Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

hardy Bucks - Season 2 - RTE 2 Monday nights

• Registered Users Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭tommy2bad

Just watched this, it might be me but laughing at, not with, comes to mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,319 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

big improvement from last season good opener

Yeah definitely better than the first of the 3 episodes last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 884 ✭✭✭spider guardian

JohnnyBig wrote: »
    They have new t-shirts out now too, I got the new hoodie

http://www.t-rex.ie/go/hardy-bucks.html

0055-hbs2rsign-klg.jpg

Tut tut. Surely the Irish part should read "Baile an Chaisleáin"? Ye're shlackin lads

• Registered Users Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Loved this weeks episode, serious return to form from the buckeens.

Some lads have enough cheek for another arse!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

I couldn't stop laughing when the Viper tripped over the chair when they broke into the college :D

I've been impressed with the series so far. Looking forward to next week now

• Registered Users Posts: 6,542 ✭✭✭bassy

skyboy :D

• Registered Users Posts: 13,547 ✭✭✭✭briany

I thought it was hilarious. Last week's episode too.

The Viper just cracks me up. His put on "Hard man" voice makes everything he says sound so cocky/sneery/ridiculous, I think it's very funny.

"Yeeeeeaaaahhhhhhhhh!"

"Listen, auld lady, f*ck off!!"

"Yeah, me and him go f*ckin' way back, man!"

• Registered Users Posts: 6,542 ✭✭✭bassy

the viper really does make the show,him getting in to the back of the ambulance get that man a pint.and him smoking the J saying fook up and driveeeee :D using that weird voice he puts on :D

• Registered Users Posts: 15,011 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Though it was another good performance, again streets ahead of last year.

And again plenty of focus on Buzz.

French Toast's description of viewing porn on dial-up internet was brilliant.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,011 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I wonder will the Mid West Radio equivalent of Joe Duffy be getting calls about portrayal of the open selling of drugs at the playground in Swinford ?

Joe Duffy certainly will not be getting calls about it cos Joe is only concerned with these things if they happen in Dublin :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭squonk

Great episode! I don't think it was quite as good as ep 1 but still very decent. I've a feeling this was a staging post for a bit of mayhem over the next few episodes anyway!

Breaking into the school was brilliant, and the lads running from the cleaner... top drawer!

I love the bit in the hospital where the nurse is giving out to Eddie!

It's great to see them fleshing out the interaction between Eddie & Buzz a bit now too.

I can't believe RTE are showing something that's homegrown and actually funny for once!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Great episode

They seem to have drifted away from the weaker support characters (stateside, dragon) and concentrated on the better ones, (simcard, salmon)

The phonecall between Buzz and the milf at the start is brilliant

Even the storyline was decent enough last night

• Registered Users Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Honest to god I could see my brother lining up to **** in front of a laptop as he doesent do computers so ya great story.

I was rolling around the floor watching it.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,589 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

'Where are ye from?'

'The price of turf is gone very high'

Lols. Great episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Strongbow10

When chatting to Simcard in the playground Viper says

"look who it is, college boy, Varsity League" classic!! :D

that episode was very funny. But to be honest I can see people not getting it and others thinking its hilarious.

Depends on where you are from

• Registered Users Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭squonk

afatbollix wrote: »
    Honest to god I could see my brother lining up to **** in front of a laptop as he doesent do computers so ya great story.

I was rolling around the floor watching it.

I was wondering about that storyline! I was wondering if people would actually turn up to pay for computer time to do 'whatever they wanted'. I'm a computer head though and work in IT so have always access to them, and know how to use them too.

Makes it even funner tbh when you put it in that context you have!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Ya he recently said to me... He asked me for his 21st photos as with all photos these days I told him they were on Facebook and just go have a look. His reply 'For ****s sake can ya not just print all the photos so I can look at them!'

He couldn't even go on facebook and click a mouse!

• Registered Users Posts: 120 ✭✭PaudyW

have only watched a couple of the shows but think its a bit a a sh tty rip off of trailer park boys

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Frank Funk

PaudyW wrote: »
    have only watched a couple of the shows but think its a bit a a sh tty rip off of trailer park boys

There's a massive element of the emperor having no clothes here. These guys have being doing this stick for four years and it's lazier they're getting.

Maybe there's a narcissism to hearing lads in your own situation and accent being glamourised. The same way the biggest fans of Ross O'Carroll Kelly drivel are D4 rugby twats.

The thing that pisses me off the most is when the "writing" is praised, when the characters / situations are nicked from Trailer Park Boys and phrases like "if there was work in the bed he'd sleep on the floor"and "she was up and down like a fiddler's elbow" are stock country phrases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Frank Funk wrote: »
    phrases like "if there was work in the bed he'd sleep on the floor"and "she was up and down like a fiddler's elbow" are stock country phrases.

Tell me this now...... if I go to my local west of Ireland village (1/2 mile away) and have a chat with the "hardy bucks" that hang out on the pub corners do you think I would hear anything more advanced than "if there was work in the bed he'd sleep on the floor"and "she was up and down like a fiddler's elbow".
    This is how these type of lads speak.
    Stephen Fry is a long way away.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭laoch na mona

we need Lexus

They put the fetter back on him I think.

There's a massive element of the emperor having no clothes here. These guys have being doing this stick for four years and it's lazier they're getting.

Maybe there's a narcissism to hearing lads in your own situation and accent being glamourised. The same way the biggest fans of Ross O'Carroll Kelly drivel are D4 rugby twats.

The thing that pisses me off the most is when the "writing" is praised, when the characters / situations are nicked from Trailer Park Boys and phrases like "if there was work in the bed he'd sleep on the floor"and "she was up and down like a fiddler's elbow" are stock country phrases.

Wow you're really cynical

Ross O Carroll Kelly is brilliant btw and people around the country like it, not just the section of society it parodies

Also the phrases mentioned have never been in Hardy Bucks so don't know where you got that from

It's a bit sad that your so angry over a bunch of guys with a bit of initiative making people laugh

If you don't like it don't watch it or make some sort of decent critique rather than lazy claims of plagiarism. After all what show hasn't borrowed from another, especially in comedy.

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    Wow you're really cynical

Ross O Carroll Kelly is brilliant btw and people around the country like it, not just the section of society it parodies

Also the phrases mentioned have never been in Hardy Bucks so don't know where you got that from

It's a bit sad that your so angry over a bunch of guys with a bit of initiative making people laugh

If you don't like it don't watch it or make some sort of decent critique rather than lazy claims of plagiarism. After all what show hasn't borrowed from another, especially in comedy.

For the record "work in the bed he'd sleep on the floor" was in Hardy bucks for sure.
    They are still highly entertaining imo.

mikom wrote: »
    For the record "work in the bed he'd sleep on the floor" was in Hardy bucks for sure.
    They are still highly entertaining imo.

Aye my mistake on that point but it's still not a fault of the show considering the section of society they're portraying is a small rural town

• Registered Users Posts: 18 Frank Funk

Fishooks12 wrote: »

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xg9jWKiMEOE

14 seconds in. And they're used the "work in the bed" one at least twice.

My critique is perfectly valid. There's very little jokes in the thing, just cosy recognition. It's catchphrase comedy in disguise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 JohnnyBig

0055-hbs2rsign-klg.jpg

Tut tut. Surely the Irish part should read "Baile an Chaisleáin"? Ye're shlackin lads

either or really, often irish translations aren't exactly in the same order, ..:cool:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 256 ✭✭coniosumadre

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xg9jWKiMEOE

14 seconds in. And they're used the "work in the bed" one at least twice.

My critique is perfectly valid. There's very little jokes in the thing, just cosy recognition. It's catchphrase comedy in disguise.

But thats not even from one of the episodes dude...thats just an outtake thing there using for promotion!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 iDrum

Why did they reverse the shot with Eddie in the first scene? You can see the print on his T-shirt is backwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Watched a few mins of this last week - chronically unfunny.