason). hope he lands the wasps job - it would be good for irish rugby and i cant see him working under dk in a million years. he did well for ireland but it was time for him to go. after so long in charge sometimes the players need a new face and some new ideas. if he got the england job it would be truly hilarious. irish coach of the english national team.conor oshea at one of the biggest english clubs and mark mcall at one of the other biggest. ireland would be taking over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭Badgermonkey

He surely understood that the medium term interests of the team were poorly served by an approach which ignored player development. If his policy of fielding only the tried and trusted received the Unions blessing, then so be it I guess.

Can't help thinking though, it's an indictment of the latter part of his tenure. Self-preservation appeared to be the primary consideration, when in fact a more holistic approach may have prolonged his time in charge.

He has a lot to offer a club. As suggested above, Ulster could be a good fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

He surely understood that the medium term interests of the team were poorly served by an approach which ignored player development. If his policy of fielding only the tried and trusted received the Unions blessing, then so be it I guess.

Can't help thinking though, it's an indictment of the latter part of his tenure. Self-preservation appeared to be the primary consideration, when in fact a more holistic approach may have prolonged his time in charge.

He was under strict instructions by the IRFU to play the best players as winning was the financial generator required to keep the whole edifice upright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭conno16

isn't 'fast eddie' meant to refer to eddie irvine
    why would this eddie deserve such a description?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Did kidney not do the same thing at munster? and ireland?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

It could be that Eddie played on the wing for a bit in his day or that he is wrongly seen as someone who someone who just looks out for himself (this is rubbish if you ask me).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Reports today linking him strongly to the Cardiff job. The Blues are yet to appoint a full time successor to Dai Young. Personally, I'd love to see what he could do with them. They've some exciting backs and I think he would get the best out of them. Not the ideal 10 in Parks to do that but his contract is up this summer so a new coach could bring in who they wanted. With Warburton and co. giving some quick ball they could be a team to watch for next season if they get the right man in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Sandwlch

conno16 wrote: »
    isn't 'fast eddie' meant to refer to eddie irvine
    why would this eddie deserve such a description?
    No. F1 driver was 'Irv the swerve' (not to be mixed up with fullback "Swervin' Girvan")
    Fast Eddie is indeed EOS from his days on the wing for Munster. How fast that 'fast' was is a cloudy matter.

Still have great time for EOS though. He had a few flaws from which I am sure he learnt from : bad use of the bench, lack of personal manner and empathy with players, micromanagement tendency, could not overlook the waning skills of old favourites. But fundamentally a great purist rugby coach.

To go completely off topic, Fast Eddie is Eddie Felson i.e. Paul Newman in the awesome movie The Hustler. Pretty much anyone famous called Eddie since the 60s has been called it at some point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Conas

He's one of our own, and I'd rate him as one of the best coaches in the world. I think the IRFU need to get him back under contract here, and the idea of him coaching England, or coaching an English or Welsh club team is madness.

People who say Eddie and Declan Kidney wouldn't get on are extremely naive. Did anyone even bother to read Eddie's book that he released? If you did you wouldn't say such a thing. I'm sure both would unite for the one cause. It should be all about what benefits Irish Rugby, and the Irish team. Yes I honestly think Eddie O Sullivan should be the new backs coach, he's exactly what we need. If people are still bitter over 2007 you need to get over it. It's the past everyone learns from. Eddie will come back a wiser man, and I think we can win the Grand Slam next year. We just need the backs playing like they did when he was here.

I don't think EOS should come near Ireland til all the players he coached are gone. Last thing we need is yet another coach with favourites.

And it's not Kidney and EOS uniting. It's EOS working under Kidney which would be the issue. EOS working under anyone would be an issue I think. He likes having as much control as possible.

Conas wrote: »
    People who say Eddie and Declan Kidney wouldn't get on are extremely naive. Did anyone even bother to read Eddie's book that he released? If you did you wouldn't say such a thing. I'm sure both would unite for the one cause. .

It's probably not a matter of whether there's a rift between them. It's a matter of EOS more than likely not wanting to take a backwards step in his career. He has been a head coach for a decade. I'm sure he doesn't want to go back to being one of the coaching staff after such a long time as top dog. Not only would he be going back to a member of coaching staff, he would be reporting directly to the man that used report directly to him. Regardless of working relationships, that's an awkward situation in any walk of life when your subordinate is then your boss when they would be working alongside one another so closely. If he was to come back to Irish rugby in any capacity, I think it would have to be as a head coach to a province (Ulster namely) or as a hired hand in a created role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

He's one of our own, and I'd rate him as one of the best coaches in the world. I think the IRFU need to get him back under contract here, and the idea of him coaching England, or coaching an English or Welsh club team is madness.

People who say Eddie and Declan Kidney wouldn't get on are extremely naive. Did anyone even bother to read Eddie's book that he released? If you did you wouldn't say such a thing. I'm sure both would unite for the one cause. It should be all about what benefits Irish Rugby, and the Irish team. Yes I honestly think Eddie O Sullivan should be the new backs coach, he's exactly what we need. If people are still bitter over 2007 you need to get over it. It's the past everyone learns from. Eddie will come back a wiser man, and I think we can win the Grand Slam next year. We just need the backs playing like they did when he was here.

Once the cause was Eddies advancement. He strikes me as man who doesn't delegate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

wonder if Matt Williams would use him in Narbonne.

Best of luck to EOS in whereever he goes, he's many things to many people but few can deny he can make a back line purr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Yeah, best of luck to him. 50% success rate in America, and achieved their (not altogether lofty) goal of beating Russia in the WC.

I really like Eddie. Just stayed a bit too long with us.........Cardiff would seem a likely choice, he seems to want somewhere close to home. They could become quite lethal under him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭dtpc191991

I think Eddie gets alot of unfair stick for his so called conservatism. People forget that he had to pick from the provincial club teams. They made little effort to develop their squads beyond the starting 15 seen for Ireland in his day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭cp

I really like Eddie. Just stayed a bit too long with us.........Cardiff would seem a likely choice, he seems to want somewhere close to home. They could become quite lethal under him!

Yeah would be great to have Eddie back working in the Irish game somewhere, can't see it though..

IF faced with a choice between Cardiff and Biarritz, I could see him going for Cardiff, aside from the language issue, the safety net of no relegation would give him some breathing space to put his shape on them. There's already the bones of a promising team there, for me they look the most likely of the welsh teams to make a Heineken cup breakthrough at some stage.

Great to see so many Irish coaches being successful at the moment, ultimately good for Irish rugby :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Could never see him working under Kidney though.

The issue is not whether Eddie could stomach working for DK; it's more would DK want a sly little manipulator like Eddie working under him. He might remember what happened to Gatland.

It might be amusing for an outsider to watch the manouverings of two cute Cork hoors each trying to stab the other in the back. But not while in charge of our national team please.

It could end up looking like the last scene in Hamlet. Bodies everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Conas

I think we should reflect on a couple of things here.

The only people in the Irish Squad who probaly would have issues with Eddie returning as a coach would be Rob Kearney, Jamie Heaslip, and Tommy Bowe. Having said that I think him leaving those players at home in 2007 was a great idea, and was a learning curb for all three players. Actually I think it's one of the reasons they became such great players. The hurt of being left at home, and wanting to prove something.

People can point to a load of things in 2007 that Eddie did wrong, but I think he did very little wrong to be honest. He brought the tried and tested to win the World Cup, with the same team having being a Vincent Clerc side step away from winning the Slam. No one can blame him for that. Was Kearney just has good as Geordan Murphy and Girvan Denpsey in 2007? No I don't really think so. Michael Cheika dropped Kearney for Dempsey several times for Leinster over not being at the races. Was Bowe as good as Horgan in 2007 aswell? No I don't think so either to be honest. Some may argue when both are fit it can be a close one to call still. Was Jamie Heaslip as good as Denis Leamy in 2007? Was he has good as Quinny, Neil Best, Easterbry? Don't think so. Eddie had very tough calls to make, if he had brought Kearney, Heaslip and Bowe to the World Cup and started them, it could still have been a disaster, and everyone would say. "Oh he should have picked the experienced guys who nearly won the Slam a few months previous". In rugby terms it's impossible to make everyone happy.

People say Eddie wouldn't take a job at Ireland because he'll be taking a step back in his career. Nonsense. If Eddie gets a good pay package he'd take any job. Like I said, if we have the backline moving like it did of old, then we'll win the Slam next year. I know we can.

I hate the idea of losing a coaching talent to Welsh club team. Why??? How can a loyal Irish Rugby fan say such a thing!!! It's be a massive loss if we don't snap him up and get him back up here. He's ours!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

I would love to see him come to Ulster to take the reigns there, move Mclaughlin back down into the coaching pool and let Eddie take the reigns. There is some great young talent up at Ravenhill that could do with a more experienced guiding hand.

People say Eddie wouldn't take a job at Ireland because he'll be taking a step back in his career. Nonsense. If Eddie gets a good pay package he'd take any job.

I reckon Eddie is grand for money. He's going to want an enticing challenge. Coaching an ageing backline, under his old boss, for a team that play a varied game involving forwards handling the ball and a fair bit of kicking won't tick too many boxes for him. When it comes to the national set up, we need a fresh input. Someone who has any ties to existing players (and EOS would have coached all but 3 of the team that started against Wales) should be avoided.

He's a great coach but if he's to be involved again in Irish rugby, I would like to see it be with Ulster and bringing their crop of back line talent through which would benefit the national team just as much in the long run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭The Jaw

Sorry lads ( and ladies) but some of you are talking awful rubbish.

EOS as one of the best coaches in the World? Come off it. He had extremely good Irish team attacking wise ( David Humphreys, Stringer, O’Driscoll, Denis Hickie, Shane Horgan etc) and did Jack all with them. Yes Yes Yes I know “we won 3 triple crowns” (or 4 I cant really remember which says it all about the importance of the triple crown really) but in every other country with our skills that would be considered a failure. We were way better then that.
    I often watch NZ, Australia, the Baa Baas etc and some of the backline moves make me simply applaud with admiration. Can anyone tell me any time the Irish backline have made you sit up clapping. The entire backline, not a O’Driscoll break or D’arcy burst, but a well constructed backline move with him at the helm.

He has walked from an awful lot of teams he has been involved with. In his autobiography he refers to him time coaching Galwegians has never referenced that in his C.V because he ran out half way through a season, just as he did with the Connacht team. This incidentally saw Gatland return to Ireland from NZ and ultimately take over in Ireland.

He has never coached a major Irish province, despite being from Cork and never coached in the Heineken Cup, despite it being the best club competition in the World.

He was in line to take over Edinburgh but they favored Bradley. Is Bradley a world class coach then?

AND he is called Fast Eddie because he is so sly that he will pull a “fast one” on you all the time.( as per Fast Eddie “The Hustker”) Just ask Gatland, Kidney, Elwood, etc etc

I doubt Edinburgh favoured Bradley over O'Sullivan because of perceived coaching ability.

There's two plausible reasons why Edinburgh chose Bradley over EOS, there's money and the fact that Bradley was available from the start of the season. Knowing Edinburgh I'm certain it was down to money.

Edinburgh favoured Bradley because he was cheaper and available at the start of the season.

EOS underachieved at times no doubt. But that "extremely good Irish team" had glaring flaws in it. Stringer was an utterly one dimensional player, Humphries was very poor in defence etc. EOS got Ireland playing exceptionally good rugby. He had a truly dreadful record against France, which was his major problem during the 6N.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

From the Irish Times

Former Ireland coach Eddie O’Sullivan wants to replace Martin Johnson as England boss, his agent has disclosed. O’Sullivan last week announced he would stand down from his role as United States head coach after deciding not to reapply for the position after two years.

The 53-year-old was appointed Ireland coach in 2002 where he enjoyed an six-year spell in charge during which the team won three triple crowns. Now O’Sullivan has made public his interest in succeeding Johnson who resigned earlier this month following England’s disastrous World Cup.

His agent John Baker told the Daily Telegraph: “Eddie is definitely interested in the England job. The England job is one of the most high-profile positions in world rugby and they are a side with tremendous potential.

“Eddie’s big advantage is that he has tremendous experience of the Six Nations and a fantastic track record in that competition.”

That fiver I had at 50/1 is looking better now!

Thomond 2006 I agree with you there, but if a top end World Class coach ( say Henry for argument sake) became avaliable now, in the middle of a season, do you not think any club would break the bank to get him.
    If EOS is as good as he, and a lot of people think he is, the he would be in a job now. Presumabley he did apply for the Edinburgh job, then he or his agent must have known/had a good idea of the financial package on offer.

Plus I still dont remember any of the amazing rugby we supposedly played under him. ( I forgot in my rant earlier about the complete lack of player development also)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

I would be very surprised if the English RFU went for him, we failed to produce anything at the '07 WC, a big enough blot on his copybook to keep him out of the running for England job. They will be looking for a big(ger) name to come in and impose a bit of discipline surely ? Henry in some capacity + someone English to learn the ropes ?

Come on up to Ravers Eddie, help us out ; ) All the Harp you can drink.

The Jaw wrote: »
    Plus I still dont remember any of the amazing rugby we supposedly played under him.

I apologise for the godawful music in some of the videos.

Ha! There is always one isnt there Podge-irl

I dont want to sound amazingly negative here,but to be devils advocate,
    The Italy game, we needed to win by a ceratin amount of points. Italy had already won twice in that campaign and were not at the races at all. Lots of individual skill trys there, but few sweeping team moves ( there were a few so dont go trawling through the video to find them!)
    The English game was an amazing occassion and I think EOS would be doing well to claim that he was the reason the played so well. And it was a rubbish English team anyway, despite the RWC final apperance.
    The South Africa game, was effectively against a SA "B" team with a load of kids as was the Australia game. ( Player development Eddie.Might have heard of it),

Plus the final two were in friendlies. The win against Australia, away in a compeditive fixture in the RWC this year was a far better performace against all of these.

Look at the players EOS have overlooked for RWC's in his day. D'arcy, Leo Cullen, Stephen Ferris (went but no games), Jamie Heaslip, Rob Kearney etc. Now compare that with Conor Murray

We played far better rugby under EOS. Another level to how we have played under Kidney, which is a far more conservative style.

Look at the players EOS have overlooked for RWC's in his day. D'arcy, Leo Cullen, Stephen Ferris (went but no games), Jamie Heaslip, Rob Kearney etc. Now compare that with Conor Murray

D'Arcy was overlooked for very valid reasons. It could be said it was the making of him. Cullen has never exactly been shouting for inclusion in the team - there were always better locks then him. Ferris and Heaslip I will happily grant you. I think both should have been in the team long before they were. I'm not trying to claim EOS was perfect - his conservatism with selection infuriated me.

Bringing and playing Murray was at least as big a mistake as not bringing Heaslip. Probably larger actually. I certainly wouldn't hold Kidney up as a model for player development, he's notoriously bad at it.

EOS never led Ireland to two successive 6N with only 3 wins, Kidney has done so. Ireland played some great rugby over those times - you can explain them away all you like, and you have a point with some of them, but you can only play what's in front of you.

The win against Australia in the RWC was Ireland's single best performance in the last decade. I'm not about to try and deny that. That performance against Aus in Lansdowne in absolutely dreadful weather was a phenomenal game though, regardless of it only being an AI. Also, the RWC game was such a once off. EOS's Ireland team showed far more consistency then the current one.

I cant agree I am afraid Bucs fan. EOS had every possible break going, with players, experience, IRFU back up, coaches, money and we failed overall. 7 years in cahrge and we can only produce 3 or 4 good performance on You tube.

I dont think Kidney is amazing either, but the Players take ownership of the game, plan it themselves and are developing as a unit of 22 or more.

I suppose a real question is, why when Munster were the best pack in Europe (c2008) and Leinster a truly World class team now, can the lads not produce it in green?

Because Munster were the best club pack in Europe. Unfortunately they were the same pack at international level while everyone else improves at international level.
    but the Players take ownership of the game, plan it themselves

Then the players must be fairly schizo. Ireland are all over the place in terms of style and gameplan at the moment.
    7 years in cahrge and we can only produce 3 or 4 good performance on You tube.

I could show many more. Those were all from one season where Ireland were particularly good. Ireland's win in Twickenham to give England their first defeat since their RWC win was brilliant. The last minute Horgan try to win in Twickers in 06 showed great composure and was brilliantly executed. Ireland put in several agonisingly close performances away to NZ that involved sublime rugby at times. They annihilated Wales on several occasions.