Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1.0 ford focus on the way

• 12-11-2011 8:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭

From abr:

Ford starts production of 1.0-litre ecoboost engine
    ABR Staff Writer
    Published 11 November 2011
    Ford Motor has started production of its smallest petrol engine, a 1.0-litre, turbocharged, direct injection EcoBoost engine at the Cologne Engine Plant, US.

The new 1.0-litre engine will be debuted in the European Ford Focus in early 2012 and ultimately be available worldwide.

The turbocharged, direct injection engine delivers the combinations of 125PS with 114g/km CO2 and 100PS with 109g/km CO2 in the Ford Focus.

The new turbocharged engine will be built at a new EUR134m ($200m) facility in Cologne, it has 870 employees and will build up to 350,000 units per annum.

The new engine is designed to deliver the performance of a 1.6-liter I-4, while netting higher fuel economy and lower CO2 emissions.

The engine also will feature in the Ford C-MAX, and in the new Ford B-MAX, which will enter into production in 2012.

From power train automotive business review:

The European-designed engine also will be built in Craiova, Romania, from early 2012, bringing total European production capacity to a potential 700,000 units per annum in the years ahead, with an expected annual worldwide production of up to 1.3 million engines.

Ford of Europe chairman and CEO Stephen Odell said the new 1.0-litre EcoBoost engine is a true collaboration from start to finish with expertise from Ford specialists across Europe leveraged in designing both the engine and the cutting-edge facility in which it will be produced.

"This will be reflected in the class-leading European CO2 emissions of the new 1.0-litre EcoBoost Ford Focus when it debuts in early 2012; low emissions that will be achieved alongside the spirited and refined performance that customers expect from Ford," Odell said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

From what car:

The Ford Focus will get a new 1.0-litre Ecoboost petrol engine in the spring – with almost as much power as a 2.0-litre unit from 12 years ago.

The 1.0 Ecoboost engine produces 123bhp, with an average economy of 56.5mpg and CO2 emissions of 114g/km. The 2.0-litre petrol engine in the Mk1 Focus from 1999 produced 128bhp, but could average only 33mpg.

Ecoboost technology is already used on 1.6- and 2.0-litre petrol engines in larger Fords, but this 1.0-litre unit will appear in the C-Max and Grand C-Max, as well as the new B-Max MPV when it goes on sale in mid-2012.

A 99bhp 1.0-litre Ecoboost unit is also due to join the Ford line-up next year, with CO2 emissions of 109g/km.

Read the What Car? review of the Ford Focus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

From AutoTrader yesterday

• 1-litre EcoBoost engine with 123bhp
    • Focus gets 56.5mpg and 114g/km of CO2
    • Debuts in Focus next year

Ford has announced its 1-litre EcoBoost petrol engine will power the Ford Focus, C-MAX, Grand C-MAX and the upcoming B-MAX, despite being small enough to sit on an A4 piece of paper.

Ford EcoBoost gallery:

Traditionally an engine of this size would be found in the Ford Ka city car, not the Grand C-MAX seven-seat MPV. But, this advanced motor is as powerful as a 1.8-litre engine from just a few years ago.

Its headline figures in the Focus will be 123bhp, with combined fuel economy of 56.5mpg and CO2 emissions of 114g/km, placing it in one of the lowest tax brackets.

Ford will also produce a version with 99bhp, reducing emissions even further, to 109g/km.

Big things are expected from the UK-designed 1-litre EcoBoost engine, with Ford planning to build as many as 1.3 million per year globally.

Graham Hoare, Ford’s European engine guru said: “This 1-litre EcoBoost signals a new era of downsized, super-frugal engines”.

It has the highest power output per litre of any Ford production engine, including the Ford Focus RS hot hatch and the Ford GT supercar

Interesting that AutoTrader are touting 1.3 million units per year. :pac:

Also interesting that I can see it now, some guy with a 1L focus legitimately saying 'my car has a higher output ( omitting the per litre bit) than a Ford GT :D

There's a 1.4 insignia out too. What's the world coming to....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

Question,

Ford had a venture with PSA 7/8 years ago that led dto the development of the 1.6 litre diesel and led to it being sold in Volvo, Ford, Peugeot, Citroen and BMW Mini cars.
    Is it likely this engine will be farmed out to PSA or is it a Ford only venture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Apparently there is a 1.2 TSi Skoda Superb on the way too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

bazz26 wrote: »

Ah Jaysus....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

colm_mcm wrote: »

Not forgetting the 1.4 TSI Passat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

As long as they don't introduce a 1L Ferrari we'll be ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

bazz26 wrote: »

I assume you jest?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

Should be called the 1.0 Eíreboost engine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,102 ✭✭✭✭Drummerboy08

I personally think it's a good thing.

Low emmisions, cheaper motor tax, cheaper insurance, better fuel economy, and the performance of a 1.6?

Where's the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭C4Kid

Where's the problem?

Reliabilty:pac:

Tiny 3 cylinder engine with all sorts of complicated gubbins to go wrong, under stress to pull a grand cmax along.

How low emissions? We already have petrol focus sized cars in band b tax and possibly band a

C4Kid wrote: »

How can you say that and the engine isn't even available yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

I don't really see the issue? If it makes 125hp it'll be more then powerful enough for a focus, in fact, even the 99hp version mentioned will be more powerful then 90% of the petrol focus that have been sold in Ireland up until now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Low emmisions, cheaper motor tax, cheaper insurance, better fuel economy, and the performance of a 1.6?

Where's the problem?

I agree that this is all a good thing for the future of motoring, but you can be sure that as soon as the Govs get us out of big, inefficient cars and into small ones using cheaper motor tax as the incentive, the next thing they will do is jack up the tax on the little cars too.

After all, it will not pay them if every motorist in Ireland is paying €104 annually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,875 ✭✭✭✭MugMugs

I'm still gobsmacked over the Superb!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

1.2 Tsi has 105bhp which is the same as the 1.6 TDi already available in the Superb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ShiresV2

I don't really see the issue? If it makes 125hp it'll be more then powerful enough for a focus, in fact, even the 99hp version mentioned will be more powerful then 90% of the petrol focus that have been sold in Ireland up until now.

Agree. Anybody complaining has probably never driven a 1.4 Focus.

Having a blower this new engine is likely to pull well from low revs. It's exactly what the consumer wants: economical and as an appliance way more interesting to drive than Ford's current petrol engines in the same bracket.

Way more costly to produce than something like a regular 1.6 though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Thing is, how does it extract so much power from such small cylinders? Any links for the lazy? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Sitec wrote: »
    Nobody in Ireland buys petrol any more so were ok.

Cant wait for the 1.1TDCI

10k High Pressure Pump
    20k Injector 1
    23k Injector 2
    29k Injector 4
    41k Injector 3
    *Recall on Injectors*

Buying new always makes sense.:D

They will buy petrol if it fits in the lowest tax band though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

I'll just stick with my mid-90s Jap petrols, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Darsad

From what I hear lower Co2 and or engine CC may well not be so much of an issue here in the near future as I believe the gov have plans starting next month and over the the next few years to move the goal posts by restructuring the road and VRT tax bands. vehicle footprint ie dimensions may play a part . Road tax may well be calculated on vehicle segment with some form of co2 taxation witin given segments and put and end to luxury high end motors in band A which is a real annoyance to the revenue ,the system may also eventually adopt some way of unifing pre and post 2008 vehicles .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭C4Kid

In the last few days I saw 3 stations where both petrol and diesel were the same price and in most others I came across there was only at most a 2c difference.

Even if modern petrols get mpg close to the diesel equivalents people will still want diesel because it's Ireland and most people have to follow the trend regardless of all else except perhaps tax:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,782 ✭✭✭Damien360

Even if modern petrols get mpg close to the diesel equivalents people will still want diesel because it's Ireland and most people have to follow the trend regardless of all else except perhaps tax:pac:

The only way to change this is by educating people. Modern Diesel engines and low mileage are not a marriage made in heaven.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Darsad wrote: »
    From what I hear lower Co2 and or engine CC may well not be so much of an issue here in the near future as I believe the gov have plans starting next month and over the the next few years to move the goal posts by restructuring the road and VRT tax bands. vehicle footprint ie dimensions may play a part . Road tax may well be calculated on vehicle segment with some form of co2 taxation witin given segments and put and end to luxury high end motors in band A which is a real annoyance to the revenue ,the system may also eventually adopt some way of unifing pre and post 2008 vehicles .

If this is true, I'd love to know your source........as in my Pre-budget submissions thread, the system is completely awol.......I'd be shocked if something doesn't change, but I've been wrong before.....sometimes we expect too much, aka, common sense....

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

Where's the problem?
    Cheaper insurance ?

I'd love to see how the separate cars by segment. Is a superb a large exec saloon? Is a mini a supermini? Is a boggo 316i a family saloon?
    What makes a car premium? I wouldve thought the price was a factor, and the current system goes on price.

It isn't feckin Japan, there's space for big cars too.
    They just need to even out the tax bands say from €250 up to €700 per year instead of €104 to €2k and not over complicate things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

What about Driveability? anyone seen torque curves yet?

Drove a 1.3CDTi Astra and was gobsmacked at how gutless the car was at launch at a roundabout. dangerous & annoying. Car needs the 1.7Cdti.

How highly strung will this 1.0L focus be that it has been designed to fudge the tax laws?

What will it be like to live with and how much manic cog swapping will be needed. 8 speed transmissions will become mainstream

Like Hybrids, its great to see new technologies being tried out, but, again, like the Prius, there is a big driveability trade off versus a motor with proper displacement and a nice torque curve.. you still need to pull the car up a hill.

Next up. big diets for fat cars. POWER to weight ratio has only started to move center stage (Mazda2 & others)

RoverJames wrote: »
    Cheaper insurance ?

Traditionally, car insurance in Ireland has mainly been based on engine size, hence the old "Jaysus, it's a 1.6 so yer gonna kill someone" line used by insurance companies on a regular basis.

The lower engine size will reduce alot of people's insurance premiums.

Drove a 1.3CDTi Astra and was gobsmacked at how gutless the car was at launch at a roundabout. dangerous & annoying. Car needs the 1.7Cdti.

How highly strung will this 1.0L focus be that it has been designed to fudge the tax laws?

What will it be like to live with and how much manic cog swapping will be needed. 8 speed transmissions will become mainstream

Like Hybrids, its great to see new technologies being tried out, but, again, like the Prius, there is a big driveability trade off versus a motor with proper displacement and a nice torque curve.. you still need to pull the car up a hill.

Next up. big diets for fat cars. POWER to weight ratio has only started to move center stage (Mazda2 & others)

There's obviously going to be a big trade off somewhere with this engine in terms of performance, but a smart company know's its audience.

99% of people who buy a Focus, only ever use it to commute to work and go to the shop, so performance is never a big a factor compared to running costs etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Traditionally, car insurance in Ireland has mainly been based on engine size, hence the old "Jaysus, it's a 1.6 so yer gonna kill someone" line used by insurance companies on a regular basis.

The lower engine size will reduce alot of people's insurance premiums.

That's more of a misconception rather than the way the insurance industry calculates it's premiums.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

Insurance is calculated on the risk of the vehicle these days is it not?. You would probably pay more to insure a 1.4 civic then a 2.0 Volvo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭Damokc

For the first time in my area I've seen both petrol and diesel at the same price in one forecourt. 1.43.9 for both. I can see it going the way of England where diesel is more expensive at the pump than petrol.
    Supply and demand. More diesel cars means dearer diesel. Everyone and they're mother is trying to buy a diesel now....and small engined diesels with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Squall19

Damokc wrote: »
    For the first time in my area I've seen both petrol and diesel at the same price in one forecourt. 1.43.9 for both. I can see it going the way of England where diesel is more expensive at the pump than petrol.
    Supply and demand. More diesel cars means dearer diesel. Everyone and they're mother is trying to buy a diesel now....and small engined diesels with it.

That's just here though.

Diesel is not as popular in europe as it is here, same story with the other big markets like the states, aus, asia, middle east, russia etc.

Has to be another reason?

Squall19 wrote: »
    That's just here though.

Diesel is not as popular in europe as it is here, same story with the other big markets like the states, aus, asia, middle east, russia etc.

I was just making an observation about diesel prices but the OP was about a small petrol. Saying that though it only makes since that manufacturers would be making smaller engined cars.I think there's something where they have to anyway? It was even on Top Gear a few seasons ago where they had this small POS Aston Martin,which needed to be made to bring their company into line with emission standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

mondeo wrote: »
    Insurance is calculated on the risk of the vehicle these days is it not?. You would probably pay more to insure a 1.4 civic then a 2.0 Volvo.
    It does. I checked :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

Squall19 wrote: »
    That's just here though.

Diesel is more pollutant per litre. I'd imagine that's the reasoning across Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

There's obviously going to be a big trade off somewhere with this engine in terms of performance, but a smart company know's its audience.

99% of people who buy a Focus, only ever use it to commute to work and go to the shop, so performance is never a big a factor compared to running costs etc.

Smart = cynical. Shame to see one of the consistently best cars to drive being ruined again by a glorified rubber band motor.

Especially for those of us too cheap (wise) to buy new being further reduced in our choices down the line... :(:o :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Traditionally, car insurance in Ireland has mainly been based on engine size

That's a misconception, as Alanstrainor and others said. It's based on risk. That's why it is hard / expensive to insure a typical boy racer car like a 1.6l Honda Civic type R

In my own experience, it was a lot cheaper to insure a BMW 735 than a BMW 523 (same year, mileage, value)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

unkel wrote: »
    That's a misconception, as Alanstrainor and others said. It's based on risk. That's why it is hard / expensive to insure a typical boy racer car like a 1.6l Honda Civic type R

In my own experience, it was a lot cheaper to insure a BMW 735 than a BMW 523 (same year, mileage, value)

Last time I changed car, my insurance went up because the engine size was bigger.

Going to the current (grandadmobile, snoozebox) Accord, from a 1.8, 180bhp, Turbo Charged, warmish hatch (Oct vRS - MK1, the cool one).

Can't see the Accord being more risky than a vRS in all honesty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭johnmacward

colm_mcm wrote: »

I'm pretty sure I drove one a while ago (could'a been a 1.6) and it was woeful. Jesus, my 97 1.2 Corsa had more poke in one of it's indicators!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Churchy

Heres the 3.5V6 Ecoboost being put through its paces.
    http://youtu.be/J-fCzBHVFTY
    Its up against 5.3/5.7 V8's in part 4.

I'm pretty interested in this range of engines, high mileage dervs have expensive reliability issues - could smaller turbo petrols be the answer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭maxfresh

I wonder if they will have this 1.0 turbo engine in a fiesta if so it will be a nippy little yoke

Sure I only recently became aware of the Fiat Bravo 1.4 TJet (turbo) Seems like the small engined turbos has started long ago. (Glanzas aside:D) The Fiat isn't a bad looking car either.
    View2-8496840.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭johnmacward

Is this a trend with Opel?

For rental a few weeks back we ended up with a 1.6 petrol Insignia. There were only two of us in the car and it was pathetic. We were in and around Cork and it's hills and on some occasions I was afraid to bring the car up in case I'd be dropping right down to first just to get up. I couldn't believe such a well featured car internally would have such a ****e engine to let it down. It's supposed to be a turbo as well - it must have been switched off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Small turbo boosted engines are the future of the petrol engine and this is great to see.

VWs TSI engines (1.2 and 1.4) are similar and have won engine of the year awards. The 1.2TSI is 105bhp and has 175nm torque right from 1500rpm through to 4000rpm. It's incredibly nippy in acceleration and feels like a much more powerful engine. And combined it gives 50mpg.

I'm so impressed I'm buying a 1.2TSI Golf in the new year. I currently drive a 2.2L BMW that has 210nm torque available at about 6000rpm. I rarely rev it that high so in general driving the 1.2TSI actually feels faster because all the power of the engine & turbo is available immediately. Wouldn't have believed it myself until I test drove it. Easier on fuel to boot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

That's more of a misconception rather than the way the insurance industry calculates it's premiums.
    People just don't seem to realise this.

I drive a 1.9 litre Skoda diesel (SDI) and the only cars that are cheaper to insure for me are the 1.0 Corsa, the 1.0 Polo. If I even step up to a 1.25 Fiesta, or 1.0 VVTI Yaris, the quote is more expensive.

I would say that 80% of the insurance quote goes by horsepower, and the other 20% goes by vehicle profile. The size of the engine is completely irrelevent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Is this a trend with Opel?

I drove the 1.3 diesel astra for a couple of weeks. The engine is a disgrace in that car but I found it to be quite a nice car to handle.

I dont like the current trend at all for small capacity turbo engines, having said that, ive been driving 1.8T engines myself for over 6 years. Still, the manufacturers are now forcing the people who traditionally buy simple no nonsense cars into cars with turbos and much higher power output per litre. I can only see this leading to higher / more frequent repair costs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

The Japanese realised the benefits of small eco biased turbo charged petrol engines 20+ years ago. The Kei class cars are tax and parking fee free in Japanese cities and almost all use sub 1.0 turbocharged engines.