Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Connacht V Toulouse November 19th KO 18.00 live on Skysports

• 14-11-2011 8:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭seanin4711

After catching my breath from the Quins game I hope we can match the intensity shown in the second half married with a huge vocal home crowd and if the giants of European rugby don't bring their A game then we are in with a squeak?
    What say you?

Not sure how bad Ray Ofisa is though!
    I would love for him to start!
    Galway is going to go off!!!!
    see you in O'Connells for a miwadi(or two!)

GWAN CONNACHT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I'll be coming up to this if anyone wants to meet up for a pint after! O'Connell's you say Seanin?

Allez les verts!!! J'attends le match avec grand impatience! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 607 ✭✭✭ed7890

Is there still tickets for this? Might head down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

9,000 mad westerners in the Sportsground

You will just not beat that atmosphere

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,278 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

I did enjoy Luke Burgess comment when he was interviewed after the Toulouse Gloucester game. He was asked something along the lines of how did he feel about playing in The Sportsground, his response was tongue in check "Galway...it's just like Sydney isn't it?".

• If I could be in Galway for this next weekend, with or without a ticket, I would be there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

9,000 mad westerners in the Sportsground

Thomond would beat it handy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭seanin4711

Aidric wrote: »
    Thomond would beat it handy enough.

dont rain on our parade plz!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭fatguy2k1

7,700 mad westerners in the Sportsground

FYP

Only 7,700?

fatguy2k1 wrote: »
    FYP

Eric amongst others has stated on several occasions that it was 9000 capacity(tBH I did think that was a little high alright!)

• fatguy2k1 wrote: »
    FYP

ah we know thats just for the fire marshalls. In years to come, after Connacht steal a last gasp victory there'll have been about 30k at the game!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

This will be a momentous occasion for Irish rugby regardless of the result. C'mon Connacht! A surprise upset would be the cherry on the cake of an already exciting Heineken Cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

.ak wrote: »
    This will be a momentous occasion for Irish rugby regardless of the result. C'mon Connacht! A surprise upset would be the cherry on the cake of an already exciting Heineken Cup.

If both teams play the same way they did at weekend , I reckon connacht could rattle them, Burgess was the stand out player for Toulouse rest of the team were half asleep not up too much, and that was at home , so away in a ground that will not be Toulouse friendly, will be an interesting evening , only down point is the forecast is for good weather , bring on the rain and wind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,072 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

even just reading the title to this thread gave me Goosebumps

The Clan will be electric come Saturday!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭EKClarke

Hopefully Connacht don't bottle it like they did against Cardiff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

.ak wrote: »

If they take a hammering, will it really be a momentous occasion?

The Connacht players need to ignore the hype about the significance of the occasion, what it means for the province etc; they just need to focus on getting a result because a loss at the weekend ends any hopes of progressing either in the HC and probably in the Amlin too.

Since Friday, we've been hearing that Connacht gave a great account of themselves at Harlequins, didn't let themselves down etc. Well that's all well and good, but they came away from that match with no points on the board from being in a position when they could have won and should have at least got an LBP.

Slapping lads on the back for a gallant loss has no place in professional sport; it's all about results. We saw at the weekend that Toulouse are not perfect, they can be got at, Connacht need to focus on that and ignore this "great occasion in the wesht" nonsense. It's time to step up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

If they take a hammering, will it really be a momentous occasion?

The Connacht players need to ignore the hype about the significance of the occasion, what it means for the province etc; they just need to focus on getting a result because a loss at the weekend ends any hopes of progressing either in the HC and probably in the Amlin too.

Since Friday, we've been hearing that Connacht gave a great account of themselves at Harlequins, didn't let themselves down etc. Well that's all well and good, but they came away from that match with no points on the board from being in a position when they could have won and should have at least got an LBP.

Slapping lads on the back for a gallant loss has no place in professional sport; it's all about results. We saw at the weekend that Toulouse are not perfect, they can be got at, Connacht need to focus on that and ignore this "great occasion in the wesht" nonsense. It's time to step up.

Are you actually for real, Connaught have by far the smallest budget of the provinces, Toulouse one of the biggest in france, Whats this its time to step up nonsense about, After losing some of their star players each year but continually improving Connaught are doing fine, It is a great day for Connaught and Im hoping they do well but keep your negativity for your own province and leave us out west to ours

astonaidan wrote: »
    Are you actually for real, Connaught have by far the smallest budget of the provinces, Toulouse one of the biggest in france, Whats this its time to step up nonsense about, After losing some of their star players each year but continually improving Connaught are doing fine, It is a great day for Connaught and Im hoping they do well but keep your negativity for your own province and leave us out west to ours

Far from it, I'm being very positive, if you actually read my post, I said "we saw at the weekend that Toulouse are not perfect, they can be got at, Connacht need to focus on that." How is that being negative?

What I'm saying is that if the supporters want to get hyped up about the grand occasion, that's fine, but the players need to focus on the job in hand and put their gripes about budgets and player defection to one side (or better yet, channel it into constructive anger and take it out on Toulouse).

All this talk of "a great day for Connacht" implies being happy just to be on the big stage, I want them to go out and win.

seanin4711 wrote: »
    Eric amongst others has stated on several occasions that it was 9000 capacity(tBH I did think that was a little high alright!)
    Eric knows about as much about the capacities as i do about coaching.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Far from it, I'm being very positive, if you actually read my post, I said "we saw at the weekend that Toulouse are not perfect, they can be got at, Connacht need to focus on that." How is that being negative?

What I'm saying is that if the supporters want to get hyped up about the grand occasion, that's fine, but the players need to focus on the job in hand and put their gripes about budgets and player defection to one side (or better yet, channel it into constructive anger and take it out on Toulouse).

All this talk of "a great day for Connacht" implies being happy just to be on the big stage, I want them to go out and win.

I did read your post and it was fine till the whole its time to step up which just pissed me off, As if they have in some way let the country down, That is the sort of nonsense I hate hearing about connaught, Like when some out east think of us as nothing but a feeder club, I personally think we could beat Toulose expecially in galway but talking about them stepping is idiotic to say the least

Where did I say they had let the country down?

Beating Toulouse, or even coming close to it, will be a step up; a team who have never qualified for the Heineken Cup taking on the Top 14 Champions and four-time HC winners will require a step up of massive proportions. I don't see what's idiotic about that.

And keep the personal abuse of it.

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

First of all, that's a pretty nonsensical post, moaning about nothing.
    Nobody said anything about "letting the country down", and if anything, Connacht supporters are constantly giving out about players from other provinces leaving for their home province.

Secondly, "Connaught"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,863 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

duckysauce wrote: »
    If both teams play the same way they did at weekend , I reckon connacht could rattle them, Burgess was the stand out player for Toulouse rest of the team were half asleep not up too much, and that was at home , so away in a ground that will not be Toulouse friendly, will be an interesting evening , only down point is the forecast is for good weather , bring on the rain and wind.

Connacht have two days extra rest compared to Toulouse after the weekend's games but then again Toulouse can probably field two teams almost as good as each other so don't think it's going to have much bearing on the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

I think what totallegend is saying is that the Connacht players have to try and shut out all the hoopla in the lead-up to the game and remember to play the opposition, and not the occasion. He's dead right. He hasn't said they'll be a disgrace if they don't win or anything, just that the players have to go in with the right mindset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭smurphy29

Connacht have two days extra rest compared to Toulouse after the weekend's games but then again Toulouse can probably field two teams almost as good as each other so don't think it's going to have much bearing on the game.
    Yeah, they've a huge squad, and haven't even reintegrated Dusa and Clerc since the world cup. Plus, it's early in the season, so those sort of things don't have as much bearing on games as later on when the players are fatigued and nursing injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

The players are professional enough that they will be concentrating on the game itself, and let the fans worry about the occasion. The last time we played a big French side - Toulon in the Amlin semi-final - was another huge occasion but the players gave a great performance against a team with a vastly superior budget and squad and were realistically unlucky to lose.
    I'm quite sure they're determined to show that Connacht are not out of place in the HEC:
    Elwood re-iterated yesterday that Connacht are not here just for the ride. “We recognise the challenge within the group, they are tough games. We’re playing the four-time champions. But I think we are in the business of trying to win rugby matches and we fancy ourselves at home
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2011/1115/1224307581884.html

There are a few injuries from the weekend but they seem to be minor enough, Duffy with a slight hamstring strain appears the most serious, aside from Ofisa who was taken off early on Friday but took a small part in training yesterday. Should be more or less a full squad to choose from though.

We need to bring the intensity shown last Friday and up it another notch this week. Defence was excellent but the pressure exerted by Quins resulted in too many penalties, so discipline is vital this week. Need to get our hands on the ball a bit more and protect it better, the possession stats last Friday were starkly contrasting in both halves - think it was 30% in first half and 72% in second half - we can't afford to give away as much possession as we did in the first half last week.
    2nd row and backrow are immense for Connacht at the moment, and unless Dusautoir plays we can achieve at least parity there, but I'm worried about our front row - scrums are a bit of a problem at the moment. Delighted with the performance of McSharry and Griffin last week and I hope they get the nod again, but what a step up in opposition against that Toulouse backline!

Its only Tuesday and already I can't wait!

Dusatoir, Picamoles, Bouilhou, Albacete, Clerc, Steenkamp, Bezy, Doussain, Medard and Clerc were rested last week, Servat and Beauxis only came on. It aint a factor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭cormpat

Does anyone know if tickets are still available for this? Ticketmaster is giving sold out, but the Irish Times said today that Toulouse were returning some tickets?

cormpat wrote: »
    Does anyone know if tickets are still available for this? Ticketmaster is giving sold out, but the Irish Times said today that Toulouse were returning some tickets?

They've been returned but most of them have been sold on already. Ring the branch or drop in, they might have a few left

cormpat wrote: »
    they did and we are flying through them. you'll have to call into the Branch Office to buy them. no phone booking, no pleading to hold one for you - you physically have to be in the office to purchase them. there will be just over 100 tickets on sale from 9:00am tomorrow and then they are gone. they are €30 each and only for the Bohermore Terrace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭cormpat

Cheers Porterbelly & Fat Guy, will call in tomorrow morning.... Fingers crossed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭evil_seed

Can the thread title be changed to include the fact that this is a red button game. Not that it matters to me, I'll be there as always at my spot on the halfway line :cool:

Connacht, the ambitious beginner

Share:
    15/11/2011

Saturday, in front of Toulouse , the Connacht celebrate a funny birthday by playing his 118th European match. While the club has at any and all played only once in the Heineken Cup (the last week in the field of Harlequins ), but the event will be celebrated as it should. What could be more symbolic, for the first match of the Heineken Cup at the Sportsground , as receiving the most successful team in the Old World ? " Toulouse is the best team in Europe for the past 17 ​​years. Motivate these Heineken Cup matches will not be difficult. We can not wait to be there, we expect this from the beginning of the season. It would have been nice to start with a good result at the first day, but we will fight as we have always done. We received a great support when we played for Quins and hope we can give our fans something to shout more this week , "said flanker of Connacht and Ireland XV John Muldoon . " expected 9000 spectators at the stadium. This will be the biggest crowd we've ever recorded in the Sportsground and the atmosphere is likely to be hostile to our opponents. Yet we know that the slightest mistake will cost us dear, and we also know that if we go out like we did late in the game against the Harlequins, Toulouse will put us points. If we play like that for a moment we'll end up with a deficit of 30 points . " " There was a big disappointment in the dressing room of the Twickenham Stoop. We had arrived in Quins thinking we were going to spring a surprise and the match was undecided until the end, but the quality of play of Nick Evans made ​​the difference. He has missed a shot and, even with the penalties we conceded in our own camp, his shots were great touches. It has been determined . " " Anyway, we moved on. We are tired of receiving good old pats on the back and hear "well done, but no luck" or "good performance". Each year, improving, but it's frustrating. We will learn much from this game but many people do not understand that we have the feeling that the game was within reach. We really feel like missed a good result . " Meanwhile, coach Eric Elwood added: " Our first game of the Heineken Cup was a great event and I think that the guys were intimidated by that. It was very positive vis-à-vis the first Heineken Cup. We wanted everyone to be committed without fear of the magnitude of the event. We wanted to address this challenge head on and I think that's what we did . " " I think overall, our first game in this competition was a revelation for many people. Now the challenge is to continue our efforts. This is the key to get there. All players in the group want to measure the team in Toulouse. The stage show complete and it will be on TV. Hopefully the crowd will give us balm to the heart, moves us and motivates us to surpass ourselves . " " We all know the threat is Toulouse. The focus is on the defensive aspect of the game because we were not on top in the ruck areas against the Quins. In attack, we just need to control what is in our ropes and do our best. People do not give us no chance against Toulouse, but the beauty of the sport. The key for us is simply to believe what you do, believe in us and be the best they can . "

Bad translation but you get the gisht!

GWAN CONNACHT

http://www.premiershiprugby.com/information/24095.php
    Acording to the stade website
    this guy is in charge!

meah

fatguy2k1 wrote: »
    meah

fair enough about capacity.

on a seperate issue is thus only on the red button on sky, I.e. cannot record it?
    that sucks bigtime

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

seanin4711 wrote: »
    on a seperate issue is thus only on the red button on sky, I.e. cannot record it?
    that sucks bigtime

If you go to your planner on sky and select to record the game that is on the same time you should be given the option to record whatevers on the red button. I did that last weekend anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭JJ O Malley

If anyone has a spare ticket and wish to pass it on please give me a PM...?

I'm based in Galway and my promise of a ticket fell through..

Cheers

JJ

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

No word on selections yet, Eric's playing his cards close to his chest.

"Don't tell him Pike!"

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Lads is this on Sky Sports live or the red button?
    Ulster are on the same time aren't they?
    Would rather watch this but I've UPC.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

wixfjord wrote: »
    Lads is this on Sky Sports live or the red button?
    Ulster are on the same time aren't they?
    Would rather watch this but I've UPC.
    Red button only as far as I'm aware.

Robbo wrote: »
    Red button only as far as I'm aware.

Yep, this is one for the TG4 highlights, hosted by the lovely Maire Treasa:

LukeFitzgerald_MaireTreasaNiDhubhghaill_TG4rugby.jpg

A rather pleasing alternative to Simon Lazenby I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭sickpuppy

Yep, this is one for the TG4 highlights, hosted by the lovely Maire Treasa:

LukeFitzgerald_MaireTreasaNiDhubhghaill_TG4rugby.jpg

A rather pleasing alternative to Simon Lazenby I think.

Did she apply her make up in the dark?

Should be some night in galway regardless of the result

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭EKClarke

sickpuppy wrote: »
    Did she apply her make up in the dark?

Should be some night in galway regardless of the result

Who? Luke?

Avants : Poux, Falefa, Johnston, Montès, Botha, Servat, Lamboley, Millo, Maestri, Nyanga, Bouilhou, Galan, Picamoles, Dusautoir.

Arrières : Vergallo, Burgess, McAlister, Beauxis, Jauzion, Fritz, Donguy, Médard, Clerc, Poitrenaud.

Pretty much full strength squad, 1 forward will drop out of this squad for the match day 23. Steenkamp, Albacete and Sowerby don't feature.

Lineup should be confirmed by lunchtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭Snickers Man

G'wan Connacht!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

Would have liked to see Steenkamp but to be honest that's a boost for Connacht so I'm not too disappointed. Scary back line there potentially.

Cannot wait to see the likes of O'Halloran, McSharry and Griffin catch them off guard and hammer into them with everything they've got.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Avants : Poux, Falefa, Johnston, Montès, Botha, Servat, Lamboley, Millo, Maestri, Nyanga, Bouilhou, Galan, Picamoles, Dusautoir.

Arrières : Vergallo, Burgess, McAlister, Beauxis, Jauzion, Fritz, Donguy, Médard, Clerc, Poitrenaud.

Pretty much full strength squad, 1 forward will drop out of this squad for the match day 23. Steenkamp, Albacete and Sowerby don't feature.

Lineup should be confirmed by lunchtime.

Jaysus, that's some squad. I involuntarily gulped, a la Scooby Doo when he's petrified, when I was reading that! :eek:

Match day XV:
    Poitrenaud
    Clerc
    Fritz
    Jauzion
    Medard
    Beauxis
    Burgess
    Picamoles
    Dusautoir
    Bouilhou
    Maestri
    Lamboley
    Johnston
    Servat
    Montes

Subs: Botha, Falefa, Poux, Millo-Chluski, Nyanga, Galan, Vergallo, McAlister

6-2 split on the bench, Beauxis at fly-half; they're not coming here to play pretty, flowing rugby.