Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Replacements for the current Ireland central midfield pairing

• 14-11-2011 3:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭

The current Irish team is a pretty solid outfit now IMHO with two exceptions.

The evidence is overwhelming that we need two new central midfielders for the starting 11.

Andrews did score last Friday, and is the better of the two, but in all fairness neither of them can pass the ball or hold it. They also don't offer much in terms of defending - think Russia away where they just walked through the midfield at will. Imagine Germany or Spain :eek: Whelan in particular will give the ball back to the opposition 9 times out of 10, with Andrews not much better.

So, should Trap bite the bullet and blood some new central midfielders? For me Keith Fahey should start every game. Time to get McCarthy bedded in now. Are there any other hidden gems out there that could come in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,648 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

If David Meyler can get back to the form he had for Sunderland before his current injury he will walk into the team.

I'm excited for when he gets himself back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

McCarthy does not impose himself on the ball. That's the problem with him. Trapattoni thinks he is too shy when it comes to wanting the ball. What about the young guy at Arsenal, Henderson, is he worth looking at? I know he got a fairly bad injury recently.

Signed a new contract with Arsenal last month

Arsenal duo Conor Henderson and Sanchez Watt have signed new contracts to commit their long-term futures to the club.

Republic of Ireland Under 21 international Henderson has yet to make the breakthrough into the first team at Emirates Stadium but is rated extremely highly by club bosses.

The midfielder was a regular for the reserves last term and travelled with Arsene Wenger's senior squad for the pre-season trip to Germany, only to be struck down by a knee injury that has kept him sidelined for the past few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,592 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Andrews didn't just score, he put in a MotM performance.

To be honest, I don't know who's better capable of playing Trap's system. As it's a given that Trap will be continuing with his system (and why not? the results speak for themselves), I don't think there's much merit in talking about McCarthy. Ditto Hoolihan.

Gibson has proved he can do the job required of him. Fahey can probably do the same. I'd have both of those on the plane to Poland/Ukraine. Meyler, I don't know enough about. Kilbane did alright in midfield in years past, but doubt he has the legs for it now.

I reckon Trap should take a look at Marc Wilson in that role, as his versatility could be very valuable in a 23-man squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

Jeff Hendrick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

darkman2 wrote: »
    McCarthy does not impose himself on the ball. That's the problem with him. Trapattoni thinks he is too shy when it comes to wanting the ball.

To be fair, the same can be said of Andrews and Whelan - they certainly don't impose themselves either. Apart from John O'Shea, Richard Dunne and Shay Given, and maybe Walters, Long and Doyle upfront, none of the other Irish players impose themselves on the ball.

In Whelan's case even when he gets the ball his first instinct is to get rid of it at any cost.

Surely now is the time to give McCarthy a few starts, and train him in more as to what's expected of him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Is taking a chance on Stephen Reid an option, he was excellent for us until he got injured again. From what I seen this season hes been fit and played most if not all of WBA games. Surely he wouldn't turn down the chance to go to the euros, and be has been a good servant to the Irish team.

From Wiki

Reid retired from international football on 13 July 2010 in order to concentrate on his club career.He has since raised the possibility of a comeback if Ireland were stuck in the midfield department.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

professore wrote: »
    Surely now is the time to give McCarthy a few starts, and train him in more as to what's expected of him?

You would have to wonder though why is he not even getting into the Wigan team? Have we been sold a pup? I hope not but he should be getting into the Wigan starting 11 surely?

Andrews didn't just score, he put in a MotM performance.

I think this was more the case of he didn't get one yet so let's give it to him.
    To be honest, I don't know who's better capable of playing Trap's system. As it's a given that Trap will be continuing with his system (and why not? the results speak for themselves), I don't think there's much merit in talking about McCarthy. Ditto Hoolihan.

I'm not arguing he change the system, just that the current midfield pairing offer little or nothing. Giving the ball away time after time just puts unnecessary pressure on your defence. Russia home and away is the real benchmark, they tore us to bits with ease both times.
    Gibson has proved he can do the job required of him. Fahey can probably do the same. I'd have both of those on the plane to Poland/Ukraine. Meyler, I don't know enough about. Kilbane did alright in midfield in years past, but doubt he has the legs for it now.

I reckon Trap should take a look at Marc Wilson in that role, as his versatility could be very valuable in a 23-man squad.

Kilbane, while he has been a great slogger for us, is too old, and again gives the ball away with abandon. Gibson, meh, not great either, and a bad fit for the system. Fahey, solid, cool in possession, can hold and distribute the ball - and let's not forget his goal away against Armenia when they were getting on top of us was crucial to get us here. I'd have him starting every time, possibly with Andrews, and McCarthy an impact sub.

You would have to wonder though why is he not even getting into the Wigan team? Have we been sold a pup? I hope not but he should be getting into the Wigan starting 11 surely?
    He does start regularly for Wigan. He has just recovered from an ankle injury so thats why he was on the bench last weekend. Other than that he has started every league game that he has been available for :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭tinofapples

Don't know the centre but Pilkington deserves a shout in a couple of friendly games.

That's never been an issue for Trap, look at Simon Cox. Of course we don't know all the facts, maybe he has a temperament issue, or is injured, who knows? It's just a bit of craic to speculate on these things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

The responses here actually just convince me that we don't have replacements!
    I hope someone does come through fast and get themselves into the team but atm it's the same two lads for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

The evidence is overwhelming that we need two new central midfielders for the starting 11.
    It is?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

I think Andrews deserves his place. But my god Glenn Whelan is awful. Nearly every scare we had last Friday was down to him doing something stupid. Plowing into Duff, giving away a free less than a yard outside the box due to a horrible touch are two main ones I remember, but he was constantly at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,516 ✭✭✭✭briany

I'd like to see Andrews/S. Reid, should Reid be called up and if he should prove himself capable. There's all the other names to consider as well but early on, before injuries got him, Reid was showing himself as a very tidy player within Trap's system. I will not try to doubt Trap's vision and I don't really care who he picks so long as he picks a pairing who can impose themselves when it's needed because it will be needed come the time of the Euros.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭BERBA

at this stage i'd take Ronnie Whelan over Glen Whelan all day long;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

Whelan should be dropped, rarely has a good game. Andrews isn't great either, but at least he has height, a physical presence and isn't afraid to take a shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭Bob the Seducer

adamski8 wrote: »
    The responses here actually just convince me that we don't have replacements!
    I hope someone does come through fast and get themselves into the team but atm it's the same two lads for me.

There are a couple of others around, Chris McCann and Joey O'Brien come to mind. Then there's a few more less likely lads including Gary Deegan, Jay Tabb, David Norris (the footballing one!), Owen Garvan and David Bell, most if not all playing in the Championship at the moment. (and some playing more than others...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

For me Keith Fahey should start every game.
    He's awful, I personally wouldn't even have him in the squad.
    Time to get McCarthy bedded in now.
    Why?

The only game Wigan have won this season was one he was dropped for. When McCarthy has played, Wigan have drawn twice, and been beaten four times. He also played in the game when Wigan were knocked out of the League Cup by Crystal Palace. His team are bottom of the Premier League, and the one full game I saw him play, he was anonymous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,866 ✭✭✭Panrich

Ciaran Clark played several games a holding midfielder for Villa last season to some effect. He even got 2 goals in one game against Arsenal in that role.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Panrich wrote: »
    Ciaran Clark played several games a holding midfielder for Villa last season to some effect. He even got 2 goals in one game against Arsenal in that role.
    He has only started 1 Premier League game this season though.

Brighton's Gary Dicker is a very good player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭Lamper.sffc

another option would be john o shea.

looking at it though, it really shows how badly we are struggling for credible replacements especially ones that can fit into traps tactics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,240 ✭✭✭bullpost

Theres always Stephen Ireland.............

bullpost wrote: »
    Theres always Stephen Ireland.............

Who?

Who?

I think he played in a toupee or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Meyler and McCarthy will eventually be our CM pairing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Am I the only one who thinks people are ridiculously harsh on Whelan & Andrews?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭stiffler123

Mr Alan wrote: »

I agree. They can be frustrating to watch, but they played nearly every minute in qualifying and it would be very harsh to drop them now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Leiva

Nope .

They (especially Whelan) are probably the most ugliest players to watch when it comes to creative play , but they do a job when our formation goes back into its shell .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Who?

You know, Stephen Ireland Manchester Villa

Dotrel wrote: »
    You know, Stephen Ireland Manchester Villa

Nah, never heard of him. I do tend to block complete twats from memory though so maybe he falls into that category?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Dotrel

Nah, never heard of him. I do tend to block complete twats from memory though so maybe he falls into that category?

That would be safe to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

Its like Michael Carrick for United, doesn't do much in games but is vital for keeping shape and offering protection for the defence.

If we started playing people like McCarthy we would be over run without the added protection for the back 4. The team we have at the minute got us qualified(more or less..) and I would stick with that for the group stage of the Euros. Trap knows what he is doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

Paul Green will be back fit by then, the obvious answer to all our midfield problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭antomorro-sei

He's awful, I personally wouldn't even have him in the squad.

Your off yer head!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭Pinturicchio

Definitely not. I wouldn't drop either of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

I reckon Joe Lapira could do a job in the centre of the park.

Barring injury, it's Whelan and Andrews for the Euros. I don't think people realise that the other players available aren't that much better, if they are at all. These guys know the system and work well under it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

More chance of seeing Paul Green than Wes Hoolahan or Pilkington IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Stevecw

More chance of seeing Paul Green than Wes Hoolahan or Pilkington IMO

Sad, but very very true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Definitely. They got us there, they have earned the right to play on the big stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

I've seen Whelan play for Stoke and he is a lot more attacking than when he plays for Ireland. He follows Traps orders to the letter, if he doesn't he knows he will be replaced.

As regards replacements, Trap likes big physical midfielders. If Meyler can get into the Sunderland team and do well, he could make the breakthrough. Reid and O'Brien are both injury prone.

flahavaj wrote: »
    Definitely. They got us there, they have earned the right to play on the big stage.

It would be a huge sickener for them to have done all the work of actually playing to get the team to the Euros, only for another pairing to be parachuted in as the finals approach. They would have every right to feel bitter about not getting a starting place so on a humanistic level, it's not something I really want to see but as a fan of the Ireland team who would like to see them go as far as possible, I'm not worried if they get dropped for someone who's as committed and can play with more authority within the system.

Now it's these players and the system that have gotten Ireland to this position but also we must recognise that the team had good fortune as well as the always committed performances. Slovakia had it pretty much in their hands at one stage to get to second spot but they imploded against Armenia with a scoreline not many would have predicted and proved that their win away to Russia was something of a fluke when they failed a repeat of it in the return game. Ireland also drew Estonia in the play off and they have turned out, quite rightly, to be the weakest team in the round by quite a way. The occasion got to them and they were undisciplined and outclassed.

Ireland were due a bit of luck after the last campaign but the thought that troubles me is if Ireland were to draw a decent European side like Russia again in the group stages could we really envisage anything different than Ireland being quite thoroughly dominated by the Russian team as happened in both games of this past qualifying group provided nothing changes in the meantime?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,474 ✭✭✭Crazy Horse 6

I'm happy with the two we have, very happy. Roll on tomorrow.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭legendary.xix

If David Meyler can get back to the form he had for Sunderland before his current injury he will walk into the team.

I'm excited for when he gets himself back.

Quite right 100%. Meyler is the player to watch over the next few months. He is being eased back into the Sunderland team. Should he stay fit following his terribly injuries, he is going to be a big player of absolute huge importance. Watch this space. Hopefully in February he will get his chance. He is the currently the only non-capped non-squad player I can see breaking through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭IRISHSPORTSGUY

I'm happy with the two we have, very happy. Roll on tomorrow.:)

I think people tolerate the central midfield as long as we keep getting results, but I don't think many people are 'very happy' with them. In fact, it's by far the weakest area of the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,029 ✭✭✭Rhys Essien

Quite right 100%. Meyler is the player to watch over the next few months. He is being eased back into the Sunderland team. Should he stay fit following his terribly injuries, he is going to be a big player of absolute huge importance. Watch this space. Hopefully in February he will get his chance. He is the currently the only non-capped non-squad player I can see breaking through.

+1.The lad is head and shoulders above Whelan and Andrews literally at 6'3".

I think Meyler and McCarthy in the centre would be great for the Euros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I don't think a different combo would have lead us to top the group,
    I don't think a different combo would have us going in with a 4 goal lead into tomorrows game.

They may not be great, but they're doing the job asked from them.

This lad is as mad as a bag of cats on speed, but he sums it up nicely for me!
    Stephen Hunt... Legend (you get a feeling he might be planning a few pints)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VqTsLL_nAA8&feature=player_embedded#!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

I think for McCarthy to be a regular starter, Ireland would need to play 4-3-3. Whenever Keane retires, that'll probably be our formation given the players available.

On a total side note, I actually think Doyle would be OK wide right in a front 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,621 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Meyler and McCarthy centre midfield for the euros? The lads haven't even got 90 mins of international football between them! Maybe for the next european championships, in fact if both develop well they could be great together, however for this summer I would be glad to see Andrews and Whelan, they fit the system, got us through qualification, and always give 100%.