Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Indo: Leinster hit back in blue row with Dubs

• 15-11-2011 1:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭

LEINSTER rugby last night hit back at Dublin GAA chiefs who accused the Heineken Cup champions of "the subliminal exploitation of Dublin's unique" blue jersey.

In a strategy document for Dublin GAA 2011-2017 called 'Unleashing The Blue Wave', the county's top GAA officials stated that the "appeal of a flourishing professional franchise" represented a real challenge for GAA in the county and that they were determined to "reinforce the fact that Dublin is GAA Country."

"The Blue Jersey is an unique, inclusive brand, uniting Dublin's dense expanse, blurring the difference in class and possession which became so pointedly manifest during the delusional days of the Celtic Tiger," it says.

"It is an extraordinarily effective promotional tool, enshrined in the anthem of the county's often maligned but fiercely loyal supporters.

"We can't copyright a colour but the subliminal exploitation of Dublin's unique sporting hue by our competitors has not gone unnoticed.

"Mutual respect is essential in Irish sport yet the appeal of a flourishing professional franchise is still a real challenge in the struggle for hearts and minds in Dublin while the demographic shift continues to distort traditional values and interests.

"Our Blue affords Dublin GAA the greatest potential to evolve as the flagship brand of commercial sport in Ireland. Successful implementation of our strategy will also reinforce the fact that Dublin is GAA Country."

In a statement issued last night, a Leinster spokesman admitted their surprise at the "tone and timing" of the Dublin comments but insisted that while they were based in Dublin, they represented the province as a whole.

"Leinster are based in Dublin but are very much a 12-county team representing one province and that is reflected in both our playing staff and support base.

"We don't see ourselves as a threat and likewise we do not see the GAA as a threat. Many of our players have played GAA and we took great pleasure in the achievements of the Dublin footballers and the Kilkenny hurlers this season.

"We are a branch of the IRFU who deal with both the amateur and professional side of our game."

Only last month, Leinster rugby chiefs scored a notable coup when signing up Dublin's All-Ireland winning captain Bryan Cullen as an academy coach.

- Donnchadh Boyle

What is this all about? Surely Dublin GAA dont need to get involved in spats like this:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,441 ✭✭✭Killme00

"subliminal exploitation of Dublin's unique sporting hue"

Some people within Dublin GAA are idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

What are the Dublin GAA on about? It's not even the same shade of blue ffs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭lala88

wow one All Ireland in 15 years and its gone to there heards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Unshelved

Very unnecessary to turn a great Dublin victory into a stupid spat with the Leinster rugby team. Leinster have been playing in blue since 1875 so Dublin are a little late in the day complaining about this. As someone said on another board - are Cork going to complain about the Munster jersey next?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I wonder what is the "demographic shift" that "continues to distort traditional values and interests" or indeed what exactly those "traditional values and interests" are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

This spat has facepalm written all over it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭The Swordsman

Maybe it's not Leinster they are on about, but UCD soccer club. :D

Either way, its just petty begrudgery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

They have a sky blue jersey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,675 ✭✭✭exaisle

I'm surprised that the GAA can spell the word "subliminal" let alone understand it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Absolute joke and it's this type of insular, small minded and petty thinking that gives the GAA a bad name. Who are they going to go after next, Manchester City?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Whoever in the Dublin County Board was responsible for that release should be removed from their position immediately it is a pathetic and downright embarrassing stance, and reflects poorly on Dublin and the GAA as a whole, its smacks of something that was feckin drawn up in a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

AGC wrote: »
    They have a sky blue jersey

Oh right, so they've got a problem with away jerseys now. Ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

lala88 wrote: »
    wow one All Ireland in 15 years and its gone to there heards
    I have to agree that that's how it might look to some people. This is the crux of the issue.
    "Our Blue affords Dublin GAA the greatest potential to evolve as the flagship brand of commercial sport in Ireland
    Dublin GAA fail to recognise that they are merely a county, and not a very successful one in recent years, and not the 'flagship brand of commercial sport in Ireland'. Just because they won an All Ireland they feel they can monopolise a colour.

I'd assume that people outside Dublin don't give two hoots what colour either jersey is.

Leinster (and I'm Munster) have given great representation to the country and to attack them over a petty issue is nonsense. The true Dubs will buy their teams jersey regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,109 ✭✭✭Cavehill Red

What are the GAA like? As an organisation, there seems to be an enormous amount of paranoia and suspicion of other sports and other codes running throughout the whole body, even extending to their own sports.
    If it isn't the hurling lads saying that Gaelic football is a makey-uppy game, it's the football lads claiming that hurling's dying out because no one wants to watch it or play it.
    Never mind all that historical stuff about banning people for wanting to play a bit of soccer the odd time.
    Now they're up in arms over a rugby team wearing blue?
    Seriously, someone needs to switch whatever drugs the GAA are on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭calvin_zola

Seemingly they got very upset that the Estonians opted to don their nations home colors last night on lansdowne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

There was a mention this week, also, that Dublin get "Provincial" status, i.e. get equal shares of monies as the existing provinces.

As someone said, the Dublin PR who released this is doing their county no favours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

What a creepy document from the GAA. They really do exist on another planet to the rest of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

As a Dublin GAA fan this is embarrassing.

I'm sure 99.9% of GAA people are thinking this is ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Maybe someone should have proof-read that document first?

Then again maybe someone did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

What are the GAA like? As an organisation, there seems to be an enormous amount of paranoia and suspicion of other sports and other codes running throughout the whole body, even extending to their own sports.
    If it isn't the hurling lads saying that Gaelic football is a makey-uppy game, it's the football lads claiming that hurling's dying out because no one wants to watch it or play it.
    Never mind all that historical stuff about banning people for wanting to play a bit of soccer the odd time.
    Now they're up in arms over a rugby team wearing blue?
    Seriously, someone needs to switch whatever drugs the GAA are on.
    CiaranC wrote: »
    What a creepy document from the GAA. They really do exist on another planet to the rest of Ireland.

I love this assumption and attitiude that one particular view, which as I have previously stated is farcical and an embarrassment, is in some way representative of the GAA as a whole :confused:

Does everyone involved in irish soccer at all levels, share the views of a certain John Delaney, I feckin doubt it, or all those who support rugby in agreement with George Hook??

Please stop the lazy generalisations and see this document as what it is, the crazy ramblings of a member of the Dublin executive, and imo the county chairman Kettle should be held responsible as the document was released on behalf of the DCB.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭ontheditch2

Maybe, Dublin GAA wanted to get a dig in at Leinster Rugby, after the way they went public about appointing Bryan Cullen the week after the All Ireland. When have you ever seen Leinster Rugby going public through the media about a lower grade appointment, except for the fact they wanted to get one over the GAA??

Cullen was appointed to his position with the Rugby weeks before the All Ireland but went public the days after he lifted Sam Maguire. Why did they do this??

And in the article, it said something like "a major coup for by appointing Bryan Cullen". The media have even bought into this nonsense.

Skerries, where cullen plays GAA, would be a relatively strong rugby and GAA town and i imagine the GAA in Skerries were going to use his influence to increase participation levels in the town, but then Leinster Rugby came out with their press release. Why did they do it.

Both organisations are as bad as each other, but Leinster rugby instigated this whole fuss.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,993 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

It is truly laughable, I knew I would get a kick out of Dublin winning the all Ireland sooner or later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭eire4

Wow are the Dublin GAA paranoid or what. Get a grip and relax. Never mind the fact that if you really want to get into it the teams jersey's are mostly different shades of blue anyway. Both sides should be enjoying each others success in winning the All Ireland and Heineken Cups this year not bickering in such a pathetic fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭Prop Joe

Is it just me or did anyone here mention Rugby or is it just assumption??
    Not one word in the script mentioned Leinster,Paranoid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

Prop Joe wrote: »

well its hardly ucd that they mean!!

Prop Joe wrote: »
    No it's not paranoia it's basic logical deduction. What do you think appeal of a flourishing professional franchise is referring to?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Oasis_Dublin

Absolute joke and it's this type of insular, small minded and petty thinking that gives the GAA a bad name. Who are they going to go after next, Manchester City?

Slight difference there being that both Dublin GAA and Leinster are based in Dublin. Manchester City are based in some other city, although the name slips my mind now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭CardinalJ

http://soundcloud.com/off-the-ball/so-thats-that-cleared-up-then

From 'off the ball earlier'. Bumbling to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 warofthebutton

It's definitely the blue of UCD fc they fear. They were well into double figure attendances at some league games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,563 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

CardinalJ wrote: »
    http://soundcloud.com/off-the-ball/so-thats-that-cleared-up-then

From 'off the ball earlier'. Bumbling to say the least.

Must be auditioning for a job with Fianna Fail.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭The Swordsman

Maybe, Dublin GAA wanted to get a dig in at Leinster Rugby, after the way they went public about appointing Bryan Cullen the week after the All Ireland. When have you ever seen Leinster Rugby going public through the media about a lower grade appointment, except for the fact they wanted to get one over the GAA??

Cullen was appointed to his position with the Rugby weeks before the All Ireland but went public the days after he lifted Sam Maguire. Why did they do this??

And in the article, it said something like "a major coup for by appointing Bryan Cullen". The media have even bought into this nonsense.

Skerries, where cullen plays GAA, would be a relatively strong rugby and GAA town and i imagine the GAA in Skerries were going to use his influence to increase participation levels in the town, but then Leinster Rugby came out with their press release. Why did they do it.

Both organisations are as bad as each other, but Leinster rugby instigated this whole fuss.

In fairness, Cullen announced this himself (I think it was the night of the All Ireland) and it was reported in the newspapers in the following few days (the papers said it was a major coup). I'm not sure (and I stand to be corrected here) that Leinster Rugby made any statement on the matter.

BTW, Cullen hasn't joined Leinster as a player but as a fitness coach, which is something he is qualified to do. AFAIK, he will continue to play GAA and will be available to play for the Dubs.

Reallly can't see what the fuss is about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭ozzy jr

I'm surprised this section of their plan never got a mention,
    The educational sectors capacity to provide games and physical activity has been negatively affected by factors such as:
    > The lower number of males entering primary school teaching.
    > The reduced involvement of the Religious Orders in the management of schools.
    > Greater emphasis on academic results in schools.
    > Greater obligations on schools in terms of health, safety and child protection.

I'd like an explanation as to how they see Child Protection as having a negative effect on their games.

Must be auditioning for a job with Fianna Fail.:D

Absolutely laughable. They thought they'd get away with their sniveling little dig, get asked about it and hide under the table. Total jokeshop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

So, from that interview, Dubs face opposition from a professional sports outfit, wearing blue, but Leinster "wouldn't be my take on it!"

What a pillock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

I love this assumption and attitiude that one particular view, which as I have previously stated is farcical and an embarrassment, is in some way representative of the GAA as a whole :confused:

Does everyone involved in irish soccer at all levels, share the views of a certain John Delaney, I feckin doubt it, or all those who support rugby in agreement with George Hook??

Please stop the lazy generalisations and see this document as what it is, the crazy ramblings of a member of the Dublin executive, and imo the county chairman Kettle should be held responsible as the document was released on behalf of the DCB.

Spot on +1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

Good post. I've already seen some Leinster fans start the whole 'Ohh the GAA are running scared of rugby, etc.' These would be the same people who had no problem going to Croke Park when their home ground was being rebuilt, by the way. But it shouldn't be about one-upmanship anymore, it should be about respect and admiration. In this case it's one county board making total eejits of themselves and, like the above comments say, if we were to apply that to certain members of the rugby and soccer community, we'd be here all day.

Having said that, the GAA have made great strides in trying to shed the 'gombeen' image but when I hear this sort of complete nonsense from the biggest county board in the country I really despair, and I say that as Dublin fan. I can't believe a smart and sensible man like John Costello, the Dublin chief executive, would stand over this stuff. I don't know much about Andy Kettle but he has made Dublin look ridiculous and small-minded.

Well in fairness no other sporting body in this country is as agressively anti-other sports as the GAA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭Rick Deckard

Id assosiate arnotts with the dubs more than a shade of blue (which has changed year to year) but they didn't mind dropping that for a few bob..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 535 ✭✭✭hisholinessnb

This thread is a joke, the Dublin county board embarrassed themselves here with this ridiculous stuff, and the vast majority of GAA people agree that its plain stupid.
    But its quite clear they are a single county board not "the GAA" as some posters have suggested. However many people who are naturally "anti GAA" have hijacked the thread to spout about any gripe they have with the GAA.

Most posters doing this can be found mainly on the soccer threads and many of these are linked to local Irish premier league clubs. Yet THEY state the GAA is aggressively anti any other sport. This is quite ironic given how quick they are to jump over here to kick the entire GAA over the ramblings of some idiots in one county board.

Give over lads, by sinking to this crap you are no better than the idiots in the Dublin county board.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

ozzy jr wrote: »

I'd like an explanation as to how they see Child Protection as having a negative effect on their games.

their logic being some schools dont let kids run at playtimes etc or play ball.

but still, it is a ridiculous statement. the religious part especially. when most other organisations are trying to distance themselves from it, the DCB say it is a reason for falling numbers.

the whole thing is an absolute farce. the interview on newstalk was cringing to say the least. "we're not talking about Leinster". but you mention a sporting franchise who wears blue. "if people want to assume it at that, then thats their assumption, I wouldnt see it like that".

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Well in fairness no other sporting body in this country is as agressively anti-other sports as the GAA.
    Here's a story: I volunteered at an All Ireland football sevens competition the day before the All Ireland football final. It's an annual event but this year it happened to be on on the morning of the Ireland - Australia rugby game. The start of the tournament was delayed so people could see the whole game. Doesn't sound "aggressively anti-other sports" to me.
    Also, depending on the schedule of Ireland's Euro 2012 games, the GAA will probably be rescheduling several county games next summer to avoid any conflict with Ireland's games. If they were anti-soccer surely they would ignore the fact that Ireland may be playing and play championship games at the same time.

I will admit (and the article in question proves it) that there are some idiotic individuals involved in the GAA who are still living in the past, but the vast majority of GAA officials and fans would actively follow and participate in other sports. I was actually surprised at the amount of GAA tracksuits I saw at the Ireland - Estonia game on Tuesday.

In fact I would say there are far more individuals who are aggressively anti GAA around nowadays (a good few on boards come to mind).

I suppose it would be silly to add that the AI hurling final (ie the pinnacle game of the GAA season) is being put back a week to accomodate the Navy/Notre Dame American Football game in the Aviva.

but that wouldnt suit the agenda some folk have to rattle off about the GAA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Oasis_Dublin

To play devil's advocate, you could argue that the reason why the GAA has to move its fixtures is because people might not choose to watch their games if they were forced to make a choice.

So? If they were aggressively anti other sports, they wouldn't change them. Simple as that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,226 ✭✭✭Pete_Cavan

Ridiculous claims from the Dublin County Board. It is obvious that Leinster Rugby have ripped off the Cavan jersey in an attempt to hyjack our success. After years of marketing and building up a successful brand they think they can just slap a different crest and sponsor on basically the same jersey and get Canterbury to mass produce it. Far from being subliminal, their exploitation of our brand is blatant;

181833.jpg181834.jpg

We demand some sort of royalties - 6'10" Devin Toner could do a job in midfield for us, Rob Kearney would slot in at wing back and Sean O'Brien would be a horse of a full forward - then we might consider not sueing you.

PS: for anyone thats a bit slow, I am taking the piss!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

ozzy jr wrote: »

Don't expect an answer to that one....

stovelid wrote: »

bruschi wrote: »
    their logic being some schools dont let kids run at playtimes etc or play ball.

but still, it is a ridiculous statement. the religious part especially. when most other organisations are trying to distance themselves from it, the DCB say it is a reason for falling numbers.

the whole thing is an absolute farce. the interview on newstalk was cringing to say the least. "we're not talking about Leinster". but you mention a sporting franchise who wears blue. "if people want to assume it at that, then thats their assumption, I wouldnt see it like that".

why wouldnt you expect an answer to that one. I think you have seen that most 'GAA' supporters have also ridiculed this report from the dublin co board.

Here's a story: I volunteered at an All Ireland football sevens competition the day before the All Ireland football final. It's an annual event but this year it happened to be on on the morning of the Ireland - Australia rugby game. The start of the tournament was delayed so people could see the whole game. Doesn't sound "aggressively anti-other sports" to me.
    Also, depending on the schedule of Ireland's Euro 2012 games, the GAA will probably be rescheduling several county games next summer to avoid any conflict with Ireland's games. If they were anti-soccer surely they would ignore the fact that Ireland may be playing and play championship games at the same time.

I will admit (and the article in question proves it) that there are some idiotic individuals involved in the GAA who are still living in the past, but the vast majority of GAA officials and fans would actively follow and participate in other sports. I was actually surprised at the amount of GAA tracksuits I saw at the Ireland - Estonia game on Tuesday.

In fact I would say there are far more individuals who are aggressively anti GAA around nowadays (a good few on boards come to mind).
    Maybe playing devils advocate here but could you argue that the GAA make such changes because they fear for both player and spectator numbers in attendance at their events as opposed to being graciously accommodating to other sports?

[EDIT]I noticed someone else made the same point.

So? If they were aggressively anti other sports, they wouldn't change them. Simple as that.
    And risk possible revenue? Come on. We're talking about The GAA here. They know the IRB and UEFA aren't going to change their calendars so they have to change their own.

Nothing to do with embracing other sports. Simple as that.

stovelid wrote: »
    Reading what you want to read I see.
    It's a ridiculous article, as has been intimated by every single GAA fan on this thread. But, by all means don't let that stop you from spouting on about your blind hatred of all things to do with the GAA.
    MyKeyG wrote: »
    And risk possible revenue? Come on. We're talking about The GAA here. They know the IRB and UEFA aren't going to change their calendars so they have to change their own.

Nothing to do with embracing other sports. Simple as that.
    Fair point.
    But in relation to the tournament I was volunteering at, there were very few spectators (and entry was free on the day). Yet they still delayed the start for the rugby.

I can't keep myself from smiling at the reactions of some people to the GAA. For pretty much the whole year you wouldn't see them near the GAA board but as soon as something like this rears its head they're stumbling over themselves to have their say.
    The majority of GAA fans would follow, at least in passing, another sport. The same certainly cannot be said for a lot of soccer and rugby fans I know.